Mission: Unaccomplished.

The Lesson of the Day: Go somewhere looking for one thing in particular, and you’re not gonna find it. Instead, you’ll find everything else.

DSC_3568DSC_3567DSC_3566

DSC_3571

DSC_3575DSC_3579

DSC_3578

The mission: Find plain or at least vanilla coconut milk kefir.

Mission: unaccomplished.

But, instead, I found everything else I’ve been mourning about not being able to find.

Well, I take that back. I haven’t been mourning not having tapioca pudding, but I just thought that packaging was too cute to pass up. And it made me think “oooh! pudding!” Unfortunately, when I tried it, my response was more along the lines of “ewwww, pudding…”

You win some, you lose some. Hopefully the rest of my finds are wins.

I just wish Hannaford’s was easier to get to. It’s the closest I can get to a TJs or WFs. Going there today after not having been for eons made me realize that there’s too many awesome things there to neglect it like that.

And then, I baked.

DSC_3585

DSC_3586DSC_3587

DSC_3581

DSC_3582DSC_3583

DSC_3588

DSC_3590DSC_3591

DSC_3592

DSC_3594

DSC_3596DSC_3597

DSC_3598

I baked this 100% Whole Wheat Sandwich Bread from King Arthur Flour. I adored the White Whole Wheat Walnut Loaf I made last week from them, but my adventures in bread-baking are too young to resign myself to the same recipe already.

I am learning – I don’t have instant yeast, and instead of just using active dry in the same fashion I know I need to proof it! Oh, the miles I have come Winking smile

Anyways. This is another great loaf from them, methinks. I used a pan that was too large, so I didn’t get a nice rounded top, but it still rose significantly.

I used sesame seeds instead of walnuts, too. I thought using walnuts again would be too similar to last week. The sesame is definitely noticeable in the end result. I love seedy, nutty breads, though. I also cut the honey down to 3 T. And used vital wheat gluten instead of “bread improver,” which I am thinking is the same thing, or at least almost the same thing.

The result?

DSC_3604

It finished too late for me to have a racy photoshoot with it, unfortunately. But iiis goo!

What’s a product you’ve been dying to try, but can’t get your hands on? Or one that you finally found, but was a major disappointment?

What’s your favorite bread add-in? Unless, of course, you’re a plain-jane….in which case, that’s always fun, too!

22 Comments

Filed under baking, bread, recipe

22 responses to “Mission: Unaccomplished.

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    I just bought that superfruit spread too! Haven’t cracked it open yet, though (I left it at home).

    Ohh, homemade bread…fave add-ins? Garlic, black olives, and rosemary. 🙂

  2. teenagehealthfreak

    what don’t i want?!!? lol i would like to try coconut milk yogurt, fennel, nuttzo, that crofters,….and well..i never make enough bread to add things in…i dont’ really wanta add anything to my rye sourdough..in fear of way to many flavors…but i would say….i do love rosemary…maybe some chia seeds, flax, or why not figs and cinnamon!

  3. I totally imagined you like ninja punching that dough because of your picture with your fist in it. There may or may not have also been a crazy yell in my imagination. I’m just saying – maybe you should do that.

  4. I tried that pudding at the vegetarian fest I went to and had to try very hard not to make a face in front of the person who gave me the sample! Sorry you don’t like it either 😦

    Favorite bread add ins: pecans, raisins, olives… if it’s in bread I don’t discriminate!

  5. The coconut Kefir is pretty darn good! I found the So Delicous brand. But i LOVE all youre other finds. YUM!

  6. That bread looks wonderful – favorite add ins – if sweet then maybe cinnamon, raisins, vanilla or oats,
    savory – lots of herbs basil, oregano and seeds loke sesame or poppy!!
    Love Cinnamon Harvest cereal – its my favorite!!

  7. I love King Arthur’s recipes!! Well, no doubt they have the best..especially with bread. My mom and I bake their Box Bread whenever I’m home and it’s ammazzing.

  8. The olive oil and olive loaf we made and ate in Greece would have to be the best bread I’ve ever eaten, so those two are high up on my list of bread add-ins. But in reality, where I can attempt to make something more realistic, I really like breads with little seeds and grain bits inside and I’d like to try making a bread of that sort sometime.

    That or a whole wheat and rye mixture bread (instead of the rye bread made with “destroyed” flour you get at the store).

