Pajama Day

Today was a sweatpants kinda day. You know – one of those days that you stay in your pajamas because you have nothing else to wear.

Er – okay, so that was maybe the case for me…but you’re probably more responsible than I am.

I promise these weren't as burnt as they look. Even if it was only by a little bit.

At least, I don’t remember them being black like that. Maybe my memory is fading. I remember them being pretty darn good, but I am a little weird, I guess. FWIW, spreading oil on your iron doesn’t work as well as mixing oil into your batter.

For those asking what I have for my waffle iron - this is it. A Cuisinart. Nothing fancy, but it gets the job done. I think it was like, $20 at Bed, Bath & Beyond.

[clicky]But anyways. I tried to get the motivation to go to the barn and see and ride Teddie this morning. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I didn’t not want to see him – but I just was not looking forward to the actual commute of getting there, and then getting home afterwards. I’m feeling sick of always driving places. I had some other things on my mind to get done. The drive takes up more time than anything else. I didn’t want to leave my mom to do yardwork and horsework all by herself. It was windy. I wanted to go grocery shopping. My cat was running around wearing a fedora. I just looked at the forecast and thought it was going to snow this week, but they just have stupid rain droplets that resemble snowflakes.

and so on. I sort of just wanted Teddie to teleport to my backyard.

You know, wings and stuff...so he can teleport...

Needless to say, when my mom didn’t want to come along I sort of just decided to stay home today. I missed him…but at the same time, I didn’t really have any time to miss him.

Let me just say: I have been loving hardly touching my computer all day lately. A couple minutes in the morning and for a very short while in the afternoon near dinner…and other than that, it’s just if I need to look something up. It’s very refreshing.

So, what did I do instead of playing with the cutest and most bestest pony in the world and surfin the web?

  • went to get groceries (this isn’t as hypocritical as it sounds re: driving – I may live in the boondocks, but Price Chopper is a five minute drive at most)
  • went for a walkrun
  • helped my momma rake the front lawn
  • cleaned the front lawn
  • made branana muffins
  • made SuperCharge Me cookies
  • did laundry
  • cleaned out the horses
  • played with the horses
  • put the horses to bed

so it doesn’t look like all that much…but this morning was exhausting!

After returning from the store with gigantic bags of frozen peas and mixed vegetables that I purchased for just $1.99 due to overstock as well as finding some bars that I’d never seen before (I nearly squealed with excitement) I decided to go for a run. Slash walk. I laced up my sneaks and ate the other half of my banana + peanut butter, and off I went.

See, I’ve been reading so many blogs lately (ahem – especially these lovely ladies) that make me just wish I was a runner. I already know I’m not, but when I start thinking “ooh! a run!” I know I need to just go for one to remind myself why I don’t. So that’s what I did today. There is a car that has a couch sitting on top of it down the road from me that I keep wanting to photograph, so I decided to just run/walk there.

And you thought Vermont was boring.

There and back, it was about 3 miles. Not a lot, but enough to remind me why I don’t do it often. I guess it’s not fair to say I didn’t have fun – I found it enjoyable enough. (cough- especially the powerwalking parts-cough) But the fact that I had to deal with a 5+ pound d90 slung around my neck in a very awkward camera bag made it a little less fun.

And I’m still debating as to whether the chair-ontop-of-car was really worth it. And my iPod died. And I must have looked so pathetic that an old man stopped his car to ask if I was just going for a walk or if I needed a ride.

I told my mom that, and she told me the same man asked her the same thing last time she was out walking.

I don’t think he was a creeper, I think that just goes to show you how infrequently people are out walking around out here, baha.

Disclaimer: I kept running even after the discomfort of the camera and realization that walking was more fun for me because I wanted to get back to help my mom. Not just because other bloggers do it and I “want to be a runner.” I am perfectly okay with what I do do, and don’t focus on what I don’t like so much. (This is a great post on comparing yourself!)

Anyways. I got back and raked/shoveled/what-have-you for a couple hours before it was lunch time.

I declared today to be “clean out the fridge” day. I have a lot of little random bits in the fridge that need to get used before I make more meals for the week! For this sandwich, I sauteed baby spinach, garlic, red pepper and chickpeas in a bit of olive oil until it was wilted down. Mixed with some raspberry-fig sauce and sandwiched between two slices of whole wheat before panini-ing. And a side of sliced peach.

Naturally, I still wanted a lil’ somethin’-somethin’ afterwards, and based on the fact that we have bananas out the wazoo (both frozen and fresh) I decided banana soft serve was a wise choice.

I blended it with some cottage cheese that’s been hangin’ out for almost too long instead of greek yogurt. I’m not sure if that sounds gross – but I promise you’d never know. Topped with wheat germ and honey roasted peanuts. ’twas heavenly.

Why so many bananas? Well – I play my cards right and end up getting about 3 bunches for $1.38 every other week or so. They’re usually not even over-ripe by much, if at all! And more often than not, they’re the organic bananas because everyone buys the cheaper ones. Score.

Since I just did this last week and still have a lot in the freezer, I froze some of these, left some out, and baked with some. We still have a lot of bananas. I’m not complaining.

