Another Weekend Down

I think weekends off are going to start being the norm πŸ˜‰ Even though blogging never feels like a chore to me – it was nice to take a break…namely because of all the work I had lined up! Okay – so there wasn’t actually a ton of work lined up, but I shot a senior portrait yesterday and going through them all lasted all night/into today. Especially since we had such gorgeous weather yesterday and going through them kept getting delayed!

Since the shoot wasn’t until 10, I had some time to kill at home before I had to leave at 9. This was done best by some serious yoga! It’d been far too long, and it felt so good…especially this morning πŸ˜‰ Teddie play time took place afterwards and then I had some other shenanigans to tend to until I finally made it home.

Today was a bit of a dreary day, and I didn’t get to make it out to see Teddie. Β The weather was a large factor – I really wanted to work with the ponies here before it rained this afternoon, and I didn’t think the weather would hold out for both Teddie and taking “the girls” on a walk down the road! Add to that some schoolwork, and I just stayed home.

It was nice to stay home and not have tons of work to do like we’ve been doing – just the usual caring for the horses! Without further uh-doo: my weekend in a nutshell!

Of course you knew there’d be waffles. In classic cold-month tradition, I brought back the act of sauteeing the fruit on top. Remember when I always did this for my hot oats?! Lately I’ve been nuking the fruit just for the sake of time – and so I forgot how much of a [wonderful] difference there was when you take the time to sautee. I usually just start simmering my fruit of choice in some almond milk an a drizzle of maple syrup or honey before starting my oats or waffles. Usually by the time I’m done it thickens a bit and gets just like a pie filling!

This wasΒ pearΒ sauteed in almond milk, maple syrup, raisins, and cinnamon…

…and this morning’s carrot cake waffles were a little less aesthetically appealing but just as delicious – grated carrot and half a peach sauteed in almond milk and maple syrup with some raisins, as well.

This accidentally ended up being lunch yesterday. I figured I’d get home a little later than usual, so grabbed this 9 Bar sent to me from across the pond by the lovely Nicky because it was the “biggest” bar I had – protein, cal, and carb wise. Little did I know I wouldn’t get home until 3…but it did so well keeping me full I wasn’t even hungry when I got home. And, well, Dunkin Donuts was calling to me…they were in the gas station I stopped at for free air since my tires needed some.Β CaffeineΒ was necessary πŸ˜‰

As a side-note: does anyone else get a kick out of putting air in your tires, reading the pressure gauge and all, all by yourself while guys stare like they’e never seen a girl inflating her tires before? No? Oh…

Oh, yeah – back to the bar. I had the original 9 bar this time. You may remember when I raved about the pumpkin – and this was just as impressive. I was skeptical when I first saw how much carob coating it had, but it ended up not being a turn-off at all! It was sweet, nutty, seedy, and perfection all in one. And don’t forget how long it kept me satisfied for! I think they call it a 9 bar because a normal person could stay full from it for 9 hours. Too bad I’m not normal, though it’s still an impressive feat considering I eat just about every two hours.

I want to move to the UK…you guys have the best bars and snackage!

Today, though, lunch was a bit more proper, with the assemblage of my newest favorite wrap-ish ever. I even made one for my mom! Nuked sundried tomato pesto wrap with garlic hummus, italian herb mozz, feta, and fresh tomato slices. omnomnom.

Due to yesterday’s subpar lunch, however – hunger struck all of a sudden and I needed dinner fast! Enter: my beloved broccoli bowls. This one starred roasted broccoli, roasted carrots, garlic hummus, fresh tomato, feta and scrambled eggs (2 eggs, almond milk, sundried tomatoes, mozzarella, tomato, salt, and pepper). I actually sort of bombed at making the scrambled eggs since I added fresh tomato to that, too, making them too watery – but they still tasted delicious. Or I was just really hungry.

It’s anybody’s guess.

With the colder weather, we’re trying to get everything in out from the garden. I’ve got more spaghetti squash than I’d bargained for and quite a few tomatoes and ears of corn! As excited I was about having red peppers out the wazoo – I didn’t get more than that one mini one 😦

While I was reading the bible looking for recipes this afternoon, my mom brought in a very suspicious package. (I realize ther’es no mail on Sundays – we forgot yesterday!)

If I didn’t know what was inside I would have been uneasy about this sticky brown substance oozing from my mail. I knew it was just a harmless coffee grinder!

Hah! Syyyyke! I apologize for the poor photography – but this was not a time to bring my prize to the window to photograph. The sink was where this belonged!

