Edibles & Etsies

Considering the fact that just about the whole United States is snowed in right now…you’re probably not too surprised to hear that I am, too.

Luckily, I was more productive than this one:

I'm trying to get her on a diet program. It's hard when no-one else sees the importance of it, though.

Fun fact: I actually quite enjoy shoveling snow. Today, though, was a lot of snow. I shoveled this morning, a couple hours later, and a couple hours after that. It just kept coming! Luckily it’s just the decks and walkways I have to do, and we have a snowblower and snow plow for the driveway.

Early this morning. It's still coming down.

Work called me last night to tell me not to bother coming in, and it was sort of nice to know I wasn’t going to be going anywhere in the morning.

Of course, it didn’t really matter because sleeping in is impossible when you have a cat and a dog come barging in your room to wake you up at the usual time.

Oh, well. I had a day of productivity in front of me, remember?And it was. After pancakes, a quick workout, shoveling (aka workout numbers 2, 3 and 4) and some baking of Super Charge Me cookies, I buckled down to backing up photos taken this past summer and overall just organizing my computer life.

And getting productive with some Carob Chip Muffins. Made in loaf form. Holy heaben, this is a wonderful recipe. Though look at how funny barley flour looks – the inside is almost a reddish, and the outside a normal tan!

It’s not very attractive as a loaf – but uuber delicious. I love the marriage of coconut, orange, nutmeg and chocolate – something I was unsure of. For some strange reason, though, I was craving something with chocolate chips for once.

I found my indecision as to dipping choices comical. I always need variety! Still on the fence about that black bean and orange hummus, though.

…and I almost had to call the presses when I had a bowl of mushrooms as a snack. I mean, I love mushrooms and all…but how many times have you seen me have a bowl of hot veggies as a snack like this?! It’s usually something sweet! (even when I posted all my food)

Dinner was something special, though – another grain salad in which I will sing the praises of this Vermont Soy tofu and the Bob’s Red Mill cookbook.

First, though, a funny whoopsie – I accidentally made steel cut oats instead of bulgur. Don’t be surprised if you see them in pancake form in the morning – I was not going to use steel cut oats in this recipe! I never realized how remarkably similar they look when dry!

The recipe I (mostly) followed was one for a Moroccan Millet Salad. I love Moroccan dishes – they have such a unique combination of flavors, typically incorporating sweet and savory elements, along with neat spices more typically seen in sweets rather than savory meals such as cinnamon, nutmeg and cardomom.

This in particular was a mix of green pepper, red onion, dates, raisins, orange zest and sunflower seeds…

that was mixed with bulgur and tossed in a dressing consisting of orange juice, lemon juice, cumin, cardamom, ginger, honey and olive oil. I added in tofu that I first pan-fried in a bit of olive oil and then pouring over half of the dressing.

I was in love with the sweet-meets-savory, something I quite enjoy, but would probably make this sans lemon juice in the dressing next time. Otherwise, it was spot on! I loved the tofu, too…but I think I could eat that tofu plain πŸ˜‰

What else was I being productive with this afternoon?

Trying to figure out ways I could “go public” with my pictures! I’d entertained the idea of maybe re-starting an Etsy shop after not having a ton of success last time (it’s not like I advertised anywhere, though!). Seeing Jenny “go for it” and open her shop was sort of the final kick-in-the-butt that I needed to at least try, too.

I don’t have too much added yet – but it’s part of my winter project! Realistically, I am not expecting much to come from this, but every penny counts towards the Mac and Teddie fund…not to mention the fact that I lost my full Adobe Creative Suite with my old computer :X

SO! If you know of anyone looking for some photography to…hang somewhere…gift to someone…I don’t know what else…maybe they’ll be interested in some of my listings? I’ll keep you guys UTD when I think I’ve got a “full shop” πŸ™‚

So – who else out there is still shoveling snow?!

24 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

24 responses to “Edibles & Etsies

  1. Where we live, it gets really cooooooolllllldddddd!!!! Your chocolate chip loaf sounds really good right now! πŸ™‚

  2. I LOVE you Etsy site and the idea to sell you fabulous photos!!!!!!!!!
    I Am so excited for you and am looking forward to seeing more of your pictures!!!!
    I too am surrounded by TOO much snow- how many more days till spring????

  3. It only snowed a little bit today but I best bite my tongue before the Wisconsin weather jumps up and attacks again. It snows on and off whenever it feels like it here and it’s pretty much freezing. It’s not even the snow that keeps me stuck inside, it’s my extreme dislike of the cold. And the mushroom thing is cool – we buy mushrooms and I’ll go in the fridge, pop the stems out, dip them in something (usually hummus) and then a few minutes later go fill up the cap with something (usually hummus) and eat that too. πŸ˜›

  4. Stefanie

    I usually get millet and quinoa mixed up like you did with your oats. It can be annoying some times. As much as I miss the snow I do not miss shoveling it. I give you credit for going out and clearing the snow that many times. Your mushroom snack looks good as does your muffins. Your photographs are beautiful.

