Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bars

I’m not too sure which direction my day is gonna go in in a couple of hours (re: when the vet comes) so I might as well post now while I’m in a relatively neutral mood.

Mainly because my “lets keep my mind busy” techniques involved granola bars.

First, though, fuelage:

Most Thursday mornings, as I’ve mentioned briefly in the past, I peruse the Camelot auction horses, and “taking my picks.” This morning, however, no photos were up on the website. So, I took the liberty to save them from the facebook site and upload them to the forum where all the action/networking happens. People were having difficulties figuring it out – so I’m hoping I’ve started off with some good karma to come in handy later 😉

I called to see if there was a timeframe yet for when the vet was going to get around to Teddie, and he said not until this afternoon – 3-3:30. Yikes! That’s a lot of…morning time. Worry time. I did some yoga (oi, I’d let too long of a time go without doing some yoga!) and then buckled down to make a bar.

I wanted to make something a bit diferent from my usual. I tend to make date-based bars – or these, or these “everything but the kitchen sink” chunks of energy. Not complaining – I’ve loved them all. But I just wanted to sit down with some bars I love, and draw up something out of the blue.

I made sure to gather my thoughts first, and my motives. If I go in with no plan, I tend to forget ingredients I initially wanted to add, and ending up throwing everything in at the same time. Not a bad thing – but I had an idea this time:

  • easy – as in, no food processor! i get sick of cleaning the darn thing, and I know if I started using it, they would end up like my Chunks of Energy, anyways.
  • preferably raw – just because
  • nutty with crunch – yet chewy at the same time (a lot of raw bars are anyways, though.)
  • use puffed grains – I’ve noticed I really like the texture they add!
  • use figs!
  • heck, if we’re using figs, why not make them like carrot cake?! apparently, I have a one-track mind. It’s always thinking about carrot cake.

When all was mixed and chopped, this is what my paper looked like. What, you can’t read my cat-scratch? Okay, I guess I’ll translate for you…

Fun fact: I nearly always write in cursive. Which is odd, because the older I got, the more often classmates would complain “I can’t read cursive!” Dude, isn’t that what we learnt before print?

I had some business to take care of before getting around to baking...

I sort of met my “rules,” as you’ll see. I ended up leaving half raw, and baking half. I actually think I prefer the raw ones, but the baked are easier to eat. I’ll share my recipe as I made it, and make notations for what I’d do next.

Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bars

  • 1/4 c. chopped pecans (I used salted and roasted)
  • 1/4 c. chopped dried figs – about 3 medium figs
  • 2 T. raisins
  • 2 T. chia seeds
  • 1 T. sunflower nuts
  • 3/4 c. quick oats (I’m sure rolled would work, too, and likely be better)
  • 1/4 c. puffed rice
  • 1/4 c. puffed millet
  • 3/4 t. cinnamo
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • pinch of ginger
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 T. The Organic Whey
  • 1/4 c. nut butter (I used chunky peanut butter)
  • 2 T. honey (bare minimum – and if you’re baking these, I’d probably double it. For whatever reason – the baked ones turned out a little less sweet)
  • 4 T. water (I used this to thin it a bit – though next time I’d probably use 2 T, and if you use more honey, just cut back. And if you’re baking, I’d probably go ahead and use almond milk)
  • 2 T. milled flax
  • 1/2 c. grated carrot

Oi! That list looks long!! I promise it’s not difficult, though – and really, open to interpretation. (1/2 c. puffed grains to sub the rice & millet, walnuts rather than pecans, maple syrup rather than honey, nix the chia seeds, etc. etc. etc.)

1. Combine the first 13 (holy cow) ingredients in a medium sized mixing bowl.

2. In a smaller, microwave-safe bowl, nuke your nut butter, honey, and water for a few seconds, until it is stirrable. Add in the milled flaxseed and grated carrots, and stir.

3. Combine the two separate containers and combine. Use your big muscles!

4. If leaving raw: press down very firmly in a tupperware-type container – or something you can cover and refrigerate. Allow to chill before cutting.

5. If baking: pack down very firmly in an oven-safe casserole type dish. I sprayed mine lightly with cooking spray. Drizzle a little bit of honey on top, and bake at 400* for 15-20 minutes. Allow to cool before cutting!

raw

baked

I think I prefer the raw ones. I’m sort of surprised because I thought for sure I’d prefer the baked, since they at first seemed too sticky/messy to just leave raw! But they firmed up okay. I think I’d like the baked ones more if I had used more honey.

And, moving on – dis anyone else, as a child, put bbq potato chips in their PB & J sandwiches? I remember my mom always doing that growing up, so of course I would too.

I saw this McCormick Sweet & Smoky rub and decided I had to try it on….tempeh! On a PB & J!

Ironically, I just wanted “normal jam” for this and didn’t have any open. Apple Rum Walnut? check. Peach Ginger? check. Pumpkin? check. Fig? check. Apple Honey Butter? check.

Why don’t I have any strawberry? Or raspberry?!

I ended up just opening yet another one, that was the closest to normal I could find. And it was still a mix of strawberries, cranberries, some other fruit, and maple syrup. I guess I like intricate things.

I will do this again, however, I will use more rub (and probably the BBQ rub rather than this one for more of a mesquit-y flavor). So, go try it. Or look at me like I have three heads. Whichever 😉

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

27 responses to “Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bars

  1. Oh Jessica, I am thinking about Teddie (and you) today! I hope it goes well! Please let me know what the vet says…I will be worrying too. The bars sound delicious. I need to make more bars here for the boys. I think you are on to something with that rub too. I wonder if it has wheat? It would be perfect on home made microwave chips. have you ever done that? Microwave chips are so good and so easy! Try to breathe! I know it is hard, but try. Thinking of you!

