Shredded Wheat Pancakes

Confession: I didn’t set a single limb outside today.

Call me lame, I call it warm.

Unfortunately, tomorrow is supposed to be the worst of the days, and I have to go outside tomorrow. Work, schmerk.

What did I do to pass my time? ย Well, before going on a cleaning rampage and getting stuff printed out and organized for my classes that start this week, I made pancakes.

You’re all really shocked right now, huh?

At least they were a little different than usual. You see – after a bedtime snack of Kashi Autumn Wheat, I discovered I had a whole lot of shredded…crumbs.

I wasn’t about to throw them out, but the texture weirds me out to just have them all in a bowl with milk.

And so it found its way into pancakes. Truthfully, I struggle to call them pancakes as they’re really not like a normal pancake at all. They’re very moist and almost oatmeal-like in the middle. This could have something to do with the fact that I kept wanting to add more liquid, but unfortunately the next time I can try them won’t be until my next box of shredded wheat is finished.

This doesn’t mean they were bad – not at all! Just a disclaimer for those who are thinking it’s a light, fluffy pancake. And honestly – I don’t think there’s a better way to use up the last of that cereal at the bottom of the bag!

Shredded Wheat Pancakes

  • 1/4 c. shredded wheat crumbles (I used Kashi)
  • 2 t. chia seeds
  • 1/4 c. freshly brewed coffee (still hot) (see note)
  • 3 T. white whole wheat flour
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. ground cinnamon
  • 3 T. almond milk
  • 1/4 c. fresh or frozen blueberries
  • maple syrup and almond butter, for topping
  • earth balance or butter, for greasing pan

Combine the shredded wheat and chia seeds in a bowl and then stir in the hot coffee. Set aside for 2 minutes or so – sip some coffee, preheat your pan, that sorta thing.

Once it’s thickened a bit, add in the dry ingredients and stir. Add in the milk and stir to combine. Fold in the blueberries. The batter will be thick – don’t add more! You’ll wind up with pansoup, not pancakes. …not that I would know or anything…

Grease the pan and spoon the batter onto the preheated pan. Fry about 4-5 m. on each side, or until golden. The insides will still be moist and dense – that’s as cooked as you’re going to get, though!

Serve drizzle with maple syrup and almond butter “sauce,” and a grilled banana, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

Note: You could probably also use hot water or almond milk if you don’t happen to have a hot pot of coffee. The coffee flavor isn’t that noticeable, having something hot is more the point.

All the more incentive to accidentally smush your shredded wheat cereal boxes on the drive home. Or not hate on the bag-boys that decide to throw ten pounds of sweet potatoes and bananas on top of them.

I couldn’t make up my mind re: flash vs. natural light. I was finding the natural light to be a bit too harsh. But was happy to have it – I hate waking up and being in the dark all morning on days I have to work!

Mmm…the best part of a sweet potato. It’s like a burnt marshmallow. For some reason, my mom doesn’t embrace the smell of the sap burning at the bottom of the oven as much as I do…

I mentioned cleaning rampage, yes? Well, I took care of the kitchen. You guys are right. I have a flour problem. And a grain problem. It’s a good thing I bake a lot…and I think there will be lots of bread-baking in my future! I need something that will use at least 3+ cups of flour, after all.

That or I can just think up some pranks. My sister does use her hair dryer often…

Anyways. As a flour and grain addict, I have too many grains that get neglected. Well, actually I don’t – I just have barley that gets neglected. So I might as well use it, right? I was surprised to find out I actually like barley, while I was under the impression that I didn’t care for it.

Beets, however? Well, I don’t think I’m their biggest fan after all. I mentioned last time that I warmed up to them…but I think it’s “baked until crispy” or nothing when it comes to me and beets. I wasn’t too fond of these. I followed a recipe for roasting them (and some carrots) in a balsamic and thyme sort of…glaze? But it was nothing really to write home about, I guess.

…at least the barley was good. The veg was just “mreh.”

So – cereal! What’s your favorite kind? Ever used it for something other than, well, a bowl of cereal?!

23 Comments

Filed under almond butter, almond milk, baking, banana, blueberries, breakfast, carrots, dinner, food, food blog, foodblog, health blog, healthy living, lunch, nut butter, pancakes, recipe, sweet potato, vegan, vegetable, vegetarian, veggies, whole grains

23 responses to “Shredded Wheat Pancakes

  1. Mmm those pancakes look GOOD! Can’t believe they have Shredded Wheat in them!!

    Can’t believe you aren’t a beets fan!! I LOVE beets! Maybe it’s just the colour that gets me though! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Granola is my favourite type of cereal! SO addictive- I eat it straight outta the packet! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I’m always so obsessed with you pics! What a great idea to use the crumbsof the Kashi box! When I’m done with mine I’ll be doing the same and make pancakes!

  3. I applaud your use of the ingredient! I used to love Kashi Go Lean, but I wil say my favorite as of now is their Heart to Heart. I am with you on the sweet potato smell…I think heaven smells just like that! Oh, I still have bulgar in my fridge from your challenge…I need to get that stuff out and use it.

