Busy Baking Business & Sweet Potato Falafel

oi. it feels beyond good to be laying/sitting in bed right now. i’ve been going nonstop in the kitchen today and my back is killing me. i’m too young to need a new back!

alas. i woke up to the sounds of pouring rain and dark skies. of course, all of this encouraged me to sleep in until almost 8 again. the other problem with fall/winter – it’s so dark outside you think it’s too early to get up still! but, i am not complaining about it today since tomorrow is back to early rising.

leisurely sunday brekkist of waffles topped with half a nanner and a peach + peanut buttah-chia icing.

today was forecasted to be a washout, so i sort of decided on giving teddie the day off anyway. it’s not that we don’t have an indoor, but heaven knows he’d rather graze in the rain than stand in his shelter, and i don’t have him on stall board. no need for it. i still had to go into town to clean the office though, so of course stopped to say hi and make sure he still had two eyeballs that looked relatively normal.

sort of like this, only worse.

as i’d forecasted, he was happily grazing in the rain and had been enjoying some time in the mud, too. silly boys. i didn’t want to cause discomfort by tacking him up soaked, and it turned out to be really busy there, anyways.

i was glad to have my mom’s company so that if his eye was still doing weird things she could see it, too. luckily, it looked a-ok. which sort of makes me feel a little crazy, but i’ll take crazy over a horse with an eye issue any day. what i noticed yesterday while i was tacking him up was this weird glow-y spot…but the weird thing was that it would come and go, it wasn’t consistent! at first i thought it must be a reflection, but then i was realized it wasn’t. A saw it, too – so either there was some reaaall crazy light going on in the barn, or…? i dunno. i’ll be keeping an eye on his eye πŸ˜‰

homemade toasted triple wheat, beanballs, and fresh tomato

i ran into the grocery store for a couple things before coming home and throwing together a quick lunch and devising a game plan. a game plan? a game plan. my baking and cooking extravaganza gameplan! i mean, what better way to spend a rainy day? sure, i could have done some laundry, organized my room, go through clothes for a tag-sale…but c’mon. lets be realistic here. i did get my bathroom cleaned though, give me some credit here!

vanilla chobani, peach, wheat germ, quick oats, honey roasted peanuts, pb

note: i hardly pictured any snacks today. saaaarry. but you’ll have to forgive me in order for me to give you the recipes for tomato and zuchinni fritters, the best branana bread ever, and sweet potato falafel.

we’ll start with the sweet potato falafel. mainly (okay, entirely) because it was my mom and i’s favorite of the little “buffet” we had for dinner.

i found this lovely recipe over at susan’s blog and have been really lazy about making it. i think because i went through a major “chick peas must be made into chickpea cutlets, nothing else.” phase. i’m not complaining, but i mean – there’s so much more in the world of the stellar garbanzo!

anyways – i kept it along the same lines, so here is my adaptation πŸ™‚

Sweet Potato Falafel

  • 1/4 T. milled flaxseed + 1 T. water
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 1/2 t. cumin
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. dried parsely
  • 3/4 – 1 c. chick peas
  • 1/4 + 1/8 c. quick oats
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. lemon juice

First, bake your sweet potato. The easiest way to do this is to wrap in damp paper towels and microwave (I use the potato setting, so I’m not sure what power that is) for 8 minutes or so.

While that is microwaving, preheat your oven to 400* and combine your flaxseed with the water, and set aside. in a small bowl, mash your chickpeas and combine with the quick oats.

