Stuffed Mushwooms

It seems as though every time I post about a current craze I have – I soon after lay off. My last post about zesting?

Yeah – I haven’t had orange or any other kind of zest for that matter in my pancakes for the past two days.

Uh-yuht. Just some good old-fashioned banana and fig pancakes. Maybe gushing about one obsession makes me realize all of my obsessions of the past? Because really – once one is reminded how amazing figs are – especially when paired with bananas and maple syrup and peanut butter mousse – there is no abandoning them…unless it’s for something zesty.

Β I really ought to do a pancake post. Because you guys obviously don’t see them enough. (cough sarcasm cough) Really, though – everytime I post a recipe, I end up changing it twenty more times and you never know how in the hay I’m making them!

Anyways. I figure I posted about one obsession on Tuesday – I may as well post about another of my ongoing obsessions today. I’ve briefly introduced it a while back and you may or may not be surprised to know that it’s still an obsession of mine.

Red onion sauteed in olive oil + sliced white mushrooms + salt and peppah + mix of honey and dijon mustard, on a bed of what looks to be grass from someone's backyard. Topped with toasted walnuts. (topping things with walnuts is an obsession for another post.)

In case you can’t tell (and I wouldn’t fault you for it) I’m talking about mushwooms.

Mushrooms. Fungus. Fungii. Whatever you want to call them, I love them. I’m pretty easily satisfied, too – usually opting for the inexpensive white mushrooms or baby bellas. I do love a ‘bella burger – but that just screams grilling to me, not winter. And I can’t yet dish out the moolah for the expensive dried mushrooms. One day my obsession will probably get to that level, though.

You know what else I do like it’s my job? Add about five million ingredients into a dish and make it more complicated than it really needs to be.

I refer to it as “reinventing the wheel.” My intention while making stuffed mushrooms was to KISS. Or, keep it simple, stupid. Everyone knows that acronym, right?

Anyways – I think I sort of achieved that…but now that I think about it more, I realize maybe I didn’t – because I could have just as easily added sliced mushrooms to the filling I prepared, rather than getting the oven involved and deciding to stuff the mushrooms.

But really, where’s the fun in that?

Really, though, I kept these simple. You don’t believe me? It’s mainly four ingredients! I’m going to trust that you’ve got Italian seasoning living in your cupboard so I’m not counting that. And for that matter, I’m not counting onions or garlic, either. So it’s four. We’ll just say I never learned to count properly.

Or something.

Quinoa Stuffed Mushrooms

serves 1

  • 4 medium-large white mushrooms
  • 1/4 c. (dry) quinoa
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1/2 of a small red onion, diced
  • 2 small cloves garlic, minced or pressed
  • 2 T. tomato sauce
  • 2 T. hummus (I used Forty Spice)
  • 1/2 t. Italian seasoning

(have you ever seen an ingredients list from me so short?!)

Preheat the oven to 375*. Remove the stems from the white mushrooms and set aside – don’t discard. Place the mushrooms stem-side down in a glass baking dish and bake for ten minutes.

While baking, heat olive oil in a small-medium pan and prepare quinoa as package instructs. Dice the mushroom stems. When the oil is heated, add in the onions and sautee approx.5 minutes, until slightly golden. Add in the garlic and sautee one more minute. Add in diced mushroom stems and season with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. Sautee until slightly tender before adding in the pasta sauce. Stir to combine. Add to the prepared quinoa and add in the hummus. Stir to combine.

Spoon into the baked mushrooms, making sure to pour out/wipe up any water in the baking dish. Bake cap-side down in the 375* oven for 15-20 minutes. If desired, sprinkle tops with breadcrumbs.

Yum-O. I love mushrooms.

And for dessert?

I had to redeem myself after underbaking the banana bread I made the other day (I even baked it 20m longer than instructed!) so I made Vive le Vegan’s PB & Chocolate Bars. I think they’ll be too chocolatey and sweet for my liking (based on the sampling I did while making them) but my mom’s already tried one and said it was really good.

***

The B’s play tonight. I was really tempted to make Boston baked beans for the occasion, but just wasn’t feeling they’d go with the mushrooms too well. I hope I didn’t jinx ourselves.

