Mustard and Liver

Okay, prefacing this post with a ohmygodsittinghasneverfeltsogood.


Other than that, though – I had no idea that referring to yard sales/garage sales/lawn sales as “tag” sales was practically unheard of to most of you! To those of you wondering what a tag sale was, it’s the same thing as a lawn/yard/garage/barn/what-have-you sale. If you think about it, it makes sense. I mean, people aren’t selling their lawns, for Pete’s sake! If you still are scratching your heads as to what any of those sales are – well, it’s basically a Craigslist in real life. You know the saying one person’s trash is another person’s treasure? You can find all sorts of stuff – usually pretty useless (*cough*unless you had come to our rockin tag sale*cough*) and some random gems. Diamonds in the rough.

We tend to have…well, and accumulation of “extra stuff.” Clothes, appliances, furniture, gadgets, etc. So, why not put it on the front lawn and tag it with a price?!

Breakfast of Champions.

I’ve always found dialect to be pretty interesting. In Vermont, soft serve ice creams are commonly called cremees. Tell a friend from out of state that you want a cremee and I’ll bet $5 they’re thinking you’re being inappropriate. I think it’s more of a New England thing that a carbonated beverage = soda. Not pop. A sub, not a hoagie. My mom and other older adults ¬†always says “idear” rather than idea, too.

Actually, I just got the hugest kick out of this map. I guess if I wanted everyone to understand me I should have said garage sale, huh? I won’t mention the fact that we don’t have a garage.

Topped with a plumcot, chopped dried fig, and peanut buttah icinggg.

I think I just found my entertainment for the night. I wish I could say I’m kidding, but I seriously keep getting distracted by this.

On a similar note, though, thanks to Natalie for telling me the difference between a pluot and a plumcot! I was ruminating (the “musing” definition, not the “chewing of the cud” definition) as to whether or not there was a difference and she shed some light on the subject. A plumcot is 75% plum and 25% apricot (a cross between a pluot and a plum) whereas a pluot was a 50-50 mix. I wasn’t sure if pluot vs. plumcot was another dialect thing :P

However, we were not holding the tag sale again today. Well, we left some stuff out, but we had stuff to do. Better ways to enjoy the glorious whether, ya know? It’s actually pretty ironic that the beginning of last week I was almost complaining about Fall being upon us. Yesterday, today, and all of this week, however? Back to summer. Today was hot!!

My mom came with me to see Mr. Teddiekins, and I was glad because no-one was there so I didn’t feel so bad riding around in the meadows. I think he really loves it – he gets all cute and perky waiting to see what’s over the next hill, even if we’ve already discovered it :P We sort of just ride around all over with no real motive or even grace, really, but he’s having fun. And when Teddie has fun it’s hard for me to not have fun.

Actually, I take that back. He’d probably find being naughty fun, which I don’t.

Okay, I guess even when he's being naughty I have fun. Here is is trotting away with me and by the looks of the silly grin on my face I'm not too upset about it.

Anyways. I told my mom she has to ride him soon, or at least borrow one of A’s horses so we can go on more of a real trail ride. I’ve even been bouncing around the idea of Teddie and Georgie switching places for a little bit or permanently. I’ll see how it goes, though that doesn’t mean he’d be less of a favorite. Moreso, just more able to do what he likes rather than what he doesn’t :)

Sweet potato falafel, roasted red pepper, garlic and yogurt-tahini dressing

We stopped at the grocery real quick as my mom was in a crisis situation of having run out of creamer, so of course I picked up a few things, too. When we got home, we had a super quick lunch before running out once again, this time for a trail ride with Jigs and Mel.

Plumcot, Organic Valley Vanilla Yogurt, Carrot-Fig 'Nola Bar

And lunch was the last chance I had to sit down. Well, okay – I sat in the truck on the way to the barn this morning, and I sat on some horses – but the sitting on horses doesn’t really count. After that, the afternoon was spent engrossed in yard and horse work. And by engrossed, I mean that I got really gross. I had to hose down before dinner, I was so covered in sweat, grime, dirt, and…smell. Gosh, I’m so attractive sometimes.

I jest, I jest.

But dang did all of that work up an appetite! I mean, I snacked between as necessary, of course (including about ten apples. no idea why i was craving apples so badly. maybe the horses were sending me subliminal messages. and by ten i mean two or three) but I couldn’t wait for dinner.

It’s sort of evident because I became a little more photo-happy with my dinner than usual. It was just so pretty!

