Note to Self…

This morning, hardly awake:

First thought – DKM. Dropkick Murphys. YES! That was it! go back to sleep.

Second thought – Bran muffins. I want some bran muffins. go back to sleep.

Third thought – I think I’ll sleep in today. I’m a little tired and it looks crappy out so I probably won’t be going anywhere anyway. shut eyes.

Fourth thought – The phone would ring immediately after I declare I’m sleeping in, wouldn’t it?

_________________

So, basically I must have been driving myself crazy in my sleep because I still hadn’t thought of what DKM was before I went to bed. There were a couple bloggers who guessed it [e-mail me to redeem your prizes], which just made me laugh and remember waking up with “Shipping Up to Boston” in my head moments earlier.

And no, it’s not just because of the Bruins that I love that song. I mean, just listen to it. First thing in the morning, preferably. And do some Irish jigs around your butcher block in the kitchen while preparing your breakfast.

In a leprechaun hat, preferably.

Not that I would know anything about any of that scenario.

I would know something about flaxy French toast, though. So I’ll talk about that, instead. I’ll leave it to your own imaginations as to whether I was tap dancing around my kitchen while making this, though.

 

Being that I looked out my window and saw this yet again:

Really wet, heavy snow. Read: Sloppy and slippery. House arrest once again.

I decided to make something a little more time consuming for breakfast. I have pancakes down to a science so I can make them quickly in the morning, which carries over to mornings when I have more time, too. Having nowhere to go, I decided to put a little more thought into breakfast this morning.

I’ve been wanting to make French toast for a while now, but wasn’t sure if the mini slices would be enough for keeping me full. Today, I knew I’d be home all day. Worse comes to worse, I eat an hour later, right?! Surprisingly enough, it was difficult for me to finish it all! Don’t worry, though – I took one for the team and did.

Yes, it really is possible to get that same French toast texture without eggs! Making it with flax sounds strange at first, I admit. I mean, I think I was legitimately grossed out when I first heard of it, so I don’t blame you if you are, too.

But I mean, really. Have I ever lied to you? -insert shifty-eyes here-

Buttering/Earth Balancing your pan is critical to making any sort of pancake or sandwich – and French toast is no exception. You don’t need a lot, but you can’t even compare the flavor to that and just using non-stick spray.

And please, no need to be “neat” about it. We’re not after pretty awards here, we all know the ugly food is the best.

Huh, maybe that’s why I’m always disappointed whenever I go out to eat…

If you’re patient and give it enough time – the outside still gets crispy while the insides are still moist and flavorful. I’m sorry if you hate the word moist. I do, too – but really, what else can I say? Damp? It’s not juicy not is it soggy.

The Mixture I used (approximately, anyways…about that measuring thing…)

  • 2 T. milled flaxseed
  • 1/4 c. + 2 T. coconut milk
  • 1/2 t. coffee extract (vanilla would work just fine, I just so happen to be the person who is all out of vanilla, yet has plenty of coffee, peppermint and coconut extracts. I would.)
  • pinch ground cinnamon
  • pinch ground nutmeg

Mix all with a fork, allowing to sit a few minutes. Add more milk if necessary. Poke each piece of bread a few times before dipping each slice in and saturating. Transfer to a greased pan, allowing extra of the flax mixture to remain on the bread. Cook about 4-5 minutes on each side, until crispy.

Garnish with grilled banana and figgy peanut butter and jelly sauce. And chia seeds and honey-roasted almonds if you’re feeling feisty.

Note to self: I miss you terribly. (speaking of “bring me back” songs…)

Er, wait, what I meant was – note to self: make French toast more often.

And about those bran muffins?

They were not just a groggy early-morning sentiment, my dears. They were happening.

I promise these were muffins for me, not Teddie. I kept thinking how much he would love them. Carrots, applesauce, molasses, cinnamon and sunflower seeds? The kid would be in heaven.

I used these almost-forgotten about pressed dates that Mo sent me way back when. I got a kick out of the “serving size: 1 package,” as I imagined myself just plopping down on the couch and nommin’ on the brick like so:

om-nom-nom

The recipe I used was Kelsey’s. And they are fantastic! It’s a good thing I didn’t actually read the recipe before I printed it off and trekked into my kitchen, though. It requires the use of a food processor, which is usually a big no-no for me. For some reason, I detest cleaning the processor in addition to regular baking dishes. Or in general. Same goes for garlic presses.

Life’s tough.

I realize this is probably old-news, but my new trick is using an ice-cream scoop. I used to just spoon it in, but then I’d have really ugly muffin tops. This leaves them nice and smooth!

And perfectly sized! Well actually my mini-muffins are perfectly sized since I usually just want a little somethin’ somethin’ when it comes to muffins, but that would have required me refilling the tray about ten times.

Which wasn’t happening.

I am very picky about my bran muffins – a lot of bran muffin recipes use more oat bran than wheat, and are too sweet for my liking. I like my bran muffins to be dense, moist and…well…wheaty! These are just the ticket.

Another added bonus: they didn’t require any bananas. I love bananas, and have a great branana muffin recipe – but I’m down to my last banana and you guys know what happens when I lose my bananas. I think I might hide the last one, just as an extra precaution. You know…in case someone else might want it, heaven forbid.

But if I haven’t convinced you to make bran muffins or flaxy French toast…maybe I can convince you to do this:

Toast up some good bread…smother one slice with cashew butter…smother the other with a bit o’ butter/earth balance…throw on some good dried apricots…drizzle a smidgen o’ maple syrup…and chow down. Heavenly.

(but what’s with me saying o’ instead of “of”? Am I really feeling that Irish today?)

