WINNERS! (and Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes)

I think my butt hurts from sitting on it so much today.

Usually if I say that, I’m half kidding, knowing I didn’t just sit all. day. long. But that’s really the extent of what I’ve done, save for the 15 minutes I decided to do random workout moves so I could regain feeling in my limbs.

I had a bunch of work to get done today for one class in particular, a ton of work on a top-secret mission of mine that is proving to be quite a project as well as designing some things for a couple of lovely bloggers, and add to that the fact that we had company coming at 11:00 and a Bruins game on at 12:30, I knew I was going to have to work hard to make the most of my morning.

Yes, the Bruins game does take precedence over everything else on that list. D’uh!

I was fueled by the best, however. Maybe it’s weird, but I hate using this yogurt as a snack/part of a meal/whatever. It just seems too expensive to eat all at once. Is that normal? Instead, I like to make “sauces” with it for pancakes. Or heck, add it to the pancakes.

Usually I get vanilla, but they were out of stock of it last time I went. Major bummer. Either way, I also put off eating these for the said price reason. The best-by date was nearing, though, and I figured that it being blueberry flavored and the fact that I caved and bought frozen blueberries the other day was pretty much destiny.

I am frugal. Slash cheap. Sue me. I have high hopes for this summer’s show season with the boy.

Oh, right; the recipe. Because you’re not sick of my pancake recipes yet. (that’s a joke.)

Blueberry-Spice Yogurt Pancakes

  • 1/4 c. flour (I used graham, based on my obsession)
  • 1 T. (generous) cornmeal
  • 2 t. chia seeds + 2 T. water (mixed in a small cup)
  • 1 1/2 t. baking powder
  • 1/2 T. shredded coconut
  • 1/4 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 c. seltzer water
  • 2 T. blueberry yogurt
  • 1/4 c. blueberries (I used frozen blueberries that were uuuuber tiny – you might need more/less)

Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl. Add in the chia egg, seltzer and yogurt. Fold in the blueberries.

Pour onto a preheated, greased skillet and cook until golden brown on both sides.

Blueberry-Cashew Butter Yogurt Sauce

  • 1 T. cashew butter
  • 3-4 T. blueberry yogurt
  • almond milk, to thin as desired

Whisk everything together. That is all.

The seltzer water is a baking trick I learned from Sarena. I wouldn’t say it is critical for the recipe – if you don’t have it, just use a milk of your choice (don’t sub plain water!) The carbonation makes them a bit lighter than they would be otherwise, though.

Does life get any better than blueberry pancakes?

No. Well, maybe it would had I used fresh lemon zest and juice – but I’m saving the lemons I have in case I need them to make lemon poppyseed cookies for a winner.

Yes, I’ll get to the winners.

But first: I think I’ve deduced that the Nasoya tofu is better when you are looking for more of an eggy-type dish. For me anyways – everyone else seems to love it so I think I just have high tofu standards.

There could be worse personality traits, don’t you think?

Barbecue scrambled tofu a la Matt.

Of course, after I added spinach, shallot and garlic, I realized I essentially made a deconstructed BBQ Spinach and Tofu Sammie.

Old loves die hard.

Onwards and upwards: The real reason you’re all reading this/”reading” this but really just skipping down to this part:

Did you know that wordpress has a little “hide/show kitchen sink” button in the add new post screen? I never had any idea, and had been missing Windows Live Write solely because I knew how to change font color and size as I saw fit.

Oh, right. Giveaway winners.

First winner issss…

Comment #45, Averie!

And secondly…

Comment #54, Mary!

And seriously, wordpress needs to number their comments or something. There’s nothing like counting down 50 comments on a computer screen.

ANYWAYS! Congratulations, ladies! Your wish is my demand. Shoot me an e-mail with your choice and I’ll hop-to.

