BSI: Bulgur Wheat

The lovely Rebekah asked if I would be interested in hosting this week’s BSI challenge – my response? Heck yes!!

BSI stands for Blogger Secret Ingredient. Each week a new host picks an ingredient andanyone (food blogger or not) can submit a recipe. The contests starts on a Monday, and recipes need to be submitted by Sunday night of that week. Then the next day the host chooses a winner and picks someone to host next weeks contest.
It is up to each weeks host to deem what the prize will be.

the rules?

1. i pick an ingredient, preferably one that is in season and readily available and not too expensive;

2. i link back to all the other previous weekly hosts;

3. i review all your lovely recipe submissions by Sunday night (june 27th, 2010);

4. i pick a recipe that is my favorite; and

5. i’ll post the winner Monday morning and send the winner a token prize of my choosing.

6. you do not have to have a food blog to particpate

7. you do not have to submit a photograph

8. if you don’t have a blog, you can submit your recipe to me, and i will post your recipe for you!

here’s the past lovely blog hosts:

Week 83:  Clarity in Creation – Peaches

Week 82: Mo’s Kitchen – Rice

Week 81: Waisting Duxie – Swiss Chard

Week 80: Fuss Free Flavours – Capers

Week 79:  Jenn Cuisine – Honey

Week 78: Living Free – Cashews

Week 77: Affairs of Living – Artichokes

Week 76:  One Frugal Foodie – Sunflower Seeds

Week 75: Part of the Whole – Beets

Week 74: Dinner at Christina’s – Sour Cream

Week 73: The Chef in My Head – Goat Cheese

Week 72: 5 Star Foodie – Asparagus

Week 71: Eats Well With Others – Carrots

Week 70: Burp and Slurp – Brussel Sprouts

Week 69:  Fun Fearless Foodie – Parmesan Cheese

Week: 68:  Natalie’s Killer Cuisine – Cocoa Powder

Week 67:  Eat, Live, Travel, Write – Lemon Zest

Week 66: Travel Eat Love – Coconut Milk

Week 65: Run Beans Run – Tofu

Week 64: Chicago Marathon Val – Mushrooms

Week 63: Biggest Diabetic Loser – Cheddar Cheese

Week 62: A Fit and Spicy Life – Balsamic Vinegar

Week 61: Peanut Butter Fingers – Nutmeg

Week 60:  Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now – Garlic

Week 59:  Home Cooked Em – Cinnamon

Week 58: The Balanced Broad – Flax

Week 57: Cookin Fanatic – Blue Cheese

Week 56:  Foodie in the City – Ricotta Cheese

Week 55:  Savvy Eats – Maple Syrup

Weel 54: Sound Eats – Dried Fruit

Week 53: Mega Nerd Runs – Acorn Squash

Week 52: Healthy Tipping Point – Pancake Mix

Week 51: Live, Laugh Eat – Almond Butter

Week 50: Balance, Joy and Delicias! – Cauliflower

Week 49: Healthy San Diego Living – Chickpeas

Week 48: Thought 4 Food – Yogurt

Week 47: London Foodie in New York – Chocolate

Week 46:  Johnstone’s Vin Blanc – Oats

Week 45: Guilty  Kitchen – Figs

Week 44: Ordinary Recipes Made Gourmet – Peanut Butter

Week 43: The Sophisticated Gourmet – Brown Sugar

Week 42: My Kitchen Addiction – Lime

Week 41: Nutmeg Nanny – Coffee

Week 40: Chaya’s Comfy Cook – Broccoli

Week 39: Healthy Delicious – Plums

Week 38: Zoe – Feta

Week 37: ChezWhat– Potatoes

Week 36: Cinnamon, Spice & Everything Nice – Blueberries

Week 35: Girlichef -Greens

Week 34: The Ungourmet – Watermelon

Week 33: Bread + Butter – Bell Pepper

Week 32: Burp and Slurp -Corn

Week 31: Say Yes to Salad – Kabocha

Week 31 1/2: Simply Fabulous Now – Cherries

Week 30: Thinspired – Bananas

Week 29: To Be The Whole Package – Almonds

Week 28: Kristas Kravings – Lemon

Week 27: From French Fries To Flax Seeds – Coconut

Week 26: Plentiful Plants – Avocado

Week 25: Training Fuel – Eggs

Week 24: Dinner at Christina’s – Cabbage

Week 23: Hey What’s for Dinner, Mom? – Strawberries

