Know What?

I got a serious kick out of reading everyone’s random facts an quirks! Here’s another one for you: celery makes men more attractive to women! I just teach you something new everyday, don’t I?

Teach myself something new, too…like if I just suck it up and admit the fact that fall is upon us and burrow under blankets instead of on top of them, I’d be able to fall asleep a lot faster. I was curled in a ball under a dinky blanket last night until I decided to stop being belligerent and just use the three other blankets I was laying on top of for something a little more productive than to sleep on top of.

I can be so stubborn sometimes.

Know what else? Overnight oats are seriously happenin’ when you mash a banana into the base. Aw yeah.

  • 1/4 c quick oats + 1/8 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 a banana, mashed with the oats
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 t. chia seeds
  • cinnaminnamon

I always mix in some vanilla chobani in the mornings, and did today, too – but it’d be a good sub for yogurt if you’re out if you use a whole banana 😉 Animal friendly, too! (sidenote; seriously, if you haven’t read that series Rebekah posted – read it. STAT. It’s really got my wheels turning lately!)

Know what coffee’s good for? No, no – not waking you up. Keeping you warm! I had two cups this morning rather than my usual one. I always want something hot to sip and hol on to in the colder months…go figure, after I’ve gotten myself down to 2 cups or so a day! Luckily, I’ve got some decaf coming in my next K-cup order.

Know who’s got the best cracker recipe ever? Averie. I love these things…and I was loving those Kashis! hah – now these are a real cracker 😉

My subs:

  • 1/4 c. cashews
  • 1/4 c. sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 c. chia seeds
  • sesame seeds
  • 1/4 c. milled flaxseed
  • salt
  • BBQ rub

Know how else I know fall is here? I straightened my hair. It’s a winter thing. You know – warmth.

Although – I’ll stop being a giant wimp – it really wasn’t that col today. It was sort of one of those nicer mornings that you don’t get out of bed and freeze getting dressed, and are not shocked by chill stepping outside because it’s about the same temp as the house.

Know how simple it is to make one of the best wraps of your life? Very. Simply grab a sundried tomato pesto wrap, oodles of garlic hummus, mozzarella, and fresh tomato slices. Nuke or panini until gooey and devour.

Know how many calendar’s I made for 2011 today? Enough to remind me that Christmas is right around the corner.

Know how good this was? Perfectly. Vanilla chobani, peach, wheat germ, and medjool dates.

Know how great it feels to love your job? I do.

Know how great it feels to be comfortable in your own shoes? I’m learning.

Know how excited I was to spot a Bora Bora bar at Price Chopper this past weekend? Oh…I bet you can imagine 😉 I’d never seen these in the store before, and I’m wondering if they just got them in or if it’s just because they’re randomly displayed a couple columns down from where all the other bars are. Unfortunately, they only offer two flavors…but I’ll take what I can get, I guess.

Know how good this was? Very. The Tribal Cinnamon Oatmeal was a lovely change from my usual date-based bars. And I’m always a fan of cinnamon-raisin oatmeal! It was perfectly sweet (as in, mildly so, not overpoweringly so) and chewy, an bursting with cinnamony goodness. I love that it still had whole nuts throughout.

Look at all these crazy (good!) flavors! Maybe I’ll write a persuasive letter to goo ol’ P. Chop.

Know what the most perfect dinner ever is? You guessed it – a sweet potato and beans!

I took Veganomicon’s already super-quick cheater baked beans and made them even quicker.

I sauteed half an onion, a clove of garlic, and half a carrot in some olive oil, and when it was softened added some tomato paste, water, and dijon mustard. Followed by some cooked corn cut from the cob, black beans and a drizzle of molasses. Quick n’ dirty – doesn’t get any better than that, folks! (we won’t talk about how it doesn’t hold a candle to Nora’s, mm’kay? :P)

What did you discover today?

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

27 responses to “Know What?

  1. Hmm no discoveries today. Maybe tomorrow! I need to do the baked bean on sweet potato thing. I still have not done that. Your eats all look so good! I had to dive into the decaf pods last night. Felt so good! I am so ready for fall.

    Oh, did you find your belt?

    Have a great weekend Jessica! Oh and I am 35 and still trying to feel comfortable in my own skin. I think I am getting there too!

  2. I discovered that when things are a surprise, they are SO much better! My step-dad works like crazy and rarely takes a day off, but today he did and the whole family got to spend some time together…. and he even took me out to the barn so I could ride!

    Don’t quote me on this or anything, because it came from my GP who is pretty much a delinquent… but apparently more than 2 cups of coffee a day is harmful because it stops your body from properly absorbing calcium…. AND it has nothing to do with the caffeine content so decaf still counts. I know. It’s a tough life.

    I happened to have a sweet potato tonight for dinner too! Although I did not have delicious looking beans with mine…

    ❤ Tat
    PS. The blanket thing? Story of my life.

  3. I LOVE your sweet potato filling- all my favorite things- but I’d never think about putting it all together!

  4. Funny, I was just looking at a recipe involving baked beans and sweet potato!
    We’re still in fall denial here too, my husband refuses to turn off the air conditioning at night even though the temperatures are more than comfortable!