I completely forgot that I still had a quarter of a spaghetti squash in the fridge, but it caught my eye (buried behind other veg and goods) this morning and new it had to be used. Spaghetti squash is a ton of fun and quite delicious if you don’t compare it to spaghetti. Seriously – it’s nothing like it. Sure, it can be treated like it, but if you’re in for the same taste as that delicious carb, you will be in for a startling and sad surprise.

I also picked up some silken tofu recently thinking it’d be fun to use in smoothies, but still haven’t used it. I decided to use it in a sauce for my spaghetti squash, but I am definitely encouraging you all to tell me what you like to do with silken tofu because, I confess, it sort of scares me. I’ve also been wondering if tofu falls into the “okay soy” category? I know the fermented, non-GMO is okay…but I don’t think the soybeans in tofu are fermented? Someone enlighten me?

Anyways. This sauce was really really good. Here’s the goods:

Creamy Tomato-Pesto Sauce

  • 1/3 c. Silken Tofu (I guess that’s sort of a guess…but I think I used about 1/3 of a package that, according to the label, has 5 “servings”)
  • 2 t. Bella Sun Luci Sundried Tomato Pesto Sauce
  • 1 T. nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 of a large-medium tomato
  • 1/2 T. balsamic vinegar
  • 3 small basil leaves
  • 1 T. roasted garlic hummus
  • crushed red pepper flakes (optional, I just felt like I needed a little heat!)
  • garlic salt (I think I added almost the whole thing, no lie. Okay, lie.)

Blend it all until smooth and creamy and voila! Deerish. I think it’s safe to say that I love this pesto! And hey, look at this!

Tomatoes contain Lycopene, a phytochemical and proven antioxidant that fights free radicals in the body, and ounce per ounce sun dried tomatoes have 12 times the amount of Lycopene than a raw tomato!

Recent studies show that a tomato rich diet is associated with a reduced risk of certain conditions:

  • Prostate Cancer
  • Digestive Disorders
  • Breast, Lung and Cervical Cancers
  • Heart Disease

For the spaghetti squash, I microwaved as per usual and while that was goin’ on, sauteed a clove of garlic, a chopped tomato, and tempeh in a little bit of olive oil, and combined it all when the squash was done. Some sauce-age (hah! sausage!) over top and a beautifully grilled portabella to boot. And corn on the cob is back, too ;)

My dessert tonight was a bit different (and more fun!) than usual, and I just had to photograph it since I wasn’t all comfy yet, anyways. It was intended to be banana soft serve, but my blender couldn’t handle it so I just turned it into a banana smoothie with a frozen banana, vanilla chobani, strawberry-banana flax oil, and almond milk. I layered it with a chopped peach, wheat germ, and peanut butter.

On an unrelated note, I have been craving plain ol’ yellow mustard lately like nobody’s business. The way things are looking (and I’m just warning you) I’ll be eating a yellow mustard and tempeh sammie tomorrow. I wish I could say I was kidding, but I’m about to go make lunch and that’s the only thing that sounds remotely appealing. I know a lot of times our cravings are what our body needs – but what on earth does yellow mustard have or resemble that my body could want? Luckily (or not) for you guys, I can Google like the best of ’em:

Mustard is rich in vitamin B6- which is part of the B complex of vitamins.
Vitamin B6 is an essential component of the digestive process as it is required for the production of hydrochloric acid in your stomach and for the production of magnesium in our bodies( magnesium will also raise the levels of HCI (hydrochloric acid) in your stomach and aid in digestion.)

Without vitamin B6, B12 can never be functionalized properly and nor can iron since they work in conjunction with each other.

Eat more foods rich in vitamin B6 these items may include~ fish, brewer’s yeast, wheat bran, wheat germ, liver, cantaloupe, rice, eggs, oats, peanuts and walnuts.

There you have it!

I’m gonna go eat me some liver and rice now, I’ll catch you kids on the flip side. (or in a couple days when I’m over being sick from the liver.)


Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, lunch, recipe

28 responses to “Mustard and Liver

  1. I will leave all the liver to you…that is my gift! I will eat the cantaloup no problem. I have never done a yard or tag sale. They just seem like too much trouble. We donate everything. Tony always wants to do one though. We have a treadmill that needs to go sitting in the garage. Maybe we should do one when we redo the kids rooms into older kids rooms. I am exhausted now just thinking about it. Oh and I am totally fascinated with how people use different words around the country. I am such a southern girl just remember that while you read that list! Have a great night Jess!

