Seitan Sausages

I had better not be getting sick.

My boss has been sick for the past…well, it seems like he’s always sick…but really sick for the past two weeks. I’ve been feeling 100% but all of a sudden this afternoon I got a tickle in my throat.

When these things happen, I tend to go a little overboard. Call it paranoia of catching the nasties, if you will. But as soon as there is even a vague hint of a cold or the nasties, I come home and start chugging the vit C and fresh veg.

And seitan sausages.

What, you don’t look to sausages to cure the plague?

…oh. Maybe it’s the higher protein content that I am hoping will shield me from infection.

You may or may not recall my mention of being burnt out on tempeh.

As well as my mention of limiting my grocery spending.

Enter: seitan. I used to make it all the time. What happened?!

I have no reasonably excuse for our time apart. I do enjoy seitan, after all.

But it was time to take vital wheat gluten’s and my relationship to the next level.

Every since first hearing I could make my own “seitan sausages,” I was intrigued by the idea.

Every time I went to make them though, I was turned off by all the many steps.

I think I was just being lazy, though. Truth is, making them was not difficult. I could have read the directions to Kaia and she’d have been able to make them, for Pete’s sake.

I based my seitan sausages off of these recipes. The flavors weren’t anything that tickled my fancy for what I envisioned in my mind, so I took the template and tweaked to my liking.

Aren’t they creepy looking?! No fear, though – they taste phenomenal. Perfect to go with a “sausage and peppers” theme. With pasta and jarred pasta sauce.

The initial idea was to have them with Chelsey’s Mexicalian cilantro pesto, but it was as I was chopping the cilantro for my sausages that I remembered I’m not a cilantro fan.

I think I get my herbs mixed up, and can only remember which ones I like when I smell them fresh.

From now on, I’ll just be that girl over in the produce aisle, sniffing all the herbs before landing them in my cart.

Hey, they have those little shower-sprayers for a reason. For wackjobs like me.

Either way, I still sauteed some sliced sausage up with onions and jarred roasted reds. We had no fresh. I’m telling you, my fridge is empty. I’m going to make it work, though. The cilantro was the last fresh bit of green in there, which is why it still made an appearance. The rotini tossed in jarred pasta sauce pulled it all together.

It’s the little things, people. The little things.

Tonight I had one in a similar fashion, but with polenta. Mmmm, mm. I love polenta.

Seitan Sausages:

yields 3-4 sausages

adapted from “Have Cake Will Travel”s fauxsages.

  • 1/2 c. + 2 T. vital wheat gluten
  • 2 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 t. italian seasoning
  • dash crushed red pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T. onion, chopped finely
  • 1 T. fresh cilantro, optional
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 2-3 sundried tomatoes in oil, chopped
  • 1 t. dried chives
  • 1 T. olive oil (I used the olive oil in the sundried tomato jar)
  • 1/3 c. + 3 T. water

Preheat oven to 325* F. In a large bowl, combine the VWG, nutritional yeast, italian seasoning, pepper, garlic, onion, cilantro, salt, chives and tomatoes. In a small bowl, whisk together the oil and water. Add to the VWG mixture, and mix to combine. Knead a few times. If you’ve got some herbs/onions/tomatoes wanting to fall out, that’s fine.

Divide the mixture into 4 equal parts, roll out a bit, and wrap tightly in a piece of aluminum foil. Repeat for the remaining, and place in a baking dish. Bake for one hour to an hour and 15 minutes. When done, unwrap and allow to cool. Or eat right away.

Some notes:

  • I think I overcooked mine a bit at an hour and 15. Next time I’d probably just do an hour.
  • I’d also like to try baking them in something, like tomato sauce. Maybe if they were baked in the foil for half the time, then taken out and baked in tomato sauce?
  • Needs more cowbell.

On another note, I wanted to share this fab little snack/dessert/what-have-you:

Averie’s banana oat cakes. The fig jam is a critical element.

What do you do when you have a hunch the plague is after you?

Seitan – yay or nay?

20 Comments

Filed under banana, cooking, dinner, food, healthy living, recipe, seitan, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian

20 responses to “Seitan Sausages

  1. HOORAY! I am without a doubt making them for dinner tomorrow!!
    Hmmm I like to snuggle under a blanket with a warm beverage and crap tv – the plague hates those things.
    Seitan = yay-ish. I never like it as much as I think i will, but I adorrre the protein content 🙂

  2. Oooh, fig preserves!! 😉

    When the plague is after me, I down supposed cures like they’re going out of style. Usually to no avail. 😦 I hope you aren’t getting sick, though!!

