Going Bananas over Cashew Butter

You may recall that I’m often saying I’m relatively laid back. Not much ruffles my feathers, if you will.

This morning, I realized something.

I realized that’s all lies.

Do you see what's missing? It starts with "b" and rhymes with "shmershmanas"

Because I get upset about bananas.

I was somewhere in the middle of demanding my sister tell me what happened to my bananas, prompting her to tell me if she’d eaten any, and rifling through her purse and lunch box before I stopped myself and had this sudden epiphany of “oh my heavens, what has become of me. I’m being selfish over bananas.”

Sure, you can have my kidney.

Hell, take my liver, too!

But heaven forbid you eat my bananas. Because then the pancake batter that I’ve so lovingly prepared to go along with those non-existant bananas will, in fact, hit the fan.

Muffins I made Tuesday. There were 9 large ones and a dozen mini ones. I've only eaten one. None of my food is safe around here these days.

I guess it’s a good thing, so I’ll just look at it that way. Even if last night I had three bananas left and this morning, 0. The other night, I still had a quarter of a loaf left of Β an orangey-coconut barley flour loaf, and the next morning, none. So finally I made these muffins that were politely requested, using barely any sugar, and braced for the “these are terrible!” remarks, but apparently that wasn’t necessary.

I think we have secret leprechauns hiding in our cabinets that come out at night-time, because there’s only four of us. March is just around the corner, you know.

Luckily, being rendered banana-less doesn’t mean the world has stopped turning. I don’t think. I mean, I’ve still got three more days to go before I make it to the store because I’ve pledged no more groceries until Sunday, but I’m pretty confident that the apocalypse won’t come because of this occurrence.

Knock on wood.

Being all thrifty and wanting to save money lately, I decided to take it upon myself to make cashew butter.

Cashoo butter, if you will.

I guess I’m not really sure if that makes sense, since I don’t recall how much I spent on those cashews, but I’m sure the price would end up being pretty close.

At least I feel like I’m being more resourceful/economical/thrifty.

Do these pictures convey how runny it was?! Because it was. I was so giddy. It is so delicious. Cashew butter is easily my favorite nutbutter. So smooth and creamy all on its own. I refrained from adding anything to it, because I just love the plain cashew flavor it has on its own!

Well, I did add a bit of oil – but just because based on everything I read, it tends to be on the drier side, and the jar of it I had prior had oil in it, too. You could omit it, but I wanted it runny so I added it. It’s negligible, really, so you might as well just add it since it improves the consistency that much.

Cashew Butter

  • 1 1/2 c. salted cashews
  • 1-2 t. olive oil

In a food processor, blend cashews first, it took me about 5 minutes. When butter-like in consistency but a bit dry, add in the oil. Blend about 4-5 more minutes, until silllllky smooooth!

Such a shame all that gets wasted, too difficult to scoop out and into the jar…

Hah, syyyyke. You wouldn’t think I’d let all that creamy, cashewy goodness go to waste, did you?! You’d be silly.

I’m not sure, though. Between my pancake breakfast for lunch on Tuesday, and my clean-out-the-cashew-butter with bread lunch today, I’m probably being shunned by other health bloggers blog-wide. Please don’t hate. (appreciate?)

If it makes me look any better, at least the cleaning up was mainly done with homemade pumpernickel…which I realize is actually terribly unappealing, but there will be a post dedicated to this baby soon.

Although, speaking of babies – maybe I ought to mention how much of a rockstar Teddie was today after his little vacation. Oh, yes – it was 20* when I woke up this morning and was about ready to go running around outside in shorts and a t-shirt it felt so warm. Which meant Teddie’s sweet vacation must come to an end.

I thought his little eyeballs were going to pop out of his head when he saw a new scary monster in a new corner (now there’s scary things in all but one corner – eyeroll) but he was surprisingly gentlemanly about it. Truth be told, it scares me, too – it’s a cart (to be pulled behind a horse) that is quite large and propped against the wall.

He probably knows exactly what it is and is afraid I’m going to hook it up behind him. Maybe that’s why he was so good undersaddle…hmmmmmmm…

Now. Go protect your bananas. And make some cashew butter while you’re at it.

Are you “possessive” over anything? I should clarify that I wasn’t legitimately upset about the banana issue, but I was a little baffled and a little disgruntled I couldn’t have my grilled banana this morning. Eh well, it’s good for me to start having to think outside of the banana.

In terms of the baked stuff, I enjoy sharing because I know what the alternative is and I’d rather the fam eat homemade stuff than pure sugar from a box or bag :/

Have you ever made your own nutbutter? What was your favorite combo?