  2. you have beautiful handwriting and beautiful baking (or..what’s the term for raw baking…rawking!?) skills! i want to make those and the banana bread from yesterday 🙂
    good luck with the vet today – i know how much it sucks waiting for them and so on – been there a few too many times! especially with horses being horses 😦 but he WILL be ok!! thinking of you xx

  3. Michelle

    I hope everything will be ok with Teddie! I’ll be thinking about you!

  4. HOLY YUM!!!! you are the QUEEN of bars, those look DEEEEEElicious!! please send one my way! :-p i wish i could make my own bars, but i never seem to have the time or the ingredients or the space!

    I hope this baking helped to take your mind off the teddy/vet thing for a little bit… i know how worrying it is when ur faced with that scary situation. ive got my fingers crossed for you both…….

    xxx

  5. Cat-scratch?! Wha…that is the prettiest handwriting I’ve seen all decade! No, seriously 🙂
    And fingers crossed for the vet, again.

  6. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    Best wishes for you and Teddie! I hope you both have a good day.

    Aaand I do remember putting potato chips in sandwiches (pb&j, turkey & cheese, whatevs), but not bbq potato chips! Sounds like a curious combination, but sometimes those turn out to be the best! 😉

  7. Thinking of you and Teddie today Jess. I have everything crossed for you.
    And you never cease to amaze me with your creativity. How the hell do you do it girl?! I wish I could steal your baking/cooking skills for myself haha!
    You make me laugh with all your flavors of jams – you have some really interesting and yummy sounding flavors! I would love to try pumpkin..

  8. Nathalie

    I really hope that Teddie is okay! It is so unsettling not knowing…been there and it’s awful. Wishing you all the very best xxx

  9. Mmm…I love tempeh sandwiches. So yummy. Your combo sounds wonderful. 😀

    The carrot bars sound delicious!

  10. I hope everything is okay with Teddie! I’m sure it will be.
    I need to make these bars, they look so good. And I think that you peruse horses like peruse Jcrew 🙂

  11. That fig bar looks AWESOME!! Can’t handle most of bars out there cause they are too aweet for me. Make me dizzy after a couple bites.
    I was gonna buy a food processor but is it that bad to clean it??!! : /

  12. I love how you’re always baking or creating something new in the kitchen!! Practically every single day..it’s incredible!

    And I hope the visit with the vet goes well. Those can be nerve racking but I’m sure everything will be just fine. Fingers crossed. 🙂

  13. I am definitely looking at you right now as if you have three heads… pb&j and BBQ chips? I’ve never heard of that, and quite frankly I don’t know if it’s legal 😉 Haha! I won’t judge until I try it though!

    Ugh.. I can’t believe you have had the whole morning to sit and stew about Teddie’s eye. This could come across as either genune or incredibly creepy… but I prayed for you two last night 🙂 I hope all goes well!

    ❤ Tat

  14. BBQ chips in PB & J? So interesting! I love both those things so why not together?! Your bars look amaaazing. I SO miss making things like that here at college!!

  15. I gotta get a grater so I can make carrots like that.

  16. Your talent for baking and new recipes is AMAZING!!! These bars look so good – i have to make them ASAP!!!! How do you do it?????
    Ill be thinking of you and Teddie today – hope all goes well – keep us posted!!!
    xoxo aimee

  17. I hope everything is okay with Teddie! My fingers are crossed for you.

    These bars look awesome. I love carrot cake flavoured treats, but I never make them myself because I hate shredding the carrots!!

  18. oh my oh my, im drooling at the mouth, currently, shredding carrot to preapre some carrot date garnola bars (: no dried figs on hand but dates are so delicious too! such a great breakfast! i love how you bake everyday! wbaking is a passion of mine but i never get to bake anything because im either indesicive about what i wanna bake or i just dont know how! how do you do it?!!? your so inspiring! have a great night ❤
    Ashley
    chewingoncherries.wordpress.com

  19. Haha, no way! BBQ chips on PB&J, seemed like a daily occurrence as a child. Not to leave out the Cool Ranch Doritos on a tuna sammie, t’was a delight. Love how you thought to revamp the idea, you wise girl!

    I reeeaaalllyyy want to get my bar-making on, haven’t done it in forever. Maybe, just maybe, you’ve convinced me to take a shot at it this weekend :]

  20. teenagehealthfreak

    i hope all went well with the vet! i’m thinkin’ bout you and Teddie!!! i know how it is with bars..i’m the same way!! if it’s like total 1 c. of grain…i used about 4 different ones! lol…it’s just fun to have variety. your bars look awesome!

  21. I’ve been thinking of you today, and I hope that everything went well at the vet. I loved the way you explained your creative process with the bars. Please tell me about the Whey powder you use…I am interested in buying some kind of nutritional supplement but i know nothing!

  22. I love your handwriting. And sad to say… but I’m one of those people who have a hard time reading cursive haha. Your granola bars also look deeelicious. I’m all for things you can make without a food processor/blender right now because mine just officially died. 😦

  23. Those things look amazing! I’m always too nervous to experiment with making bars, because I feel like so much could go wrong, but those look great. Love the carrot cake flavor!!

    I write in cursive too. I think it’s so much faster!

  24. These bars look awesome – i’m always on the look out for good ones to try at home! I love the ingredients here =)

  25. Pingback: Obsessions « Healthy Exposures

  26. Pingback: Wordy « Healthy Exposures

  27. Pingback: What’s Your Flava? « Smithereens

Leave a comment