Scattered

Hey loves! Want me to mess with your minds and throw you for a loop?

yesterday's rully good overnight oats.

Okay.

I didn’t post last night because, frankly – I didn’t feel like it. And I’m posting now because…well…I’ve got two more hours before I leave for the barn, I’m waiting for my black bean cutlets to finish baking and, frankly because I feel like it. That’s what blogging’s all about, right? I am making it my mission to have a stress- free June. For some reason, I’ve realized I’ve been a little bit uptight lately.

yesterday's rully good lunch - tomato paste, garlic hummus, sundried tomato & basil hummus, and roasted BROCCOLI!

Not sure why, though I am dealing with some pretty shotty situations, and I guess they were bothering me more than I’d initially realized. But, no more! I woke up to waffled and Jigs yelling at me for being late to give him his breakfast, did some yoga, baked some bars and black bean burgs, and now am just chillin with my fan, my comfy bed, the radio, and a really cute picture of Teddie and I.

Go ahead, call me vein. I’m looking at him more than myself, though, considering I look like a grinning 5 year old… He just makes me smile, I suppose.

Where am I going with this? I’m not sure, so I present to you scattered somethings. If only it was Saturday or Sunday, so I could be a little more poetic.

No dice.

Some more things I did yesterday:

May you rest in peace.

Kardea Nutrition Banana Nut bar.

Gittin' textural wit' it.

Maybe it’s just a fact that everytime I have a bar I am so nicely sent for a snack, I won’t feel like blogging. Feels like that’s happened a bit lately! Anyways – Kardea sent me four bars to try, and this is my second to last – Banana Nut. I was excited and scared to try – banana can so easily taste too artifical. But this was good! It wasn’t quite like any banana bar I’ve had before – it wasn’t super banana-y, but had a pleasant hint of it. I did enjoy the nuttiness, though – and as I say about all the Kardea bars so far, they have a great texture. As I’m also always saying, though – I wish they didn’t use soy protein. Hint, hint, nudge, nudge, Kardea 😉 Pretty pleaseee? These bars are surprisingly not overpoweringly sweet, given that the first two ingreds are sweeteners, for anyone concerned.

And after looking at the website, I realized this was my last Kardea bar. I’m a little sad now. Favorite? Definitely chai spice. Yum-o!

After an awful day at work yesterday, I came home with thoughts of the remains of my wheatberry salad for dinner.

I could just taste it.

I shuffled all over the refrigerator for it.

It was no where.

My mom must have finished it.

The irony? My mom rarely finishes “my” food. I don’t care if she does – I guess she just feels bad or something. She’ll eat it, but always leave some. I figured she’d have some for lunch, actually. I guess some was all. Oh well – I’m glad it was that good! Her excuse was that she thought I didn’t like it because of the beets.

Hah!

At least I had some leftover dressing. And I used her last hardboiled egg. Schnoopsies.

And here’s how this morning went down, in a nutshell:

I hate Folgers. I love waffles.

That white stuff? It’s not kitty up-chuck, I promise.

Rather, a lazy attempt at a PB-Almond Milk-Chia Seed glaze.

It's the effort and thought that counts. A+ for that and taste...D- for looks.

In attempts to perfect a ‘nola bar base, I tried some new things this morn’, but still Mae influenced. Another A+ for effort, maybe an A- in taste.

Do you ever have plans to add certain things, and then remember when it’s too late?

That was me. I wanted to add chia seeds and milled flaxseed, but totally forgot. I also wish I’d made them a hair sweeter.

Shake 1/2 c. puffed millet and 3/4 c. rolled oats in cinnamon, peanut oil, and maple syrup. Toast.

In the meantime, puree 5-6 dates with 2 T. water. Next time, I’d use maple syrup. I was afraid this time it’d be too sweet.

In blender, process ~1/4 c. nuts with 1/4 c. oats, 1 t. flax seeds and 1 T. maple syrup.

Combine that mixture with the date mixture.

And combine that with 1/4 c. peanut butter.

I broke into my jar of Teddie for this. I didn’t want coconut or mocha pb to conflict with the figs!

Wins my seal of approval. Even better is the price of $2.99.

Two chopped dried Turkish figs.

Toasted oats & millet with 1 T. whole wheat flour and figs.

Plopped into a mini loaf pan - makes 8, though I debated just making 6 larger. I may do so next time.

Pressed down, hard!

You shouldn’t have any problems with it sticking until you’ve done a few. That’s okay – just wash your hands and keep going. You can even leave your hands a little damp.

Baked at 325* for 15 minutes.

Make sure you spray your pan, by the way. And when they’re out of the oven let them just sit a bit before attacking them to get them out. They’re better when they’re cool, anyways. And will hold together better. If you like a crunchier bar, let them bake longer.

I also made some black bean cutlets with the last of my black beans. I kept these ones pretty simple because I just wanted to get them in the oven.

Mash ~1/2 c. black beans and their juice with 1 large clove of garlic.

All ingredients combined.

To the black beans, add 1/4 c. rolled oats, 1/4 c. vital wheat gluten, salt, pepper, dried basil, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Stir at first, and then knead until strings form.

Cutlets!

Form into cutlets. You could probably get anywhere from 2-4, or even make them as balls.

Bake for 25 m at 375*, flip, bake 10 more minutes.

I could have taken a better picture, I know, I know.

But it was 10:30 am. I didn’t feel like eating a black bean burger.

Shocker.

Now, I’ve got some goodies to munch and a pony to see!

What’s your favorite granola bar flavor?

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

28 responses to “Scattered

  1. I am sorry about the situations that you are not so happy about right now lady! At least you have wonderful Teddie to play with today and those delicious looking bars and cutlets! Thanks for the recipes too…you are the best! Oh, and don’t ever feel pressured to post at any usual time…you know I don’t!

