…and a Partridge in a Fig Tree…

Ways to Enjoy a Christmas Weekend:

  • Be awoken by a wet-nosed dog jumping on your bed and sticking its’ nose down your covers and then your shirt.
  • Rub Frank’s Red Hot in your eye after marinating tofu in it and not washing your hands well enough after handling it.
  • Frantically wrap all of the presents you’ve collected but had no time to wrap.
  • Frantically clean and do laundry that you’ve had no time to do.
  • Make Super-Charge Me cookies for Santa. I am Santa in that sentence.
  • Lots of nature walks in the woods.
  • Wake up before anyone else and decide to kill time until everyone is up by making cinnamon rolls and surfing the web.
  • While surfing the web, get the blue screen of death from your computer. Start freaking out about it, but don’t really have time to be worried because then everyone else is up.
  • Enjoy a wonderfully relaxed holiday with family. And feel incredibly lucky for the wonderful company and the opportunity to finally slow down.

Ah, yes. Aside from the couple mis-haps…I’ve had a wonderful weekend “detoxing” from all the insanity leading up to Christmas. I really hope everyone else has had time to rewind and enjoy themselves and the company of loved ones, too!

As mentioned, Christmas this year was really laid back. We didn’t even do anything special for dinner last night or Christmas Eve. We had a more formal breakfast/brunch as usual, but that was it. And I am certainly not complaining.

…even if I did have to break in to one of my stocking stuffers to tide me over to breakfast. Hey, eating breakfast at 9:30 is a new concept to me. And I love cookie buttons.

Anyways. I mentioned baking cinnamon rolls, didn’t I?

My mom always makes a sausage strata fro Christmas, and not much else. Strata is pretty filling and with just the four of us, there’s not need for more food. Since I wasn’t going to have any, I was almost just going to make my usual breakfast since there wasn’t the need for another big dish to be on the table.

I suggested I could make baked oatmeal, but my mom said she didn’t like oatmeal…only for me to remember how much she enjoys oatmeal on her breaktime.

“If you don’t like oatmeal…why do you eat it at work?”

Oh, that’s microwaved oatmeal.”

“…and…?”

It’s got…apples…and stuff…”

Oh, I guess you’re right…because I’d just make something bland and tasteless.”

I didn’t press the issue, though…and even though I really wanted to make cinnamon rolls, figured I’d just take things as they came. I wasn’t too worried about the food situation this Christmas, I guess.

And then of course, the next morning, I just had to make Veganomicon’s cinnamon buns. You can only put off a recipe for so long, and the Maple and Brown Sugar Pinwheels have been calling my name for a while now. Okay, only since last weekend when I did all the baking, but a week is long enough.

I ended up switching the flavor notes around a little, by really playing on the orange zest in the original recipe. I added dried cranberries to the brown sugar filling, and for the 2 cups of flour, used 1 c. white whole wheat, 1/2 c. graham, and 1/2 c. unbleached all purpose. For the spices in the dough, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove and ginger…and put a big ix-nay on thie icing-ay.

…and some walnuts in the filling, too.

These were delicious and loved by all, and you know what? They’re really not even all that bad for you! Gotta love it. I could easily have them with less sugar, too – even though for 8 buns only 1/3 c. sugar was used, I think I could easily halve it and the filling would be sweet enough to make up for it.

I spooned some coconut milk yogurt over mine because I was afraid it would be too dry otherwise, but that really just caused it to be a bit too sweet.

I’ve had worse problems.

Like the fact that, as mentioned, my computer has pooed in its bed. Everyone cross your fingers that I can at least do a harddrive recovery and get back the senior portraits and pictures on there! I wouldn’t mind a new Mac, though…even if I do mind shelling out that cashmoney.

This dilemma is currently making blogging rather difficult, as I’m just now realizing how streamlined Windows Live Writer is, after all. I didn’t like it at first, but I think I just hate change until I get used to things. Using my mom’s computer and blogging from the wordpress dashboard? Yeah, it’s sort of like making a meringue without a mixer. You can do it, it just ain’t pretty or efficient.

