Broccoli-Bean Pie

Okay, okay – I wasn’t gone last night because I ate liver and rice. I actually never ate liver and rice, I was just not feeling blogging last night. I had a full plate! So it was sort of ironic that I joked about it the night before πŸ˜‰

I’ve realized lately that I have a bit of a problem – all the meals I create are sort of…unappealing…in the looks department. I mean, how am I supposed to convince you that this:

is actually quite good?! Not sure I’d go for it at a buffet line! Actually, I probably would, since it’s quite evident that it’s full of beans and broccoli. Two of my loves.

I saw this recipeΒ on Sarah’s blog last night and gears started turning. I remembered it today and, because I can never leave things alone and have this strange infatuation with veganizing things even though I am not vegan, I present to you:

Jess’s Broccoli-Bean Pie

for four servings (or however many you make it, who am I to judge?!)

Crust Assembly:

  • 2 c. shredded sweet potato, raw (one small-medium potato)
  • 1/4 c. grated onion
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 T. buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 T. milled flaxseed mixed and let to sit with 1 1/2 T. water

In a medium sized bowl, combine the sweet potato and onion.

Add in the salt, flour, and flax egg…

no, those aren't ashes...it's buckwheat!

…and press into a lightly oiled 8″ casserole dish.

Bake at 400* for 30 minutes, and then broil for 5. When it’s done, take out of the oven and set aside, lowering your oven to 350*. If you’re as slow as I am, the thirty minutes it’s baking is perfect time for you to get the filling together.

Vegetable Filling:

  • 2 medium Roma tomatoes, de-seeded, sliced into 1/4″ slices, and halved
  • 1 large clove garlic, diced
  • drizzle of olive oil – enough to go around your pan
  • 1 t. dried chives
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 small-medium heads broccoli, chopped
  • 1/4 of a red onion, diced
  • 1 c. black beans, drained

In a large saute pan, heat your olive oil and add in the garlic and tomatoes. Season to taste with salt and pepper and add in your chives. Allow to cook down for a couple of minutes.

Add in your red pepper and broccoli, and adjust salt and pepper seasoning as necessary.

Allow the broccoli to cook mostly through – until it is tender but still has a bit of a bite to it.

When the broccoli is “done,” shut off heat and add in the beans, stirring so all is combined.

Set aside, and prepare the cheese fillings and “custard” mixture. Realize you’re making a big mess of the kitchen with this project.

Cheese Filling:

  • 3 T. Roasted Garlic Hummus
  • 3 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1 T. almond milk
  • 1 1/2 t. yellow mustard
  • salt and pepper

Wonder why you have a teaspoon and a half a teaspoon measuring spoon that appear to be the same:

I guess it should be noted that I used the “big tablespoon” when measuring the hummus and nooch πŸ˜‰ Anyways – combine all and stir. Adjust mustard, salt and pepper as necessary.

MMMM - doesn't this look YUMMY?!

set aside, and we on to the next one.

Custardy Filling:

  • 1/4 c. (generous) silken tofu
  • 2 T. almond milk
  • 1/2 a small tomato
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed

Blend all together in a blender or processor.

Assembly:

Spread the cheese filling over top of the sweet potato crust.

Add the vegetable filling over top, and then pour over the custardy filling. Since the tofu mixture is a bit thick, you’ll have to sort of “mix” it into the broccoli. Next time I’d just combine the tofu-custardy filling with the veg filling – that’s something that might be worth a try for you!

Bake at 350* for 30 minutes, and then broil for 5 more.

All this puppy’s missing is a grain! Easily fixed with some savory oats on the side:

but it’d be super easy to incorporate some quinoa/millet/bulgur/some sort of grain of choice into the veg filling.

Notes: Next time I’d probably use more sweet potato. I didn’t pack down my two cups because I only had one small sweet potato anyways so there was nothing I could do about it. But next time I’d probably use a whole large sweet potato! I wanted more of it.

