Beans, Beans, Beans

I feel like my pajama days are full of harder work than my “work days”! Of course – I think it’d be pretty awesome to be able to go to work in your pajamas. It’d be so cozy! I should have just not done my laundry after all yesterday, so that could be my excuse.  I mean…all of five people came in today. It’s Labor Day…why was I working?! I hope you all were able to enjoy a nice long weekend, though 🙂

My eyes are too fuzzy with sleep to focus my camera in the am. sorry.

While my mom cackled from the kitchen table at the fact that I had to go to work and she didn’t, I prepared some of the best overnighters for…a couple days. A mashed banana in the base as well as the combo of rolled oats with quick oats (many thanks to Nora for that idea!) made for a lovely breakfast. I kept it simple and topped it with just a peach, some raspberries, wheat germ, and peanut butter sauce.

I was thinking last night that I’d try to squeeze in a light hack on Teddie this morning, but that wasn’t really happening when the alarm went off. I fell asleep sort of late, and to be honest, was a bit tight after yesterday’s busy day! And it turned out to be a good thing I hadn’t rushed to get ready. Usually when I get there around 8 in the mornings before work, chores are all done and everyone’s fed by the man who did chores. He left for duty on Friday, though – so it’s all A. She doesn’t do it as early, so when I got there, she wasn’t even there yet and everyone was waiting patiently for their breakfast! I was a bit bummed that I couldn’t bring him out and groom him (Blue and Jewel were crowding the gate and my brushes were in the locked tackroom) but that doesn’t mean he didn’t get his [almost] daily belly-rub 🙂

I’m really hoping this is just a one-time thing…because if it isn’t it’s not really gonna work out for me. I’ve been toying with the idea of bringing Teddie here, and I think that not being able to do anything with him before work would sort of be a final push!

Lunch consisted of the leftovers from lastnight’s Ratatouille Bulghur and a half of a PB & J. I have a jar of peanut butter and jelly at work…and when I came in after eating decided another spoonful of PB would be good. I swiped some and moseyed back into the lab, as my boss excitedly asked me what I had there. Food is very often talked about in my work. I’m usually the quiet bystander, since the talk is usually about really greasy meals like Friendly’s new concoction, fast food, berbequed pork, and what-not. So when my answer was just “peanut butter…” I’m not sure what he thought and had to throw in a “sorry to disappoint!” haha.

I had a SuperCharge Me cookie for dessert – the banana was consumed on my way from the barn to work, though when I packed it I had thought maybe I would have a PB, B & H sandwich rather than a PB & J. No dice.

These Kashi crackers are becoming “the usual” snack. The box is almost done and as good as they are – it’s a lot easier for me to get bored of a savory snack than a sweet one, apparently. I’m ready for a change.

I had a bar packed – but honestly, by the time the afternoon rolled around I wasn’t much hungry. Probably because work was sloooowww. Reasonably so. I decided another spoonful of peanut butter was necessary, though.

Sometimes I just want to dive into the jar.

The Mission: Use up the following leftovers:

Mission: Accomplished!

I ended up getting out of work a half hour early since there was nothing left for me to do – so I took advantage of the extra time to roast some veg and tackle millet once again. Or so I thought.

Just like last time – I grabbed the quinoa instead of the millet! Side by side, they don’t resemble each other…but it was in the front and I didn’t even second guess myself that I’d grabbed millet, not quinoa.

In case anyone was wondering, quinoa still cooks fine even if you use wayyyy more water than you normally would for quinoa 😉

In the bowl:

  • hydroponic Boston lettuce (I bought a container with two heads – and don’t really care for it. I love how fresh it stays from being packed with the roots and all – but it’s far too much like iceberg. Too…watery? For all I know, though – maybe it is iceberg, just under a fancier name.)
  • quinoa
  • roasted broc
  • roasted sweet potatoes
  • fresh corn, cut off the cob
  • roasted portabella cap, seasoned with balsamic, garlic salt, and maple pepper
  • black beans
  • mozzarella cheese
  • raspberry-fig sauce

I loved adding the piping hot sweet potatoes on top of the mozzarella 🙂 I love sweet potatoes. I love beans, beans, beans!

What’s your favorite bean?

19 Comments

Filed under breakfast, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, recipe

19 responses to “Beans, Beans, Beans

  1. I am seriously not going to choose my favorite bean…I feel like I would be cheating on the rest! They are all perfect in my book! I have still never tried millet though. I need to try it out sometime! Have a great night Jessica. If it makes you feel any better, Tony worked today too and if he works…I work.

  2. I love black beans a lot, and we always have a few cans in the cupboard for last minute salad toppers, quesadilla fillers, and stir fry additions. But there are a lot of other beans I love too – adzuki, kidney, and garbanzo being a few.

