I’m Blue (Daba de Daba Di)

It wasn’t a conscious decision on my part…but the theme of the day was blue.

It started with moldy blueberry pancakes…

…packing a blueberry muffin Larabar…

…and then realized my blueberry-filled morning matched my blue hoodie…

…and by the end of the day, I felt like my hands, lips and toes were blue, too!

…Luckily, it just felt that way…which is sort of ironic to say because usually, with any luck, they won’t feel blue, either!

Anyways. You’re probably still confused by the “moldy pancake” mention, so I’ll enlighten you.

They’re buckwheat! Poor buckwheat has been getting neglected on my pantry shelf. And if I’m being completely real with you all, it’s because I wasn’t sure how well the flavor of buckwheat would go with a nut butter, and I don’t like passing on the peanut/almond/cashew butter in the morning.

There, I said it. I base the flavors of my breakfast off of how well I think the nut butter I have in mind will meld with it.

Finally I decided it couldn’t be that bad with some almond butter, and did it up with some blueberry buckwheat pancakes. I am ashamed to admit that I’d sort of forgotten about my love for buckwheat until I was organizing my recipe pages yesterday, and remembered my banana bread buckwheat waffles.

I decided to give blueberries a shot, as I don’t recall ever having them paired with buckwheat, but still topped it with half a grilled banana, almond butter and maple syrup. Real Vermont maple syrup, thank you. As you can see, we take our maple seriously. And you guys always thought I was joking about it.

Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

1 serving

  • 1/4 c. buckwheat flour
  • 2 T. oat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ (optional)
  • 1/2 – 1 t. baking powder (to be honest I never measure)
  • 1/4 c. + 2 T. almond milk
  • 2 t. chia seeds mixed with 1 1/2 T. water and allowed to “gel”
  • 1/4 c. fresh or frozen blueberries
  • earth balance or butter, for frying
  • toppings, such as: maple syrup, almond butter, banana

Preheat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Β Combine the dry ingredients. Mix in the almond milk and chia egg. Fold in the blueberries.

Grease the pan with a light layer of butter before spooning the batter in two portions onto it. Cook until the sides look like they are beginning to set, and then flip and cook about 3 more minutes on that side.

Top with almond butter, maple syrup and a grilled banana or more blueberries.

Ohhh, buckwheat – how could I neglect you all these weeks?

As for the new Larabar flavor that this sweet & charming young lady hooked me up with?

Well, I’m actually pretty surprised I broke into it right away. Usually things like this I hold onto because I can’t find them, so I have this warped sense of “but I need to cherish it!” similar to how all of our grandparents hold on to every. last. thing. due to the Great Depression.

Or something like that.

But no. There was no waiting. I was too excited. Ironically, I wasn’t even hungry for a snack today but since I’d opened it before leaving home I wanted to at least have a bit of it! So I did, and saved the other half for dessert.

Now. You’d be hard-pressed to find me a Larabar I dislike. Sure, I have my preferred flavors and all – but with how simple they are and given the fact that they’re date and nut based, I can’t say I hate any of them. Not even a little bit.

This blueberry muffin flavor was no exception. But! As with most things in life (gosh darn it!) there is room for improvement. Larabar, I would enjoy a. a stronger blueberry flavor, and b. a little lemon zest. I feel these things will bring your blueberry muffin Larabar to an entirely new level altogether.

Unfortunately, things like this tend to be easier said than done, and here’s where everyone at Larabar is throwing up their arms and asking me if I want to start making them. In which case the answer is surely!

Have you ever tried buckwheat before?

What’s your favorite Larabar flavor?

(and as for putting this song in your head after reading the title of this post? you’re welcome. don’t hate me. please?)

29 Comments

Filed under almond butter, banana, breakfast, buckwheat, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, nut butter, pancakes, recipe, review, vegan

29 responses to “I’m Blue (Daba de Daba Di)

  1. I have neeever had a larabar. Even though I have about 6 in my bar box. I’m of exactly the same mindset as you, they must be cherished! I’m waiting for the right moment..which no doubt will be the day of its’ use-by πŸ˜›
    As for buckwheat AY I have had it! I used it for baking once, but (as I lie in bed, about to go to sleep!) I’ve jsut made a note to myself to make those buckwheat pancakes tomorrow πŸ˜€ my buckwheat is severely neglected and I must do somehing about it πŸ˜€

  2. Great, now I need blueberry! Dangit! You know I love buckwheat. HAve have discovered that Tony is not so much a fan of it. I mean he likes it in small doses, but I have to add a lot of other flours too. Oh well, all for me!

  3. I love buckwheat. I usually use soba noodles if I make spaghetti, and one of my favorite cafe’s has an amaaazing buckwheat pancake with yogurt and fruit. I want one right now.

  4. Randi

    I love this. I was at the store tonight, decided I wanted to make waffles on Sunday, and…since I’ve never made them from scratch before :O just went with a mix instead…buckwheat pancake/waffle mix. And then I grabbed a bag of frozen blueberries because they’re the hubby’s favorite. Then I came home and read this post. Too funny. πŸ™‚ Your pancakes look delicious – I hope my waffles turn out as well! The only time I recall ever having buckwheat is when I was probably twelve, and my mother and I made buckwheat pancakes as instructed by the Laura Ingalls Wilder Little House cookbook. πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for getting that song in my head. πŸ™‚ I love the blueberry larabar, but Cashew cookie is my favorite. It always has been! You’re making me excited for my pancakes in the morning!