…but what is it, you ask?! Date syrup. Or at least, I’m pretty sure – that’s what Mo and I had arranged for, at least – but everything was too coated in brown sludge for e to be totally sure πŸ˜› Does anyone else think the parcel workers were up to some shenanigans for this one? I mean – this is how I found it. How does the cover get completely unscrewed and wind up next to it?! Especially since I’m (assuming) there was some sort of seal on it, anyways.

A letter?! To me?! All I could make out was “spoon to get syrup.” I think that’s what made me most sad – I love reading the notes!!

Don’t make fun of my finger, I was trying to not get it all over me! haha. Needless to say, none of it was salvageable 😦 I actually almost kept licking my fingers (I mean – doesn’t everybody do that when they’re cooking and get syrup/pb/whatever on their fingers?) out of habit and then remembered that probably wasn’t a good idea.

Mo – now I’m afraid you’ll have a pumpkin explosion on your hands! TI hope the food Gods aren’t upset with me for smuggling all of Vermont’s canned pumpkin out of the state. For everyone concerned, Libby’s has you all wrapped around their little finger. There is no such thing as the pumpkin shortage. They just don’t know how to harvest pumpkins.

Surprisingly, my baking and cooking bug wasn’t in full swing today. Probably because I have a freezer ful of bran muffins? I decided chili was a good idea, and was thisclose to making Ashley’s Chili but when I saw the bible’s recipe for spaghetti squash mexicana I figured that was a good compromise of having chili and using a homegrown s’ghetti squash.

I still decided her cornbread was a must-make, though! It was heavenly. I made a few minor changes – spelt flour for the flour, a flax egg for the egg, mixed vegetables for the corn (I would have used corn if I’d had it! I actually really wanted to use corn and dried cranberries or peas and dried cranberries but I didn’t have dried cranberries. Would that have been weird?) and 2 T. pumpkin butter for the 2 T. sucanat. Don’t look at me like I’m crazy, you can’t taste it. Oh, and I just greased the bottom of the dish with butter rather than melting 2-3 T. in it.

So. ir. re. sist. uh. bull.

I had to read the first chapter for intro to nutrition, and I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to read for class. Right now it’s sort of “meh” just because it’s reiterating what I’ve been reading for a while now: what humans first existed on were basic foods. Vegetables, grains, meat – that kinds of things. Now, the public is greeted by tons of processed food, usually not in a good way, either. And yet – the food that remains most nutritious are those basic foods.

I decided to highlight what I found blog-worthy because otherwise if I highlight what sounds important, I end up highlighting everything. Does anyone else do that?! Anyways – this random thought stood out to me – the Healthy People 2010 Nutrition Objectives include increasing consumption of vegetables, one-third being dark green or orange. They didn’t offer an explanation, and I just found it sort of…odd. Why dark-green or orange? So I googled. Which turned out to be a difficult thing to google, and took a while…and finally relied on Yahoo Answers. Which is lame and not necessarily always accurate, but I’ll take what I can get:

Dark green and orange vegetables and fruit contain more vitamins and cancer-preventing antioxidants and should be a large part of your diet.

There you have it. I was really hoping for a long explanation. I was let down.

But at least the bible didn’t let me down. Why I don’t just rename my blog “A Tribute to Veganomicon,” I will never know. Enter: Spaghetti Squash Mexicana with Tropical Salsa.

I pretty much followed the recipe for the s’ghetti squash – but mixed up the salsa a bit. I will say – at first I wasn’t going to make it cause it sounded too weird. (tomato, pineapple/mango, avocado and cilantro? meh.) I was just gonna slice a tomato on top. But I’m so glad I did more! I mixed chopped garden tomato, dried pineapple, dried mango, dried cilanto, salt, green pepper, and lemon juice and let it chill while I made dinner. When I took it out I saw the other half of my peach from this morning and thought that would be perfect! So – the peach was peeled, chopped, and added. It made it perfect!

I ha it all with a big hunk of cornbread, plus seconds of everything πŸ˜‰

So – how was your weekend?!

Strangest combination of foods you’ve had and loved?!

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

23 responses to “Another Weekend Down

  1. Glad you had a little time for enjoyment this weekend. I was just thinking about the fact that I did not blog this weekend. Not because I didn’t cook anything, but I just feel like I needed the time. I finished off a not so great spaghetti squash today. I hate it when you eat something just for the sake of getting rid of it…it was the first one I have ever had that was eh. Everything looks delicious! I had a lot of waffles this weekend. Ok, my word, I will get your package out the door by Friday. You need this peanut flour! I made waffles this weekend that taste like peanut butter oatmeal cookies! Promise, it is coming your way. Have a great night Jessica!

