To-Do Lists

Does anyone else find it a little ironic that at the same time we’re all supposed to be relaxed and enjoying the holiday season – is when our lives start spinning at mach ten?

Or is it just me?

I know around the holidays, hours at work go into overdrive, trying to remain studious with schoolwork goes into overdrive, baking and gifting goes into overdrive and life in general just starts flying by faster than the blink of an eye.

Do I need to say that I’ve got a pretty hefty to-do list at the moment? I don’t think it’s only me, either – senior pictures have bee up for months with customers able to purchase, but it’s Christmas that motivates them to finally order prints: I’ve received three orders this weekend after going weeks without any!

Anyways. That said – I’m still a firm believer in finding time for what you love.

Like Teddie.

DSC_4930sm

And food.

Like bread.

DSC_4334DSC_4336

And with Healthy Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day, it couldn’t be easier! Expect a review soon.

And like cookies.

DSC_4321

Lemon poppyseed cookies.

And like pancakes.

DSC_4313

Peanut butter and jelly cornmeal pancakes, no less. Made with peanut flour instead of graham flour.

And like hearty, soul-warming dinners.

DSC_4353

I think I’m on a little bit of a mushroom kick, ever since making the stuffing for Thanksgiving.

My next “must-do” involved stroganoff.

DSC_4342DSC_4343

To preface this; I didn’t, and still don’t; know what a stroganoff exactly is. I just have this assumption of what it is in my head.

Creamy.

With noodles.

and mushrooms.

…and creamy.

DSC_4345

To be blatantly honest, I’ve never had real stroganoff. I just think I like it because I have fond memories of this stuff:

51KS1SMKPJL

Uhhh, yeah….about that. Is that even stroganoff? I don’t see mushrooms. It just says there are mushrooms.

I like my version better.

DSC_4348

I made it last night on a whim, not sure what I’d turn out in the end. I wasn’t feeling pasta though, so just had the stroganoff with a side of roasted b-nut squash ad cranberry sauce, because apparently I am still honing Thanksgiving.

That or I like odd combos, take your pick.

Anyways; I was so surprised at how good it turned out that as soon as my mom took her seat at the table I shoved my bowl in her face, demanding her to taste it.

Since I am never so convincing in my pleas, she was pretty sure I was poisoning her or something, though she was delighted with the hearty flavor from the fennel, the creaminess from the hummus, and the contrast in texture of the kale ad mushrooms. It was so good that I had to make it again tonight, this time following through with the noodle part. And it was even better.

Now that I’ve piqued your interested with a so-called stroganoff that involved hummus, I’ll share with you my delightful recipe. I might be having this every day for the rest of the week, if you don’t mind.

Mushroom and Kale “Stroganoff”

serves two

  • 2 servings whole wheat pasta

prepare the pasta as directed in salted water. When it is cooked, drain ad set aside, reserving one cup of the water for later use.

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2  T. olive oil
  • 1 1/2 c. sliced mushrooms
  • 3 large kale leaves, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 t. fennel seed
  • salt and pepper, to taste

In a large pan, heat the olive oil and then add in the onion. You might need to add a little bit of water. You want to cook them until they start to brown/get a little crispy on the outer edges, though – so don’t use too much oil. Add in the mushrooms, kale, fennel seed and salt and pepper. Add in a couple of tablespoons of water and cover until the mushrooms are tender and the kale is bright green, stirring ocassionally.

  • 1 c. reserved pasta water
  • 1 T. white bean flour (for thickening – you could use any type of bean flour/flour/cornstarch, though I am unsure of amount exchange if using cornstarch)
  • 2 T. roasted red pepper hummus
  • 1/2 T. pub-style dijon mustard
  • 1 T. nutritional yeast

In a small mixing bowl, whisk all together until smooth. It is best to do this while the water is still hot.

Once the kale and mushroom mixture is cooked, pour in the liquid. Lower the heat and bring to a simmer, stirring often. Allow to thicken about ten minutes, still stirring often. Once thickened, shut off heat and let sit one minute. Gently stir in the pasta.

DSC_4352

Uh-yuhm.

What’s your favorite mushroom dish? Well, if you like mushrooms, anyway Winking smile

17 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, pasta, recipe, vegan, vegetarian

17 responses to “To-Do Lists

  1. Oh my gosh, I had no idea what to make for dinner later on in this week – THIS IS IT!! 🙂

    Thanks Jess, it looks absolutely amazing!

