Weekends are for Working

Well, I’m battered, bruised, a shade darker than before and utterly exhausted – but I’ve made it through the weekend.

I’m starting to look forward to the weekdays more than the weekends. I always work harder on the weekends than during the week. What’s up with that?

You knew this was coming.

Of course I was planning on strawberry waffles this morning – you didn’t think otherwise, did you? I think I’ll call these party waffles, though. Don’t they look like they’re ready for a party with all that coconut?!

I used my “standard” oatmeal-millet waffle recipe but with dates instead of figs, and agave (or honey?) instead of maple. I also added in the juice from the microwaved strawberries again, as well as some shredded coconut. Yum!

Topped with the nuked berries, half a chopped date, cashews, more coconut, white chocolate coconut peanut butter, and irish cream agave.

And coffee, but it tasted funky. I think I had paint chips from my mug. That or it was because it wasn’t Green Mountain 😦 I’m out of good coffee!

This may turn out to be a condensed blog post tonight, because I’ve got a recipe of sorts to share with you guys! Though it may work out that way, anyways – I wasn’t much of a snacker today, for whatever reason! Maybe it was the heat? Either way – after breakfast I went out to the barn to see Teddie before it got too hot. It was already really humid, though – and luckily had figured I’d give him a rest day today, anyways. Sometimes it’s easy to forget that they need mental and physical breaks, too — I could just play with him every day! The hard thing about boarding far away is that even if he has a “day off,” I can’t just walk out my front door and dote on him. I have to drive half an hour. It’s nice to have Jigs and Mel here – I can just go out and play with them whenever! But, alas – it’s for the best.

When I got home, I tacked up Jiggy and just went for a light ride up and down the road for a couple minutes. I was dying to ride in the new saddle! It is so comfy – in love! It was so muggy and buggy out, though, that I didn’t want to ask him to do much. And my mom and I had fence to put up, anyways.

We drove in all the posts yesterday, and I put on caps and insulators, so today we just had to run the wire and pound in insulators for when we used a tree instead of a post. We got the majority done – but ran out of insulators and were, hot, sweaty, tired, hungry and getting bitten up – so we just called it off until tomorrow…and came in for lunch.

Part One

For whatever reason, I was not craving veggies in the least – and rather, had a raging sweet tooth.

I think it had to do with the heat and my hydration – I think I was actually really thirsty, and fruity, sweet things seemed more appealing? Maybe. Either way – I had a sammie with toasted whole grain bread spread with blackberry honey creme and white chocolate coconut peanut butter and some sliced banana. Weird? My mom thought so. Delicious? Absolutely. The banana got all melty, and the blackberry honey was the perfect touch. That and – they sell PB, Honey and banana in a cafe near here – so  I said she was the weird one 😉

Part Two

A giant, fruit-laden yogurt and cottage cheese mess. What the Dr. Krackers previously shown were dipper in, too! Piled in the bowl was a chopped plum, sliced strawberries, the rest of the banana, plain Oikos, cottage cheese, chia seeds, honey roasted peanuts, and honey. I’m not really sure if those were plums or pluots, though. My mom picked them up, and she said the sign said plums – but they were very small, and very deep purple. And didn’t quite taste like you’re typical plum.

But I digress. Fast forward to dinner

Not much to look at, but I promise this was a winner.

A wheatberry salad with a Veganomicon inspired dressing. My mom loved this. Maybe you will, too? It’s a kitchen sink wheatberry salad!

First, the dressing:

Makes approx. 1/2 cup. Maybe more like 1/3. Ish.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 T. olive oil (or more, depending on your saucepan)
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 2 chopped Turkish figs
  • 1/4 c. + 1/4 c. water
  • 1/8 t. salt, dash pepper
  • 1/4 t. basil
  • 3-4 medium strawberries, sliced
  • 1.5 T. maple syrup
  • 1 T. dijon mustard (I used .5 T. mple dijon and .5 T. dijonaise)
  • 1 t. balsamic vinegar

Heat the oil over medium-low heat in a medium saucepan, add in pressed garlic. Saute 1-2 minutes, then add in the figs, salt, and 1/4 c. water. Allow to simmer, until water is mostly evaporated.

Once that happens, add in remaining 1/4 c. water, maple syrup, basil, and strawberries. Simmer 3 more minutes, and remove from heat. Stir in mustard and vinegar, and let sit until cool enough to blend/process until smooth.

For the Salad:

(apologies in advance for the sketchy measurements of half of this, half of that. I had half a sweet potato from last night, wanted to have some leftover roasted broc and red pepper, etc. Just adjust it to your tastes, anyways!)