Thank you to everyone for entering, though – I was shocked at how many people got involved with this giveaway!! So I will definitely be doing another one sooner rather than later 🙂

19 Comments

Filed under blueberries, breakfast, coconut, dinner, healthy living, pancakes, recipe, tofu, vegan, vegetarian, veggies

19 responses to “WINNERS! (and Blueberry Yogurt Pancakes)

  1. Your pancakes look amazing! Especially that cashew butter sauce. I’ve always wanted to try cashew butter, but am always hesitant to because of the price.

  2. I think there are some themes that DO allow you to have numbered comments. I’ve never bothered, though, because I can count as high as I need to — not very. 😉

    Also, I need to make onion rings now. I do not particularly like onion rings. What have you done?!?!

    (PS — I’m recycling my Amazon box. It looks a little… misshapen. ;))

    ❤ ❤

  3. Congrats to the winners!

    And looks like neither of our teams fared well this afternoon : (

  4. Girl, your pancakes always look amazing!!!! 🙂 Thanks so much for hosting the giveaway! It was so much fun! 🙂

  5. I might need to take a hiatus from viewing your photos – I really really really really want onion rings now. Like, bad enough that I’m almost tempted to make them in the dorms. 😦

    I had pancakes with some “sauce” this morning too, and I feel the same way about all yogurt in general because of how expensive it is. I guess if it helps me sleep at night, paying for the organic stuff is worth it in the end.

    Also, your pancakes are very pretty, in case you weren’t already aware of it. 😛

  6. It is depressing how expensive coconut milk yogurt is. I love it with chocolate covered espresso beans in it. I also can’t wrap my head around the idea of BBQ tofu scramble. My head is exploding. Gorgeous photos, as usual. Everything looks amazing!

  7. Ok I am honored to have won your give away! Beyond….because your food looks….amazing! Always!

    I have no idea what to pick?!?!

    Do you have any suggestions of what you think would be easy to transport/mail and what is easy for YOU to make? I dont want to trouble you, seriously, Jess. I almost feel bad that you are going to cook on my behalf. I am flattered!

  8. Your pancakes always put my pancakes to shame!

  9. Your pancakes look amazing!!! I love anything with blueberries- thanks for sharing the recipe! Your giveaway was a wonderful idea – I hope u do another one soon!!

  10. Woohoo!! 😀 Thank you! I know exactly what I’d like to try, too..but I’ll shoot you an email in just a second. 🙂 I’m excited!

    I use yogurt as sauces all the time. And the cartons I use are only 40 cents each, so I definitely don’t blame hyou for making sauce out of the really expensive stuff!

  11. Congrats to the winners! Lucky girls 🙂
    I will never get tired of your pancake recipes. They all look delicious!

  12. teenagehealthfreak

    my pancakes never turn out as pretty as yours,they’re awesome!! love that plate btw.

  13. Congratulations to the lucky ladies! I have been on my butt far too much today too. Sundays are turning into catch-up schoolwork days for me! I wish I had some of the yummy fuel that you ate today…I was rather boring with my steamed veggies and pb & j sandwiches. Thank you for sharing. I hope you have a wonderful day tomorrow. Take time to love yourself and those that are dearest to your heart!

  14. THOSE winners are lucky!!!!! bbq tofu sounds so good right now.. im on such a bbq kick!

  15. Does that yogurt taste coconutty? If so, I bet it’s delicious! I’ve never seen it in stores here, but I’d probably have a hard time shelling out the money for it too. It’s so hard to justify buying expensive food since all we do is eat it!

    Your pancakes look delicious, as always!

  16. Congrats to the lucky ladies! I wanted to enter, but I figured our dietary restrictions would make it too complicated so I left it to the others. I am loving seltzer in all my baked goods for a little extra lift. The pancakes look so good. Now I want blueberry pancakes!

  17. A top secret project eh!? Hmmm……. 😀
    Loving the look of those pancakes – if only blueberries didn’t cost 5arms and a leg in my neck of the woods 😥

  18. Yess! I’m going to save this and make those pancakes one of these days. They look sooo good!

    Whitney

Leave a Reply