  2. yay, i’m glad that plumcot vs. pluot fact is interesting to you!!! i’m really into random trivia and yesterday at the farmer’s market i was trying to taste test the difference between all the different varieties of pluots… my favorite i think is “dapple fire” haha. emerald plums, which have green skins and green flesh, are also super tasty. im so sad that plum/pluot/plumcot season is ending soon though!

    in california, we say “soda” also and never pop.. i know in some states people call all sodas “coke” and then you say “what kind?” subs aren’t very popular in california… we only have Subway subs… mostly we just eat sandwiches. but now that i’m in New England for school, some dialect differences I have noticed is that a lot of people call ice cream sprinkles “jimmies” which is new to me. Also New Englanders seem to say “mad” and “wicked” a lot (as adjectives). In northern california, the slang term we use is “hella.” So you would say “there are hella people here” instead of “there are mad people here.” it’s weird. people not from norcal hate it and make fun of it haha.

    i love tag sales/garage sales/flea markets -they are sooo fun! i feel like a total scavenger.

  3. Mo

    Haha, differences in dialect make my life. I will say, though, that’s it’s not just a New Englander thing to say “soda”. I don’t know anyone who says “pop” or even “soda pop”. :P Oh and I call them subs, too! My mom grew up in CT and calls them grinders, which always amuses me. XD
    And I know I’m totally rambling about this but for me, the difference between a yard sale and a garage sale is where it’s situated. It’s a garage sale if you’re selling it out of your garage and a yard sale if you’re selling it in your yard.

    I’d never heard of both plumcots and pluots! How cool. :D

    I’m not sure about the tofu. I make a point to buy organic tofu anyway so I know it’s non-GMO, but I honestly don’t worry too much about it being fermented (they aren’t fermented, by the way). I don’t eat a whole ton of tofu anyway so just as long as it’s organic I’m good.

    I don’t know if something’s wrong with your feed or something’s wrong with my email, but this is the first post I’ve gotten an email for in a while, and even then it ended up in my spam box. Just so you know. o.O

  4. Great pictures of you and Teddie – looks like you both really enjoyed the ride today – the weather was perfect!!!
    I love how different parts of the US have different terms for the exact same things – i always get made fun of because of my “NY”accent and how i say “idear” too!!
    I’ve never tried silken tofu – the only tofu i really eat is the extra firm and i actually don’t eat too much soy.
    I love mustard – its one of my favorite condiments for sandwiches – well that is besides hummus!!!
    Have a great Monday – oh and the dessert smoothie looks so good!!!!
    xoxo aimee

  5. hahaha I never thought about “yard” sale like that. Next time I have one, I’m gonna post a huge dollar sign in the yard, lay out a bunch of random stuff outside, but inform the guests that only the yard is for sale. I’m not seeing that working, though. :P

    Glad you and Teddie had so much fun while your momma was there!

  6. teenagehealthfreak

    your pictures of you and Teddie are AMAZING> i thought about you yesterday when i made my bread..since you were making yours too!!! maybe since you sweat so much today..your body wants mustard for the salt?!??! cause i was reading about how you sweat out a lot of salt …so maybe thats it!!have a great week! :)

  7. JESS!!! Ah it has been too long since I have visited your blog! Moving has had me going a little crazy! Dinner looks fantastic! I would have done a photo shoot as well :) I know a lot of times silken tofu is made into desserts–pies etc. I like your use of it here! I love the horse photo-it’s a thing of beauty, really! I can’t want to read more this week!

  8. What wonderful photographs of you and Teddie. You both look stunning in the August sun. What also looks stunning…your dinner! I love how you used tofu in the pesto sauce, very clever! And thank you for explaining a tag sale in a bit more detail. We go to garage sales all the time here, and we’ve found some treasures! I hope you have a wonderful Monday love!

  9. Michelle

    Hehe I loved all of the different words.

    In the pacific northwest we say “garage sale,” “sub sandwich,” most people say “pop” but for some reason I always say “soda.”

    I love your eats! I just use tofu as scrambled “eggs” but it would be good in smoothies as well.

  10. ooooh, “tag sale” – thanks for explaining…

    Ha, when I was a kid I used to see a cousin who spoke a dialect and I was too embarrased to ask about all the words I didn’t recognise. I’m telling you, ENTIRE conversations, me faking understanding, sometimes getting it in the end and sometimes NOT – hahaha.