  2. My weekend was rather lax and I didn’t really do a whole lot. Today I went for a walk with a friend and last night I watched “Killer at Large: Why Obesity is America’s Greatest Threat” on my friend’s Netflix account and it was amazing. I didn’t know you could get documentaries on Netflix so I’m going to ask to use it more often! If you get a chance I strongly recommend watching the film too!!

    And the response you got from Yahoo Answers is pretty much head on, as far as I know. The dark leafy greens and orange vegetables have more phytochemical and antioxidants and I think they’re trying to get people away from the same vegetables and get variety into their diet (i.e. not just eating potatoes and corn).

    Are you in college or high school still? I think it’s pretty cool that you have a nutrition course. Whether or not I’m learning something new or reiterating old knowledge, I just love learning about health, nutrition, cooking and food! πŸ˜›

    Nice cornbread and I think Libby’s puts something (crack?) in their pumpkin because no other canned pumpkin I’ve eaten is as good.

  3. so happy that you were able to relax a bit this weekend and take a break from blogging – you definately deserve a break!!!!
    Too bad the weather was rainy today – hopefully the sun will be out tomorrow!!
    That intro to nutrition course sounds interesting – i too am thinking about going back and taking some more courses in nutrition.
    That tropical salsa looks wonderful – i love fresh salsas on just about anything!!
    have a great Monday – xo aimee

  4. It seems like you were plenty busy to me! I’d say a blogging break was definitely necessary πŸ™‚

    Sorry about the date syrup! Have you considered making your own? Here’s a recipe: http://www.mrbreakfast.com/superdisplay.asp?recipeid=1767

    And yep I worship Vcon too!

  5. Mo

    … OH MY GOD. I am so pissed now… I’ve sent that same exact brand of date syrup to NEVADA (the prize for the BMI week I hosted) and it turned out fine… wtf? I’ll get another one and like, tape it all around. Seriously, I’m amazed. Goddamn. Did NOT expect that to happen. At all. o.O I’m sorry I sent you a box of brown sludge! 😦 And yeah, I suggested using a spoon to get the syrup out because the wide mouth of the jar made it kind of hard to pour. This is such a shame! Argh! And this is trivial but I’m a bit bummed because that box (I got a new spice grinder, can you tell? :P) was the perfect size for what I was sending. XD
    PS: I don’t think there was any shenanigans but postal workers aren’t exactly known for being gentle with packages. 😦 Also, I’m just realizing this as I’m looking at the very sad pictures, but I totally forgot to pack the box with newspaper! That may have had something to do with it…

    Attempt #2 will be soon… Apologies in advance if the same thing happens. 😐 But it probably won’t because I’ll be taking many, many precautions. πŸ˜› I did get the pumpkin, though! (Yesterday, I think? Or the day before…) It arrived intact, and I intend on using it well. πŸ˜€

  6. I can just imagine what the mailman was thinking delivering that package. πŸ˜› But really..that’s too bad!! Date syrup’s practically impossible to find so it definitely sucks none of it could be saved. :/

    About the air tire thing, I never do that. My dad tries to get me to do it just for safety but I always forget. So everytime I’m home he checks/inflates them for me. Not like it’d be hard or anything..I should probably get in the habit, though lol

  7. I used to highlight everything when I was studying! LOL

    Humm.. strangest food combination… there are many I’m sure, but what comes to mind right now is that a few weeks ago I had sushi and hummus together. I was craving it and it was so good. I’m not sure that I want to do it again though!! Haha!

    By the way your spaghetti squash recipe looks delicious πŸ™‚

  8. Sounds like a good weekend! Honestly, it’s good to take some time off once in a while. Not that I dont love to blog, but it is sooo time consuming!!

    This weekend I ran a half! I just wrote a recap about it!

  9. teenagehealthfreak

    i had an ok weekend..didn’t get to do 1/2 the things i wanted due to the back. :(..but i can’t complain..it’s happnin for a reason right?? i hightlight EVERYTHING as well..i’m like..it’s all important to me! lol nice wrap. oh yeah..looks freakin awesome. sorry about your package! yeah..that seems impossible to happen…seems like someone opened it. how rude..if that’s the case. and i gotta say..i thought mango salsa was the wierdest combination..but it’s one of my fave things!

