Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant.

Okay, I’m really glad I’m not the only one who is very partial as to what shape their pasta is! It was funny growing up, because spaghetti was most often made. I would always groan “I don’t like spaghetti!” to which I would just be met with “You like elbows and ziti – they’re the same thing.” haha. It seems like the spaghetti lovers prefer spaghetti, angel hair, or fettucine, whereas the rest of us prefer the cutesy bow-ties or ziti. This could be a scientific experiment! Or a psychology one…heh. “What does your pasta preference say about you?”

Okay, okay – I’m shutting up now. I’m probably a little loony right now because today was my first day ever not seeing Teddie’s cute little face even for five seconds.

Sad thought.

We had a lot of fun stuff to do around here, though – shoveling these huge piles of dirt and logs that have been residing in our front lawn after some logging was done up back. So my mom and I basically spent all. morning. shoveling, wheeling, dumping, raking, and sweating our booties off.

These waffles proved to be great fuel. My original waffles…but for some reason they seemed exceptionally…exceptional? yes. Maybe because it’d been a while since I’d had them. (all the banana bread lovin’) or maybe because of the delicious white flesh nectarine and coconut topping it.

My money’s on the white flesh nectarine and coconut. So perfect. Joining it was a peanut butter chia icing and a drizzle of honey.

Mid-way through the morning was break-time. I reheated a slice of banana bread and ย used the last slice of my triple wheat bread to make a pb & j. I let my mom take first pick but we ended up just going halvesies ๐Ÿ˜‰

I thought that was a great idea - when I was "making" this, I realized I couldn't decide which one I wanted!

I also grabbed some chunks of energy as the morning progressed, though I was more than ready for lunch. We didn’t stop until nearly one, and as we were driving our last load to the dump I exclaimed excitedly “I want an egg sandwich!!!”

And so I had just that! On toasted homamade honey-oat bread: a fried egg (extra crispy!!) Cedar's garlic lover's hummus, and a fresh garden tomato, + a heavy-handed shake of salt and pepper ๐Ÿ˜‰

I don’t think my mom’s ever thought of egg sandwiches while at the dump before, but there’s a first for everything, right? Last night I made a new loaf of bread – this time honey oat. I prefer the triple wheat, though that’s not to say this loaf is bad. I just prefer the texture of the triple wheat. It’s much chewier, whereas this loaf is a little crumblier. Which, is sort of odd because I actually added a little bit more olive oil than was called for.

Of course a GM was also necessary!

In the blender today:

topped with wheat germ, PB, cashews, another huuuge date, coconut, and a drizzle of honey.

And afterwards – we sprawled out in our beds. Unfortunately it didn’t last long, but whatever. Aaand I was a little bummed because I’d originally planned to just give Teddie the day off so that I could get work done here in the morning and then go to the Vermont Summer Festival in the afternoon. The VSF is a pretty serious horseshow that is about forty-five minutes away from me for the better part of the summer. Sundays are Grand Prix days, and this weekend was their very last one. Usually I make it out there many times a summer – but this year I didn’t make it out at all ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I was just too tired to even think of driving out there and walking around, and not to mention that leaving at 1:30 wouldn’t put us there until the Grand Prix was nearly over.

I guess I’ll just go with the thought that I at least saved some money – there are tonnns of mobile tack shops there and I really wanted to try and find a new pair of tall boots!

You all know I'm not a fan of the "- in a jar" trend - but if there is one thing I do enjoy, it's cereal in a sunflower butter jar!

After a short while, though, we went back to work with a little more “pile moving” before just calling it a day. I snacked multiple times – but this is all I snapped a shot of. Banana slices, original puffins, and almond milk is pretty spectacular in a sunflower butter jar. I’m not going to lie, though – I’m really sad to see the end of this jar. I couldn’t find the Full Circle brand when I was at the store last and had to get SunButter. Will it impress? The ingredients weren’t as impressive (use plain ol’ sugar) but I just couldn’t go a day withoutย sunflowerย butter.

Murphy's Law in action: the one thing I don't take two pictures of is also the one thing that I was too hungry to bother taking an in-focus shot of.

And…finally, a recipe. Because for some reason, I decided making stuffed eggplant after being really gross all day was a good idea.