32 Comments

Filed under baking, banana, breakfast, food, food blog, health, healthy living, horseback riding, lunch, muffins, nut butter, pancakes, recipe, teddie, vegan, vegetarian

32 responses to “Going Bananas over Cashew Butter

  1. Awh I’m glad Teddie behaved!! Chika finds the whole of the E side terrifying, cos that’s the side the grass grows (ergo, lions hide there). Horses are so darn ridiculous.
    I’m possessive over my bread (the fam like bread packed with E numbers and preservatives…so I have my own stash!) and my big (giant) apples – lil baby ones don’t fuel me! I need MAN size fruits.
    I’ve never made nut butter (can it be done in a Vita?) cos I’m scared of the noise!!!
    (oh, and I totally don’t blame you for being miffed about the bananas – I would’ve been :p)

  2. Oh Jess you do make me laugh haha! I am very protective over my kabocha squash and my cereals and dried fruit. They are MINE and no one would dare touch them in my house! I am the same as you about baking though. I love to share my creations and get other people’s opinion on how I can improve them.
    I’ve never made my own nutbutter but I really want to one day. I love soy nuts at the moment so I might try with them although I don’t know what they’d taste like as a nut butter…
    I can’t wait for the recipe for homemade pumpernickel! I love pumpernickel bread so much!
    xxx

  3. Gah I hate it when there’s no bananas- I totally sympathise! I admit to sometimes hiding them, so no-one else can steal them…bad I know! πŸ˜›

    That cashew butter looks AMAZING! I really want to make my own nut butter soon- I’ve never done it before! Actually, I’ve never had cashew butter before either, so this’d be great! πŸ˜€

  4. humanitarikim

    Now, I’m starving. πŸ˜›

    I just tried some almond butter yesterday. It was divine!

  5. Emmie

    i can totally sympathize with you! sometimes it surprises me how possesive i get about things i have/make. i also made a dozen muffins yesterday, and by this morning, there was only one left! i don’t know how it happened…i guess i should be flattered, but i’m a little annoyed :/ haha

    also, your cashew butter looks wonderfully drippy!!

  6. I love the way you write. I was hanging onto every word!
    I get way too possessive over bananas too! I also get possessive over nut butters and sweets. πŸ˜‰
    Nut butters. I love making nut butters and I’ve been making them a lot lately. My mom said she won’t buy me anymore until I run out of my *cough* 10 jars *cough* The nuts are pretty expensive though, I only save ~$1 making my own. I guess it all adds up though…

  7. Cashew butter is heavenly! I have only made it…never bought it. I am so glad you spent some time with your boy today! Oh it is would be a natural disaster without oatmeal or apples in the house. I can handle it if one is gone, but both would make me freak a little!

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate

    I LOVE cashew butter! Never made my own though!

  9. One of the things I like best about living alone as that nothing ever ‘goes missing’. My friends and I stayed in SoCal earlier this month, and we did pretty much all our own shopping (very little shared food). I was pretty upset when I woke up one morning to groggily discover they’d used the rest of my frozen strawberries to make smoothies for themselves the day before. I kept reminding myself it was silly to get upset about it, but I WANTED them, and they had been miiiine.

  10. I am very “possesive” over my food items. Hey they aren’t all cheap! I love pecan butter – by far my favorite. I just made some today as a matter of fact.

    Pumpernickel is my favorite bread, I would love for you to share that recipe πŸ™‚

  11. Oh, yes, I am possessive. I wouldn’t mind it if it was a known thing — like, everyone eats my food all the time. But since nobody here eats the same way I do, when things disappear, I get VERY baffled and disgruntled indeed.

    I tried making almond butter once. I am, apparently, too impatient, because it never got past the almond meal stage… I wound up making soup croutons out of them. πŸ˜‰ And let’s not even talk about the time I tried to make cashew butter. We’re all better off that way…

    ❀ ❀

  12. I am extremely greedy with the things I buy – I plan out my meals just right so when something goes wrong i am not a happy girl. On another note your breakfasts still look amazing πŸ™‚ I’ve never made my own nut butter… but might try one day!

  13. I’ve made my own peanut butter before. I treid making almond butter, but it didn’t quite work out…. 😦 Your cashew butter has me craving cashews right now. πŸ™‚

  14. I’ve made almond butter (turned out super drippy, no idea how), cashew butter (very dry but very good) and peanut butter, with flavors of the first and last ones. My most recent, as I’ve mentioned is a peanut butter with orange zest and a touch of honey in it and I think it’s just fantastic, though maple, vanilla and cinnamon were good in a batch of almond butter I made way back when.

    I can’t say that I’m possessive of much, seeing as my family doesn’t really eat the foods I do =\. And the running out of bananas crisis is one of the reasons I always keep a nice stock of frozen bananas on hand. That and I find frozen fruit superior in texture to raw (except for apples) but that’s just me. πŸ˜‰

  15. I’m such a food snob. In some ways, I think I may be a slight hoarder. I’ve resorted to putting my names on food, and may or may not hide the last banana in my room so no one else takes it.

