Plagued

You can take one look at my breakfast and know something was up:

Strawberry-Banana So Delicious yogurt with protein powder, banana, chia seeds and a bran muffin.

What’s cool and soothing for a scratchy throat?

Yogurt.

Yep. My condition deteriorated rapidly last night, and I had to resort to crawling in bed, hardly able to breath, at hardly 8:00. This was difficult for me because the Bs were playing the Habs last night – always a good game.

My efforts to fall asleep early were a bit of a joke, however, as I intended to watch the game as I dozed. When you hear things like “Score!” every 30 seconds and then announcers excitedly narrating fights, going to bed early just isn’t a priority anymore.

I suppose combining a bran muffin with strawberry-banana yogurt is a bit odd...but luckily I couldn't taste much anyway.

I just knew I was going to wake up with a scratchy throat and a pounding head, and I did.

I kept telling myself I deserved to get sick for once, after dodging all the illnesses that float around my workplace. Missing out on swine flu is my proudest moment, you know.

Luckily (if you can call it that,) I think it’s more of a pesky sinus-y type thing that I’ve got. I slept just about all morning, and finally started to feel somewhat normal after lunch. I’ve got a little bit of a headache still, but I think I’ll make it πŸ˜‰

Let us not forget the reds 8000 I chugged this morning.

Extra precautions.

So it seems a lot of people, when they are sick, lose their appetite.

I am the exact opposite.

In fact, all that is appealing to me is just eating more in efforts to make swallowing less painful.

Carrots, hummus and applesauce were all of equal importance today.

Not together, obviously. But I think I ate a whole bag of carrots and a good cup of hummus as well as many bowls of applesauce. What can I say?

And when I began to realize I wasn’t going to die from the plague like I initially thought I was, I realized I was a-okay to get some baking done. I took extra precautions to make sure the baking wasn’t infected, I promise.

Remember my Birdseed bars?

I baked some up for a certain someone, but tweaked the recipe again. This might be my favorite version yet! I love how the “bar pans” (mini loaf pans) allow each bar to get crispy edges, too.

I kept it simple for dinner though, as I was beginning to feel a little lethargic again. It’d been a while since I had a baked sweet potato though, and I decided one was imperative to my well-being.

Luckily, I had just read Mandiee’s mention of the magical numbers: 425* for 45 minutes. Remember that. Don’t ever forget it. It is the key to ooey, gooey sweet potatoes. There will be no more haphazardly throwing sweet potatoes in the oven at a temperature anywhere from 400* to 450* from me.

Paired with a hummus-quinoa casserole idea taken from Vive le Vegan. I just layered cooked quinoa, then a mixture of hummus and tomato sauce and then some roasted veg.

I bet you guys didn’t know that I love frozen peas. I don’t eat them frozen, obviously, but I think they’re the one vegetable I’d rather have from frozen than from fresh. Probably because the fresh ones are so much work and I can be kind of lazy…but whatever.

What’s your favorite “sick food”?

Is there any food you prefer packaged/frozen/what-have-you over fresh?

22 Comments

Filed under baking, breakfast, carrots, casserole, chia seeds, cooking, dinner, food, healthy living, hummus, sweet potato, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian

22 responses to “Plagued

  1. Oh I’m sorry you’re sick 😦 that sucks! You should’ve milked it for all it was worth, getting people to bring you stuff and stroke your forehead and sigh lovingly at you πŸ™‚
    I like frozen bananas and grapes…but that’s about it. Frozen (the defrosted tofu) grosses me out, frozen brussels sprouts are FOUL, parsnip does NOT freeze, and neither do tomato and salad sandwiches. I would know….:s
    I hope you feel better tomorrow! Maybe a box will arrive that will brighten your day πŸ™‚
    (ps – I totally feel like a creeper now, for always being the first commenter πŸ˜› that’s what you get for always posting at the same time I’m getting ready to sleep, with my laptop by me!)

  2. Jeeeeez, it seems like everyone is sick, including myself! Hope you feel better soon! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so sorry that you aren’t feeling well. I love toast and bananas when I don’t feel well. πŸ™‚

    I love frozen bananas because I can turn them into “ice cream!” πŸ™‚

  4. Oh no…not you too! Tony is fighting his thing hard! You know oatmeal is on my list of sick food and apples! When my throat hurts, I like to do frozen grapes. I figure the extra fluids are helpful on to of the frozen goodness. I keep soups in the freezer for us to thaw out or at least the frozen veggies to make soup with. Feel better sweetie!

  5. I am totally the same way!! When I’m sick, I get HUNGRRRRY! no appetite loss at all! Funny my throat was bad this morning, but after a gazillion gallons of throat coat tea, I think it’s starting to get a lil’ better:) Oh yeah, I definitely ate 3/4 cup hummus today…alone:)

  6. My favorite sick food is… EVERYTHING! I’m so hungry when I’m sick. The last time I was sick I made french fries at like 10:30 in the morning. I want to eat everything, and I get carb cravings like you wouldn’t believe.

