Bulgur and Tempeh Salad with Citrus

Okay. I’m sure there was at least one of you who was willing to bet that I wasn’t going to wait much longer to “break into” my new Mac. Who cares that I don’t have a place to put it – throw it on the floor, right?!

Well, maybe not quite the floor. Maybe I’ll just steal the coffee table from the living room. And it’s really just because now that I’ve got the photos from my old computer on the new one, I really needed to put through a senior picture print order I’d received just after the computer crashed!

Sorry. You know I had to go there, though.

Anyways. This is Maxwell. Naming credit goes fully to Tatianna! And I’m going to put this out in the open: I respect Maxwell too much to let him become a complete mess of unorganized pictures and unnamed files. From here on out, I will be ORGANIZED with my images. Right down to naming my food folders with the names of what they contain. And we’re starting right off with “OrangeBulghurSalad”. You’ll see why soon…but I think it’s pretty self explanatory.

But first.

I did something I never thought I’d do today. What you see in the blender above is a mish-mosh of black beans, orange zest, orange juice, almond butter, my computer is making noises and I don’t know what they are, parsely, garlic and other weird things. I was a little queasy thinking about it.

But no fear. It was hummus. Weird hummus. But sometimes, you’ve just gotta trust people.

When I saw the Black Bean and Orange Hummus in Eat, Drink and Be Vegan I skipped on by.

When Daniel suggested I make it to have with my sweet potato obsession, I considered it before grimmacing again and passing.

When I saw the grocery store had no hummus and I’m all out, I knew I’d have to suck it up and make my own.

When I realized there was no way my blender could puree chickpeas like the folks at Cedars can, I grumbled, sucked it up, and made the damn black bean hummus. Because black beans are softer. And I’m on a zesting kick anyways, remember?

I’d probably like this hummus better if someone made it for me and I didn’t know that I was eating a puree of black beans, garlic, almond butter and orange. But as it is, it’s okay. I think I’d prefer it sans garlic, though.

Somebody call the news, I just said sans garlic! That is earth-shattering, my friends.

But while we’re on the topic of what goes good for sweet potato dippage, I don’t think I’ve quite told you all my true passion for this barbecue sauce:

Good old Grandpa Jim’s. You know something’s good when the brand starts with Grandpa or Uncle.

…our original BBQ sauce…best used on meatloaf, pulled pork, chicken, ribs, venison and more.

And sweet potatoes. He forgot to mention sweet potatoes. This BBQ sauce (which was developed just a drive away, I might add – which makes it even mo’ betta’) has me so spoiled rotten that I tried another brand the other day and had to spit it out. It wasn’t attractive. And no, the sauce wasn’t “technically bad,” as my sister had no problem gulping it down.

Anyways. Enough rambling. (…but you know me and you probably know that even after saying “enough,” I’ll continue to do so…)

For Valentine’s Day last year, I received a Bob’s Red Mill Cookbook.

Before you say “awww! how sweet!” it was from my mother. Which is still sweet, but not awww how sweet, you know?

For some reason, I’ve been a bit…tardy…going through it. This is quite unusual for me. But, I think a large part of it has to do with the fact that back when I received it, I wasn’t as comfortable altering a recipe to make it “animal friendly” or a little healthier. Now that I am, I think I have a brand new appreciation for the book.

I might even go so far as to consider it a “grain bible.” There are so many recipes that utilize various flours, grains, cooking methods and a wide array of flavors, too. I flipped through it the other night, not expecting to find much, but fell in love with about five recipes in a row, and then had to stop browsing because my imagination was running too wild.

The first one that caught my eye was a recipe involving rice, chicken and a orange vinaigrette. I decided I’d tweak it just a bit, and utilize bulgur wheat, tempeh and keep the vinaigrette pretty much the same.

This salad is wonderfully refreshing – it can be enjoyed either hot or cold, and I love it over a bed of mushrooms and greens, but I bet it would be wonderful wrapped in a large collard leaf or a wheat wrap.

There’s a couple different routes you could take with the tempeh preparation. In the instructions, I tell you how I did it, which was lightly boiling for five minutes and then panfrying. If you’re against boiling things, by all means – skip that step. If you’d prefer your tempeh boiled for the full ten minutes to remove any trace of bitterness, by all means, do that.

Bulgur and Tempeh Salad with Orange-Dijon Dressing

adapted slightly from Bob’s Red Mill

serves 2 as a main, 3-4 as a side

  • 1/2 block tempeh, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 t. basil oil
  • 1/2 c. bulgur wheat
  • 1 large orange, juiced
  • 1 orange, cut into sections
  • 1 t. whole-seed dijon mustard
  • 1 t. honey (if veganizing, I’m sure maple syrup would be a wonderful substitute)
  • 1/2 T. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 of a medium red onion, finely diced
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 1 t. dried chives (fresh would be even better)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • walnuts, to garnish

Prepare the bulgur: bring 1 cup of water to a boil. Once boiling, turn off heat and pour in the bulgur. Stir once and cover. Allow to sit 10-15 minutes to absorb all the water.

