Rye Peanut Butter & Banana Pancake Sandwich

I don’t think I’ve ever before finished a meal and thought “oh-my-gaw that was so good I need to go blog about it STAT.”

In fact, I feel a little geeky admitting to this, but that is what just happened. And hence, what I’m doing.

Maybe it’s just an unusual day. I mean, I also don’t usually have breakfast for lunch as often as I admit it to be a good idea, and I also don’t usually have not a veggie in sight by now.

I also don’t usually have a beverage other than water with meals, but apparently since I was already having something sweet for lunch, I decided a sweet beverage was necessary, too. Hey, it’s all or nothing, right?

Another oddity? I usually have some idea as to what I want for lunch. Today I had none. Zero, zilch, nada. I have no bread, my oven is in use rendering me sweet potato-less, and not many vegetables. I didn’t feel like a grain.

And gosh darn it, the more I thought about it, the more I just wanted some pancakes again.

So I compromised.

I’d make pancakes. But! It wouldn’t be such a bad thing because, I’d just be using it as my bread.

Yes, I do realize that this is essentially the same thing as what I would eat every morning, but I’m telling myself it’s different because it was eaten in more of a sandwich-form.

Yes, I do realize my logic is flawed.

Due to an ongoing project with rye flour which you will soon see, my plan hatched rye “bread” with peanut butter and banana. If I had caraway I would be in heaven – how cool would that be?

Alas, I don’t. I made do.

My peanut butter was Jenny’s peanut butter and jelly sauce, a sauce I’ve been having a pretty steady love affair with but have neglected to blog about. I’ve actually been gathering pictures for a full on devotion to it, but I guess this came first. Such is life.

Rye Peanut Butter, Banana and Honey Pancake Sandwich

for one

For the Pancake “Bread”:

  • 1/4 c. rye flour
  • 2 T. oat bran
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 T. milled flaxseed mixed with 2 T. warm water
  • 1/4  c. almond milk
  • earth balance/butter/cooking spray, for greasing the pan

For the Bananas:

  • 1/2 a banana, sliced in half lengthwise
  • earth balance/butter/spray for greasing pan

For the Peanut Butter & Honey sauce, adapted very slightly from Jenny’s Peanut Butter Jelly Sauce

  • 2 T. (heaping) peanut flour
  • 2 T. almond milk
  • 1/2 – 1 t. honey, depending on your tastes
  • pinch of salt** (see note)

Preheat a large nonstick pan and a small nonstick pan over low-medium heat.

In a small bowl, mix together the flour, bran and baking powder. Add in the flax egg and almond milk. Grease your preheated non-stick pan lightly and bump up to medium heat, and divide the batter into two pancakes. Spread out a touch, and cook until the sides are starting to firm up. Spray the tops lightly with spray and flip. Cook another 4-5 minutes, or until lightly golden. While the pancakes are cooking, grill your bananas: place in the smaller non-stick pan and cook until golden brown on both sides.

For the peanut butter and honey sauce, whisk all ingredients until smooth. Note: I didn’t add salt when I mixed my sauce, but as I was eating, found myself looking for that pinch of salt that classic peanut butter has. I ended up sprinkling salt on my sandwich (try that for feeling weird) and found that salt was juuuust the ticket to what I was looking for.

To assemble, place one pancake on your plate and spread the peanut butter sauce. Place the grilled bananas on top of that, followed by the other pancake. If desired, spread a dab of fig jam on the top pancake.

As you know, I desired. When don’t I desire fig jam?

Caraway, here I come.

A sneak peak at some things in progress:

hmmmmm!!!

26 Comments

Filed under almond milk, banana, breakfast, brunch, food, food blog, healthy living, lunch, nut butter, pancakes, recipe, vegan

26 responses to “Rye Peanut Butter & Banana Pancake Sandwich

  1. Oh my my my!
    I’m so behind in your posts, I need to catch up :s but anyway – that sandwich (of sorts) looks incredible! Saturday breakfast for me I reckons 🙂
    That book!!! It’s on my amazon wishlist, is it good!? I really REALLY want it!
    And hello hello – peanut flour I see? :p

  2. no.. you did not just go there.. pancake sandwich is SO SIMPLE AND SMART- i have never made a pancake sandwich.. MUST DO.. becuz bread DOES not compare!