  3. Garbanzo is my favorite bean seeing as I love hummus,falafel, straight up chickpeas, etc., and at school here I make a hummus, chick pea and shredded carrot sandwich for lunch quite frequently. I do love pretty much every bean though: black,edamame, pinto, navy, kidney, black-eyed peas, adzkui now and then. Lentils would have to be my #2 though – the firm green ones that still retain a bit of a bite to them after cooked. Those and brown rice – ah, so simple yet so satisfying!

  4. Favorite bean? Kidney bean.. but they all kind of taste the same to me! Although I’ve never tried butter beans because I’ve yet to find them.. and they look pretty darn delicious 🙂

    I’m totally supportive of bringing Teddie back home with you. I know if I had the option to bring Rayne into my backyard and sidestep the twenty minute drive to see her, I would. I can’t wait to hear how it all plays out though!

    … I love overnight oats, but I’ve never made them without greek yogurt in the base before. I can’t really eat raw bananas either so I can’t really do that… but I can see how it would make a really nice (and not watery) bowl of overnighters!

    ❤ Tat

  5. Mo

    Hahaha my family thinks I’m weird because I eat peanut butter by the spoonful. Apparently only in the health food world is this considered a normal and totally appropriate snack. 😉

    Yay for using up leftovers! Feels good, doesn’t it? 😛

    My favorite bean is by FAR cannellini, even though I never can seem to spell it right (I had to google it haha). Just fyi – cannellinis + pesto = amazing snack/dinner/whatever.

  6. Oh – beans and sweet potatoes – what a perfect combination in my book!!!!!! My favorite beans are black beans and white northern beans -!!!! I love black beans burgers or black bean tacos and white northern beans go great with fresh tomatoes, basil, oregano garlic and a bit of olive oil.
    have a great night!!!

  7. Awwe working on Labor Day’s no fun! I remember I had to do the same when I worked for Gold’s Gym. Boo on them. Not just for the Labor Day thing, but in general lol.

    So you have a stable and everything at your house? That’d be pretty cool! I mean you already do full care anyway, or for the most part at least, so it’d be really convenient to just have him right there. 🙂 As long as he doesnt get lonely or anything like that.

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    I love beans too! Butter beans are soo good! and kidney…oh i just love them all! 🙂

  9. Black beans are definitely my favorite to use- and can usually be incorporated easily into a lot of what I cook (I have the Mexican flair on a good majority of my dishes it seems- ha ha).

    But during the summer, green beans are fab, too. 🙂

    Have a great night!

  10. I’ve been LOVING overnight oats lately.. can’t get enough! I need to try adding a mashed banana. I have some waiting in the fridge for in the morning but I had no yogurt so I used coconut kefir.. we shall see how that works!

  11. Michelle

    I probably use Chickpeas the most, but I love so many of them. I’m sorry about Teddie. I bet he’s missing his belly rub. Hehe.

  12. I hate to admit this…but I’m not the biggest fan of beans! I do love edamame beans though (which I’m not sure count?) For some reason, I’ve just never developed a strong taste for them. I do eat them, but I don’t crave them. I had a portabella mushroom for lunch today too, and it was so good! Thanks for sharing your lovely eats with us today…and I would totally understand if you wanted to bring Teddie home with you.

  13. Ooh that must’ve been frustrating, to be up early and raring to go with T then not be able to!
    Favourite bean…chickpeas, without a doubt! I adore them SO much 🙂 and they’re so versatile! They cannot be beaten 😀

  14. I just got so excited when I saw your title!!! I am such a sucker for maple baked beans. Although green beans in the summer are beautiful and copious! Hope you had a nice Labor day…even though you were working!

  15. I think chick peas are my favourite because of hummus, chick pea salads, and minnestrone soup. I haven’t yet tried chick pea patties yet though. I bet those are amazing.

    What a bummer you had to work yesterday! Isn’t it annoying when we have to work/go to school, but our parents don’t? 😛

  16. Favorite beans are probably garbanzos or black beans- I’m a simple girl!! Haha, people always seem so disappointed by what I’m eating. They’ll ask me what’s in my sandwich and I’m like, oh hummus and veggies….and their face falls. More for me, I guess!!

  17. I agree–it looks like a lovely breakfast! Loving the mashed banana. My favorite beans are probably lentils . . . though are lentils a bean?? They’re a huge comfort food for me.

  18. I love beans! I can’t choose a favorite and think I’ve tried almost every type except for mung. Your dinner bowl looks delicious, and very resourceful too!

  19. Chickpeas are my favorite – they are so nutty and have the best texture. I add them to pasta, quesadillas, stir fry – practically EVERYTHING i can think of – or just snack on them! Not to mention they are the main ingredient in my favorite, hummus!

    Raspberry fig sauce sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

