Spaghetti Squash Casserole

You know how, when you google things, google always has suggestions for you? Sometimes it’s really fun, especially when you’re looking for some sort of recipe but you don’t really know what. That’s sort of what happened when I googled “spaghetti squash recipe.” I mean, I still have 1/2 (well, now 1/4) of the thing left – might as well try something new!

Just remember the lesson you were taught in grade school: never judge a book by its' cover! It's tastier than it looks πŸ˜‰

When spaghetti squash casserole showed up as a “you might have meant,” I hopped on that train, and found this recipe. After a few tweaks here and there, I came up with the following. The intention was for it to be a one-time meal…but by the time I was done I realized there was no way in hay I was going to eat it all in one sitting! I tend to do that…

Spaghetti Squash Casserole

serves 2

  • 1/4 of a large spaghetti squash, cooked

To prepare your spaghetti squash, simply microwave it on high for ten minutes in a microwave-safe dish. Fill the dish with enough water to come up about 1/2″ along the sides of the squash. The squash should be face down. Allow it to cool, and then pull the strands apart with a fork.

Forking.

You could bake it, too - but this saves a good 30 minutes!

  • olive oil – to coat bottom of your pan
  • 2 cloves garlic, mashed
  • 1/4 of a medium yellow onion, diced
  • 1 medium tomato, chopped
  • 1 large portabella cap, chopped
  • 2 cups baby spinach
  • 1 t. fresh oregano, chopped
  • 2-3 medium basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 t. fresh parsley
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Heat the olive oil in a nonstick pan. Add in all your veggies except for the spinach and the herbs.

Once the onions are beginning to turn translucent, add in the herbs and spinach. When the spinach is cooked down, shut off the heat and let sit while you prepare the next step.

  • 1 T. milled flax
  • 3 T. almond milk

Combine and set aside.

  • 1/3 c. (heaping) garbanzo beans
  • 1 small slice bread, toasted
  • 2 T. fresh chives
  • 1 T. parmesan cheese

Whirl in a blender until you get the consistency of breadcrumbs.

AKA best breadcrumbs ever.

The final step:

Combine everything except the breadcrumbs in with the veggies and combine. Stir in a scant 1/4 c. grated smoked mozzarella**.

Your eyes aren't deceiving you - there are snap peas in there, too. I didn't mention it because I only left three in the bag (?) but you could easily add in some more veg!

And pour everything in a casserole dish. Top with the breadcrumby mixture.

And bake at 350* for about 35 minutes, or until the top is browning and it is set a bit.

**I specififed smoked mozzarella because it’s what I used – all I had on hand. Since it has such a noticeable flavor, I figured I would specify smoked. It actually adds a lovely flavor – but obviously you can use any sort of cheese/mozzarella!

______________________

So. What else have I been up to in the past 48 hours?

throwing hay (yesterday morning before work, no less. for some reason, my right thigh is really sore/tight from this. more than my arms, shoulders, back, anything…?


really good breakfasts (all vanity aside, though – i’m always up to that!)

Today's carrot cake waffles. I had to repeat them right away after having them Thursday, of course!

Yesterday's overnight oats with a white nextarine and a peanut butter sauce (PB & Organic Valley drinkable yog)

naughty ponies (yeah, go figure – after yesterday’s love story he decides to be a butt head again! and i’m a little worried he’s got something wrong with his eye! having a paranoid momma attack. in all actuality he wasn’t atrocious, just had a little temper tantrum towards the end when i wanted him to canter right lead. thinking i’ll be having the vet out about his eye, though…)


bun in the oven ponies (uhhh, yeah – so i’m just casually brushing Georgie, getting ready for a ride no less, when I see this:

I know this is a FOOD blog, but why is my mare BAGGED?!?!
yeah, so…not sure if my mom and i should be expecting a surprise one of these mornings. once again, the vet will be out about this, too. i know some mares bag up due to clover, but she has had none. )

relaxing ponies (i took Mel on a nice little ride this afternoon. it was nice to sit on a horse that probably wouldn’t do anything if you had a cougar drop on you – which is as reassuring as it is disgruntling)

green monstarrrrs

i tried making a heart. i failed.

red peppers!

a baby red pepper - it fell off the plant. but i was still proud of my homegrown baby!

really fantastic snacks

mmm - I'd forgotten how amazing these carrot cake larabars are! i'm rationing them until they show up in this area. thanks again for hookin' me up, rebekah!

i was practically laughing at my nuttiness (no pun intended) as i carefully put together different stuffed dates: one with cashews, half of one with a pecan, half with marcona almonds, half with peanuts, and half with a brazil nut. i loved them all - but i think the surprising winner was the brazil nut!

and now i have lots of blogs to read – so if you’ll excuse me, i need to go visit you πŸ˜›

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, health food, lunch, recipe

23 responses to “Spaghetti Squash Casserole

  1. … I sure hope you tie up all these horsey loose ends πŸ˜› Eye problems and possible preggers?! My oh my.

    Everything here looks so delicious. I would have never thought to make a casserole out of spaghetti squash.. or any type of squash for that matter… because of the water content. It looks like it stayed together surprisingly well though!
    ❀ Tat

  2. oooh that spaghetti squash looks great! I haven’t had spaghetti squash in a million years!
    Ahh congrats on momma to be horse!

  3. Looks great.
    I buy Spaghetti squash at every given opportunity. They’re not that easy to come by.
    I once baked one in the oven and forgot to pierce it a few times, to let the steam out.
    It exploded with such force, it blew the oven door open.
    Let that be a lesson to us all πŸ™‚

  4. Well, you didn’t let me down with that eggplant recipe, so I’m going to have to try another one from your site… which reminds me I still have to make the cashew-carrot spread. Good thing I just got a 2 lb bag of sweet carrots. πŸ˜€

    And like I’ve said before… anything with chickpeas is awesome… I never would have thought to make a bread crumb topping like that.