When the sweet potato is done, allow to cool before peeling the skin off and mashing it in a medium sized bowl. add in the flax, seasonings, and lemon juice. combine. stir in the chickpea mixture and baking powder.

spray a cookie sheet, and using your hands, roll the mixture into uniform balls. press down slightly on each one, and then bake for twenty minutes at 400 degrees, flipping halfway through.

i also made the yogurt-tahini sauce as susan instructs to go along with it. the only adjustment i made to that was using tomato paste rather than ketchup, and i added a dollop of dijon, too. i love the sauce! well, i love the falafel, too – but the two just pair together so well. that and i wasn’t sure if i would since i’ve had only mediocre experiences with tahini thus far πŸ˜‰

after cooking everything all day, i couldn’t decide what to have for dinner so the most logical thing was to try it all! i had a tomato and zuch fritter, sweet potato falafels, yogurt-tahini sauce, roasted broccoli, bulgur, and a moorish zucchini salad that i also made. (that’s not the source of the recipe – mine came out of “the vegetarian cookbook,” but is the same as that recipe)

i don’t actually like zucchini (gasp-oh-the-horror-and-deceit) but the salad wasn’t bad (even though i’ll gladly leave the rest for my mom), and the fritters are actually really good. i actually had intentions to tackle a zucchini bread, but my mom was thinking the same thing and i started reaaalllly wanting to make some more banana bread. she never got around to her zuc bread, but my banana bread came out loffly:

why yes, yes this is the world's best branana bread.

i honed my inner amanda and tatianna for this one – you’ll have to wait and see πŸ˜‰

and should i start a “guess the date” giveaway for georgie?! we are dying to know if she’s preggers or not…but even if the vet comes, they sometimes can’t even get it right. i’ve been doing a lot of research on false pregnancies in horses, but…i dunno. we wouldn’t be surprised on the one hand since they come from an unknown background, they are seriously gettingΒ large and in charge, always hangry (but they’re haflingers, they’re always hungry anyway πŸ˜› ) georgie has a bag for petes sake (might i add it’s bigger today?), and i’m pretty sure milk veins. so now we’re wondering if maya is preggers, too – that little peanut’s got a huuuuge belly. Β maybe they were kept with a stallion or something.

oi vei. if only they could talk.

28 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

28 responses to “Busy Baking Business & Sweet Potato Falafel

  1. Ooooh banana bread!! Can’t wait to see the recipe! Perfect for a comforting rainy day! We’ve had serious rain ALL DAY today!

  2. Michelle

    I’m glad Teddie’s eye seems to be doing okay.

    And thanks. I’m really craving falafel now πŸ˜‰

  3. Lol you don’t know how many times I’ve told myself that I’m too young to suffer from back pain; especially after a productive day in the kitchen… and I’ve got to say, it looks like some deeeelish things came out of your kitchen today. I’ve never had falafel before (I think I’m seriously missing out on this one…), but I’m sooooooo so tempted to try your SP falafel. I think I’ll pass on the zucchini salad though, because no matter how many times I’ve tried it, it just won’t grow on me. And you know I’m a fiend for banana bread, so I’m eagerly awaiting your recipe… I was actually going to make a loaf of mine today, but time didn’t permit… so maybe that was a sign from above that I should wait to try yours out πŸ˜‰

  4. I love falafell and I love sweet potatoes, so that combo sounds perfect.

  5. That’s crazy! Would it be a good thing or a bad thing if she (or both) were pregnant?
    And the sweet potato falafel loks delectable. Sweet potato= my love <3.
    I guess today was rainy for everyone?!? I kinda sorta got SOAKED myself, so I empathize with Mr. Teddy!

  6. Don’t you just love it when horses get filthy in the rain/mud? (Hah.. not.)
    I was actually researching falafel recipes the other day, because I’ve never made my own and it’s been ages since I’ve had it. Not sweet potato ones though, just regular ones first. The tahini dressing sounds stellar though!

    I guess now you just have an excuse to feel Maya and Georgie lots of treats! There’s a new foal at the barn when I board Rayne, and her mom eats literally a BALE of hay every night (not including the day) and two huge buckets of water. It’s amazing how fast a mama horse’s metabolism gets when they are nursing…. so you better get Georgie nice and nourished ! XD
    ❀ Tat

  7. I’ve got to say, it looks like some deeeelish things came out of your kitchen today

    can we link exchange sir

  8. I think you read my mind and then post things, in a very subtle manner, that are related to what you read. I just bought a bag of ripe bananas ($.29 cents / pound) for freezing and realized that I had way more baby bananas than I thought I did so I planned to make banana bread this week, haha.

