Orange-Cashew Tofu

And yet again, I win the “world’s worst mother” award. It’s a good thing I’m not a little-kid person, because otherwise I’d probably leave my kids waiting for me in the rain after school when I was supposed to have picked them up an hour ago.

I didn’t ride Teddie Thursday because I didn’t feel like dealing with the snow.

I didn’t ride Teddie again today because I didn’t feel like dealing with the cold.

Truth be told, he’s probably not complaining – but it’ll probably be too cold again tomorrow, and the little bugger’s bound to be a handful for me on Tuesday! I even did an extra-long workout in attempts to kill time and give it a chance to warm up.

Unfortunately for me, “warm up” meant it raised a couple of degrees…from 10 below to allllmost 0.

Anytime you feel your nostrils freezing and your lungs burning when you step outside, I declare too cold to ride. Yes, I give you in the colder regions permission to poke and laugh at me.

Instead, I took the unplanned “morning off” to search for more ways to sell artwork other than just my Etsy. Including attempting to photograph a shot I printed, matted and framed yesterday.

Wouldn’t this look lovely hanging in your home?! I think so. (kidddding. Well, not really…)

Anyways. I won’t lie about being a leetle bit excited that it being so cold gave me an excuse to watch a mid-day hockey game against the Penguins. Usually I hate laying/sitting down and watching the tub in the middle of the day…but curling under covers and snuggling with a cup of hot tea was just the perfect activity for a cold day.

It was at this point that I got so upset I decided I might as well start marinating my tofu...

Oh, who am I kidding. I didn’t watch this game curled under covers, I watched it screaming and shaking my fist at the television. I sound a lot more sane if I just leave it at “sipping tea,” though.

...and it was at this point that I abandoned my tofu on my photography chair and went running back into the room.

….aaaaand, we lost. I’m just going to say they felt bad for the Pens after beating them so bad last time. That’s why we passed the puck to them so often, right, Susan? (just heckling – I’m happy for your boys. And you being a fan makes me not feel so grumpy about losing, because I’m sure it made you very happy.)

What better way to lessen the blow of a bad game than good food, right?

I’m talking tofu, not takeout.

One recipe that stuck out to me while flipping through ED&BV was the cashew-ginger tofu. Ironically, I liked it a lot more before I read the ingredients past “cashew butter,” but I was pretty well sold on the title and the fact that it uses cashew butter alone.

…and then I read the rest of the recipe and decided I probably wasn’t going to like it as it used tamari.

Not surprisingly, I did my own thing.

And loved it. A lot. Of course, one thing you guys miiiight not know about me is that I’m a closet cashew butter freak. Best nut buttah evah? I believe so.

The mellow flavor of the cashew butter combines so perfectly with the subtly sweet orange juice and orange zest, and the soft spice given from the ground ginger and clove. This tofu would be wonderful atop a nutty grain like bulgur or brown rice, preferably one seasoned with more orange and dried cranberries, too!

Orange-Cashew Tofu

Inspired by Eat, Drink and Be Vegan’s Cashew-Ginger Tofu

Serves 1 as a main, 2 as a side (?)

  • 1 serving tofu, as indicated on the box (for me, 1/5th of a block)
  • 1 T. cashew butter
  • zest and juice of one orange
  • pinch of ground ginger
  • pinch of ground clove
  • 1/4-1/2 t. honey (I’m sure agave or maple syrup would be just as good if you’re vegan, or it could probably even be omitted)
  • 1-2 T. water as needed

Slice the tofu into approx 1/4″ slices, and then cut into triangles. In a small bowl, whisk together remaining ingredients until smooth. It will look like it’s separating at first, but if you whisk fast enough it will come together in no time. (yes, you might need to use your big muscles) Pour half the cashew mixture in a small sealable container, and then layer in the tofu. Pour remaining cashew mixture over top, cover, refrigerate and let sit at least one hour.