    And as hard as I try, I can’t think of a product I can’t get my hands on that I’d really like to try – maybe peanut flour or fresh figs (the price is what deters me). Siggi’s wasn’t a complete disappointment, but for the price I paid for that one little container it lacked in what I expected.

  9. Too bad on the pudding. I am a sucker for packaging too! Normally I am a plain jane. I think flax meal is the craziest I get, but I do love herbs like rosemary in there sometimes too. Your loaf looks incredible!

  10. Until YESTERDAY, I hadn’t been able to find the new Larabar flavors. So far, I’ve tried the cookie dough one, and I’m not at all disappointed. In fact, it kind of fascinates me how a date-based bar can taste so much like raw cookie dough. Kind of odd really if you stop to think about it. But I’m not complaining.

  11. The Crofter’s will NOT dissapoint!!

    I JUST found peanut flour and I can’t wait to try it! I can’t find TJ’s pumpkin butter which I HAVE had and looooove…

  12. Oh, this superfruit spread makes me daydream (I’m not sure if it is the right way to say it but you get the idea 🙂 ). I wish we had it here. And I’ve always wanted to try coconut butter and hummus but I’m still not brave enough to give that much money for something I’m not sure I’ll like.

    Favorite bread add-ins: sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, poppy seeds, cheese, onions, garlic… I love my bread savory 🙂

  13. I’m a sucker for packaging too..that’s why I have too much food in my cupboards and I have to have a ‘eat out the cupboard’ stage before I go and do it all again haha!
    You are getting so talented with bread making, I’m so jealous!! My favourite kinds of breads are sweet with raisins, cinnamon, vanilla and orange peel..ooh and I like dried apple and cranberries in them too and prunes or dates! Oh okay, any dried fruit is a winner for me really 🙂 With savoury though I’d definitely say garlic.
    xxx

  14. Mmm, what a loot! What a bread! I love that expression, “plain-jane”, haha…

    Know another similar shopping rule that never fails? Go to pick up ONLY milk or toilet paper or some other staple and you will leave with two full bags and FORGET the thing you went there for…hehehe.

  15. So far I’ve tried to make one loaf.. and it was a total fail. I have no idea what I did wrong, but it didn’t rise at all. I haven’t gotten around to trying again, but it’s on my list 🙂

    Something I’ve tried that was a complete fail? Coconut butter. I know I’ve told you this before… but I really do hate it. I bake with it now though, which works well 🙂

  16. Ooh those look like some good finds! I’ve been meaning to buy Kashi Cinnamon Harvest, once I’m done my box of Vanilla Island. And that Crofter’s spread is my favourite one!!

    That bread looks awesome. You’re such a pro now! My favourite bread add ins are any seedy/grainy ingredients!

  17. Ashlei

    I love homemade bread!

    So Delicious makes a plain coconut milk kefir and I love it 🙂

  18. I wish I could send you some of the kefir- I know of like 10 stores that have it here!! That’s NYC for you though 🙂

    I searched high and low for the new flavor Larabars before finally finding them. Two flavors were awesome, and two were kind of disappointing. You can’t win them all, I guess!!

  19. I would send you the kefir, if it didn’t need to be refrigerated!! As it is, I’m holding off on buying one for myself, since I’m not quite sure what I’d do with it. 😉 And you didn’t need to go to all that trouble and expense to figure out that you won’t find what you’re looking for — I could have told you that! 😉

    Artisana Cacao Bliss disappointed me; I don’t know why I thought I’d like it, though, since I don’t like coconut. Too bad. Product I’m looking for is pumpkin butter without HFCS — I know which one I want, but I’m having a hard time accepting that it’s so expensive. :p

    And bread… cinnamon swirl is my absolute favorite to bake. It looks so pretty, too!

    ❤ ❤

  20. Racy? Who knew bread could be so sexy. 🙂

  21. Jen

    Kashi Cinnamon Harvest is one of the best cereals ever made, you will love it! I was so excited to try the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar, but I wasn’t impressed. The peanut butter chocolate chip one…YUMMM!!! Need more!

    Jen

  22. Aaah I feel guilty…making bread properly by hand is much more impressive than with a bread machine! Your bread does look great!
    Cinnamon would be my add-in. I add it to everything- can’t get enough! 😛

Leave a Reply