I wasn’t sure if this would turn out “weird” with the tofu mixture, and was afraid my mom was going to spit it out when she tried it (even though I loved it) but she actually really liked it, too – enough to bring it for lunch tomorrow πŸ™‚ Winner, Winner, veggie dinner! I thought maybe it was a “this is really good, but i’m not sure if it’s weird so I probably wouldn’t make it for anyone other than myself.”

What else have I been up to? Well – I was out of bread for lunch (don’t worry – the new, fresh loaf is already baked and sampled!) so had to get creative.

And it sort of made me wonder why I’m so dependent on bread because this was really good. And then I remembered that little thing I have called a job.

Cook: 1/4 c. bulgur in 1/2 c. water.

Sautee: 1/4 of a large eggplant, cubed, red pepper, tempeh, tomato paste, garlic, and oil-packed sundried tomatoes.

Top with: Creamy Tomato-Pesto Sauce

This was my first time trying sundried tomatoes packed in olive oil. I hadn’t known there was such a difference – wonderful flavor combined to the dried kind I usually get! These were sent to me by Mooney Farms also – I loved getting a bite with a hunk of these in there!

I had a newbie for breakfast, too – a smoothie! It was actually layered, but it was all for naught because you can’t even tell :\

It was, however, quite delicious!

Layer One:

  • frozen banana
  • OV vanilla yogurt
  • spoonful of silken tofu
  • carrot

Layer Two:

  • sliced pineapple
  • ~1/4 c. cashews
  • spoonful silken tofu
  • acai powder
  • small drizzle honey
  • shredded coconut
  • OV vanilla yogurt

Topped with wheat germ, quick oats, coconut, and dates.

What else have I been up to?!

  • dumping 10 gigs of music off my computer
  • bathing Teddie-kins (you should see how white his mane is!!)
  • sweating (so. hot.)
  • baking Super Charge Me! cookies
  • been obsessed with stirring in jam as a sweetener (for the cookies, I cut back to 1/3 c. maple syrup like usual, Β but added 1 T. of holiday jam – SO good!!)
  • baking bread
  • been a bit obsessed with this song
  • finally got my mustard fix in the form of a fried egg sandwich:

yesterday's lunch - fried egg on WW with double that amount of mustard.

finger licking good. only because there was so much mustard that it got all over my fingers.

Gross visual. Only sort of true.

26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, lunch, recipe

26 responses to “Broccoli-Bean Pie

  1. I like the idea of a broccoli and bean pie, or casserole, but I’d make mine with cheese. It’s fun to experiment with different foods, mix them all up, and throw them in the oven for a while. They’re great when you have leftover grains too.

  2. teenagehealthfreak

    oh girl…i think all your food always looks great!! i think you do such a beautiful job with your pictures…everything on your blog is neat and well put together!
    and i need to venture out and try the smoothie thing one day…maybe. πŸ™‚
    have a great nite!

  3. lol. I think one of the reasons why I don’t photograph all my food is because sometimes it does just look really unappealing. Even if it’s quite delicious! :p

  4. I think it looks really good, I don’t know what you are talking about! I do the same thing…veganize everything. I don’t know why, I just do. I would totally eat that, well if you took out the tofu, but not because I don’t LOVE tofu…so sad we can’t be together any more. Alright, I will shut up. Your eats look delicious…definitely finger licking good! Enjoy your evening!

  5. I love broccoli and beans… although I don’t think I am going to attempt this recipe – too challenging for my measly kitchen skills πŸ˜›

    You tried savory oats!!! I hope you liked them?

    ❀ Tat
    PS. Eggs and mustard?! I guess I'll have to take your word for it… :/

  6. Um, the casserole actually looks really, really good to me! I’m going to try it as soon as I get my hands on some sweet potatoes πŸ™‚

    Also, I’m also not a vegan but like to veganize recipes too. It’s just practice for if I ever develop lactose intolerance hehe.