    Seitan is a yay for me, though I can’t seem to get the texture right on my own…

    ❤ ❤

  3. That sounds SO good!!!! I eat lots and lots of fruits and vegetables and make sure to wash my hands often!!! 🙂

  4. APPLES, APPLES, APPLES!!! Tony just started complaining of the tickle in the throat too and an “off” feeling. UGH…please, the two of you, don’t get sick! Fight it! I have had seiten, but never made it. With Tony having celiac, I just stopped playing with stuff like that.

    I hope you feel better! Get some rest Jessica and hopefully the tickle will be gone tomorrow!

  5. Stefanie

    Seitan is a yay for me. I made some chik’n flavored seitan from viva vegan and was good.

    Pump up the vitamin c and down some greens. It makes me feel better when I am not feeling well. 🙂

  6. Whenever I feel the slightest hint of a cold, I’m jsut like you!! I start munching on raw garlic and all the oranges that I can stomach LOL. I must be on to something though, because I’m rarely sick (KNOCK ON WOOD!) I hope you don’t catch anything from your boss!

  7. thanky thanky for directing me to the “Have Cake Will Travel” blog. Oh my god – it’s brilliant!

    I want to make these sausages.. the only problem is, I have no idea what “vital wheat gluten” is. Help!?

    p.s have you tried Ashley’s banana scramble? For some reason I think you would adore it. http://edibleperspective.com/?p=12888

  8. i do the same…get lots of vitamin c and over load fresh veggies/fruit!!! i also try to get lots of extra sleep, that always helps me! those seitan sausages are soo cute!! they look delicious!

  9. I’ve never had seitan but now I want to! Thanks for the recipe.

  10. Kale and lots of it. Every time I start to feel the crud coming on, I eat a large bunch of steamed kale. Works every time. Veggie-Miso soup doesn’t hurt either.
    Those sausages look delicious!

  11. I have that nasty little scratchy feeling in my throat today too 😦 In my case it would probably be due to allergies.

    I have never tried seitan.

  12. Those look great! Too bad vital wheat gluten would kill my intestines.

    I’m sorry you forgot you don’t like cilantro! 😦

  13. That looks good! I’ve never had seiten before.
    When I think I’m getting sick, I load up on the airborne and green tea w/ lemon. I’m an acupuncture student, so I stick needle in myself and take some secret Chinese herbal remedies too. 😉
    I hope you escape the plague!

  14. I’m sending healthy thoughts your way! Keep on eating these veggies…it almost always works for me! Hot tea too. Your seitan sausages look delicious. I always crave sausage, but I can’t eat it when I think about all the nasty stuff inside of it. I can’t wait to make these. Thank you for sharing your tasty treat with me. I hope you are having a happy and warm Wednesday night.

  15. OH they look perfect…if I ever discover I can eat wheat again, I’ll be throwing myself head (mouth?) first into a seitan adventure inspired by you 🙂

  16. I keep on wanting to try the veggie sausages I see at my grocery store, but I’m so turned off by their long ingredient list. I love the look of these seitan sausages. I think curiosity has finally gotten the better of me and I’m going to buy some vital wheat gluten this weekend! What other foods can I use it to make??

    I hope your sore throat doesn’t turn into a cold! For me it’s all about sleep and hot liquids to keep sickness away. Feel better girl! 🙂

  17. I love love love seitan. I had nachos with it in them last night!! And it has such a good texture, too. Always what I recommend to non-vegan friends when we eat at veg places. My BF loves seitan and loves sausage (ha), so this is right up his alley!

  18. i miss being able to eat seitan and now i regret that i didnt eat it when i was testing wheat lol, seitan sausages would be amaaaazing!
    btw i wanted to let you know i did a shout out to ur muffins yesterday and posted them on my blog: http://www.snackingsquirrel.com/2011/02/avocados-are-good-for-your-heart.html

    xoxo

  19. Yay for seitan!. I used to buy it but it’s so easy to make that I just make it myself now! I make this awesome Pecan Crusted Seitan from the kind diet and my whole family loves the stuff. it’s good. 🙂

  20. Pingback: Scrambling | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