  5. Pony eye problems and potential pregnancies aside (eep!), it sounds like you had a pretty darn good 48 hours… they sure look tasty anyways πŸ™‚

    I can’t be too sure, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually eaten a casserole… is that normal? Or maybe I did and I just don’t know it πŸ˜‰ I DO know that I’ve never eaten a spaghetti squash, though. I think it was the whole idea that people use it to replace actual spaghetti that turned me off.

    I hope you’re having a great weekend, Jess, and I hope that your ponies are doing well too.

  6. Mo

    I might need to steal your breadcrumb recipe. Just fyi. On a related note, I just realized I never top anything with breadcrumbs. *shame*

    I had to google what a “bagged mare” was, because I had no idea what I was looking at there. πŸ˜›

  7. Ahhh! What if she was pregnant? Miracle, perhaps?
    I haven’t had spaghetti squash since I was a little kiddy! I love good casseroles, so perhaps it is near time to reintroduce the veggie into my life. And that pepper? SO CUTE!
    I am obsessed with the cookie dough Larabar and that was the only new flavor that my grocery store had 😦 I shall have to keep my eyes peeled for carrot cake!

  8. I love to google and find new recipes too!!!! The spaghetti squash looks quite good!!! I’m always amazed at how even though you lead a very busy life you always seem to make such delicious creations!!!!
    Have a great Sunday – aimee

  9. Dee

    the spaghetti squash casserole looks amazing! if it doesn’t heat up too much this week, i’ll need to try something with spaghetti squash. seriously. you’ve inspired me now! πŸ™‚

  10. dddaaang, the casserole looks amazing. bookmark

  11. hey girl! wow that cassarole looks amaaaazing! i have a spagetti squash growing and the second i pick it im gonna make that! i just bought the carrot cake larabar im so excited to try it! have a great nighr! your smoothies look amazing, as usual (:
    xo
    Ashley

  12. I cracked up when I saw the picture of Georgie but I thought I was looking at something else until I read the comments haha. I hope Teddie’s eye is alright though!

    I don’t think I’ve ever actually had spaghetti squash. It looks so cool how it actually comes out looking like noodles though! And stuffing dates is the BOMB. It’s like chewy crunchy sweet nutty all at the same time! Looove it.

  13. Yum! I adore spaghetti squash, but I’ve yet to get that creative (I usually just drizzle pasta sauce and cheese over top). But this looks so good, and will be perfect for the fall months. I hope you have a wonderful Sunday…and a good day with Teddie!

  14. Aaahh possibly pregnant – how exciting!! I hope Teddies eye is okay though..
    I must admit, I’m not a big fan of spaghetti squash unfortunately. Maybe it was just the way I used it but I found it too bitter to even swallow, it was really not nice! However you can make even the most disgusting foods look absolutely yummy, I honestly don’t know how you do it!
    Haha I love your little nut snacks recently, they’re so cute and handy as well as good for you! I’m inspired to copy πŸ™‚
    xxx

  15. That sghetti squash casserole looks fabulous! I wonder if I’d have to buy a huge, plump squash in order to make this casserole..or use one of the zucchini-thin ones I see all around the produce section. Oh btw, I bought an eggplant in your honor and am planning on tackling your stuffed eggplant recipe! So excited + slightly nervous since I haven’t had eggplant in a long, long, time and once I tried roasting it and disliked it much so. But this has to work, it just has to!

    Congrats on pony babies!

  16. Hehe I love that your dinner made 2 servings – I bet you anything i would eat it all in one sitting πŸ˜›
    Teddie’s eye thing – he may well have like cataracts or spots on the retina or something? When we had Chika vetted before we bought her, she had spots on her retina, which I think makes her spook more. It doesn;t hurt or anything, but maybe it’s a similar thing?
    And LOL – I reckon you’ve got a foal on the way!!! 3 for the price of 2 :p

  17. teenagehealthfreak

    omgosh!! that would be so exciting if you had a colt?!?!?! your casserole looks simply delish. i would totally eat that up. (and i’m picky when it comes to no meat…) πŸ™‚ i have my eye peeled for that larabar…no such luck..yet. hope you had a great weekend! πŸ™‚

  18. Yum, that casserole looks good! I love spaghetti squash. I’m so excited that it’s almost fall so that I can start pulling out the squash dishes!

    What a cute little pepper! I don’t think the ones on my plant a ripe yet. I can’t wait until they are! πŸ˜€

  19. A pony! So exciting…I hope! I hope Teddie is doing ok!

    Your casserole sounds delicious! I LOVE spaghetti squash. I definitely want to try out that bread crumb topping too!

  20. Love the squash casserole! This just made me very excited for the fall πŸ™‚ Plus it’s freezing here today and casserole sounds delicious!

  21. I’ve actually never had any type of squash before, but that casserole looks yummy! πŸ™‚
    I hope Teddie is alright, and you find out whats up with your mare!
    I totally understand your worry, they are like children!

  22. That spaghetti squash casserole looks fantastic! I love that it’s winter squash season soon! I’ll definitely be making this πŸ™‚

    Wow, how have I not tried the new larabars yet? I really need to make a long trip out to Whole Foods!

  23. That spaghetti squash casserole looks KILLER…gonna throw that in my week’s meal plan. MMMMM, can’t wait!!!!

Leave a comment