  7. Girl, you totally made that dish *your own*!! I love it, and it actually looks incredibly delicious to me. I’m going to tweak it around like you did the next time I make it. πŸ˜€

  8. I am totally intrigued by this recipe! Especially the sweet potato crust – I’ve never seen anything like that before. Sounds delicious (and I actually think it looks quite good, too!) πŸ™‚

  9. Gosh darn, I keep forgetting links! I’ll learn one of these days. I added it to the post too, but here’s where I got the naan recipe: http://earthvegan.blogspot.com/2009/11/grilled-naan.html

  10. ummm..so that actually looks really freakin good. It looks like a big pan of super healthy baked macaroni and cheese. But with tons of veggies instead of noodles and no cheese! Perfect! πŸ™‚

  11. I find myself veganizing a lot of food too… guess it’s just a cool thing to do? (Or people like to play with flax eggs. :P) Anyways, this recipe is a definite must-make, however, with limited resources, it’ll have to wait for a while. Actually, upon a second look, I believe I could pull this off if I went to the dining hall and asked if I could buy a veggie box with just broccoli… πŸ˜›

  12. I have so many of your recipes bookmarked to make. It’s about a million degrees in my apartment and I can’t bear to turn on the oven besides to make muffins. Help! I will get to them soon though!!

  13. Interesting broccoli recipe – i love fresh fall broccoli and black beans are my favorite!!!
    I must say that all of your foods always look very appetizing!!!! Love the idea of mustard on eggs – i love ketchup and mustard on them and end up with more mustard and ketchup on my fingers than on the sandwich!!! i actually had eggs for dinner too with spinach and fresh tomatoes!!
    Have a great Wednesday – aimee

  14. Looks good to me! Beans + Broccoli + Sweet Potato are three of my favorite foods, so it sounds like a winning combo! I love how you show the step-by-step process, it’s really helpful! ~Em

  15. I love the idea of a sweet potato crust! Haha glad to see you got your fix! I love that you treat each meal with TLC–even a smoothie. Did the layers make a difference to the taste?

  16. I really like your idea of replacing cheese with hummus, good thinking! Though beans and broccoli sound like a dangerous combo for my gut(TMI), though I love them both too.

    Sweet potato crust also sounds very interesting, was it crispy?

  17. So I made Ryan come over to look at your broccoli and bean casserole because we both love those two ingredients, and we both agreed it looked delicious! We are going to try it this weekend. The sweet potato crust looks delicious!

  18. What are you talking about missus?! You ALWAYS make EVERYTHING look good! You have totally solved my dilemma of what to have tonight as this looks so yum and I have a lot of broccoli, beans and sweet potato hanging around too! Thankyouu yet again!
    Your new breakfast sounds very interesting..I could never trust myself to be that inventive!
    Xxx

  19. That broccoli bean pie looks good, I mean gooooooooooooooooood. Look at the color combination!!! Yum yum yum!!!!

  20. oooh that recipe does sound good! Weird, but good! I can’t imagine my mum would try it though… I like how you veganise stuff, it makes it very handy πŸ˜€
    I feel for you with the hot weather – we have the exact opposite here, it’s freezing! But I don’t miss the sweat :p

  21. I would FOR SURE eat that – most of my meals don’t look very appetizing, but I don’t even care! That looks delicious!

  22. I don’t need any convincing that it would taste good! Sometimes the grossest looking things actually taste amazing (like pumpkin + oats + cocoa powder – it looks like a giant pile of… you know. ;)).

  23. that casserole sounds really good. I love the idea of using hummus!

  24. Beans n Brocc in a pie form? That sounds AND looks delicious! I think, to the outside world, it may look unapealing. But once you go all healthy and start to eat awesome wholesome eats, EVERYTHING looks good when it’s full of veggies + good for ya’ proteins. You’re a rad cook, I think I might have to copy + print this recipe too. You’re filling my recipe notebook, girl!

  25. I love ugly food. But your Broccoli-Bean Pie looks seriously delicious! I think I need to make it this weekend! YUM! I love the layers of goodness… Mmmm!

    And the smoothie sounds great too, even if we can’t see the layers. bet it tasted good!

  26. Pingback: Wordy « Healthy Exposures

Leave a comment