This is from a book called “The Vegetarian Cookbook” that I bought at a booksale for $3. Score. I tried to find it online to link it, but can’t. I think it’s sort of old-ish. Anyways – I’ve adapted it just enough to be able to post it ๐Ÿ˜› They call it Imyam Balsomething…but it’s a stuffed eggplant. This is not meant to be offensive to the culture in which this dish originated – I just honestly have no idea how to pronounce it, and the book is far away. If you know the proper pronunciation, enlighten us please!

Stuffed Eggplant

for two

  • 1 medium-large eggplant
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, mashed
  • 1/2 a white onion, diced
  • 1 can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 of a red pepper, diced
  • small handful of sugar snap peas, chopped
  • 2 T. raisins – golden or regular
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • 1/2 T. dried parsely
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 c. butter beans (I’ve also done it with garbanzos)
  • cashews
  1. Cut off the top end of your eggplant, and slice in half lengthwise. Leaving ~1/2″ walls, scoop out the inside.
  2. Chop the innards, and salt the shells and the innards. Oh yeah, and preheat your oven to 400*. Note: the eggplant should be allowed to sit, salted, for a bit, so I would suggest chopping all your veggies while it’s sitting.
  3. In a large saucepan, heat your olive oil. Add in the garlic and onion, and leave over medium heat, stirringย occasionally, for about three minutes. Then add in the chopped eggplant and canned tomatoes, stirring frequently. Simmer for five minutes.
  4. Add in the remaining ingredients except for the cashews and beans, and then cover – simmered – for fifteen minutes. I know, I know. Raisins, nutmeg, and cinnamon are really random. Just trust me on this one, you will appreciate it later. After fifteen minutes, stir in the butter beans.
  5. Fit the eggplant shells in a baking dish, and spoon in the mixture. Cover and bake for 40 or so minuts, until the eggplant is tender.
  6. Top with chopped cashews, and serve with a grain of some sort. Note: It’s also good with a bit of cornmeal or quinoa in the eggplant filling.
26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, recipe

26 responses to “Imyam Balwho? Or…Stuffed Eggplant.

  1. Your stuffed eggplant looks awesome! I just picked up some today for the first time in who knows how long…. I’m trying to figure out what to do with it!

  2. The eggplant looks so good! Sorry you missed the festival and Teddie. Hopefully you will have a restful evening though!

  3. I had eggplant imam in Greece so many times during my study abroad stay it wasn’t funny (good thing I enjoyed it). The version I typically had didn’t have beans or cashews, and was more or less just baked eggplant in a monstrous amount of [really delicious] olive oil and tomato sauce, but still good.

    I have two eggplant in my fridge right now and one wants to be made into pesto. The other might have a determined fate now that I’ve read this post… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I want to like eggplant, I really do… especially because you make it look so delicious. But that, and zucchini, are two veggies I just can’t seem to get myself to enjoy, no matter how much I try. Maybe if you were to come cook dinner for me, I’d change my tune, though ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Egg sandwiches, on the other hand, I love, and you’re making me feel like the one I had for lunch yesterday is much too far away. Going to have to remedy that shortly…

    I’m sorry you didn’t manage to see the cuteness that is Teddie today, but there’s always tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ And absence makes the heart grow fonder…

  5. I think I need to try your eggplant recipe! Unfortunately, the few times I’ve cooked with eggplant have been epic failures, but I think that’s due to my recipe choices. This sounds delicious! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    oo..a white fleshed nectarine. special!!! that’s cool!! i’m glad you remembered your coconut! sry you didn’t get to spend time with teddie today….but he’ll probably be running to see you tmro!!! everything looks wonderful as always! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Yum yum yum! I love eggplant, and after your strata I bet I would love this one too! Seeing as I am trying to get out of my dinner rut, I will just have to give this one a shot ๐Ÿ™‚

    … Sorry that you didn’t get out to see Teddie OR the horse show! I don’t have anything like that around here (although there’s a pretty decent schooling show at the fall fair in my town. Perhaps Rayne and I will do a flat class if she’s ready? Heh.), so the fact that you even had the option is pretty stellar. There’s always next year… and you’re right in saying that you probably saved yourself a chunk of money. Those mobile tack shops are SO tempting and persuasive!