Even though I still have some of these Branana Muffins in the freezer, I decided to make more. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, right? Right. I added a shredded carrot this time, and used raisins. I prefer the others better, but it could also be that I took more care in making those ones 😛 OH! And I used date sugar! I forgot about that change until just now!

I also made another batch of SuperCharge Me cookies because my mom loves them. I thought maybe I’d bring some to work but I don’t think I’ll be allowed to. I wanted to make Chunks of Energy, too – but people were sleeping and I figured the food processor would go over like a lead balloon, so I just went out and played horse for a while.

Cleaning out the fridge continued for dinner. Based off of a Moosewood’s recipe for Ratatouille Rice, I had Ratatouille Bulghur.

  • Prepare bulghur as usual – when cooked, add one diced tomato. Stir in a spoonful of cottage cheese (finishing it! success!) and set aside.
  • Prepare veggies: Sautee the last 1/4 of a diced red pepper in olive oil.
  • Add some cubed zucchini, even though you know you don’t like it. It was there and it’ll be hidden enough that life will go on.
  • Cut off some mold on your eggplant and then cube the last of it. Add it in, along with a cubed portabella cap, minced garlic, oregano, salt, and pepper.
  • Beg your mom to use the last two portabellas, even though she only wants one.
  • Add in some chickpeas, almost finishing the container.
  • Cook the veg until eggplant is tender.
  • Fold in the bulghur.
  • Realize you’ve made way more food than you intended. Once your bowl is almost overflowing, pass some off to your mom, then realize the rest will have to be for another day.
  • Top with feta.

Enjoy!

26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, recipe

26 responses to “Pajama Day

  1. I had the same sort of pajama day.. although that didn’t really start until like five o’clock when I got home from work 😛 Still, there’s nothing like spending time not sleeping, in comfy sleepwear!

    … and paa-lleeeze don’t feel guilty for passing up your little Teddie monster today, because if you do then I don’t even know what category that puts me in. Yikes! I have a date with Rayne tomorrow, and hopefully I’ll get on her back after what seems like years.

    You have to stop making such delicious looking bulgur dishes… because otherwise my blog is going to have to be changed to a ‘Jess Tribute blog’. Baha,
    ❤ Tat

  2. Why did your waffle turn out that way? That is so weird! I bet it still tasted good though. I knew I liked Teddie for a reason…I love unicorns! The chair on car is crazy. I don’t know if I would have gone there. There’s a story there. Um, I stayed in my pjs all day…cleaned and folded laundry. Fun stuff! Have a great night Jessica.

  3. Wow girl… I seriously cannot believe that the chair on top of the car thing is actually for real! So funny!!!!
    I get the running itch after blog reading too. It SUCKS!
    Those waffles aren’t burnt, just a bit crispy 😉
    Super Charge Me Cookies.. can’t go wrong there!

  4. Pajama day it must be! I lounged around and did nothing (like I had been planning for oh so long) in my lounge pants as well. I cooked here and there, read some blogs and what not, but I had a completely non-productive day. And I’m so happy that I did. 🙂

    I even had some chocolate banana softserve over branana bread about 10 minutes ago – no lie.

    And it’s really a great thing that you’re content with the exercise you do do and not worrying about wanting to be a runner just because others are. I do it for the euphoric bliss of endorphins. 😉

  5. Haha, I don’t just have pajama days. I have pajama weekends, or pajama summer vacations! And don’t feel bad about not seeing Teddie today… sometimes a little break in routine is good! And it seems like you got a lot accomplished.

    I’m the same with running. It’s one of those things I feel like I should like because everyone else does, but I just can’t get into it! I enjoy walking a lot more.

    Oh and the pictures of the chair on top of the car are beautiful, but bizarre!

  6. A chair on top of a car is totally worth an outting 🙂 And you sure had a busy morning! Wanna send some of those banana muffins and Super Charge Me cookies this way? 😉 haha

    Love the picture of Teddie, too! I had no idea he had a unicorn alter ego. 😛

  7. Everyone needs and deserves a pajama day once in a while!!!! Glad to hear you had a great day!!! That picture of the chair on top of the car really is quite bizarre!!!
    That bulgar recipe looks amazing – i have a ton of eggplants that need to be cooked – great idea with the ratatioulle!!!
    xoxo aimee

  8. Pajama days= my favorite!
    I totally understand the feeling you have about running. Running is something I enjoy, but running 15-20 miles (like some blogger do, and that’s great for them) just doesn’t make me happy. I am glad that you stick to what makes you smile… I do, too!

    That car is so odd! It’s the kind of thing that makes me think there must be a creepy story behind it. Or maybe that’s just because halloween is coming soon, and my imagination is wild 😛

  9. Not everyone is a runner, for sure. I’m not. I’ve tried many, many times to like running but we just don’t mix. Instead, I know I love to dance & do yoga so that’s what makes up my exercise. Def do what you love to do, not what works for others! I’m glad I’m not the one who doesn’t like running! Haha, that man is pretty funny. And a lazy PJ day with minimal computer time sounds lovelyyyy. Days like that always seem so productive without the interwebz sapping away all the time!