Week 22: One Bite at a Time – Basil

Week 21: Just Sweet Enough – Black Beans

Week 20: What I Ate Yesterday – Kale

Week 19: What’s for Dinner – Orange

Week 18: BranAppetit! –Spinach

Week 17: Tales of Expansion Dates

Week 16: Biggest Diabetic Loser – Zucchini

Week 15: Sweet & Natural –Peppermint

Week 14: bella eats [and runs] – Ginger

Week 13: Coffee Talk – Walnuts

Week 12: For the Love of Oats – Pumpkin

Week 11: Trying to Heal – Sweet Potatoes

Week 10: The Inner Workings of a College Graduate – Eggplant

Week 9: Itzy’s Kitchen – Pears

Week 8: The Fitnessista – Cranberries

Week 7: Tri to Cook – Lentils

Week 6: Rhodey Girl Tests – Polenta

Week 5: Eating Bender – Butternut Squash

Week 4: Care to Eat – Apples

Week 3: On a Lobster Placemat – Mushrooms

Week 2: Hangry Pants – Tomatoes

Week 1: sportsnutritionliving – Quinoa

So, what did I choose as my secret ingredient?! After much deliberation – I finally settled on….

Bulgur Wheat!

I love bulgur – and it seems like every time I post a meal with it, there are people mentioning they need to try it. Here’s your excuse!!

So – get me all those yummy bulgur creations via e-mail [to the right, in the side bar] before Sunday at midnight, and I’ll have the winner posted on Monday!

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “BSI: Bulgur Wheat

  1. Mo

    ! I was just planning on, no joke, making and posting about a bulgur dish I like to make sometime this week, which I think is rather interesting…

    Mind-reader, you. 🙂

  2. This sounds like so much fun..I’ll have to head out for some!

  3. Wow, I didn’t realise how many BSI challenge things there’s been!! Crikey!
    I can’t wait to see all the recipes, I love bughar wheat 😀

  4. Love the new look of your blog. Do you mean June 28th mon for the due date?

  5. Uh oh, I guess I have to make something my husband can’t eat, but I can’t resist this!

  6. I’m so excited that you’re hosting this week’s BSI! Bulgur wheat is fantastic, but unfortunately, I don’t usually think of cooking with it. This week I will be pretty busy, but I can’t help but at least name my favorite created bulgur recipe: bulgur bruschetta, complete with fresh basil! Yumm!

    Have a lovely day!
    xox

  7. glad to see this one up!!!

    ps – change the due date, sweets 🙂
    -rebekah

  8. Cool idea. I bet it would work well in lots of baked goods recipes.

  9. Lovely! I just picked up a pound of Bulgar wheat for a recipe I’m making at the end of this week. I will send it in!

  10. Katharina

    Ahh poopie I forgot about Rebekah’s BSI 😦 I had a recipe in mind too lol. Oh well! This week I won’t forget! I already know what I’m going to submit 😀

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  11. I love bulgur! I hope I have some left at home 🙂

  12. Sounds like fun – now ill just have to think up a recipe!!!!!!!!
    Looking forward to it!!!! xoxo aim

  13. ah!!! so much fun! And I happened to just buy some bulgur 🙂

  14. I love bulgur wheat. I often add it to my morning bowl of oatmeal. I’m looking forward to the recipes!

  15. Yessss. I was not feeling culinar-ily inspired and then bulgur entered my life. PUMPED.

  16. Pingback: Seitanic « Healthy Exposures

  17. Pingback: Turkish Spicy Lentil and Bulgur Soup with Dried Mint and Red Pepper (Ezogelin Çorbası) « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!

  18. Pingback: BSI Contest–Blogger Secret Ingredient! « Recipe Rhapsody

  19. Pingback: Announcing Weekly Event- BSI Paneer- Week 95 | Ruchikacooks

  20. Pingback: Giveaway Winner and BSI Announcement! « Food for Thought

Leave a comment