Obsessions

Whew! Thanks once again to everyone so being so wonderfully supportive of my concerns for Teddie. After everyone’s thoughts, prayers, crossed fingers, my built-up karma, and wishing on 11:11 while baking Carrot Fig ‘Nola Bars (true story) he is…dun dun dun

this cracks me up. "how fast can we trot before i have to canter?"

a-ok! Big sigh of relief!! The vet totally freaked me out at first…when he saw it he was going on and on “I’m glad you called rather than waiting…blah blah…corneal ulcer.” So I’m like oh, great – but all that talk was while we were waiting for the stain he put in it to take effect. When he looked at it afterwards he saw there was no scratches, lumps, or any weird stuff…and it’s just how his eye is! He did say it’s weird, but something he has seen onΒ occasion. Sort of like some people’s eyes may change, or a portion of their eye changes. Just said to keep an eye on it and if it does get real goopy/watery/seems to be bothering to give him a call but as of now it’s not from him going blind like I was for sure was happening! πŸ˜› I was certain that a blue glow was reaaal bad news.

So, his act is over πŸ˜‰ Speaking of acts – it’s been a while since I’d updated on Georgie. Yeah, we’re pretty sure she was putting on an act, too πŸ˜› Back to work for her! Not sure what she was reacting to…but she’s pretty well back to normal. Well, she was acting a little funny tonight…but not “I’m about to have a baby.” funny.

Anyways. Now that my life has not been shattered, my day today was pretty beautiful. Beautiful = glorious weather, I mean. It’s hard not to be in a good mood! I mean, my horse isn’t losing his eyeball for pete’s sake, I’d have been smiling if it was blizzarding outside. In August. Yeah.

I experimented with my flash attachment for these breakfast shots! It was very dark outside and I bought the thing back in March (actually, my mom bought it for me for my b-Day) and have used the thing about a handful of times.

It intimidates me.

But, it might be a good route to go come winter time when it’s pitch black outside. It was almost that way this morning! I’m thinking…maybe I’ll make a light box. That’d be fun stuff right there πŸ™‚

I think I need to go to a carrot cake addicts anonymous meeting because my obsession is getting a little bit ridiculous. I just had to make carrot cake oats last night for this morning. Teddie must be rubbing off on me.

Other obsessions include peanut butter icing.

Snack involved half a banana and some mixed nuts. Of course, the mixed nuts were only there for moral support. The morning seriously flew by somehow, and I never really got hungry? My stomach felt a little funny when I was leaving the barn to get to work, though, so I had the banana thinking maybe it would setttle it. Usually an alarm (re: my stomach) sounds around 10, 10:30. It just didn’t ring today, I guess!

Of course, that’s not to say I wasn’t ready for lunch. I know this isn’t much to look at – but I loved this lunch. I had the other helping of my Tasty Bite Punjab Eggplant with some roasted broccoli and some red kidney beans for some more oomph. And a slice of homemade bread – toasted, of course! I think the biggest downside of using a bread machine is the whole it awkwardly leaves in one or two slices from the paddle.

and a plumcot for dessert! This plumcot was perfections. As was the Tasty Bite! I think it was even better second time ’round πŸ˜€

a baked Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bar was the snack of the afternoon. Definitely better un-baked…but not bad with a little bit more honey πŸ˜‰

My other obsession? Broccoli bowls. You know how some bloggers can’t stay away from a “yogurt mess”? Well, I think my “broccoli bowls” are kinda like my version of a yogurt mess. I’ll just start calling it a broccoli mess, I guess.

And tonight’s was pretty exceptional, if I may say so myself. I chose the sweet potato falafel and some dark red kidney beans as my protein-of-choice, mixed with roasted broc, carrots, and garlic. Rather than hummus, it was topped with the yogurt-tahini sauce that I’d made to go with the sweet potato. And you can’t forget the garden-fresh tomato on the side, and cashews on top!! I had a slice of toasted bread to wipe up the extra πŸ˜‰

Welp, that’s all for now! It was a gorgeous night out so I spent a little more time outside than usual. It’s getting late and I’ve got some blogs to read!

Current Obsession?

24 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

24 responses to “Obsessions

  1. So relieved to hear that everything went well with Teddie today!!!! It really was a beautiful day here today in New York – the sun was shining and the temperature was just right!!! Your broccoli bowels look fabulous – can’t wait to get fresh broccoli from the farmers market. I love eating broccoli roasted with garlic and sun dried tomatoes.
    Some of my favorites right now are farm fresh tomatoes with basil and oregano and grilled eggplant with roasted peppers. I also have been loving the local fresh peaches.
    Hope you have a great weekend and thanks again for the recipe yesterday for the carrot bars – can’t wait to try them!!!
    xoxo aimee

  2. Glad Teddie’s ok! Wishing on 11:11 really works. πŸ˜‰ CoCo has had a few ulcers- the first one really freaked me out but they’re really not that big of a deal if treated correctly. πŸ™‚ Now it’s like “oh, she got an ulcer again..alright, get out the meds..”

  3. I think I heard a collective sigh of relief from the blog world πŸ˜› Haha! So glad to hear the good news… you deserve nothing more πŸ™‚

    My current obsession? In all honesty, it’s broccoli bowl (Although I prefer your title of broccoli mess better):P Every night for dinner I’ve been having some mess of grains/proteins, and it always includes broccoli! I couldn’t make this up if I tried… there is just something about a big bowl full of warmth and variety, no?