  10. I lived in my sweatpants today. I also read Vogue while wearing sweatpants and felt like an imposter…
    I wish my store sold reduced produce! I LOVE overripe bananas! I’d be such a good customer!

  11. Very cool pics of that chair/car situation!
    I know what you mean about the running inspiration (/pressure?) on the blogs… but yeah, you’ve just got to know if it’s right for YOU. Everyone has a different relationship with running. I get injured really easily doing it, so I know I can’t do too much of it. Despite having come to terms with that, I still sometimes wish I could be one of those gnarly marathoners running miles and miles every day…. 😉

    BTW, I’m really loving your blog! I gave you an award over on mine today: http://wp.me/pZLfg-hy

    x

  12. Loooove me a good pj day, if only they happened ’round here more often. Maybe tomorrow’s workout-clothes day will be just as comfy. A mountain, a backpack full of food, a hubby, and some comfy fitting adidas running pants. I think so 🙂

    Gosh you! That photo of the chair on the car is incredible, sell your photos? Or your recipes? Either route, you’d be quite successful I believe.

    & haha, aww.. running joy. Got to give it to you, though. Running with a huge camera around the neck: not loads of enjoyment. Yay for a chill 3 miles, though!

  13. I love your unicorn 😉 where can I get one?!?! Haha

  14. What beautiful photographs! I was struck by the color, the spareness of the landscape…I made Ryan come over to look at them. Great shots!

  15. hahahah loveee teddie with wings.

    also, the pictures of the couch on the van (very strange situation btw) = so lovely. great eye!!

  16. Lol, I had to cut mould off an aubergine yesterday too :p
    And I had a PJ day – after the horses were mucked out, I changed straight into them 😀 they’re my most comfortable clothes!
    AND I alwaaaays get stopped by cars asking if I need a lift somewhere if I go out walking – most often middle aged men – it’s somewhat annoying! I don’t worry about it (though if it happened in the US, I’d be terrified…I always think the US is full of murderers!!)
    Love the sound of all that cooking and baking – you’re so good in the kitchen! I seriously wish you could cook my meals 😦

  17. That’s a really random couch/car thing…I mean, how does that even happen? Definitely worth the photos, methinks.

    Love the pajama day. In the winter, it happens all the time, though I usually change from my PJ’s into gross sweats, just because they’re warmer 🙂 Ya gotta do what ya gotta do, right?

    I can’t believe it might start snowing in VT soon. Craziness!! Hope you enjoy your holiday!

  18. I love pajama days. You are definitely not alone. They’re so enjoyable. 😀

    That chair on the car’s roof is hilarious. I love seeing random things like that.

    Oh, and 3 miles is a *lot* for your first run. Seriously. I hated my first couple runs, and I was only able to do a little under a mile. It gets easier *and* more enjoyable. 😀

  19. I love those days where you don’t get out of your pajamas! Everyone needs one of them every once and awhile :)I like the picture of the couch on the car,very creative!
    I know what you mean about other bloggers giving you the urge to go running, blogs inspired me to pick up running again.Even though I may not be running say, 10miles every time, I’m still out there enjoying my 5ks! 🙂

  20. Those photos of the chair on the car are phenomenal! They’re almost kind of creepy (in a good way!).

    Girl I know what you mean about comparing yourself to others. I always wish I could be one of those bloggers who can run 15 miles like it’s no big deal. Reading blogs can definitely make it more difficult, but I just try to be happy with my own abilities! 🙂

  21. Oh how I loooove sweatpants days!! And as awesome as all your food looks (the banana softserve in particular), I am blown away by the couch/car photo! The sky looks so ominous… I just love it! You’re quite talented 🙂

  22. Michelle

    I am so not a runner either. I can say that I ran 3 miles, but did I enjoy it? Eh maybe not. I usually get shaky and sick when I return and I must take a nap too.

  23. teenagehealthfreak

    I love that picture! it’s amazing. worth it for sure. you crack me up! the whole ” my cat’s running around wearing a fedora!” omg…i couldn’t stop laughing! (a fedora is a hat..right??) well anyway…love this blog. and you get so much exersice loading hay and working horses..it’s probably better on your body to.o.and fun! hopefully i’ll be riding soon with all my problems now..and now that winters coming..that’s not always easy..:( have a nice week! 🙂

  24. Pingback: Beans, Beans, Beans « Healthy Exposures

  25. keep rockin’ that self-love, girl. it’s your body – run how you wanna!
    -r

  26. Dee

    Ahh, I am currently in the process of not going online too much. Fat lot of good this is doing me right now though. 😛

    So many golden nuggets in this post. 😉 Yay for playing with the D90!

    And I try not to compare myself with other bloggers but sometimes I just can’t help it. 😦 Eventually I see the light though. One can’t really function in a world of comparisons. It brings about so many insecure feelings out of me. Must read that post btw.

    ps. I don’t know if I’ll ever be a runner, I’ve totally been curious about it though. But walking… ahh walking. Walking owns me. 😀

Leave a Reply