And I’ll leave you with this scandalous picture:

I had sausages with dinner! I love sausages…

What’s something you openly admit to having high standards about? I am definitely a bread snob!

24 Comments

Filed under baking, banana, bran, bread, breakfast, brunch, carrots, chia seeds, cooking, dates, dinner, food, french toast, healthy living, muffin, muffins, recipe, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetarian

24 responses to “Note to Self…

  1. My your breakfast is a work of art!
    And LO, I totally thought the apricots in that sandwich were bacon at first glance :p
    I have high apple standards – I won’t eat just any old apple. Same goes for butternut squahs – I’m the freaky weird girl who taps my squash to make sure it sounds hollow, and compares them all for colouring and shine (or lack of) to get the best one :D

  2. I always forget to make French toast! Why do I always forget about the good stuff?!
    The bran muffins look so yum. I really need to get a cookie scoop, I have the same problem with my muffins. But what size cookie scoop do you use?
    I love peanut butter and apricot sandwiches, warmed up in the oven until they get all melty and toasty, it’s the best.
    I have high standards about pancakes. I’ve been experimenting with many recipes and now I’m a totally snob about them. They have to be perfectly fluffy, not too airy, but not thick or dense either.

  3. You’ve convinced me to have bran muffin and french toast…I wish I didn’t have dinner in the oven cause I’d have french toast now!

  4. I’m a pizza snob!
    I always feel like I can make it better (not to mention vegan) than any restaurant, no matter how fancy it is.
    I made your flaxy french toast just recently, and I think I have been converted to the eggless french toast club. It was amahhzing :)

  5. Oh my, what lovely french toast! I used to eat french toast for breakfast, lunch, and dinner—literally! However, the whole egg thing always freaked me out, even before I was vegan. Thank goodness for an eggless recipe, using one of my favorite ingredients, flax seed, none the less. I also really need to make some of your muffins as they look absolutely delicious. I’m definitely a fan of bran/wholesome muffins rather than cakey ones.

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  6. French toast is one of my FAVORITES, and it has been too long since I last had some! Time to bring out the big guns:)

    p.s. I eat dates like it is my J-O-B. Ahhh yumsky!

  7. for some reason i never thought to make french toast with flax! awesome.

  8. Both the french toast and bran muffins look delicious!
    I am a pancake snob! I make pancakes every weekend and try to perfect my recipe.

  9. When I first made French Toast without eggs, I thought it was going to be a disaster…who knew you didn’t need eggs? Your little bread is just too darn cute. I need to get me some mini loaf pans immediately! You know I am a bread snob too. I like it how I like it! Have a great night Jessica!

  10. I love my french toast. I do stuffed french toasts, that way it seems to feel me up more. I have a great pumpkin and a nut butter stuffed recipe that I make:)

  11. Those bran muffins look so great! However, as delicious as your pictures look, for some reason I’ve always hated french toast. I think it’s something to do with the eggs, which means that I might actually like your egg-less, flaxy french toast. :)

  12. I’m sure I’m a snob about something. About many things, actually. But what happens when I read posts late at night when my brain isn’t working is that I can’t think of what all those things might be…
    <3 <3

  13. I want your FRENCH TOAST!!!! like right NOW! :) I love your pictures of your pancakes! :)

  14. Your breakfast looks amazing! I really need to try french toast but I am a bit hesitant because I always go for pancakes instead. This.Must.Stop.

    Isn’t it always the way that when you decide to relax or take time for yourself, you always get disturbed? It’s sods law, I tells ya!

    xxx

  15. I’ve actually been craving bran muffins lately too! Banana bran muffins are my favourite though, so I’ve been waiting for my bananas to ripen. :P

    I’m a snob about yogurt. I only like the real, natural, preferably organic stuff. Except in a moment of desperation on campus I bought one of those fake-sugar filled ones as a snack and I had to throw it out. It was SO gross!!

  16. Your thought process in the morning cracks me up. Glad to know I’m not the only one who is entirely random in the morning and wakes up with food on my mind, too!
    I have pretty high standards when it comes to nut butters. The fake stuff just drives me crazy. Ugh. Just thinking about it is making me annoyed.

  17. I can never sleep in, and honestly, i’d rather get up and have alone time in the morning before everyone else is awake!

  18. applesandoats

    Boys … way too high of standards probably lol.
    french toast idea is genniioouussss. vegan french toast .. yessssss. just need to find a good brand of gluten free bread :)

  19. Um…yum~!!!!!! Looks delicious! We’d love to share your recipe at dishfolio.com!

  20. YOU MADE MY VEGAN BRAN MUFFINS!!! <3
    My gosh they look FABULOUS! i know what you mean- moist dense and wheaty is exactly the texture i like mine too. Sometimes bran muffins are so dry but these are super moist. even when i froze mine, they lasted so many weeks. and even when the last one was thawed, it was STILL MOIST!

    so happy you tried out my recipe and even happier you loved it!! <3

    XOXO

  21. Good grief your pictures are insane! That breakfast has me wanting to lick my screen. Genious! I know it’s a breakfast food but I’m thinking I want it for lunch today..or dinner…or both :-)

  22. Pingback: Scrambling | Healthy Exposures

  23. ericascime

    Grilled banana is such a great idea! I’ll have to give it a try.

  24. I guess I fit into the category of “I like weird foods that sound gross” cause I love flax. Congrats on having this recipe feature on foodpress cause it’s much deserved! It just sounds so healthy and filling! Oh and I am going to have to get out the food processor (which oddly enough I’ve used more in the past 4 month food blogging than since I got married 3 years ago. Glad Kelsey’s recipe is not necessarily “moist”. Ha!

Leave a Reply