    ❀ Tat

  4. Glad that Teddie isn’t in any real danger, I’m sure that takes a huge load of worry off of your shoulder.

    Currently I can never make up my mind at night between a bowl of granola and milk or granola and yogurt and fruit, so I just combine it into one bit pile of deliciousness. I’m going to give a broccoli bowl a try sometime in the future – it looks like it’d be a great way to make a quick and easy dinner when I’m lacking time in the dorm!

    And then there’s my never ending obsession with chickpeas… but that’s just a given. πŸ˜‰ And I agree with the paddle-leaving-a-hole-in-the-bread thing! It’s really weird to get to the end and then I have this funky shaped piece of bread. Good thing I prefer half sandwiches / open face sandwiches though.

  5. So glad to hear that Teddie is okay! What a relief for you. And I’m all about broccoli bowls right now…especially with baby tomatoes, edamame beans, nutritional yeast and lots of curry. Yum!

  6. Glad your horsey is okay! That broccoli bowl looks amazing, I love the sound of cashews/peanuts with a bowl of mixed veggies + brocc. One day, one day…

    Obsession: oats. honestly. every morning, easy peasy! and if my blender was superman, it’d give me a green monster with oats blended inside every day of my life!

  7. yayy so glad teddie is ok!! (my roommate is OBSESSED with wishing on 11:11… every night… religiously…haha)

    i like the outdoor + flash combination! looks great

    im also OBSSESSED with plumcots right now… did you know that the difference between a pluot and a plumcot is that a pluot is 50% plum 50% apricot while a plumcot is 75% plum and 25% apricot (plumcot is a cross between a pluot and a plum)? random fact of the day. ahah.

    im also obsessed with scones/muffins right now and also weird almond butter sandwich combinations.. like almond butter + egg… almond butte + figs… almond butter + cucumber… i know it sounds disgusting but ive realized i like almond butter with everything!

  8. I’m so glad to hear that Teddie is all well and okay, must be such a relief for you to get the all okay from the vet, but you still did the right thing by calling the vet and just getting him checked out.
    I love the look of that Nola bar, it looks so healthy, full of wonderfullness too πŸ™‚

    Hope you have had a lovely day.
    Love Jess xx

  9. So glad to hear about Teddy :-).

  10. Nathalie

    So glad to hear that Mr T is ok!!!
    I will try out your Sweet Potato Falafel today- they look delicious! How do you make the Tahini-Joghurt dressing?
    Current obsession…hm, probably hemp seeds on/in EVERTHING! And all things zucchini, because they are so plentyful at the moment and I’d hate to waste produce from the garden.
    Btw, how are your squashes and everything coming along? I think I read a while back that you were growing some stuff in your garden?

  11. I’m so glad he’s ok! You must be so relieved!! Chika has slightly weird marks on her eyes too – I remember when she was being vetted before we bought her, the vet was all ‘hmmm-aaahh-hmm’ looking into her eye – my heart was pounding!! But yes anyway – what a relief!
    Shame about Georgie though..some foal photos would’ve been awesome πŸ˜›
    Current obsession = teriyake veggies, green monsters, smoothies, stubble fields, blackberrie…too many!

  12. I think all of the comments on this post sound pretty much the same but… I still want to say that I am very happy to hear that Teddie is fine.

    My current obsession is okra (I don’t count coconut because it’s my all-time favorite and I can add it to almost anything). I love the way my mother cooks it and I wouldn’t mind eating it for lunch every single day until the end of my vacation. It is a great refreshing after-beach meal and I think I will request it at least once more πŸ™‚

  13. Yum! All that food looks sooo good!

  14. Phew….soooo happy to hear that Teddie is okay! You must be so relieved (as are all your readers!)

    Current obsession: cheese quesadillas. πŸ˜‰

  15. I am so happy that Teddie is good to go! I was freakin’ out too! I am so with you on the broccoli mess! I have been doing a Mexican mess lately with left overs and it is so good!

    On your comment about my boys and veggies…Max is weird. He will eat things I wouldn’t. He is all about the “shock factor” with everything. I will be honest that talking to them and communicating is the best thing we could do. We don’t force them to eat anything. Jay only really eats vegetables if they are in things. So, we have started mixing things together a lot more. The boys are complete opposites in so many ways, but both are good boys and we have learned that we have to work with them…not against them. Anyway…thank you for all the nice things you said about them! That really means a lot to me!

    I hope you have a great weekend!

  16. I’m not much for the “yogurt mess”. But I’ll join you with your up and coming craze of broccoli bowls! πŸ˜‰

  17. dmcgirl37

    Glad Teddie is okay! You must be so relieved…

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  18. So glad to hear that Teddy is ok! My current obsession is greek yogurt and berries… YUM!

  19. I’m glad your boo is a-okay!

    I’m currently obsessed with blackberries and the Kardashians. Healthy yet trashy?

  20. Yay! I’m so glad that Teddie is okay! What a relief! πŸ™‚

    My current obsessions are corn and watermelon!

  21. Glad to know that Teddie is okay! πŸ™‚
    My current obsession is green monsters with pumpkin in them- the texture pumpkin gives the smoothie is amazing!

  22. gimme gimme gimme i want ur baked fig NOLA BARS ❀

    i love how u call the broccoli meals ur broccoli bowls! very good name for them. im obsessed with mixing or mashing broccoli into meals with beans and squash and other veggies etc. SO YUMMY

    xoxo

  23. I am pretty obsessed with apples lately! Yesterday I ate 3 or 4 and I have been using them in everything from quesidillas to salads! I am definitely a carrot cake lover as well πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