    I’ve seen that sweet-potato falafel recipe as well but whenever I have chickpeas I don’t have sweet potatoes and vice versa.

    And I like your dinner plate, it’s pretty awesome. πŸ˜‰

  9. sweet potato falefel?!?!?!?! SAY WHAT?!!! The title of this post left me so hungry for more! Looks wonderful as always πŸ™‚ hope you had a nice weekend!

  10. teenagehealthfreak

    omgoodness!! two colts?!?!!? ((possibly.)) how exciting!!! i’ll gladly be the God mother..lol I’ve never tried Falafel….but if it involves sweet potatoes..i really need to consider rethinking that. πŸ™‚ well it all looks good!!! thanks for you support on my last post…you help me out so much.

  11. You had me at sweet potato… lol. Seriously- I love finding new ways to use it being as how it’s my “it thing” at the moment. πŸ™‚

  12. Sweet potatoes and chickpeas together sound incredible – i have to try this recipe!!!!
    Its no wonder your back is bothering you – you were quite the busy baker today !!!!! All of your creations look wonderful – can’t wait to see the bread recipe!!!
    Can’t wait to hear what the vet has to say about the horses – i actually delivered a baby boy this afternoon – !!!
    Have a great Sunday night and hope your back is feeling better!!
    xo aimee

  13. Gotta love a muddy horse!! =P
    And WOW, sweet potato falafel?! Yesss please!
    I hope Georgie is pregs!

  14. I know…that sweet potato falafel sounds out of this world! This would be a great snack for me to take to school…portable and delicious. I’m feeling you on the back pain…I get so sore after standing in the kitchen all day. We’re too young for this!

  15. Hehe, 2 foals maybe!? Oh I love it! I reckon you might have one in the next…2days…do I get a prize if I’ve guessed right!?
    LOVE all that foodt – the sweet potato falafels, the banana bread…please come cook for me!

  16. You have no idea how excited I am about your sweet potato falafel….haha. I am *definitely* making that recipe. They sound so delicious! πŸ˜€

  17. Dang those SP falafels look amazing! But when aren’t sweet potatoes good? I’m pretty sure you could stuff them into liver and I’d still eat it! πŸ˜‰

    Oh wow, that would be crazy if both Georgie and Maya were preggers! You’ll have to post lots of pics of their cute little foals if they are!

  18. HAHAHA, “maybe they were kept with a stallion or something.” I just found that hysterical. Kind of cool how it’s such a mystery though!!

    Those sweet potato falafel balls look amazing. All the sweet potatoes popping up in the blog world recently are making me so excited for fall!!

  19. Baking when it rains is so much fun! It is the perfect rainy day activity! Your eats look so good! I wish I had some banana bread here today. I may have to whip up some muffins today. I hope you have a great day…can’t wait to find out about the horse bellies!

  20. Jen

    I’m loving that banana bread, it’s a weakness of mine, so a good thing I don’t make it often!!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  21. sigh, you’re awesome as always! Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. Life is chaotic at the moment, as usual! You’d think I’d be used to it by now!

    Keep on bloggin’ though, you’re awesome at it!

  22. Awwwe poor Teddie getting stuck in the rain! Whenever I worry about CoCo in the rain, my dad’s always like “they’re horses..aren’t they meant to withstand a little rain?” True..but still- they’re our babies!

    Those SP falafels sound sooo good! I’ve always wanted to try falafels but don’t like how unhealthy the restaurant versions are. You definitely wouldn’t find something this healthy on the menus. πŸ™‚ Definitely have to give this a try!

  23. I love cooking on rainy/snowy days.. It’s the perfect inside activity that you could spend all day doing. Looks like you made some good stuff!

  24. Ohhh all of your eats look so yummy! And just WAIT until you’re 29…you’ll feel like you need a new hip, too πŸ˜‰

  25. Pingback: This Is Winter (& Fritters!) | Healthy Exposures

  26. Look at that bread!!! That’s a true beauty!!!!!

  27. Pingback: Sweet Potato Burgers!

  28. Pingback: Obsessions | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