Oh yeah, look at my new Fig trees. Yes, trees is plural. Lets do a fig-tree dance for a full harvest next summer!!

This was a hoot to open. I think we were all in tears from laughing.

Anyways. Merry Christmas to everyone who celebrated this weekend – and enjoy the last of your holiday weekend! If you’re getting a crazy blizzard right now, please stay safe!

Most random present you’ve ever recieved?

Mac or PC? If Mac – iMac or Macbook? I love and far prefer macs – I’ve just never owned one myself since they’re so daarn expensive. I figure this time, though, if I need a new one, it’s go big or go home, right?

ALSO – edited to add – that the pictures of me making the cinnamon rolls, my sister so graciously took for me. I am not magic, nor am I so into my food photography that I set up a tripod and put my camera on timer 😉 (not saying there’s anything wrong with that, I just don’t see myself ever getting any baking done if I were to do that 😛 )

27 Comments

Filed under breakfast, health food, healthy living, recipe

27 responses to “…and a Partridge in a Fig Tree…

  1. Haha I think it’s great that you are growing your own trees!

    And Merry Christmas Jess!

  2. Yay fig trees how exciting 🙂
    Those cinnamon rolls look amazing too 🙂

  3. Wowzer @ the cinnamon buns! Your pastry is so freakin NEAT! Gold star to you for sure 🙂
    Hmm I’m a Mac girl – they’re o fast and efficient and streamlined and pretty 😀 and I only have a MacBook!
    I’m not sure what my most random present ever was, but my sister once got THE most hideous jumper from my aunt; think blue and orange, long fake fur-type stuff. Truly and utterly awful.
    Oh, and my Grandpa once got me a ‘Who’s who in the Bible’ book – fair enough, except I’m atheist…??!
    Glad you had a good day 🙂

  4. It’s not the most random present I’ve ever gotten, but my newphew got everyone presents this Christmas from the dollar store. He bought all my uncles nutcrackers. When my aunt heard about this, she bought him a GIANT nutcracker. The look on his face was priceless!

  5. Merry Christmas Jess! I realize it’s the 26th.. but I still haven’t sent wishes your way 😛

    I sympathize over the hot sauce incident. A few weeks ago I rubbed my face after cutting up hot peppers without washing my hands afterwards. I ended up having to soak my face in a milk-covered cloth for like an hour… it hurt SO bad.

    A fig tree could not be more of a perfect gift for you. Your family sure knows you well 😉

    … and I have both an iMac and a Macbook Air. I just got the laptop and I love it, but I prefer the desktop if I were given a choice. It’s not too portable though, so if you’re looking for something to cart around I would go with the laptop 🙂 They both rock!

  6. theTreadmilldiaries

    Nice job with the cinnamon rolls – they look amazing.

    I have to say gifts I’ve received have always been pretty normal – even at Yankee swaps. I’ve had some close calls with those before but have been able to come out on top in the end. Let’s hope the streak continues. 🙂

  7. Merry Christmas! I love the fig trees – what a perfect gift for you! I have been enjoying lotsnof dried figs but do miss the fresh ones.
    I have a MacBook and love it-very user friendly.
    Stay warm – we are in for a blizzard tonight!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Firstly, merry christmas jess 🙂 Wowiee your cinnamon buns look stunning!! I am seriously jealous of your pastry skills..
    Mmm those cookie buttons look yum!
    I personally am in love with Macs. I’ve had PCs all my life up until 2 years ago and you just can’t beat them in terms of graphics and designy type programs. I have an iMac at home and a MacBook Pro laptop for uni and they are both simply amazing and I couldn’t live without them haha. I guess it depends what you want to use it for..obviously the MacBook is portable but the iMac is probably more powerful if you aren’t wanting to have it always with you.
    xxxx

  9. Computers suck. I get sooooo stressed out when anything goes wrong with mine!! That being said, I have a Mac and I’ve had VERY few problems (most of them were things I could have prevented if I had any sort of tech savvy). Ecto isn’t a patch on WLW though!!

    Glad you had a good Christmas in spite of the glitches- those cinnamon buns look awesome!