    Sunbutter is the brand that I have at the moment, and it is wonderful. I’m not crazy about the ingredients either, but it honestly tastes way too good. I bought an all natural one to compare, so I am just waiting to finish off this jar… it won’t be long!
    โค Tat

  8. Your egg sandwich looks awesome! I made an egg wrap today that turned out pretty well but for some reason they never fill me up?!
    And for some reason I love when horses drink from hoses ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. love the stuffed eggplant! mmmm

  10. Mo

    “What does your pasta preference say about you?” reminds me of those really lame MySpace quizzes everyone would take and then post the results to their profile. I genuinely would not be surprised if there were a quiz like that somewhere. ๐Ÿ˜›

  11. Sounds like you sure did have a busy day – sorry you weren’t able to see beloved Teddie today – hopefully you can get some well deserved rest tonight!!
    Love the waffles topped with white nectarines – they are so sweet this time of year!!! A real treat!!
    Great eggplant recipe – i have a ton of eggplants in my refrigerator right now and needed some new recipe ideas!!
    Hope you have a relaxing night!!!!

  12. I saw that cookbook in the store today! Wow that recipe looks like it turned out amazing! You have such lovely breakfasts I’ve gotta try put the waffles! Those chuncks of energy look amazing! Your eats always make me drool! Sounds like a fun day with helping your mom, I always spend my weekends doing chores aroud the house, not the funnest thing but very time consuming! Haha have a great night!
    Ashley
    Chewingoncherries.wordpress.com

  13. I’m sure Teddie missed you just as much as you missed him. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I’m picky about pasta, too! I dont really care for spaghetti (*especially* not angel hair!), and next up would be bow-tie, then my favorite would be shells..like the Velveeta kind. Probably because I used to eat that stuff like it was my job. ๐Ÿ˜›

    And awesome recipe!! I loooove eggplant ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Giirl that eggplant looks so delicious! It looka like a loaded garbanzo/veggie/saucy party atop a supurb veg. Maybe I’ll just buy an eggplant one of these days… maybe. Like how those aren’t garbanzos, but how you used you’ve used them before heh ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope you get to see your love bug pony soon! And you never fail to make me regret not making waffles for bfast, yours just seem to always look like heaven callin’ out my name. Waaafflees…

    Happy almost Monday! (?)

  15. I love stuffed eggplant…I can’t wait till it gets a bit cooler around here so I can really start enjoying these dishes. It sounds like you had a busy/tiring day today, and I hope that after a long night’s rest you wake up feeling refreshed (and you get to see Teddie soon!) Have a wonderful Monday, and I’ll be looking forward to your sweet post.

  16. Haha I can totally relate to my childhood days when I said I didn’t like something and my mum would try so hard to convince me that it was the same – I wasn’t having any of it though!
    I agree with Amanda, I really want to like eggplant (aubergine to me :p) because you make it look soo yum! Maybe I should give it another go..the stuffing does sound very yum though!
    Hope you have a good day with Teddie tomorrow, I’m sure it will be extra special because you missed him ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Rachel

    Your recipes all look divine, and this stuffed eggplant…WOW. Need to make this!!!!!

    Rest up, would love to read more about your adventures in the kitchen and with Teddie:)

  18. I was never much of a pasta person as a kid, but I loved bow-ties with tomato sauce. Different shapes definitely taste different. I swear ๐Ÿ™‚

    Loooove the stuffed eggplant recipe!! I’ve never been a big eggplant fan, but it’s growing on me, so I’m bookmarking that for future reference. Hope you have a great start to your week love!!

  19. It’s imam bayildi and has a specific pronunciation which I don’t think I can explain using latin alphabet ๐Ÿ™‚ . It is originally Turkish and, as my country is a neigbour of Turkey, we eat a lot of this in different shapes and forms. I’ve never eaten it with raisins and nuts but carrots make it really good.

  20. That stuffed eggplant looks so good! I always buy eggplants with the intention of stuffing them, since yours always look amazing, but then I end up using them in grilled veggie sandwiches before I can get around to it. ๐Ÿ˜›

    That sounds like an exhausting morning! I have no idea how you lasted so long! I get tired of yard work after 15 minutes hehe.

  21. I don’t like spaghetti ๐Ÿ™‚ I feel like I?m going to choke on them ๐Ÿ˜€

    Mhm, I adore stuffed eggplants!

  22. Yum, I have 2 eggplants in the fridge and I plan on doing this with one of them. Eggplant is one of my favorite foods!

  23. Michelle

    Sunbutter with puffins, bananas and almond milk is making my mouth water like none other! haha.

  24. Pingback: Swavery? « Chewing on Cherries!

  25. Pingback: Running Away… Kind Of « One Step Closer

  26. Hi,
    Just found your great blog. As a SunButter blogger, we’re happy you tried our product…
    Happy cooking.
    PS/ I admit it, I’m a ziti girl

Leave a Reply