  7. I’m sure you already know, but I prefer almost every fruit frozen over fresh with maybe the exception of citrus fruits only because they don’t freeze the best. Grapes, pears, bananas and mango are the best. Other than that I like most, if not all, of my vegetables freshed and steamed so that they have some firmness and crunch and aren’t soggy when you cook them. The one exception would be peas, but when I can get them fresh, I prefer that.

    I hope you feel better soon! I know when I’m sick the last thing I want is a sore throat, followed by a stuffy nose because the later makes me not want to eat at all. What’s the fun in eating if you can’t taste it?

  8. Yum those bars are looking mighty good! πŸ™‚ I like the name too Clever!

  9. I’m sorry you’re sick, but I am glad you aren’t going to die from the plague!! (You won my giveaway, if it makes you feel any better. ;))

    “Sick food” … I guess I’m in the “lose my appetite when sick” camp, but Jewish penicillin always works… πŸ˜‰ With variation, of course. I prefer mushroom barley soup to chicken soup!

    I prefer canned green beans… probably for the same reason you prefer frozen peas! Fresh green beans are too much work. Actually, I just prefer the taste, I don’t know why.

    And Brussels sprouts — I can’t be bothered with the fresh stuff. All I’m going to do is roast them anyway, so frozen sprouts make my life a lot easier.

    ❀ ❀

  10. Oh no, it’s the blog bug maybe? I woke up yesterday with a scratchy throat…today – I can’t talk!! I love soup when I am sick. I also crave sweets when I am sick, why I wonder?? It’s also TOM – that makes the sweet cravings double time!

  11. My appetite never goes away when I’m sick either (unless I have the stomach flu) and I usually end up constantly ravenous. Some of favorite things to eat when I’m sick are bananas, oatmeal, and soup. I hope you feel better soon!

  12. teenagehealthfreak

    i love yogurt when i’m sick..and tomato soup….with a goat cheese sammie…does my body good! hope you feel better soon!!

  13. Booo I’m sorry you’re sick! My favorite sick food is DEFINITELY sweet potatoes and coconut milk ice cream, but not together:)

  14. Hope you get to feeling better soon. And I’m the same way with eating more whenever sick. It’s better that way anyway..your body needs fuel to heal!

  15. Hey Jess,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and just love your attitude, style, photography, and food. I finally started my own blog, after stalking yours and others in the blogging community.
    My blog is still veryyy much in its infant stages, but I’d love it if you took a look and kept an eye out for me. I plan to stick with all the baking, writing, and photography.
    I’m super excited to join the blogging world, and I hope that we can be blog friends. I’m still learning the tricks and kinks, otherwise I would say I’d add you to my blogroll (still have no idea how to do most of the high-tech things… advice would be appreciated too!)
    Anyways, all the best!
    Check out my blog!
    http://www.pieandprejudice.wordpress.com

    xx,
    Eloise

  16. I’m sorry you’re sick. I hope you get well soon and enjoy pancakes for breakfast again πŸ™‚ .

    I don’t know how being sick affects my appetite but it really affects my conscious will to eat because I feel like I’m wasting the food if I can’t feel its taste. Luckily, my immune system doesn’t give in easily. Anyway, my favorite “sick foods” are bananas, warm milk, bread with butter and honey, mashed potatoes, rice pudding. Obviously nothing that irritates the throat πŸ™‚ .

  17. Oh, get better soon Jess, sorry to hear! I’m like you, eating constantly when I have throat pains…I try to limit myself to warm drinks to not get a belly-ache as well, though! I used to eat liqourice by the package when I had a sore throat – didn’t help, just made me feel less sorry for myself – now it’s wine and vodka calling :-o. That doesn’t help at ALL in the longer (more than a couple of hours) run, though, but in the short run of things it’s definitely soothing, hehe…

    You know, before I logged on to my reader I dug into my breakfast and I thought, phew, I made a pretty nice breakfast today, it will be no probs to look at Jess’ gorgeous breakfast shots….but you outdid me AGAIN! I want YOUR breakfast, hahaha…:-). Hope you get to spoil yourself, get better soon(!), and have a nice w-e when you get there – all the best!

  18. Holy cow I want to make those bars ASAP!

    Whitney

  19. I was so shocked to see yogurt and not pancakes as your breakfast! I thought I was on the wrong blog for a second. πŸ˜‰

    I also get super hungry when I’m sick! My favourite sick foods are oatmeal, tomato soup with grilled cheese, and my dad’s leek and potato soup. Basically anything that will soothe my throat.

    I hope you feel better soon Jess!

  20. I’m sick too…nothing serious yet, but the BF has a fever so I’m bracing myself…feel better soon girl!

    Did you know that peas were the favorite vegetable of the aristocracy in 17th century France? They were Louis XIV’s favorite vegetable, and he served them at all his parties. Eating them made you really cool πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: It’s Time Forrr…a Giveaway! | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