  5. We got snowed on today/last night as well. First time since November! But there isn’t so much that we really need to shovel it though.

    I’ve sort of pondered opening an etsy before .. but I was doubtful that anyone would want to buy my prints. You and PB&Jenny are certainly inspiring me though! I hope your shop goes well! I may have to be a customer sometime πŸ™‚

  6. I love pancakes. And cooked mushrooms! I eat them like candy:) Actually, any vegetable I can pretty much inhale except for olives those are gross. Slash if I made that loaf I would eat it the way you are holding it in the picture, not as a muffin, that would be way too small. Good choice in the tin department;)

    Double slash sweet + savory = my FAVORITE. If you like that kind of combo try mixing leftover grain with an equal amount of hummus and a giant handful of raisins! Ahhhh so good:)

  7. I haven’t shoveled snow in soooo long. But I remember being younger and still living at home- not only was there so much to do, but a lot of it was on a hill! Talk about a workout…

  8. I wish I was with the rest of the country and shoveling snow..but nope. We got the cold, though if that counts. Which it doesn’t lol. Anyway! Love the bread and bulgar recipes..that’s the perfect way to spend snowed in days. And funny about making steel cut oats at fist instead! haha whoops!! πŸ˜›

    Also, that’s very awesome about going public with your photos. I know it’s not huge, but I know a lot of peop;e that gained popularity through Facebook. That’s such a simple way, too. And free! πŸ˜›

  9. Shoveling snow is QUITE the workout!!!

    I would love to check out some of your photos – Would you do requests?

  10. I love shoveling snow as long as I’m nice and bundled… and have time! I was supposed to do it today (there was a LOT) but I forgot until I had to run out the door…whoops. Good thing I have a big strong brother living under the same roof to get that stuff done. But it can definitely be so nice and even relaxing… especially shoveling at night! Winter nights are so peaceful, I love em πŸ™‚

  11. Congrats girl! Your photos are AMAZING and I would totally buy one if I was in the market for them.
    and yes. YES. I am snowed in. Er.. was. for 2 days. Let’s just say, I GOT to go back to work tonight and I was ridiculously excited to be out and around people other than my parents. But then I got hit by a car on my way to work and my poor jeep is… well, she’s not good. I think i was better snowed in haha

  12. You are one talented woman. I will tell you this again and again because I’m overwhelmed by the beauty that you produce. It is evident that you have a well-spring that is flowing from within! I am so happy to hear that you are wanting to get more of your work out here! We don’t have snow in Austin, but it has been COLD! So we Texans have been complaining about that πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing with me. Stay warm and safe during the rest of the week!

  13. I totally agree with Monet! Your photography and foods impress me everyday!

    I love roasted mushrooms with salsa! So good!

    I am trying that carob chip bread! I love carob and I can’t have chocoloate. So its a win win!

  14. i still cannot get over how amazing your food is !! FO REALLLL

  15. Oi, that’s great! Wish you the best of luck with the “business” πŸ™‚

  16. You are an amazing photographer!! I’m sure that you’ll be successful πŸ™‚

    Sometimes I wonder what it’s like to shovel snow. Although I’m sure that if it snowed in Wellington as often in winter, I’d hate it.

    You food looks so delicious!! πŸ™‚

    xxx

  17. I would buy your photos in a heartbeat – they’re stunning! If you ship to England, I WILL buy some πŸ™‚
    That bulghar dish looks so so so good – I love your food presentation πŸ™‚ so much better than my mess on a plate :/

  18. Yum! That bulghur salad looks right up my alley. I wish I hadn’t used my last orange in dinner last night now! πŸ˜›

    Good luck with your Etsy shop! Your photos are gorgeous and I would definitely buy one if I had the money to spare!

  19. The chocolate chip loaf and your dinner look great! Good luck with your Etsy shop! I love your photography.

  20. We are surrounded by mostly ice now which is no fun! Good for you setting up an etsy shop! I am definitely going to check it out! Try to stay warm today!

  21. You are so talented. I’m so glad you decided to join Etsy! Good for you mama!

  22. My dad finally bought a new shovel after I bitched about the old one incessantly… and it is SO much easier to use this one!! I was kind of disappointed that we didn’t get more snow, actually, so that I could shovel some more. πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  23. Pingback: Remember How… | Healthy Exposures

  24. teenagehealthfreak

    good luck with your photography! i know with your skills you could do some really good work! i’m going to beg my parents to take a trip to Vermont to get my pictures taken for my senior year..haha. that would be awesome! i love your pictures!!

Leave a Reply

