Suzie Homemaker meets Bob the Builder

Another snow-day. Or, sleet day.

Poor Teddie. He probably thinks I’ve forgotten about him, and soon he’ll wind up on the isle of long-forgotten toys.

…that was always the saddest part of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer for me.

I think Kaia is living proof that stereotypes are just that – stereotypes. This is her saying “I’m the only mammal with husky blood that doesn’t want to play in the snow, thankyouverymuch.”

What a lazy bum.

You know what a snow-day calls for: a treacherous drive to the grocery store so I could settle down with a Rachey-Ray, dark chocolate chips, hummus and pretzels.

Okay, so that wasn’t really the objective of the trip, but it was one of those moments where I saw myself pushing a cart full of sweet potatoes, beets, yucca, almond milk, hummus and pretzels and then ย of course, there’s the dark chocolate chips and Everyday with Rachel Ray …and I just had to laugh.

The cashiers probably I didn’t know whether I wanted to be a hippie flower-girl or cry over a recent heart-wrenching break-up.

And the answer is D.) none of the above.

I knew I had a mission to tackle.

Outside of the box: quick and easy to put together.

On the directions: says I need two people.

Well! I didn’t feel like waiting until my mom got home, and I’m sure she had other things on her agenda than spending two hours putting a desk together.

And so, with my supervisor close by, I set to work.

Mainly because I wanted to prove something wrong – whether it was the “quick and easy” part of the destructions or the “requires two people,” I was going to prove something wrong.

After forty five minutes and a couple of lost hairs, I had a drawer.

After another hour and a half, I had some semblance of a table.

The stupidest part of this whole desk: the fact that I’d have to have hands the size of a two-year-old’s to get these screws in.

There was a lot of blind groping around and hoping it went in. Yep.

There was a lot of “these freaking screws aren’t labeled and I don’t know what’s what!” followed by pretzels dipped in peanut butter – my recent favorite.

The weird thing about this desk, though? It made me eat wilted spinach and chickpeas mixed up with mustard. I’m saying it was the desk because usually I don’t have such random…concoctions.

Strangely, it was delicious. I suggest you try it, actually.

And after a sweet potato and some more banging, I finally had a desk.

With one problem. My supervisor wasn’t supervising me close enough, apparently.

When I surveyed my work and saw this, all I could do was fall into the couch and sit and stare at it...thinking "you have got to be kidding me."

Of course that was one of the only areas that required me nailing the back on, too – so I couldn’t jsut unscrew it. Whatever. I was over it and decided I’d just cover it up.

With something.

So looonnnng, mini coffee table and sitting/kneeling on the floor….

Helloooooo real desk! Ironically, as you can see, I didn’t end up using the compartment thing. At first I was pissed that is was just something that sat on top – but it turns out I’m lucky it is, because otherwise I’d have no room for the printer!

now I just need a chair.

So THERE, take THAT, desk! Two people my booty. Not only am I Suzie Homemaker, I am also Bob the Builder.

As you can see, though – the desk left its mark. Yeah, my blood is fluorescent magenta.

Isn’t yours? No? Oh…

…well maybe those are just my battle-scars from the beets I had to try for dinner. Remember my “trying new veggies” thing?

Last time I had beets, it was also my first time having beets.

They were from a can.

I thought they were Gross. With a capital G.

I decided if I went by the “I had it from a can and hated it” rule for everything, I’d probably stay away from any and all vegetables, so these lovely beet’s endearing color lured me back in.

I sliced them thin an roasted them, going for a “chip,” feel before plating them with spinach, bulgur and roasted chickpeas and drizzling over a dressing of clementine juice, fig jam, olive oil, fresh parsley, dijon mustard and garlic – which was inspired by a Moosewood’s beet salad recipe.

I should have roasted them longer – but I was getting impatient. And the verdict is: I don’t actually hate beets. I liked the crunchy ones best, though – and I wouldn’t yet call myself a beet fan, persay.

I am, however, welcoming beet recipes.

As well as cupcake recipes. Which seems really random – but I have another snowday tomorrow and want to make the fam some cupcakes. They don’t need to be vegan or anything – just your favorite cupcake or cake recipes, please ๐Ÿ™‚

24 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

24 responses to “Suzie Homemaker meets Bob the Builder

  1. I had beats and lasagna tonight for dinner! Your dinner looks awesome! I love chickpeas! keep those great pics of dinner coming! it’s making me hungry! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. We usually scrub the beets, wrap them in foil and bake/roast for about an hour. Afterwards we eat what we can and the next day we take the left overs and saute them in a pan with loads of onions. Simple, easy and the family loves them. And the blood thing is kind of funny because just the other day, I was slicing a pomegranate and I let the juice spread out a little and pretended like I cut myself. My friends were laughing and my mom was pissed, but she got over it, haha.

    The beet greens are also really good steamed or sauteed with garlic and onion. They’re naturally quite salty though, so be cautious when seasoning. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Also, as far as mustard goes, it tastes really great with some apple slices.

  3. The desk looks great! You have to feel great after that accomplishment today! Oh and of course mustard goes with chickpeas, silly! Seriously, oh and cauliflower mixed in too…like a big ol tasty chickpea salad! I thought I hated beets, then I had them at a restaurant and discovered I love them. I smoked some back at Thanksgiving and that was so good! I am a newbie to them too and I do prefer the firmer ones! Stay warm tonight and I am sure Teddie has not forgotten you!

