Remember How…

I’m not gonna lie – I was definitely a little hesitant posting a less than positive review for once. I’m glad no one hates me for it, and many of you even feel the same!

Today was another “be-a-bum” day here. The weather was good enough to go to the barn – the roads were clear – but to be honest, I just didn’t feel like it. The roads are still covered enough that I’d have to crawl my way there, and for some reason they’ve been really…slow…about plowing/shoveling at the barn and I just didn’t feel like plowing my way through a foot and a half of snow.

And it was cold. And I just wanted to keep getting stuff done. In that aspect, it was a very productive day. I kept organizing photos, updating my Etsy, and even spent two hours on the phone with Apple. Long story short, they have awesome customer service. Don’t worry – no computer problems, but Adobe Creative Suite 5 is on its way to me. I lost it with my old computer and was not looking forward to purchasing it again…but some chatting with the Apple folks made it not quite so hard to bear after all 😉 I probably wouldn’t have bothered getting the full Suite if I didn’t need InDesign and Illustrator for an upcoming class…Lightroom probably would have sufficed…but needing at least Illustrator was a good excuse to just get the entire CS5!

As you can see, I’m not very hard to convince. BUT, just a word to the wise – if you’re a student, you can get a student edition at a MEGA discount. By Mega, I mean minus $1000. I was ecstatic when I discovered this. There was no way I was going to shell out $1200 on software that I don’t need, I just have fun with.

Anyways. A large portion of you probably don’t care about my software dilemmas, so on with the food!

Remember how I accidentally made steel cut oats instead of bulgur last night and hinted at them being made into a pancake?

Yeah, I wasn’t kidding. I don’t joke about things as serious as my pancakes. When I’m in that kitchen in the a.m. I mean business! I simply used some of the cooked steel cut oats in place of the oat bran in my cranberry-orange pancakes. With almond butter sauce. And grilled bananas. And maple syrup. Oh lawd.

Remember how we got all that snow yesterday? Well – it kept coming all night, too. Reason number 500 why I love my Jeep. It eliminates the need for unnecessary shoveling.

Remember how I’m all into making my own peanut butters now, and am a recent convert to sugar-free pb?

I made my first peanut butter ever without adding maple syrup or honey to. Usually I add maple syrup or use honey-roasted peanuts in addition to dry roasted to give a little added sweetness.

I like adding sunflower seeds to the mix for an added complexity 😉

  • 1 c. dry roasted peanuts
  • 1/4 c. roasted & salted sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 c. flax seeds (next time I’d use only 2 T.)
  • 1/4 c. cranberries
  • pinch each: cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice

Blend the peanuts and sunflower seeds until pb consistency. Add flax seeds and spices, blend again. Add cranberries, blend just until combined.

Remember how I used to hate tofu?

Yeah – now I’ll eat it practically plain. Just pan fried with nothing, and thrown in a collard wrap with some good salsa. Who am I?!

Remember how I’m on a sweet potato kick? Uh – yeah, it’s a good bet that if I’m home for lunch, I’m having a sweet potato in some way, shape or form.

There is sweet potato sap beginning to collect at the bottom of our oven. I have a feeling that’s unsanitary, but would you shun me if I confessed that I love how it smells whenever the oven gets hot enough now?

I’m gross. I’ll clean it next time. Pinky promise.

Veganomicon's "Jelly Donut Cupcakes"

Remember how I mentioned I wanted to make cupcakes?

I did. I’m not a cupcake fan, but I never bake them and wanted to try something new. As you can see, my baking soda is expired.

Remember how I mentioned I loved tofu now? It appeared in dinner, too.

Anja's Curried Bulgur with Carrots and Raisins

What you can’t tell is that there was an entire helping of carrot fries on my plate that I ate while I was waiting for the broccoli.

Remember how I used to love broccoli? I think I ate it at least once a day. Well…I think I’m on broccoli burnout. My mom brought it home for me and…well…it just wasn’t doing anything for me tonight.

The curried bulgur, on the other hand, definitely did it for me. I added some green pepper as well as a dab of honey to the mixture – I prefer a sweeter curry because I am a wimp.

I also made some honey-curry tofu to go along with it.

And now I’m out of tofu and I really really hope they got it back in stock at the co-op. Last time I went I took the last box!

And by the way…remember how I’m a Bruins fan? Well, I’ve gotta go get ready for the big game 😉

20 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

20 responses to “Remember How…

  1. YUM, jelly doughnut cupcakes! I love sunflower seed butter. The flavor is so smooth and light! Makes things nice and creamy too! I hate giving not so great reviews, but honesty is the best policy. I agreed with you!