    Wow, I’m ridiculous.

    In other news, you’re going to own your own bakery one day and sell homemade nut butters. Oh, and I’m going to shop there daily. Just in case you didn’t know.

  16. I am possessive over the following: bananas, apples, peanut butter, hummus, oats.

    Anything else, go ahead and take – but you get between me and those foods, it’s on.

    The Husband knows better than to take the last of any of those!

  17. I am in LOVE with cashew butter, I just finished my jar and I am about to explode, I do not know what I am going to do without cashoo butter at my disposal for finger dippage!

    Slash I just read your review of Appetite for Reduction and it makes me want to buy it even more!

    Double slash I absolutely am drooling over your rye banana pancake sandwich thing, it looks absolutely delectable and genius, I cannot wait to make a sandwich with pancakes aka my favorite thing in the world:)

  18. I might be a little overly possessive about my Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate Chips… ok, maybe a lot possessive:) I seriously go through a bag of those a week, they are just that good!
    I’ve never had cashew butter and always wanted to try it though! Your pictures are seriously tempting me…so creamy and luscious! Ah, I must get my hands on some now. Along with pecan butter..yums!

  19. Colleen

    You’re so funny! YES, I have three older sisters, two of which are in college, but a few years ago we would all hide special foods, usually candy in extremely hidden spots in our bedrooms, a homemade cookie in a ziploc in a rarely-opened drawer. hahaha but apparently not many other families deal with minor hoarding πŸ˜‰

  20. I’m glad Teddie was good! Haha I am possessive over my fruit too! Everyone knows to leave the pink lady apples for me. I have never had cashew butter but now I want to! Maybe I’ll make some this weekend.

  21. Cashew Butter is looking so delious and creamy! πŸ™‚ can’t wait to smear this on my toast this weekend! πŸ™‚

  22. Oh yes…I’m so possessive over my apples. I’m very particular (I only like pink ladies or granny smiths) and I spend quite a bit on them (organic, only!) So when I come home and find that Ryan has eaten my last pink lady while his fuji apples sit untoched…I get grumpy! I hope you have a wonderful Friday. I can’t believe the weekend is almost here! Thank you for sharing, my friend. Many hugs from Austin!

  23. Lol, you make me laugh! Ooo, yeah. I do get rather possessive of my food especially if it’s something my sister or I have baked. Or if its something “special” that I had a coupon for.
    And this totally just reminded me that we’re out of bananas…
    ❀

  24. Your little banana crisis made me laugh. But honestly, I have very similar moments sometimes. Not that I wouldn’t share my food with the family, I don’t mind giving it all. I just hate it when I have planned exactly what to prepare for my next meal (and sometimes I even plan a few days ahead πŸ™‚ ) and then I suddenly realize that the products have mysteriously disappeared. So this makes me a little possessive over my rye bread and my yogurt – the two things I wouldn’t replace with anything else. I’ve hidden slices of rye bread to make sure that there will be enough left for breakfast πŸ™‚ .

  25. Ok, I think being calm while discovering that bread loaves or bananas intended for breakfast have diasppeared overnight would probably put you in the same league of “calmness” with Ghandi or something, so with something like that, I would consider myself a Work in Progress. Have a good w-e Jess πŸ™‚

  26. YES, I am so possessive over my bananas too! Luckily that’s not a problem when I’m living at school, but when I’m at home, I sometimes have to deal with my dad and sister stealing my bananas. I’ve also become really possessive over my pumpkin butter ever since I discovered one of my roommates has been taking some. πŸ˜›

  27. I get really possessive about my apples and cereal. Shit hits the fan if someone eats the last pink lady and there’s no more produce left in the house. It’s not a pretty sight.

    I had a jar of cashew butter like a year ago and haven’t had any since. That needs to be remedied!

  28. YUM cashew butter. i tried making that once but it was so hard.. like rock hard. i def should have added some oil like you did! im SO possessive over my greek yogurt… if there is none left in the fridge becuz of you.. BEWARE

  29. Haha loved the conversation between you and your boss.. my boss, well she would not go for that.

  30. The apricot pretzel sandwiches look awesome! I would so love that combo.

    I’ve made my own nutbutter…and my best one was a combo of nuts, that I have never been able to replicate. I should have paid attention to exactly how much I put in of each thing!

  31. I’m so possessive over my banana’s too!!
    We always make sure to buy a TON when we go grocery shopping because between me and my sister we go through them pretty fast and I can’t stand waking up to no banana’s in the morning! I’m also possessive over bread too. ha. πŸ˜‰
    I make all my own nut butters. I think it’s fun!
    my favorite is just simple roasted pecan butter. yummmm.

Leave a Reply