  4. I’ve had many “you have got to be kidding me moments” after building things. Like, I spent 2 hours putting a computer chair together (which is suppose to be ridiculously easy!) and but the seat on backwards. So I sat tilted forward for about 3 months before I got up enough energy to unplug the screws and rebuild it. I laughed while typing that just thinking of it..:P
    And then, when moving my futon..my dad and brother spent all morning putting the thing together and put the base on upside down! So the seat part became the back and vise versa. hahaha, I don’t even know how that thing’s still working.

  5. Stefanie

    The new desk looks great. ๐Ÿ™‚ I like to throw the roasted beets with the greens. I saute some onion and garlic in a little oil then wilt the greens and toss the chopped beats into the pan.

  6. Wow girl I am IMPRESSED! Me.. I am SO not handy in the sense that I can build a desk. Or, anything.
    For anything cupcake related, I turn to How Sweet It Is. Just sayin…

  7. I’m proud of your desk putting togetherness! ๐Ÿ™‚ You did so good!

  8. Congrats on putting the desk together! It always feels great when you do something like that by yourself. I’m not the biggest beet fan but maybe I just haven’t cooked them the right way. I’ve only had them once or twice.

  9. Props for building that desk! Your whole setup looks awesome. I do not enjoy beets. Not at all… But if you can come up with a good recipe, do share! I’m willing to give them another try if you promise it’s good. I’d trust your taste!

  10. Good job on putting together the desk!

    You know your picture with your apple computer on the wooden table….I have that exact water bottle, just in purple! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I think Kaia’s main job is to be incredibly cute so you can’t blame her for being a bad supervisor. And in the end you did it much better than most people would ๐Ÿ™‚ .

  12. Oh NO, I literally feel sorry for you, having canned beets as your first taste of beets, hahaha…I LOVE beets. But I think I’ve advocated beets for you before ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yeah, I like the crunchy ones best as well – i almost always roast a huge batch – big ones, I cut them in half and then slice diagonally; the more “edge” the more crunchy parts :-0. And I keep the temperature down so they de-hydrate as much as possible…for a quickie, I saute them in cider vinegar and olive oil, I’ve been making that with thinly sliced red cabbage and beets, mix it with salad afterwards, yum – and any spice, really, like cardamom or nutmeg. Also, I used to make a savoury pie with grated beets, but no recipe alas – maybe it’s not for everyone, anyway…and definitely not vegan.

    Kudos on the assembling job, and hope you’re enjoying the table, should feel pretty good :-). I did an Ikea bookshelf by my self (also a “need to be two people” kind of thing) and ended up scratching the entire front…adds personality, right?

    ๐Ÿ™‚ have a nice “hump day” Jess.

  13. Nice job on the desk! I’m incapable of doing that even remotely resembles handiwork, so I’m super impressed!

    It surprises me that you’ve only ever tried beets from a can before this! I’m glad you gave real beets a try because they’re so so good! I actually had some in my salad last night. I like to wrap mine in tinfoil and roast them. ๐Ÿ˜€

    As for cupcakes, Angela has some delicious looking recipes over at Oh She Glows!

  14. I totally feel your frustration… my family is actually really “handy” (as in, when we bought our house, my dad and my brothers renovated most of it themselves), so I really feel incompetent in that arena, even though I’m not so bad at it. Then again, I lack the patience for such things. You did a good job with it, though!

    If spinach + chickpeas + mustard is a weird combination, then I guess I’m weird, because I didn’t find it strange at all.

    I can’t believe you’ve never tried beets before this — they are probably one of my favorite vegetables!! They’re one of the few vegetables that I think are equally good boiled and roasted. Not TOO boiled, though, because then they get all mushy like… well, canned beets. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And it isn’t YOUR fault I was stomping around in the rain — it’s the USPS’ fault!! No worries, though — I got it out yesterday morning, so hopefully it should reach you by tomorrow. Don’t count on it or anything, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    โค โค

  15. Roasted beets with just a touch of sea salt are fabulous. Mmm…I love the sound of the dressing that you put on top. It sounds wonderful. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Kaia is so adorable, by the way! Such a beautiful dog. ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. Mmmm, beets! I love them! The other night, I made my favorite salad for the guy I’m dating here in France and he loved it. It’s simple – beets, granny smith apple, goat cheese, toasted walnuts, salad greens, and balsamic vinegar. With a fresh baguette on the side, this baby didn’t stand a chance. It was so simple to through together yet the flavor was complex and intense – he was totally impressed. You should try it!!!

  17. spoonfulofsugarfree

    Awwww! Your doggy is too cute ๐Ÿ™‚ My dog love the snow, too! Winter is his favorite season.

    I have a whole mess of fresh beets! I know what I’m having for lunch…

  18. yay for beets! i have NEVER tried them.. they spook me.. literally!

  19. Yessss, a desk!! Finally!! You impress me with your building skills. When it comes to stuff like that I open the box, freak out and then call my dad or boyfriend to do it for me. Putting a desk together is too far out of this little girly princess’ comfort zone.

    We made beets on Christmas and I made my sister-in-law chop them, so my hands never got dirty. Mwahaha.

  20. So, not only do I kind of want your life, but I just wanted you to know I nominated you for a blogger award. http://asideofsimple.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/live-and-blog-your-style/

  21. Awesome job on the desk! The food looks great also.

  22. Good job on the desk *applauds*! It took 3 people (well, 2, cos I didn’t really help any..more got in the way) to construct my wardrobe, so you did super well :p
    Ah beets. I like the ones you buy precooked and vacuum packed in plastic – they are soooo good! But damn that stain, it really doens’t leave :/

  23. good job with the desk! i love when i can put things together without any help.
    beets….never had them. don’t really care to try them anytime soon either. that doesn’t mean i won’t ever have them ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

