Tzimmes and a Winner

I’m still defrosting from the frigid air that was today! Well, this whole weekend, really. It’s days like this that make me question my sanity…why am I riding in this, again? It’s fun? Really?

Okay, so it is fun. After you forget how cold you are, and start sweating because your pony is so naughty. Ah, yes. I knew I loved you for a reason, Teddie. Keeping me warm and working me hard.

DSC_4028

I have beyond obsessed with the combination of the fig jam Tat sent me and bananas on my cornmeal waffles/pancakes. This morning some So Delicious Coconut Milk yogurt joined the party, making it all that much more amazing.

DSC_4020

DSC_4022DSC_4023

What’s the best way to warm up from being froze solid all morning? Why, make bread, sip hot apple cider and go for a walk, that’s what!

This bread is a real winner. It is thisclose to replicating that bread that I love oh-so-much that I used to live on, buying all the time. It’s got the chewy, fluffy interior ad the slightly crusty exterior – making it perfect for sandwiches or just eating for fun.

And not only that, but it’s 100% whole wheat and no one would ever guess it. I mean – look how much it rose! Not only that, but my mom – whole wheat hater – loved it.

The recipe? This one. Changes I made/options I chose:

  • 2 T. olive oil versus 3 (and it’s still plenty moist)
  • 2 T. maple syrup
  • 2 1/2 c. white whole wheat flour + 1 c. 6-grain flour
  • 2 T. wheat germ
  • 2 t. instant yeast

DSC_4013DSC_4015

DSC_4018

I was flipping through Veganomicon when I saw a recipe for sweet potato and pear tzimmes. I’m still not entirely sure what a tzimmes is – but gather it’s some sort of vegetable dish. I switched it up a bit, and this is what I did:

Sweet Potato, Pear and Chickpea Tzimmes

serves 1 as a meal, 2-3 as a side

  • 1 small-medium sweet potato, cubed
  • 1 medium red pear, cubed
  • 1/4 of a red onion, chopped
  • 1/3 c. garbanzo beans
  • 1/ 2 T. basil oil (or olive oil – or coconut oil, maybe?)
  • 1/2 T. maple syrup
  • 1/4 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 t. maple pepper
  • 1/8 t. garlic salt
  • 2 dried figs, chopped

Preheat oven to 350*.

Combine the sweet potato, pear, beans and red onion in a bowl, and toss with olive oil and maple syrup. When evenly coated, stir in all the seasonings. Spread evenly onto a rimmed baking sheet and cover with tinfoil. Bake for 30 mins.

After 30 minutes, remove foil and gently stir. Add in the figs, and return to oven, baking for another 30 minutes.

Serve with a side of [my choice] bulgur and spinach!

DSC_4025

Even though I’m a huge fan of sweet-vs.-savory, I was a little worried this would be too much sweet with the maple and figs and pear – but I didn’t find that to be the case. Instead, it is a pleasant medley of flavors, tied together with the buttery, nuttiness of the bulghur.

DSC_4027

Today was another crazy day, but finally found time this afternoon to make some more white bean aioli balls. These things are good.

DSC_4032

Makes me wonder – I bet you could do the same thing with hummus if you didn’t feel like going through the whole process of making a veg burger. Hmmmmm!!!

I wouldn’t be surprised if you guys see some…crafty…meals this week. I can only imagine we’re going to have food overload with turkey day coming up, so I’m not bothering to fill the fridge up with “my” food and am just going to eat through what I’ve got. Ironically, even though I haven’t gone since two Thursdays ago, I feel like I’ve got plenty of food! Of course, my mom saw kale on sale and picked up a bunch, along with broccoli. Yeah, I think I’ll be fine Winking smile

Oh, right – now I’m supposed to tell you the giveaway winner!

Untitled-1

Counting down 18? Sarah – from her blog “Running to Slow Things Down”! Always inspirational and always cooking up delicious feasts, I can’t wait to see how it’s put to use. So – email me with an address to send it too and it’s on its way to you, Sarah!

Do you usually have a big Thanksgiving, or small and with direct family members?

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch, pancakes, recipe, sweet potato

23 responses to “Tzimmes and a Winner

  1. That dish looks colorful and delicious, but I have no idea how to pronounce it!

    Congrats to Sarah!

  2. That recipe looks delicious – Congrats to Sarah as well!

    We do a big Thanksgiving with aunts and uncles and cousins. We actually do two of them in one day! Yikes!

  3. This is actually the second Thanksgiving I’m doing in Chicago away from the family. It’s such a stressful holiday to drive back for- I take longer Christmas vacays instead.

    So this year, I’m going with my friend Annie to her in-law’s house. They’ve pretty much taken me in under their wing, so I still sort of feel like it’s “family”. 🙂

  4. Loving the cornmeal pancakes and waffles! And I’ve never heard of tzimmes but I’m thinking I would like them. A lot. Haha we usually have a pretty big Thanksgiving get-together at our house… I’m so excited for it!

