Chunkier Chunks of Energy

Maybe you remember my last attempt trying to recreate chunks of energy? If you do, you remember me saying they were great, but may well have been thins of energy. This was simply from me spreading them out too much.

So, one could rationalize that anything could be chunkier than those “chunks.” And I was just going to do the same thing, making sure this time to not spread them out so much.

But since I never keep things the same, I made it a leeelte different…and mo’ betta’!

Chunkier Chunks of Energy

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. oats – quick or rolled
  • 1/4 c. cashews (I used salted and roasted)
  • 4-5 medium sized dried, pitted dates
  • 1 T. The Organic Whey
  • 1/8 c. (a.k.a. 2 T. if it’s easier for anyone) nut butter (i used chunky pb)
  • 1/8 c. milled flax
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1/8 c. Kamut hot cereal (or oat bran or more oats)
  • 1/8 c. maple syrup
  • water, as needed
  • 1/4 c. coarsely chopped dried papaya
  • 1/8 c. coconut (the only kind I had was sweetened, though I’d have preferred un)
  • 1/8 c. sunflower kernels

Destructions:

dates, oats, cashews

Combine first three ingredients in a processor, and pulse until … crumbly.

crumbly, you know?

Add in the next “set” of ingredients.

maple syrup, whey, peanut butter, wheat germ, flax, and kamut

and again, process to combine. Stream in some water (I think I used about 1/8 c.) until it sort of clumps into a couple chunks.

lykee zis.

And then add in the add-ins.

And then just pulse it once or twice to get it all incorporated. Easier than doing it by hand, that is for certain.

Spread it out into a tupperware, pressing down firmly…

…cover, and chill until you’re ready to dig in!

They’re tricky to get out the first couple, so next time I may just make balls – but this is a lot faster and easier!

though, I’m fairly certain they’re delicious in any way, shape, or form 🙂

22 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, recipe

22 responses to “Chunkier Chunks of Energy

  1. by golly you got it! i’d love to try it but we don’t have a food processor at my house in Taiwan 😦 Nor do they sell dates, wheat germ, or flax here. sighhh

  2. those look absolutely fantastic! so colorful too. ❤
    lucie

  3. I love recipes like this! Easy, delicious and you can customize them to suit what you are looking for!

  4. I have never tried energy bites. But yours looks so good as soon as I get my new food processor I’m going to have to add this to the list.

  5. These look soo good! I’ll even admit they look better than my Balls ‘O Energy ;-).

  6. Those look tasty! I like the cube shape, but yeah, I imagine balls would be easier in the long run. 🙂

    Jenn

  7. Bootiful! You remind me, I gotta give papaya a second try. And maybe make some chunks of energia while I’m at it. 😀

  8. Those look so perfect! Awesome job.

  9. YUM! These sound delicious. I’m going to have to make a run to Trader Joes to make these.

  10. I am digging the tropical twist. Give me some cashews and dried papaya any day of the week. The great thing about making your own bars/chunks is that you are able to add your own favorite ingredients or health food items. We rely on factories far too much (although I will never stop buying my Larabars 🙂

  11. They look and sound amaze 🙂
    Oh yeah – what was the thing about the calcium run on the last post? I’m lost…(and very, very blonde :s)

  12. Mmm dried papaya! I want to make these, but I’m not sure if my dinky little food processor could handle it. 😛

  13. They look really yummy! I love dried papaya ❤

  14. Wow! These look totally yummy–love the addition of kamut and that way wonderful whey. How would you (blogger extraordinaire) feel about this post inspiring a new flavor of the chunks of energy sold in stores? (Chunks of Energy, which, incidentally, aren’t heavy on the factory-vibe [handmade] or the packaging, at all!)

    It’s my family (also in the northeast US!) that sells the chunks of energy you can buy in bulk bins in stores…(Not in Taiwan though, sorry Elaine!) There are limited flavors as you (Sarena, Monet) point out, but no need for a food processor, but you need to find a store (or order online), and you can try a single one without investing in lots of sometimes-expensive ingredients (power foods), but you can’t experiment with flavor combos or taste while you mix. So, clearly, different strokes for different folks.

    Anyway, just wanted to reach out and say that it’s awesome to see these homemade versions. There are many, many kinds of chunks of energy. (Everything is one!)

    Happy trying!

  15. Dee

    Mmm, these look so good!

  16. They certainly look yummy xx

  17. Pingback: Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant. | Healthy Exposures

  18. Pingback: Carrot-Fig ‘Nola Bars « Healthy Exposures

  19. Pingback: Broccoli Obsession « Healthy Exposures

  20. Pingback: Pajama Day « Healthy Exposures

Leave a comment