When ready to bake, heat a drizzle of oil in a nonstick pan. Spread out the tofu and cook until golden on both sides. Reserve the marinade in the container, and serve by drizzling it over top. Note that you could probably pour it in the pan while the tofu is browning, too, and cook until it gets thicker, but I wasn’t sure that it wouldn’t get “thick and pasty” like the original recipe warns of. Next time, I’d give it a try, though, as it was a little liquidy still.

What’s that? You want to know what that mess is I served it with?

Oh, okay…

That, believe it or not, was my attempt at a neat plating arrangement, but it really just backfired.

Once I tasted it, I didn’t care, however. Because this meal was good.

  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, mashed
  • 4-5 large white mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, grated
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • juice of half an orange
  • zest of one orange
  • ~2 T. dried cranberries
  • salt and pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg

Heat olive oil in pan, add in onions. Cook until almost translucent and tender, add in garlic. Stir, add in mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper, cook until tender. Add in carrot, cranberries and juice of orange. Cook until most of the juice has been absorbed. Shut off heat, add in spinach, and cover until spinach is mostly wilted. Stir in nutmeg, orange zest and spinach until incorporated.

And that’s a scoop of bulgur on top, with some of the marinade spooned over and all topped with cashews.

I die.

Are you a wimp in the cold, too? Does weather have influence over your plans, or do you tough it out no matter what?

 

28 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

28 responses to “Orange-Cashew Tofu

  1. Isn’t cashew butter just unbelievably decadent?! I love it! I am a total wimp in the cold! We went hiking today with the boys in the snow and ice, I while I did not complain out loud, my toes and fingers were screaming! I hope it warms up a bit for you to ride him soon!

  2. Wow, you present your food so lovely-ly!!! I love cashew butter too, by the way πŸ™‚ Best nut butter indeed!

  3. That actually would look lovely hanging in my house! It’s taolly my style – it’s really pretty Jess!

  4. Don’t beat yourself up too much… riding is tough to get motivated for in the winter! I *think* I have my first Eq club lesson on Thursday, and while I am excited I am also dreading the cold!

    The photo is beautiful. I kid you not, I would buy it.. that is if I weren’t a student πŸ˜›

  5. Your tofu looks so yum! Oh gosh, yes I’m a wimp in the cold. I look like a huge puff ball when I go out in public in the winter because I wear so many layers. I try not to let it effect my plans but sometimes, you just gotta stay in when it’s freezing.

    xxx

  6. I have to agree that if I had some spare cash and a house to call my own, that would be a photo I’d be willing to purchase for decor, I really like the whole angle of it!

    The winter coldness really kills all of my plans to be honest. I don’t like going anywhere if it involves getting cold, so during the winter months I end up staying in my dorm a lot and I can’t stand having to bundle up everytime I need to step out.

    As far as cashew butter goes, I’ve made it twice and both times it’s turned out pretty thick and not too spreadable (compared to peanut butter or almond butter) but the natural sweetness is very enjoyable. ^^

  7. Ten below?!… I stop breathing at the thought. I’m a wimp when it comes to cold. I mean, yeah, I’ll bundle up like an Eskimo since I have no choice but to go out, but I hate every second of it!!

    The only cashew butter I’ve ever tried is Artisana’s… which I suspect is nothing like roasted cashew butter. I know exactly which one I want to try, and I know exactly where I’m going to buy it, but I refuse to do that until I get my current nut butter stash under control… it’s more than a little ridiculous right now.

    ❀ ❀

  8. -10F sounds terrible. It was 6F last night when I walked home, it was manageable but I’m not sure I could handle -10F! That’s crazyyy!!!

    Your photography is beautiful! I wish I had mooolah to buy some of it!

  9. I’m a total wimp in the cold! The tofu looks amazing. I’ve never had cashew butter before but it sounds amazing. I will have to find some at Whole Foods next time I shop.

  10. I am such a whimp in the cold, and yes I do make/change plans according to the weather. Of course I live in LA which means hot hot hot, so me and cold do not agree. We cry when it gets in below 30 around here!