  • 1/2 c. cooked wheatberries
  • 1/2 c. black beans
  • 1/2 a medium-large sweet potato, cubed and roasted*
  • 1/2 a medium head of broccoli, chopped into bite-sized pieces and roasted*
  • ~1/4 of a chopped roasted red pepper
  • 1/4 c. canned diced beets (note that next time I would leave these out because I discovered I’m not a huge beet-fan, but my mom liked them so I’m leaving it in the list)
  • 1/2-3/4 a recipe of the aforementioned dressing
  • 2 T. plain Oikos
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Combine err’thang in a large bowl and serve chilled.

I chose to do so over some romaine – which was only a mediocre idea. Spinach would have been better. But the salad was a superstar!

And we all know how necessary dessert is when there's a house full of strawberries.

22 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

22 responses to “Weekends are for Working

  1. um… way to show me up! your KSS is way better looking than any i’ve ever made!
    -rebekah

  2. Oh YUM! Everything!!! I am glad you survived the weekend. This has not really been a great one here, but we are moving on from it. Nothing horrible, just that my husband is overwhelmed with work and I am sad for him. We did get out as a family a little today so I am really thankful for that! Have a great night, Jessica!

  3. “A shade darker” haha me too! And by darker I mean redder. Oh well. Your sweet sandwich sounds like perfection. AND guess what? I bought Green Mountain coffee last night!! It was completely on a whim but I recognized the name from you and snatched it right up. I tried it today and love it. Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

  4. I’m obsessed with your lunch. White chocolate coconut peanut butter? Where on earth did you find such a heavenly creation?! Please do share the knowledge 🙂 Hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend, and have a great Monday!

  5. Yes it too was very hot on Long Island – very humid – hopefully tomorrow it will be cooler!!!! Glad to hear how much you like the new saddle and that you were able to give it a try this weekend. The wheatberry salad sounds and looks DELICIOUS – ill have to give the dressing a try – i love roasted sweet potatoes. Thanks for the recipe!!! Have a great Monday – xoxo aimee

  6. Your dinner sounds absolutely amazing!!! Best cookbook EVER. And those waffles… girl. YUM!!
    I’ve missed you!
    Love you!

  7. Tes

    Ummm the dressing sounds simple and delicious. I have to try this. The salad combo looks really healthy. I have to try eating like this too. Thanks for sharing.

  8. This entire post is filled with food perfection. And I hear you on the strawberries, my house is chalk full of them right now and I just can’t get enough. Though I keep eating them plain straight up and although they are obviously incredibly delicious that way, I think I need to up the creativity factor and make some much more amazing combos like yours.

  9. Michelle

    That is my kind of a breakfast. I love the combo.

  10. You had me at hello…once again, another beautiful day of eating. I also feel exhausted by the time the weekend ends; I stay so busy on my days off. I love the recipe you included, especially the dressing. I’m just enraptured with how great strawberries taste right now, so I’m wanting to use them in everything. I hope you have a refreshing night of sleep, my dear!

  11. Your lunchtime sandwich sounds quite simply, amazing!!
    Bah at the wheatberries – I’ve JUST got my hands on some chia seeds, and now I’m seeing wheatberries everywhere – yet another thing you can’t get in England!! Boo 😦
    It sounds like it’s super hot where you are; when I was in Maryland a fe Augusts ago, I had a lesson in like, 40degree heat – I was dripping! So gross 😛

  12. My coffee the other day tasted funky too. Funny story.. I took my mug out of the freshly washed dishes pile, and I thnk it had soap in it! There were a little more bubbles at the top than usual, and it tasted so awful. I don’t suggest palmolive as a sweetner.. ugh.

    I know what you mean about boarding. I board Rayne right now, and sometimes I will drive twenty minutes just to ‘visit’ on her days off.

    ❤ Tat

  13. My husband was looking over my shoulder as I read your blog, and he saw your waffles and got really excited. I’m thinking I might be making them some time in the near future… 😉

  14. Everything looks so amazing!
    That combo you had for lunch does not sound weird to me 🙂 sounds pretty good actually- and looks even better!

  15. Your salad looks absolutely delicious! I love your combination of wheatberries with strawberry dressing! 😀 I think citrus works really well with wheatberries.

  16. I’m the opposite…i don’t tend to do ANYTHING at the weekend! i disagree with your mum! i think that sandwich sounds, and looks AMAZING xx

  17. I love your fruity lunch! Sometimes I feel like I could just eat fruit all day. For some reason I tell myself I’m not “allowed” though, and I just opt for “normal” meals. 😛 Silly brain.

    Also I looked for Green Mountain coffee here and I don’t think we have it anywhere! I love the idea of doing a bloggie swap! 🙂

  18. I aspire to be like the cook you are one day, when I can just step into my kitchen and KNOW what ingredients will go well together and the methods to use to bring out the best flavor. 🙂

  19. Dee

    Girl, can I party with your waffles? Because wow. They look to die for! 😉

  20. Pingback: Scattered « Healthy Exposures

  21. Pingback: Mixed Cravings «

  22. Pingback: Hit or Miss «

Leave a Reply

