Holiday Traditions

 

DSC_4235_thumbDSC_4237 01_thumb

DSC_4237cr_thumb[1]

One cookie that totally missed a very deserved spotlight while my power was out were sparkled ginger cookies. (I got the recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance – but in case you need some convincing to purchase the book – there is someone who posted the recipe. )

I made these the Tuesday before the crisis and saved some for home and brought the rest to work

.DSC_4239_thumb[1]

With the holidays, I will probably be trialing many cookie recipes to decide which ones “win” the position of being in our cookie giveaway baskets. It’s become a tradition to bake an assortment of cookies to give with cards and trinkets, and my mom always makes the same cookies. Well, I’m just beginning to do the tradition myself, rather than just leeching all of my mom’s freshly baked cookies to give away.

DSC_4244_thumb[1]

DSC_4245_thumbDSC_4248_thumb

And what’s a gift basket without a good ginger cookie?!

They’re pretty much essential.

Ironically, the “taste testers” of these cookies are also the people who will be getting said goodie buckets.

It’s kind of like buying a present for someone right in front of them, just saying it’s for yourself. They’ll never guess that way, you know.

DSC_4247

These ginger cookies were the perfect ginger cookies. A chewy interior contrasted the slightly crunchy, sugar-covered exterior. I also added some crystallized ginger to the recipe for an added texture and gingery kick.

DSC_4316DSC_4317

DSC_4319

But the next cookies I made – Lemon Poppyseed Crackle Cookies – really stole the show. The recipe is from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan. The only thing I did differently was sub the barley malt syrup for maple syrup, as I did not have any.

DSC_4321

I really am not adventurous/”playful” when it comes to tinkering with cookie recipes. There is too much chemistry involved! I want my cookies to be cookies – not cookies with identity crisis’s.

DSC_4327

DSC_4329

Someday, I’ll get there. For now – I’ll leave it to the pros Winking smile

These cookies, however – perfectly light, refreshing and flavorful with a perfect texture: chewy with a crust just crispy enough.

I forget how much I love lemon poppyseed way too often – believe it or not, it’s one of my favorite muffin flavors, but I can’t remember the last time I made them! Shortly prior to blogging, I loved making lemon poppyseed pancakes.

Do you have any holiday baking traditions?

What’s your favorite holiday cookie?

I sort of have a niche, cooking my way through vegan cookbooks and surprising everyone Winking smile

26 Comments

Filed under baking, cookies, dessert, gingerbread, recipe

26 responses to “Holiday Traditions

  1. You picked two perfect cookies for the holidays. We do caramel gooey bars, fudge and cinnamon bread for the holidays.

  2. My favorite holiday cookie is a pistachio biscotti and butter cookies my mom makes every year!

  3. Can you believe I just tried gingerbread for the first time today? It’s tasty, but my holiday cookie has got to be the classic sugar cookie- my mom is huge into making them over christmas!

  4. The way you bust out these baked goods just astounds me. Have you ever thought of starting up a business?

    I’m not the biggest cookie person, but around the holidays I MUST have snickerdoodles. I made them this weekend!

  5. We don’t really have a yearly tradition, but my Mom is known to make cookies and join in cookie swaps when they’re offered. My favorite holiday cookies would either be Mexican wedding cookies, or those peanut butter cookies with the Kisses in the middle, except with Hugs instead because I prefer white chocolate over milk chocolate.

    Those cookies are making me salivate and want food right now, I really need to not blog on an empty stomach so often. 😉

  6. I bake all the time around the Holiday season – I love any sort of cookie balls dipped in chocolate. It’s the best!

  7. Both of these cookie recipes look fabulous and perfect for holiday goody baskets for friends & family.

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    hmmm. not really any baking traditions! i want to tackle a gingerbread HOUSE. a mini one. we’ll see if i actually get the chance. but my fave cookie to make is.. ginger buttons!! they are bite sized giner snaps in the shape of buttons!!! so yummy!! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Mushroom and Kale Stroganoff « Epicurean Vegan

  10. those cookies sound delicious, i’m going to have to save this recipe 🙂 my fave holiday cookie is the peanut butter blossom, my mom and i used to make them every year when i was younger.

  11. yum! you’ve just inspired me to make gingerbread! My fave holiday cookies would have to be sugar cookies, except this year I don’t know what I am to do?! I’ll have to figure out a gluten-free vegan version for the good of my sanity.

  12. If it’s a fresh homemade cookie, I love it. I’m very easily pleased 🙂 My family however is a different thing. They don’t like weird textures and mysterious ingredients. But I’ve decided to bake this year and not let mum buy cookies so I’ll have to find the perfect recipes for everyone.

  13. Sooo pretty those cookies :-). Did I say I loved the pic of Teddie with the black background? I loved the pic of Teddie with the black background.

  14. Ashlei

    Having the people receiving the cookies taste test means you’ll know if they like them or not. 😉

    I haven’t made a lemon baked good in too long. I used to love making lemon muffins.

  15. Every year we make madeleine cookies and Hungarian kifliks using my great-grandmother’s recipe. Neither are my favorite though- peanutbutter blossoms hold that special place in my heart!!

  16. I think homemade baking is the best part of the holidays. Not only is it a much more personal gift, but it’s SO fun to make! I personally love having the ‘excuse’ to spend my whole day baking. Haha!

    I’ve never made ginger cookies OR lemon poppyseed. They both look divine though. I am definitely intrigued by the lemon ones, because I would have never thought to make that particular flavor into a cookie! Nicely done.. even if it wasn’t your recipe 😛

  17. The tradition in my family is that every year we make and decorate a gingerbread house! I can’t wait to get home and start on it. 😀

    Ginger cookies are sooo good! I love how soft and chewy they are. I think my favourite holiday cookie is my family’s shortbread recipe. I always ruin my appetite on Christmas by eating too many!!

  18. oh my these look gorgeous!! i love snickerdoodles!

  19. I love holiday baking. You’re right though, baking is such a precise science where with cooking you can throw in some of this, some of that. The girls in my extended family always get together for a cookie swap, so I’m definitely going to be keeping an eye out for a special cookie recipe!

  20. Chris M.

    Is there any way you can post the recipe for the lemon poppy seed cookies, I want to make them so badly.
    Thanks

  21. Awh the lemon poppyseed ones look so CUTE! My mum would go crazy over them, she loves lemon poppyseed things 🙂
    My baking tradition – giving my aunt, gran, grandpa etc baking ‘vouchers’ so they can pick what they want and I do it for them 🙂 Last year was a lemon drizzle cake (aunt), black forest cake (gran) and cherry cake (grandpa) – they’re very traditional 😛
    Oh and I always bake my sister brownies, cos she loves them 😛

  22. Oooh my favourite cookies of all time are ginger ones! I especially love it when they’re chewy 🙂 YUM!
    My baking tradition that I do every year at christmas with my mum is making mince pies. I don’t even like them! But my dad and brother absolutely love them so it’s the ladies’ job to make the boys happy lol!

  23. Liz

    Wow! This is my first visit to your site and your pictures are awesome! We are having a cookie exchange here at the office and I think you’ve inspired me to participate.

  24. Prettiness! Ooh, and I have poppy seeds. Hmm….

  25. Holy dang, those lemon cookies look amazing. And the ginger ones! I’m a sucker for anything gingerbread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