  6. I love that song, I love buckwheat pancakes (I made some and froze leftovers recently) and I love the cashew cookie Larabar the most (I haven’t really had many to be honest though). I’m quite upset that I didn’t discover Larabars sooner because I never had a chance to try the pistachio flavor and something tells me that would’ve been up on my favorites list. Guess I’ll have to make one…

  7. I love how blueberries change the color of everything they’re in. πŸ™‚ And I haven’t tried buckwheat or Larabars..so I can’t answer either of the questions. But if I were to try buckwheat, I’d make these pancakes. And if I were to try Larabars, I’d go for the blueberry muffin because *everybody* is raving about it.

  8. That is an epic song πŸ™‚

    Those blueberry pancakes look amazing – you have no idea. My cafeteria here makes pancakes, if you can even call them that, and I think you would have to pay me to eat them. They are white, flap anemic little rounds, sometimes with chocolate chips thrown in. Call me crazy, but I don’t usually look forward to a sugar coma first thing in the morning.
    … Basically, can I come over for breakfast?!

  9. Hahaha I do love the Eiffel 65 coincidence. What are the odds? I liked the blueberry muffin Lara, but I definitely think I prefer the tropical flavors. Key Lime Pie and Coconut Cream Pie are my favorites!

  10. I used to sing that song out loud all the time. Ahahaha! I’ve only tried the pb cookie larabar, I really want to try others!

  11. I love buckwheat and Larabar!! My favorite bar would be pecan pie πŸ™‚ I am out of buckwheat pancake mix – I gave what was left of my box to my mom. Then I forgot to pick more up when I went shopping – all health/natural food markets are out of town for me. I will have to add that to my grocery list right now!

  12. I love buckwheat but I too have been neglecting it lately! Thanks for reminding me to buy some more at the store tomorrow. Mmm blueberry and lemon goes so well together. Now you have me craving blueberry lemon muffins πŸ™‚

  13. I used to sing that song all the time! Waay too much actually. Thanks for putting in my head πŸ˜‰
    Except I always thought it said “I’m blue if I were green I would die”
    Then I realized I was wrong. hahah.

    Everything I’ve heard about the new larabars is that they need improvement. bummer.
    Still, I wanna give it a try!

    • Several people told me that “green I would die” line. Well it’s not like “daba dee daba di” makes anymore sense!

      I’ve never knowingly had buckwheat before — and I’ll take a coconut larabar, if you’re offering! πŸ˜‰

  14. Blueberry muffin!?!? Where did you get this? I would love to work for Larabar (but I think I’ve mentioned this before). My favorite is Apple Pie. I eat one almost everyday of the week! Thank you for sharing your review and yet another delicious pancake recipe. I hope you have a wonderful weekend…enjoy yourself and eat well!

  15. I love buckwheat sooo much and I really miss those summer days (yep, not only mornings) when I used to have a big bowl of buckwheat with strawberries or blueberries, some coconut and shredded dark chocolate. Mmm…

    And I wish we had Larabars in Europe.

  16. Buckwheat is AMAZING!!! I love it’s nuttiness. πŸ™‚

  17. Something weird has happened…Larabars have become unavailable in Europe, it would seem. At least here, Germany and the UK – and I’m assuming the other countries too, anything else would be just unfair! Not that it isn’t unfair to begin with. Well, I’m “off” fruit at the moment and I feel much better, so I’m crying dry tears really, but that doesn’t stop me from imagining what that blueberry muffin one must taste like….mm…mmmmmm….ok, enough :-). I never got to taste the cinnamon one, or the apple pie, so goodies are lined up for me if I go “on” fruit again, hehe. Er, provided I can import them.

    I used to love buckwheat – a bit of that nutty taste, like spelt? I read your post over breakfast but I had myself boiled egg, roasted butternut squash and warm nutmilk, so I’m covered! Have a nice w-e πŸ™‚

  18. Lara bars aren’t available in my country 😦
    I love buckwheat! Buckwheat crepes are awesome, filled with banana and any kind of nut butter!

  19. I have never tried buckwheat!

    I don’t have a favorite Larabar because the first one I tried i wanted to spit out… I need to try a different one!

  20. never tried buckwheat! but your pancakes are convincing me… LOve the choc chip cookie dough larabar!

  21. You always have such interesting flours and pancakes. I’m obsessed with graham flour ever since you sent it to me. Now I need to go out and buy some buckwheat because it sounds so lovely too. πŸ˜€

  22. Those buckwheat pancakes look delicious! And you topped them with grilled bananas?! I’d be in foodie heaven! πŸ˜‰

  23. your product reviews are always so refreshing to read. I feel as though a lot of people don’t get a legitimate account of their true feelings towards a product out of fear that they won’t receive any more “freebies”, so I really appreciate your two cent. Plus, you are my culinary idol so I really trust your taste πŸ™‚ I want a blueberry Lara! So sad I missed that hookup.

    so I have to ask – I just finished up the last of my spelt flour and I really want to try out a new one next. What do you recommend, my flour queen?

  24. I love buckwheat pancakes! I’ve never had a larabar (GASP). I had a chocolate chip cookie dough one in my cart at Whole Foods yesterday but ended up putting it back in favor of a different snack. One of these days…

  25. Never tried buckwheat, never tried Larabars. πŸ˜› The closest thing I’ve had is Laraballs using your recipe, which I loved! I should make those again soon!

    I always save foods that I can’t easily get my hands on too. I still have an unopened box of Kashi pumpkin pie granola bars from my day trip to the US back in September!

  26. Larabars are so delicious I just had my first one a couple days ago but I keep eating them lol…Buckwheat is really delicious because of how hardy it is! πŸ™‚

  27. I want to try one of those blueberry laras so badly! I can’t wait for them to hit shelves. Slash buckwheat pancakes are my FAVORITE, but lately I’ve been rolling with quinoa flour, it’s a tad sweeter:)

  28. Pingback: Just food « Brit Chick Runs

Leave a Reply