  10. Your waffles put my store-bought frozen waffles to SHAME. Girl. It’s not even right πŸ˜‰
    The cornbread sounds super good too! I’m a cornbread freak! Did I really just say that?
    A weekend blogging break is a good thing. Sometimes we just need to breathe a little and not worry about posting. Glad you had a good weekend! Mine was good too! Exploring a new city is always fun!
    The weirdest combo that I’ve been eating lately is barbecue sauce with anything and everything.. I actually haven’t found anything that DOESN’T go with it yet. Okra? Yep. Sweet potatoes? Ohh yes. Am I strange? Perhaps.

  11. omg, i wonder if it was delivered already like that.. i mean did the mail man not realize something leaked..did they really just toss it on the doorstep sticky and oozing? omg this is too funny yet SAD! precious date syrup..and a sticky note..new meaning to “sticky situations” lol

    xoxo

  12. Not only do I love reading your blog…but I love reading the comments of all the other people who enjoy this site as much as I do! You have quite the dedicated following…and you deserve it! I’m glad you were able to step back from blogging for a bit though…those days off can be nice. And I’m so sorry about your package disaster. I would have been one sad girl! I had a busy baking weekend…fig cake, granola bars, whole wheat wraps, rolls and honey spice cookies. Whew…I’m exhausted!

  13. Ohh what a disaster with the syrup!! Quite funny but in a sad way – such a shame!
    I’m glad the bar kept you going. I agree that they are so filling, I normally only have half at a time. I seriously think you guys have the better deal in terms of snacks though – but I guess we always want what we don’t have!
    Ooh I do love seeing the things you bake πŸ™‚
    I found it really interesting about the green and orange veg combo because it made me think, I’ve unconsciously been doing that for some time now! Maybe because they look nice together I don’t know?! But I think it’s true about their nutrition – some of the ‘superfoods’ include sweet potato, kale, spinach, broccoli, butternut squash and carrots because of how much they are valued for their nutrition.
    This weekend I’ve been busy buying a suitcase, packing and more packing for uni and doing a lot of art!
    xxx

  14. So much beautiful fooood!! The 9Bars are good aren’t they!? I’ve had a few in my time πŸ™‚ but seriously, compared to the US you’d be shocked at the poor quality of bars here..YOU guys have it the best! Plus you get canned pumpkin, which i would sell my mother for. I made pumpkin vegan muffins once..hands down, best things ever.
    LOL at that package!! That made me smile πŸ˜€

  15. I absolutely love cornbread… but my mama hates it so I never make it πŸ˜› Yours looks awesome though! I might have to give something similar a try and just not tell her what’s in it. Haha.

    That’s incredibly suspicious looking about the date syrup… and incredibly frustrating too! Hopefully the jar I’m planning to send you will make it there on one piece. Perhaps the post office is trying to keep Vermont date-syrup deprived?

    Hummus and tomatoes are one of my favourite combinations! So simple, but out-of-this-world good! I think my favourite ‘weird’ combination is probably squash or sweet potatoes with tahini… but I like anything drowned in tahini. Heh.
    ❀ Tat

  16. I love that the bar is supposed to keep you full for 9 hours… that’s a very bold statement! I’d probably be like you and top out at 2. I heart food. πŸ™‚

  17. Ahh what a bummer about that package! 😦 I’ve had things get broken in the mail too. It’s too bad there’s no way to guarantee that things won’t get scuffed in the mail.

    I’m so excited to start my Intro to Nutrition class too. It’s funny because I’m sure all of us bloggers already know MORE about nutrition than the textbook hehe.

    My weekend was amazing! I moved back to school, caught up with friends, went out at night and made a day trip to the States. So busy!!!

  18. Nooooo such a bummer about the date syrup!! Yeah, the bottle must have a mind of its own for releasing the cap…strange. Exactly why I bubble wrap the crap out of everything I send. It makes the package huge, but hey, nothing breaks!!

    I had a PB/pickle sammie recently and it was actually really good. I still love my regular PB on wheat, but the pickle is a nice addition every once in awhile!

  19. Your cornbread sounds soooo good! I am a big fan of good cornbread!

  20. Glad you had a good weekend. Libby’s spreads rumors every year that there is a pumpkin shortage so you better run out and buy some, SURE.

  21. Michelle

    I was thinking about taking a nutrition class! However it would have brought my total up to 19 credits and it wouldn’t really go towards anything 😦

  22. oh my ! so sad about your package and weird! you can send me your spaghetti squash.. I do love it ahaha. Anyway yeah my basic nutrition class at jwu….was so juvenile, I basically knew 90% of the stuff, I can’t wait to get into all my nutrition major classes!! Nutrition and health and food excites me. Kinda luck about online classes you can always wear pajamas! But I took an online math class and it was way harder than real classes. good luck!

  23. Pingback: Cornbread Stuffed Squash « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