  5. I love sweet potato combination’s, it’s just so good.

  6. 1:3 brown rice to water ratio in a microwave is slightly less than optimal and 1:4 would probably be better. I discovered regardless, that simple meals (tofu, broccoli and brown rice) can be the best things on the planet.

    Yesterday I discovered (officially) how awesome a sweet potato w/ topping is for a meal when you don’t feel like cooking.

    And I discovered a few random blogs that I’m going to be reading for the next hour tonight. 😛

    (Pumpkin is even better in overnight oats, but I usually use it in combination with a banana when Libby’s isn’t on a shortage. )

  7. teenagehealthfreak

    i am the same way with the covers! i will curl into the smallest ball…all nite…instead of gettin up to get a bigger blanket. ha ha. oiy. i don’t wanta think about winter….i hate freezing in the morning!!! it’s so uncomfortable!!!!! you can make me a wrap anytime. 🙂 now that i’m happy with who i am…i discovered i laugh all the time and silly things and people think i’m funny??..i just like to laugh. 🙂

  8. Black beans and sweet potatoes are perfect fall weather food!!!! I discovered today how much trouble 3 year olds can get into very quickly after watching my nephew this afternoon!!! They sure are hard work at that age but I LOVE him to pieces anyway!!
    xoxo aimee

  9. I discovered that staying home on a Friday night can be even more enjoyable than going out.

  10. I’m stubborn to with the blanket thing!! Except I’m too stubborn not to use my huge down comforter in the middle of Summer even if I can’t sleep when I’m too hot. Instead, I’ll turn on all the fans and the air conditioner to practically-full blast. I’ve always had to sleep that way..it’s weird. And not very efficient… :/

    Wanna send some of that cool weather down here? It was 97 today- not awesome!!

  11. Those crackers look delicious, and perfect for dipping in some hummus! Note to self: buy sunflower seeds.

    And today I discovered that my best friend will always have my back.

  12. I discovered that even when I’m tired and want to cancel my plans, it is so good to be with the people that you love. We had a lovely dinner party at my place tonight, and I was so blessed by my friends. I am also blessed by your blog and your sweet spirit that permeates your posts. I especially loved hearing about your coffee habit. My consumption certainly increases during the colder months, so I’m trying to switch over to more herbal teas after noon!

  13. I made granola bars from her(Averie) recipe and it was theee best! : )
    That sweet potato and beans look super duper…. wow!

    I discovered AGAIN today that I love cooking and eating than playing the bass… Maybe time to change the job…

  14. Fall denial? The same here. Last night I left the balcony door wide open although the wind was howling. Luckily, my roommate has closed it at some point.

    Discovery of the day: peanut butter. My first jar ever and I can’t believe I have lived so many years without even trying it 🙂 .

  15. i love how you were so thoughtful to include an animal-free sub for something you eat daily. you are too sweet, and i am thrilled you are thinking about the post! that was my point 🙂

    ps – i got veganomicon for my birthday a few weeks ago and have been flipping through it ever since. it’s funny how many things i’m like hmmm, i think i remember this from jess’s blog!
    -r

  16. Oh my, for a horse person (and for a regular person), you have fantastically neat and tidy and clean nails! What’s your secret!? If you say something like ‘I wash my hands’, I’ll feel so dumb :p
    Aaaaall your food looks so scrummy, especially that bar! Anything cinnamon-y is a win in my book 😀

  17. I’m such a giant wimp when it comes to the cold too. I can handle fall temperatures like these, but I’m such a baby come winter time. I wish fall could last all the way until spring! 😛

    Yesterday I discovered that I still know how to go out until 2 am and party!

  18. I seem to have redisovered tea, which I love so much, but hadn’t craved until the last few days when I was feeling chilled. And it’s like you and coffee – it’s for the warmth as much as the caffeine.

  19. I just got my hair cut last week, because I reckoned it was finally cool enough out to bother with the hair dryer + iron. I can’t stand to have hair by my neck when it’s hot out, much less blow hot air at my head!

  20. Crazzzyyy yummmmm additions to that sweet potato! It goes way beyond the average sweet potato + black beans, which I thought was the only choice, silly me… Today I have ZERO plans outside of my apartment and I’m pretty stinkin’ excited to tackle some tortillas/wraps! I have no pesto, though… so that might be a problem. A few tweaks might bring it all together. We’ll see!

  21. Hmm..sad to say, I haven’t discovered anything exciting today. Hopefully I will at some point today!

    I chuckled when I saw that you had overnight oats BUT also had 2 cups of coffee to keep you warm 🙂

  22. You’re like a mini buddah (haha name that movie!)

    I looove the look of that sweet potato 🙂

  23. Discoveries:
    – a few nuggets of CSS and html coding wisdom from my roommate
    – oatmeal cookies are very filling, especially when consumed en masse
    – Stella McCartney is even more fantastic than I had previously imagined (which I didn’t think was possible)

    That sweet po/beans situation looks mighty amazing.

  24. That sweet potato just had me drooling. Yummy comfort goodness!!

  25. I have been mashing banana into my overnight oats lately too! LOVE IT. Today I discovered… that I can survive on little sleep! I am always paranoid that I will self combust or something if I don’t get my 8 hours. =P

  26. I am drooling over that sweet potato! And I am definitely adding a mashed banana to my next batch of overnight oats – great idea! 🙂

Leave a comment