  2. Yet another recipe to bookmark and add to my huge list of dishes to make. At least the ones that are from blogs I read more often go to the top of the list. 😉 I’m really liking the pasta dish recipes I find lately too because I know my parents will at least try pasta dishes.

    As finals week gets closer, I find myself actually having less to do (aside from just studying and Christmas shopping). It gets pretty boring around campus right before break kicks off.

    My favorite mushroom dish is probably just a huge bowl of roasted mushrooms or somekind of sauteed portabello(a) burger.

    And I think it’s so coincidental that you made lemon poppyseed cookies because in the morning I was planning to toss some lemon extract and a tablespoon of poppyseeds into my overnight oats and give it a whirl. 😛

    Lastly, I hope that book is good and I hope it has some nice, 100% whole grain breads, because you could end up giving me another idea for Christmas presents with that review that I’m looking forward to!

  3. Ashlei

    Teddie is so gorgeous!

    Not sure what my favorite mushroom dish is. But I like portobello sandwiches, or sliced mushrooms in omelettes.

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    i haven’t really had any mushroom dishes..besides a portabella burger…i’d be up for them anytime though!! my moms the one who hates them. she says their slimmy mush. i’m like yeah, extremely high in vitamin d mush!! so anyway..i haven’t had many things with mushrooms! and i’m with you..find time for what YOU want!!!! gotta have some fun time.

  5. As far as I know, Stroganoff isn’t a pasta, cream and mushrooms dish. It’s a traditional Russian dish. And it’s beef 🙂 . But this fact doesn’t make your dish less appealing at all.

    I love mushrooms and I can’t decide whether I like mushroom and cream sauce or broccoli with mushrooms and cheese more. Or just plain roasted mushrooms with butter. They always taste great.

  6. I adore mushrooms and pasta. I make a dish very similar to your stroganoff, and it is heavenly. I just picked up a huge carton of mixed mushrooms at the grocery store, so I’m excited to use them for dinner this week. And those lemon poppy seed cookies look BEAUTIFUL. I think poppy seeds are just grand. Thank you for sharing, love. I hope you have a wonderful week.

  7. Yum!! A pasta dish with mushrooms and hummus does intrigue me! That looks amazing 🙂 I really do love mushrooms, but only in ‘saucy’ dishes 😛 I like it when they are covered in something yummy… is that weird?

    The lemon poppy seed cookies by the way, look DIVINE!

  8. Ugh I so know what you mean about being busy! I don’t even have time to get into the holiday spirit because school is consuming my life. 😛

    I used to love my dad’s stroganoff as a kid. Except I’m pretty sure his version used heavy cream and a pound of butter haha. Your version looks so good! And definitely wayyy healthier.

  9. I LOVE mushrooms and I’m since I’m planning meals for the week this morning, I’m adding this stroganoff. I love mushroom fajitas, mushroom bisque, seitan marsala with lots of mushrooms, and just sauteed shiitakes by themselves! Thanks for the recipe!

  10. I was wondering where you were. I was going to email you and check on you, but since you had no internet, that would not have worked. So glad you are back in action! The stroganoff looks delicious! I need to make this one for me and the boys!

  11. That photo of Teddie is amazing. 🙂

    The holiday stress is one thing I love about college- the main stress is over well before Christmas and once you’re done with finals..it’s homefree! The whole town basically shuts down so everyone’s able to get off work, lave school, and enjoy a full month at home. 🙂 Definitely looking forward to it.

  12. Colleen

    Just wanted to say that your horse is positively gorgeous!!! I also love your pictures and blog 🙂 Keep it up!

  13. Dee

    Really random I know, but gosh do I love those noodles! 🙂

  14. Pingback: Mushroom and Kale Stroganoff « Epicurean Vegan

  15. Ok, just so you know, I made this tonight! I saw it this morning and I was smitten. I love kale and mushrooms and I happened to have roasted red pepper hummus in the fridge. It was FANTASTIC! Nicely done. I think the fennel was also a brilliant ingredient in this dish. Thanks!! (I posted my results: https://healthyexposures.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/to-do-lists/ )

  16. Pingback: Hot Oats | Healthy Exposures

Leave a comment