  2. I looooooove this post. You are immensely cool – the sweet potato oven sap thing? i LOVE that!! Right up my street 🙂
    And your tofu love, and the curried bulghar thing…seriously ohmygosh you inspire me to be a better cook!
    Aaaand I’ll stop gushing now 😛

  3. Broccoli burnout??!?! Those things actually happen? Oh dear… I’m sure one will be in my future- it’s my current veggie obsession of choice.

    And I’m jealous of your jeep! I want one so badly. I have a small SUV, though, so I still get to do a little “wreckless” driving that a normal car couldn’t…

  4. A Tablespoon of Liz

    Every thing looks so good!

  5. Your photographs are BEAUTIFUL!!!

    How do you make your peanut butter sauce? Do you add almond milk to it?

  6. I am on a huge sweet potato kick too, can’t get enough! Have you tried cocoa roasting them…it’s the best!

    Also, your peanut butter amazes me. Who would have thought to put cranberries in peanut butter? You used dried cranberries, right?

  7. I’m still waiting for a cauliflower burnout… I might be transitioning from a roasted cauliflower obsession to a microwaved cauliflower obsession, but I still can’t get enough of it. It’s so strange.

    And the tofu? Totally agree. I can’t get enough of that either. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  8. Have fun at the Bruins game! And all that food looks so rediculously incredible. Have you ever thought about photographing for a cookbook or recipe website? Or making your own cookbook? I’m not even kidding! Gah they’d sell like hotcakes! Or, you know..those steel cut oat pancakes with sounds amazing. I’ve never thought to use steelcut oats in pancakes..but now I’ll have to try.

    You SP sap on the bottom of the oven reminds me of my boyfriend leaving burnt cheese on his baking sheet lmho. Same reasoning behind it, I guess..but I don’t think the sap’s so gross. 😉

  9. Remember how I love you? Oh yeah – just thought I’d remind you! 🙂

    Cute post – I love tofu too.. and I went through a broccoli burn out before too. You’ll get the love back.

  10. I’m on a sweet potato kick myself. Can’t get enough of ’em 🙂

  11. You and your tofu…I may need to give it another try. Ryan loves the stuff, but I struggle with it. It definitely isn’t my favorite, but I think I’m not adding the right spices or cooking it correctly. I wish I could teleport you to my kitchen tomorrow! Thank you for sharing your delicious eats and thoughts with me tonight. I hope you have a great weekend. I’m so glad Friday is almost here!

  12. Have fun with the game!

    You know, your breakfast shot just about ruined my breakfast. Mental note not to read your posts while having breakfast cause mine is just never as good as yours, haha…I must get into baking pancakes. Must. 🙂

    Is it just me, or does “salsa from the gut” sound like something you wouldn’t want to eat? Am I the only one making unfortunate associations? How about for the gut, you know, something going in, rather than out? well, I don’t know, I’m not a native English speaker…:-)

    Good luck with your new creative suite! You have an indesign course coming up? I have considered doing that maybe ten times…I had a glimpse into indesign once, but I’m just so used to Photoshop I have always ended up using that, even though sometimes I’m thinking, hm, wonder if this wouldn’t be easier in indesign…

  13. I used to think you were crazy for not liking tofu! I’m glad you’ve seen the light because now I can try out all your tofu recipes! 😉 The curried bulghur and honey curry tofu look amazing! What ingredients did you use for the tofu?

  14. I usually make plain peanut butter, but your add-ins sound amazing. Gotta try it next time!
    Oh, and yeah, can’t get enough of sweet potato either, I’m just afraid I’l turn orange pretty soon 😀

  15. Oh my I lam so excited now to make my own peanut butter! The cupcakes look great but those pancakes look awesome!

  16. sweet potato fans unite! I just made the best EVER sweet potato fries the other night, I had three hungry boys eating them up like candy!

  17. I don’t EVER get broccoli burnout;) Slash now I’m thinkin that oat bran cooked the night before might make good pancakes!

  18. I love that you’re a tofu convert. I steered clear of it FOREVER because I was afraid of the taste, but now I love it!! Such an easy source of protein. It’s definitely an acquired taste, but I’m glad you’ve grown to love it!

  19. I totally enjoyed reading your review on the last post. It’s a cookbook that I’ve been considering and I am so happy to have read your review beforehand. 😀

    (p.s. I agree with you; the idea of giving names like that to a really close friend is totally beyond me!)

  20. Colleen

    Everything looks DELICIOUS!!

Leave a Reply