  11. That tofu looks absolutely amazing. Everything you make amazes me with its beauty! You should let me live at your house and I’ll be your guinea pig forever and ever…

  12. Ayla

    I tried that Cashew Tofu recipe! SO GOOD! Now I think perhaps I need to try your version. πŸ˜€

    I’m definitely a wimp when it gets cold.. except the cold here is nowhere near being as cold as it is where you live. So.. yeah.. mega wimp.

  13. I’m a *total* wimp when it comes to riding and the cold…especially since riding just makes it worse since you’re moving and creating wind. So don’t feel bad, you’ve dealt with way more cold with Teddie than I have with CoCo, I guarantee it.

  14. Can you believe I’ve never had cashew butter?! It appears that I’m missing out though because that whole meal looks so good.

    You’d think that I’d be used to the cold seeing as I’m an ice skater and all, but I don’t like it one bit. I try to tough it out, but usually I end up being defeated. The sad part is, I live in a part of the country where it rarely gets below 40 degrees…:P
    ❀

  15. I’m such a wimp when it comes to cold weather…and it definitely influences my plans. This was one of the reasons we moved to Austin! I needed to find a place that didn’t keep me indoors for 6 months out of the year. I’m sure that you and Teddie will both be happier when it warms up in your parts! Your tofu looks great, and I love the way you prepared your sauce. Cashew butter is so good, and it doesn’t need much more! Thank you so much for sharing. May your Sunday burst forth with joy and love.

  16. I’m out, no matter what the weather is. But I’d probably wouldn’t be so sure if I lived in Sweden for example πŸ™‚ .

  17. SUCH a wimp!! the farthest ill go is to walk my dog/… PLEASE BE MY PERSONAL CHEF!

  18. Ugh, I feel for you with the cold…here, it’s the first time since november it seems, that you can go outside and not feel your face freeze. I have actually been cycling to and from work once this week, without the ensuing horrible pain from defrosting toes and fingers…the snow is almost gone, and you can smell the ground, thawing. It’s a small whiff of spring and it probably won’t last (please, pretty please do… – fingers crossed) – but it feels so great πŸ™‚

  19. Oh my God. 0 degrees. I would have been BAWLING. I’m the BIGGEST wimp in the cold…if it’s too cold I don’t feel like doing anything but bundling up and drinking tea. Stay warm!

  20. I’m a total wimp in the cold too. Last night we tried to go out to a bar for my roommate’s birthday, but after 5 minutes in line we turned around and took a cab back home. It was freezing!!

    That picture of yours looks so pretty all framed up like that!

  21. cashew butter is my second favorite nut butter! (first being pecan butter)

    When it comes to the cold I’m a huuuge wimp. I’m more of a summer/spring person.

  22. I eat WAY too many cashews for my own good;)

    Slash I am the biggest wimp in the cold! I really should tough it out, but often the couch and sweats are calling my name:)

  23. Good gosh, that is one fine looking meal! I really, really want to make that :/
    Ha, I’m a cold weather lover and wimp! I feel the cold, so I have to wrap up reaaal warm. Normally I hate riding in it (cold fingers on reins, stiff fresh horse, frozen arena….bah) but I can run in it fine. Very odd.

  24. Michelle

    I am such a cold weather wimp. I went for a run yesterday in the rain, but it was actually fairly warm out so I didn’t mind.

    Oh, I also gave you an award on my blog! Check it out http://givemethealmondbutter.wordpress.com/2011/01/15/oh-so-stylish-blogger/

  25. I jsut found your blog and felt compelled to agree with your adoration of cashew butter. SO delightfully buttery and FANTASTIC in cookies… LOVE that stuff!

    I haven’t had it in awhile though. I should fix that! πŸ˜‰
    Love your blog btw!

  26. Girl I am definitely reconsidering my decision to start up an Etsy shop solely because my prints would look PATHETIC compared to you. Wow! You.are.brilliant.

    Oh, and if I ever build up the courage to try out tofu again – I am making this recipe!

    p.s. can we be friends on faceboooooook?! πŸ™‚

  27. I do not like the cold period! πŸ™‚

    You tofu looks A.M.A.Z.I.N.G!!!

  28. Pingback: Drunk on Brownies | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