  2. Oh I’m sad…I know there are a trillion beautiful pics to see, but my computer won’t show them! So I’ll have to guess, and assume that everything looks wonderful 😀
    Have a great day!
    Oh favourite flavour? Anything with dates 🙂

  3. Tes

    Sorry that something bother you…
    Those bars look yummy! I like mini loaf pan. I have to search for that! It’s so cute!

  4. nic

    You two look really cute!! And you definitely don’t look like a 5 year old!!
    Your breakfast always look delish like no other!! I’d love you to be my breakfast-chef! Say yes please?! ;D
    Oh and I am currently in love with Oh May’s peanut butter granola bars! Can’t wait to make another batch and would love to have your ‘bar-pan’! Much easier than cutting them because I love them crunchy!! 😦
    Have a wonderful day!

  5. So far, my fav bought granola bar is the white chocolate Macadamia Clif bar… heaven!

    And I know how you feel when you take a break from blogging- it feels weird, but you never want to force it. At the end of the day, it’s still just a hobby and should be treated as such…

    I hope today is a good one! 🙂

  6. lots of good things in this post! i love pretzels with peanut butter. dang, i want some but it’s a “no-go” right now for me. dang it.

    i’ve never made my own bars before. looks good! and i bet its nice to know everything that goes into it. those are the perfect pans too!!

  7. Mo

    Ooh, thank you for the black bean patties recipe. Never thought of adding VW gluten. 🙂

    Hope the bad situations you’re dealing with get better!

  8. :O I see everything now! I love the sound of those black bean cutlets 🙂 is the VWG to hold them together, or more for a bit of a protein hit?

  9. I hate to hear you’re going through a rough spot. From your gorgeous photos… you wouldn’t know it. My favorite granola bar flavor? I’m sort of an old-schooler… I love Cliff bars… and my favorite is oatmeal raisin.

  10. My sweet friend…I’m sorry you have been feeling overwhelmed. I’m right there with you. Summer should be relaxing, huh? But I think that it is wonderful that you are taking a step back and trying to bring peace and tranquility into your life. You are a beautiful, talented person, and I am glad I have the opportunity to take a peek into your life!

  11. I wish my parents felt too bad to touch my food! If it’s in the fridge it’s free game.

    That is a very cute picture indeed!

  12. HOORAY for a stress-free june!! And my family never eats “my” food either so like you said, when they do I am shocked! Love the figgy bars 🙂

  13. I really hope that the rest of your June is stress free and you feel a bit calmer 🙂 some absolutely gorgeous looking pics! i love blackbean cutlets too! and i also LOVE looking at the piccies of Teddie xx

  14. Anything peanut butter! I need to get one of those pans because I have making a big pan and then cutting them! They look delicious! Your waffles look yummy too. I need to get more berries cause you are killing me!

  15. Great photo of you and your horse!

    My favorite granola bar flavor is cinnamon. Simple and delicious. I also love muesli bars, which I find harder to find in the States, but apricot is my favorite of those.

  16. those black bean patties look absolutely AMAZING. i want them! in fact, i’ve got a can of black beans…… 🙂
    love your pictures. so pretttttty.

  17. teenagehealthfreak

    anything with coconut is a winner for me. 🙂 ..i really like the KIND coconut/almond ones. i also like this one by raw revolution…mango/coconut…yum. 🙂
    but this recipe looks good!!!…i’ve been wondering what to do with my millet puffs?!?!

  18. I’m sorry you’re feeling a little stressed right now. I hope whatever you’re dealing with clears up soon! 🙂

    Haha I hate it when I really want to eat something, and I open the fridge only to find it gone. Sometimes I even stick a note on my food to prevent this from happening!

    I haven’t really been able to eat many granola bars out there. But my favourite so far has been the Laraballs recipe you posted. I LOVE coconut!!

  19. Yay I’m so glad I’m back reading AND commenting. I totally know how you feel about not wanting to blog, it was refreshing to take a break from the computer. Feel free to take a break too. I hope you are feeling better with whatever you are going through 😦 I need to make those granola bars AND those black bean cutlets. They look SO yummy!

  20. ah! Don’t sweat it, we all go through periods of stress (been there a million times). I know it sounds stupid but if you ever need to talk I’m an email away haha. You made me miss yoga…I have to get back into that!Even though your meals were scattered…they all looked FANTASTIC! I always like the picture of you with your horse… it looks so caring and loving. Favorite granola bar flavor…love trail mix style bars. Give me crunchy and fruity with almonds, cranberries, cherries and sunflower seeds!

  21. Those granola bars sound yummy! As do your waffles. You need to come to the HLS and make me some waffles, ok? 😀 I joke. But seriously, they look amazing.
    And yay for a stress free June!! Stress is not worth it. Easier said than done I know.. but still. I’m sorry you’re dealing with some not so fun situations.. they suck. I know. If you ever need to talk about anything, always here to listen!
    Love you girl!

  22. Dee

    Definitely take care of yourself first and foremost! Stress free is absolutely the way to go.

    I hope the rest of your June goes well!

    Guh. I die over your pics!

    Hmmm… favorite granola bar flavor? That’s a hard one… I’ll have to get back to you on that… 😉

  23. Mae

    The cutlets sound so simple and delicious! I love your granola bar variations, they all sound to die for.

    Now that it’s summer, I must try some of your waffle recipes!!

  24. I’ve been wondering about your famous bean cutlets for a long time. Thanks for posting the recipe! I have to say they kind of look like cookies don’t they? 😉

  25. Pingback: It Lies in the Lens « Healthy Exposures

  26. Pingback: It’s the Weekend «

  27. Pingback: Hit or Miss «

  28. Pingback: Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bars | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