    The dessert made my mouth water. So unfair – I just finished breakfast ;-)

  11. Such a beautiful horse!
    Garage sale sounds like a lot of fun actually :)
    And that recipe for tomato-pesto sauce sounds amazing, can’t wait to try it :)

  12. Ohhhh THAT’s a tag sale! We call them car boot sales over here :)
    Haha, with your Teddie in the fields phoots, I’ve always looked at you and him, not the background – I just noticed it today and WOW Vermont is stunning!
    Oh and I think I’ll stick with my liver for me!

  13. Mustard! It’s been ages since I’ve had a ‘normal’ sandwich with mustard.. haha. Perhaps your body is craving tumeric? It’s supposed to be an ancient medicinal ingredient or something :P (But what isn’t these days?)

    I think it’s SO cute that you are kind of ‘tranferring’ Teddie over from dressage training to trail/fun training. He definitely looks happy about it :P

    I am not a huge fan of spaghettie squash, even if I don’t compare it to real noodles. I just find that it is too mild for my liking… kabocha, acorn and butternut are my favourite. Having said that, I don’t think any of those would taste good mized with garlic/tofu-pesto sauce :P Haha!
    <3 Tat

  14. I love that map – it’s so funny to think about the different words people use. And as far as “idear”, I live in Mass. and some people use it around here, and when I lived in Vermont the people who said it were usually from New Hampshire.

    What kind of waffle maker do you use?

  15. It’s so interesting how our bodies crave foods based on what vitamins/minerals we need! I actually heard that people who are iron deficient start eating dirt for its iron content! Pretty crazy.

    Your dinner looks yummy! That’s a good idea to use tofu in the sauce to sneak in some extra protein. I’ve always been a little scared of silken tofu for some reason though – I only ever buy extra firm tofu. :P

  16. When you mention trail, I remember this one time at my past job. I worked in a forest, and one time, my boss allowed a celebration to occur where folk with horses rode through the property. Ooo, and ponies. It was amazing to see so many people and horses riding together (well, on small groups) the forest.

    Mmm, your foods look good, I like your waffle. With silken tofu, I know that my mom makes soup with it. It good. And jiggly.

  17. Okay, that dessert looks deeelish! And I forgot how much your horsey photos make me SMILE! =D
    Also, I would like sweet potato falafel in my tum nowww!

  18. That website is going to entertain me for hours. We call them garage sales!! I love different accents though…there are so many subtleties!! I can finally tell Jersey from Long Island now :)

  19. We always called them “rummage sales,” haha. I’m probably going to get lost on that dialect map site now too…

    We also call water fountains “bubblers” if anyone’s heard of that one.

    Also, I recently came across an article on pluots (because I just had my first one today and it was phenomenal) and it said 70% plum 30% apricot. I think it was a WiseGeek article. Oh well, whatever, it’s good regardless.

    And yellow mustard and tempeh? I only have dijon but you might have given me a dinner idea for this week. ;)

  20. I’ve definitely had a huge craving for barbecue sauce all day so no judgement here :)
    I’m STILL massively jealous of your waffles. want to make some and freeze them and send them my way? pretty please?
    And your dinner? YUM! You hit the nail on the head about spaghetti squash. LOVE it but it’s nothing like pasta.

  21. haha, great reasoning about the lawn sale! :)

  22. Woah liver rice? You brave soul! My hubby ate some down in Mexico for his brother’s bday. I told them I’d try it but his mom just made me a huge plate of Mexi rice and steamed veggies :) LOVE the looks of your banana smoothie in a glass! Funny how I’m so used to seeing smoothies in bowls, so seeing them in their natural habitat kinda throws me off a tad…

    Have a happy day!

  23. cremee! That’s awesome. Maybe I’ll start using that and try and spread the word. It probably won’t work, but that’s never stopped me before!

    In England they say “idear” a lot, maybe it got stuck in Vermont from Colonial times? :)

  24. Oh, and in England they call them boot sales (like from the truck of your car!)

  25. Haha I’m really interested in dialect differences too! Like in Nebraska, what I would call a sofa is called a “davenport”. And instead of having breakfast, lunch, and dinner, they have breakfast, dinner, and lunch.

    I’m not exactly sure about your tofu question. I only ever buy it if it says “Non-GMO” right on the package so I can know for sure whether or not it has GMO.

  26. Errr, I totally missed the concept of tag sales! Oops! In England they are called car boot sales, and they are held in a giant field.
    I love regional dialect, I love how much of a diverse world we live in. And how you can experience it over the internet.
    Well, I’m off down the apples and pears to see if we have ingredients to make my brother some chunks of energy :)

  27. Pingback: Broccoli Obsession « Healthy Exposures

  28. Pingback: Broccoli-Bean Pie | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