  5. The title of this post kind of made me laugh… tzimmes is a Jewish dish, made with carrots, usually around the time of the Jewish New Year. I actually laughed when I saw that recipe in Veganomicon, too, because it’s so different from what we call “tzimmes” in my house! I guess everyone has their own interpretation… 😉

    I don’t actually celebrate Thanksgiving. And it might sound weird, but I am thankful for that.

    ❤ ❤

  6. Oh YUM! Everything looks so good! We usually do Thanksgiving with my side or Tony’s side. I need to try the low and slow potatoes! I bet they would be so good in sweet potato pie too!

  7. wow, sweet potato and pear! you are one smart foodie!

  8. teenagehealthfreak

    mm. yummy pancakes right there. you’re dinner looks great, i love roasted chickpeas!!! we have a fairly small thanksgiving..maybe 10 or 12..so not to bad..can’t wait!!!!!!! 🙂

  9. I love almost any recipe with sweet potatoes and that looks amazing! My family and I usually just have a quiet Thanksgiving together.

  10. That bread looks delicious! And even better that it’s 100% whole wheat.

    We usually have a massive meal..but yet it’s just the 4 of us. If it were up to my mom, we’d have only a few dishes but I get so excited, I keep saying “ohh, let’s try this and that!” and before we know it, we have 15 dishes on the table. 😛 We don’t mind the leftovers though.

  11. Judy

    That bread looks awesome! I am still too scared to try yeasted breads but I’ll get there…

    On another note, a little info about tzimmes if you’re interested! It’s a traditional Jewish dish, and from my own experience is usually a combination of vegetables and meat in a sort of stew–most often carrots and flanken, a brisket-like cut of beef. I’ve also had sweet tzimmes made with stewed carrots and prunes (trust me, it’s way better than it sounds!). I guess it could really be a combo of anything though… Anyway, interesting that they included a twist on such an old-school dish.

    PS: I’m from Montreal, so I can sympathize about the weather. BRRR.

  12. always big…this year I think we are going to have 20 adults and 4 children!!
    I better start cooking now 😉

  13. Aaargh, that plate is making my eyes water. Probably because I just got up and didn’t have anything sensible to eat but a combination of some pretty sorry leftovers…hate that! Gotta bake 🙂

    every time I see the girls on horseback in the park where I pass when I work I’m thinking, damn, that has to be so cold! Why do they do it? I remember: cold hands, icy feet, frozen nose – but then I remember I used to go however and whenever I could, so something must have been good about it ;-). You know what’s worse? My brother takes his kid to riding lessons, so spending one hour just standing while my niece is riding, that has to be soooo much colder, hahaha 🙂

  14. I have absolutely no idea what a tzimmes is… but I LOVE roasted vegetables, and I love them even more if they are of the orange variety 😛

    Riding in the cold definitely sucks. I’m obviously not doing it right now, but I remember. It does feel good to get the blood pumping so much that it doesn’t even matter though… I know remember more than once jumping courses in the arena in a t-shirt when it was like -23 C outside!

  15. I’ve never heard of a Tzimme either. But that dish looks amazing! There can never be too much sweetness in one meal! 😉

    We always have two Thanksgiving dinners – one with just my immediate family and one with my entire extended family. I love getting to stuff myself with turkey two days in a row!!

  16. My Thanksgiving is going to be huge and obnoxious. My mom is one of six, and most of her siblings have 4-5 kids, so it gets crazy. Aaaaand I sound like a huge beyotch, but crazy is not for me. I’m excited for Thanksgiving, but mostly I’m just hoping that there won’t be any catastrophes on the big day!!

  17. I just started E,D&BV last night and everytime I come across a recipe that you’ve mentioned I’m yelling in my head “I NEED TO MAKE THAT!!” Haha.

    Usually we have my family and my Aunt’s family, plus my Grandpa, so it’s about 10-12 people depending on who else decides to show up. I think it’s the perfect amount because it’s not too overwhelming and everyone is able to talk to each other.

  18. Ashlei

    I had no idea what a tzimme was either so I looked it up. Oh faithful, wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tzimmes

    Jewish cuisine!

  19. Congratulations to Sarah!
    I’ve been on the hunt for some coconut milk yogurt, but still have not found any in my area 😦
    …so for now I remain jealous of your wonderful addition to your fridge and life itself.

  20. Mhm that dish looks amazing, and has an awesome name 😀
    I am craving sweet potatoes like crazy lately, I have to get some!

  21. I can’t even pronounce the name of this dish but oh my god, it sounds absolutely delicious WOW. You seriously need to stop being damn good in the kitchen missus because you’re making me insanely jealous! 😛 Nah, I can’t thank you enough for all the ideas you keep giving me..you are a life saver! 🙂 xxx

  22. nice loaf of bread, it looks yummy! 😀
    we usually have medium-sized thanksgiving dinner parties. i like it that way 🙂

  23. :0 I made a version of that sweet potato/pear thing a while back too! I looooved it 🙂 but then I have a major sweet tooth 😛
    The bread looks super – so tall and proud 🙂

Leave a comment