  10. Did I already wish you a merry christmas? I sure hope so…Love the buns, they look delicious!

    I WAS actually wondering about whether you grew a third arm to take those pics, glad to have that solved 😉

  11. Gah, the cinnamon rolls look sooooooo good. I almost wish my family would start having more laid back Christmases… my parents are always running around like crazies trying to get a huge feast together!

    Glad you enjoyed your holiday, and hope you get the laptop issue resolved soon.

  12. Did you say FIG TREE?!?! Officially jealous!! 😉

    I’m a PC user all the way… and I have never used Windows Live Writer, mainly because I don’t always use the same computer and I don’t want to get “spoiled” with it! 😉

    ❤ ❤

  13. MAC! hands down. i’m saving up for a macbook pro right now. and it is really expensive but i honestly think you get what you pay for. my boyfriend has had his macbook for over 2 years and he leaves it on almost all day, everyday and it still works like new and has never given him any problems or had any viruses or the screen of death. whereas my pc frustrates me on a daily basis. plus, apple products all look SO good! i’d buy out the store if i could!

  14. teenagehealthfreak

    your rolls look awesome!!! i made some a long time ago..and they just werent’ all that fab. i think you should surprsie ur mom by making her oatmeal oneday- that’s what i did- my mom is now HOOKED. yay for fig trees!!! my dad got my mom 2 plum trees!!!(we know who will be eating them…) Merry Christmas!!!!

  15. Oh gah..the blue screen of death. :/ My parent’s camera got the black screen of death and then my laptop got the permanent screen of death due to wine drowning. This Christmas just wasnt good for electronics, huh? 😛

    The cinnamon rolls look great! Perfect for Christmas. 🙂

  16. A fig tree is such a perfect gift for you!!! I bet you’re already dreaming up all the delicious fig dishes you’re going to make. 😉

    I think the funniest thing I ever received was when my mom put a pack of drugstore underwear in my sister’s and my stockings last year. They were terrible! We ended up having a good laugh about it though.

  17. Sounds like a fun (and delicious) Christmas!
    One year my mom, sister, and I, all got these random, SCARY Santa/elves from a family friend. I guess they’re collectibles, but they’ve been safely living in the closet for a few years now!

  18. Nice buns woman!;) haha my friend told me to say that!
    they look so good though! I love your photos girl!
    and I have to say the most random gift I ever got wa when I was in 1rst grade and my best friend Joni gave me a used thing of lip gloss with her hairs in it!
    oh the gifts we give each other as kids!

  19. movesnmunchies

    ahh cranberries in cinnamon rolls!? GENIUS!

  20. Yes…your rolls do look great! I adore anything with yeast and a bit of sweetness! I’m a Mac girl. I bought my first Mac a few years ago, and I’ve been so pleased with it. As for random gifts…my grandparents just gave me a dancing/singing flower. Random and embarrassing 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful week, lovely friend. Many blessings as the new year approaches. Thank you for sharing this sweetness!

  21. Jen

    Merry Christmas!
    Sorry about the blue screen of death 😦
    The cinnnamon rolls look freaking amazing!!!

    Jen

  22. Macbook all the way!! The cinnamon rolls look amazeballs. I will bookmark this recipe 🙂

  23. I WANT those cinnamon rolls!! Those look incredible!

    Hope you had a very happy holiday!

  24. This Italian Family

    Haha, I have to say your list at the beginning made me chuckle a bit. 🙂

    And your cinnamon rolls look delightful!

  25. Yum! Those cinn rolls look delicious! Cinn rolls are something I have yet to make but love!

    Oh and definitely go for a Mac….you won’t regret it!

  26. I think figs will permanently make me think of you. This could be creepy… but I’m just going to go with it. Sorry about the computer troubles! My laptop did that to me a week before finals. Sounds cliche, but it was a week from hell. I love Macs, but I’ve always had a PC for the same reasons as you.

  27. Ashlei

    Haha go big with the Macbook or go home! I do love mine though. Never looking back to getting a PC ever again.

    I don’t get mom’s…mine claims to not like stuff either, but then eats it at work/home. *Shrug*

Leave a comment