  4. Love sweet potatoes when they became sappy!!! That’s when they’re the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. That’s a great way of using up the left over shredded wheat!!!
    xxx

  6. Is it crazy that I’ve actually considered crushing Shredded Wheat to get those crumbs?! I like them so much better than the actual cereal! It’s the only type of cereal I like “soggy.”

    My “cereal problem” is currently much worse than my “grain problem,” come to think of it. I LOVE cereal, but at present I feel like I’m slogging through it!!

    โค โค

  7. Those shredded wheat pancakes look delicious!!! My favorite cereal is definately Kashi Cinnamon Harvest!!!! When i get to the bottom of the bag i usually use the crumbs as a topping for greek yogurt. You should try the cinnamon flavor – its delicious – just the right amount of cinnamon.
    Ill have to try the pancakes – its a great way to get rid of those crumbs!!

  8. Okay and I thought I was the only one that would throw just any ol thing into a pancake – but I will admit I have never tried the shredded wheat. You know you could always take a couple of the biscuits out and crush them if you really want to try them again. My favorite cereal would be my very own granola that I make at home, but if I must chose a store cereal it would be brown rice krispies with fruit added in!!

  9. Oh man, your pancakes look awesome, and so does your sweet potato!! How did you cook it to get it sappy like that? Sometimes I get lucky and it gets that way, but I never remember what exactly I did haha. That’s my favorite way to eat them though, for sure.

    Mm, your dinner looks great, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Ayla

    I’ve never seen that Kashi cereal!! It may have something to do with me living in Canada though. My favorite cereal happens to be any Kashi brand.. with the Cinnamon Harvest being my absolute #1.

    I think that sweet potato picture is one of the prettiest I’ve seen! My mom also isn’t too fond of the dripping sweet potato sap that burns to the bottom of the oven. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Mmm.. shredded wheat reminds me of mini wheats, which I adore ๐Ÿ™‚ My other favourite is definitely honey nut cheerio’s. Organic cereal is actually the only thing I don’t gravitate towards. I like the stuff from my childhood ๐Ÿ™‚ (Having said that, mini wheats and cheerios have surprisingly healthy ingredient lists!)

    That sweet tater picture is amazing. My favourite part is the sugar that seeps out while baking. YUM!

  12. what an awesome idea with the cereal crumbs!! looks yummy. i love grains and flours too. i’ve got 5 types of grains right now..and 7 types of flours!!! but i’m like you…i love it!! i’ve missed reading your blog the past..week..glad to be back to it tonight!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Love me some cereal… And have to say, I love me some Kashi and Special K (even if there is a ridiculous amount of sugar in it).
    I mostly throw it in my oatmeal for a little extra texture. And to bulk it up a little more…

  14. That’s the coolest idea EVERRRR!

  15. The shredded wheat pancakes look so good! I love cereal and just got a box of Trader Joe Honey O’s. They are really good and taste just like honey nut cheerios but without the sickly sugary after taste.

  16. Such a good idea! =) I never know what to do with all the leftover shreds. Usually I just save them for gingerbread house roof decorations lol!
    Hmm, I love Grapenuts and Joe O’s and I used to eat Honey Bunches of Oats ALL the time when I was a kid.
    โค

  17. If I wasn’t gluten-free, I would SO make these because when I ate wheat I ate that cereal like it was nobody’s business. Maybe I’ll make them for my Dad! He is as much of a fiend as I am:)

  18. I don’t blame you for not leaving your warm and cozy house. I’m a wimp when it comes to the cold! And I love what you did with these pancakes. My dad is a HUGE fan of shredded wheat, so he would be thrilled if I made these for him. As for me? I love puffins, and I’ve added them to muffin batter before. They turned out great!

  19. Those pancakes are such a neat idea! I always end up throwing out my cereal crumbs at the end of the box. ๐Ÿ˜› My favourite cereal is Kashi Honey Almond Flax Crunch. It’s the best cereal for yogurt messes!

    Mmm yes I love it when sweet potatoes start dripping out sap. It makes a mess of the oven, but it’s so so good. ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. Your pics look awesome-so crisp and clean! Those pancakes look good to me-love pancakes!
    (I too am trying to stay inside as much as possible throughout these wicked days!)

  21. you are a culinary genius.. JUS SAYIN!

  22. Very creative!! I usually just throw the crumbs into a cup of yogurt which adds a little extra gritty texture to the snack..but I never thought about making them into pancakes. Cool!

    My favorite cereal..hmmm..there’s a few. Kashi Honey Sunshine, Kashi Berry Crumble (read: Crack), Kix, just about any Cheerio, and PB Puffins. ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Well I say, that’s a mighty imaginative way to use cereal! I like it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve seen recipes floatin about that use cereal as a sub for breadcrumbs on tofu or chicken or whatver, which sounds pretty cool, but I normally just eat it straight up and dirty. So dull!

Leave a Reply