  3. Haha I thought I was such a genius the first time I used pancakes as “bread” … guess I’m not that unique! 😉

    (BTW, I was in flour heaven today. And I didn’t buy any!! I am so proud of myself.)

    ❤ ❤

  4. You took it over the top with the fig jam! Perfection! I have been missing rye bread for a while now. I need to make some now. Your pancake sandwich looks and sounds delicious!

  5. Colleen

    My family and I love Isa Moskowitz’s Vegan With A Vengeance. How do you cook your bananas like the one on your sandwich??

  6. The book looks really interesting! and the “sandwich” you made looks delicious! Peanut butter and anything is a win win situation!

  7. omg. drool.. everywhere. I’m drowning.

  8. I like breakfast at any time of the day. Diners were started with me in mind. 🙂

  9. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Holy yum. PBB is my favorite sandwich, but I have never had it on rye.

  10. Now I want a pancake sandwich!!!! 🙂

  11. Pancakes are good anytime of the day, especially if they involve PB (or PB sauce) and bananas. I love making little sandwiches with pancakes, too. I mean if you think about it, they’re just like really fluffy, sweet wraps. 😉

  12. Gah, this looks delicious!

    I have such a hard time having something sweet like this for a meal other than breakfast, no matter how badly I want it. I have such a rigid mindset that lunch and dinner have to be savory. 😛 But you’ve made me realize how silly that is, so next time I want a yogurt mess or French toast for lunch, I’m going to do it, darnit!

  13. and the way you cut into it like that, and how clean you sectioned off that bite haha, that takes skill. This reminds me of little scone sandwiches, with jam and banana in the center. Quite a cute idea with the pancake! I find myself frequently mid meal thinking about how great this will be when i turn it into a blog post. sometimes i find myself already loading the pictures up while im still eating and have to remind myself to enjoy the food FIRST, then blog lol

    xoxo ❤

  14. What a great idea! I am so going to make a sandwich out of pancakes. I can’t believe I never thought of that!!!
    xxx

  15. I made a waffle sandwich once 🙂 But I made the mistake of bringing it for lunch at school… My friends will never let me forget that one 😛

  16. That looks AMAZING!!! The only problem is that the food I’m eating right now has suddenly become less appealing as I all I want is that pancake sandwich! 😉

  17. A Tablespoon of Liz

    I’m not much of a breakfast person, but this might just change my mind!

  18. You are a genius. That’s all I have to say. 😉

  19. I love pancakes! Thank you for showing me another way to eat them. Now I can have them for breakfast AND lunch! Peanut flour sauce is the best.

  20. Rye was the key word that made me bookmark this. Although I have no idea what to sub for the milled flaxseed (maybe a real egg?), I definitely want to try these. They just look soooooo good!

    And bread on the printer? I’m curious 🙂 .

  21. This is such a great idea!! I think your logic is perfect; I would do the same thing!

    Btw, I LOVE that you used the word “oddity.” I think that is my all-time favorite word, but I’m always afraid of saying it because I don’t want people to go “Huh? What is that? YOU’RE the oddity…” lol.

  22. Man – I’ve been out of peanut butter for a while now. Stop making me crave it! I’ll have to pick some up on the way home.

  23. Love this! We just got a bay of pumpernickel/rye flour from King Arthur, and I’ve been trying to think what else I could use in it. Pancakes it is! Thank you for sharing with us sweet girl. And I agree…oddity is an amazing word.

  24. Dude, sometimes I go a couple of days in a row with eating breakfast for every meal. Not the most balanced, I know, but breakfast is just the BEST! I love the pancake sandwich. It reminds me of a much more awesome version of that McGriddle sandwich that McDonalds used to have (which I admit, I loved).

  25. Um, you’re invited over for breakfast and lunch any time, any day. Be there 🙂

  26. Ahhhh that does sound amaze. Not sure how I missed Jenny’s PB&J sauce post, but I’m drooling over here…

    Don’t you just love those stroke of genius recipes??

Leave a Reply