Prepare the dressing: Whisk together juice of orange, mustard, honey and vinegar. Set aside.

Prepare the tempeh: Bring a pot of water to a boil. Once boiling, place the tempeh pieces in the boiling water and simmer for five minutes (ten if you want it more tender and less bitter) After five minutes, drain and toss with the basil oil. Heat a small saute pan over medium-high heat and transfer the tempeh to the pan. Pour half of the dressing over and stir to coat. Continue to heat until dressing is absorbed. Remove from heat.

To combine: In a bowl, combine the diced onion, pressed garlic, dried chives, orange sections, salt, pepper, cooked bulgur and tempeh. Toss to combine and then stir in the remaining dressing. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

May be served warm or cold – top with walnuts, if desired.

Uh-yuhm.

So, I made orange black-bean hummus today by combining black beans, almond butter and oranges – weirdest things I’ve ever combined to make something edible. What’s the “scariest” ingredients you’ve ever combined to make something surprisingly tasty?

20 Comments

Filed under cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe

20 responses to “Bulgur and Tempeh Salad with Citrus

  1. lovely! I bookmark tempeh recipes as soon as I see them, cause hey tempeh usually gets the short end of the stick in most situations.

  2. I don’t think they were necessarily “scary” but I mixed white wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, avocado, tahini, salt and OJ to form pretty much the greatest salad dressing I’ve ever eaten ever (much thanks to Gena @ Choosing Raw).

    I’ve also blended sesame seeds, carrots and raisins (it’s what you use when you don’t have dates, of course) with some OJ to make one heck of a smoothie.

  3. Maxwell! You know I love that name since that is my youngest son’s name! When I put sugar in my hummus to make it a sweet cinnamon dip, I felt like that was pretty weird. One of those times where it tastes good, but you know what it is, so you don’t know that it should taste good.

  4. Very flattering photo of you, probably my favorite yet! šŸ˜‰

    And this salad… I want to make it, but citrus is going to kill me. šŸ˜¦

    ā¤ ā¤

  5. Well, I didn’t personally make it, but Trader Joe’s started carrying this hummus guacamole that sounded gross when I first saw it. But my mom bought some and it’s actually really good. Although it might be weird that I slathered it on whole grain bread with chedder cheese and cilantro…
    ā¤

  6. Wowzer that is a brave combination! I would looove to try that one – I’m not always that brave, but my tempeh/maple/banana/cashew butter mix is pretty weird…I think!?

  7. Haha that photo cracked me up! Would be cool if people had eyes like that šŸ˜›

    I rarely ever put “scary” ingredients together. I like to stick with what I know in case I don’t like it. Hmmm I need to start living dangerously…

    ALTHOUGH, I do put curry powder in my cheese toastie but that’s not all that weird.

    xxx

  8. WOW! That salad looks awesome! I am wanting to try tempeh so badly right now!
    ā¤ that pic of you! haha

  9. wow! great combo! one time i think i blended tofu with noosh and berries and it totally sucked. DONT DO IT

  10. What happened last night?!?!?! The Bruins pulled it out. Congrats dearie, we’ll get you next time!

    Your sweet potato is leaving me salivating. I’m starving right now and don’t have time to oven-bake so microwave it is!

    And thanks for leaving me some amazing comments lately. I truly consider you a friend even though we’ve never met!

  11. Black Bean Hummas?! I’m all over it! Delish. šŸ™‚

  12. Hahahaha that screen is AWESOME. So big, I love it. It really is like a TV!

    I’m not very adventurous when it comes to mixing weird flavors, but I do think that anything tastes good with sugar. Hence why I can eat frosting, fruit tart, peppermint bark and cookies all in the same sitting šŸ™‚

  13. I’ve jsut started recently to start naming my food pictures – I don’t know why I never did before!

  14. Haha I love the photobooth picture! I have too much fun playing around with photobooth on my mac. The strangest thing I’ve ever made was probably a green monster. I was a little scared putting spinach into my smoothie but now I’m in love.

  15. I didn’t know that about boiling tempeh! I’m still not super keen on its flavour, so I’ll have to give that a try. I definitely want to try that salad though. I love citrusy flavoured salads!

    I’m pretty boring when it comes to food combos. But the other day I mixed plain yogurt with Thai seasoning and it made an awesome veggie dip! I guess that’s not too weird, but it’s weird for my standards. šŸ˜›

  16. orange zest and almond in hummus? that sounds crazy

  17. hmmm… peanut butter and chickpeas to make hummus??

  18. Mmm…I love tempeh, but I mostly eat it “raw” in sandwich form. I never would have thought of turning it into a recipe like this one, but I’m bookmarking it because it sounds delish! šŸ˜€

  19. Another shout out? Man, I feel like a celebrity O_O

    I miss bulgur! It’s been awhile since I’ve had it… to be honest I kind of forgot about it šŸ˜› I did have sweet potatoes for lunch today though, and they were divine. Is that parsley or celantro on your sweetie? I kind of hate both >.<

  20. With so many awesome things in this post, the mustard jumps out at me ’cause it’s Hannaford! ā¤ Love Hannaford!! hehe

Leave a Reply