And guess what? I finally settled on a desk for the iMac. Which is supposed to be here tomorrow! The computer, not the desk. The desk probably won’t be here til late next week because I took ten fweaking days picking one out because I’m apparently too picky. Apparently, I was hoping I could find one that could hop, jump, sing and dance for me. Maybe even do my homework and write some essays.

So basically, what I’m saying is, I’ll soon have a computer but it won’t even matter because I’ll have no place to put it.

Yippee.

25 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, recipe, Uncategorized

25 responses to “Stuffed Mushwooms

  1. I just finished eating a pancake lol and it’s 5:00 pm here! It was a snack pancake, ok? πŸ™‚ I used to HATE mushrooms with a passion but I’m slowly starting to like them again. I guess it really depends on the way they’re prepared. Yours look tasty!

  2. Seriously, those mushrooms are a work of art! Love them! Baked beans sound good to me…when should I be over?

  3. Mushrooms are a thing that I will pretty much add to anything for “extra bulk”. I love them that much. I do love stuffed ones- but I’m a little too lazy for that when cooking solo…

  4. Little Bookworm

    Love the sound of that mushroom recipe. Thanks for posting it! πŸ™‚

  5. The mushrooms look gorgeous and all – but man do mushrooms bug me! I like them raw, in small and perfect-looking quantities, but otherwise, they’re always the thing i’d eat first on my plate, to get it out of the way…I still wish you’d cook for me though πŸ™‚

  6. I LOVE the idea of stuffing mushrooms with quinoa! Why have I never thought of that!

  7. I LOVE stuffed mushrooms! Never thought to put quinoa in the mix..very nice!

  8. Stefanie

    Mushrooms are one of my addictions along with hummus. The texture of mushrooms along with the flavor is what I like. Although, I am not a big fan of the white button mushrooms. I need to give your stuffed mushroom recipe a try. It is funny how you are over your orange craze after posting about it.

  9. I love mushrooms and these look nothing short of amazing. I thought my husband was the only one who said KISS–keep it simple, stupid. πŸ™‚

  10. Colleen

    As always, your pancakes look SO delicious, as does the chocolate peanut butter bar πŸ™‚

  11. I always look forward to reading your posts. They always make me smile! YUM YUM YUMMY PANCAKES! You should do a whole post on pancakes — that would be AWESOME! πŸ˜‰

  12. Those look delcicious! I have actually started liking mushrroms within the last year! I really want to try pizza stuffed mushrroms as well. Like with pizza sauce, cheese, etc!

  13. I actually had stuffed mushrooms at the school cafeteria yesterday that blew me out of the water. They were filled with onions, garlic, feta and black beans. If you can’t tell, the food here is way better than anything I could have expected πŸ˜‰

    I hope your iMac comes on time! I love mine so much that I am actually really excited for you πŸ˜›

  14. Maybe posting about an obsession is the blog equivalent of a marriage license!! (You know, the way couples are often getting along fine and dandy, and then they go and get married, and something about that piece of paper makes everything blow up and they get divorced.)

    I ADORE mushrooms!!! I even love that earthy smell of them cooking, which makes my dad flee the room and accuse me of trying to choke him. Handy weapon to have in the arsenal… πŸ˜‰

    ❀ ❀

  15. teenagehealthfreak

    i love bellas! never heard of that “kiss” saying- that’s pretty good! i’m glad your desk is on the way! πŸ™‚

  16. The peanut butter chocolate bars looks delicious as do your pancakes. I always over complicate recipes too! I need to remember “kiss” πŸ™‚

  17. GIVE ME YOUR LIFE- I need to eat everything on this page!

  18. I don’t give mushrooms enough credit! I usually never buy them because I don’t find that they add too much to a meal. I do love a good stuffed mushroom though. πŸ˜€

  19. Ewww mushrooms. I hate to say it, but they’re the ONE veggie I HATE. Seriously, HATE. I’m with you on most of the other obsessions, though πŸ™‚

  20. I’ve never thought about making stuffed mushrooms! looks delicious, I must try it πŸ™‚

  21. I hope your desk arrives soon! You are going to love your computer! We are thrilled with all of ours. And I am in love with mushrooms right now too. I love what you did with this stuffed mushrooms recipe. Bring on the quinoa! Thank you for sharing this with me. I hope your weekend bursts forth in joy and hope!

  22. I. Love. Mushrooms. Especially the stuffed variety! I LOVE that these are stuffed with quinoa! I am SO making these in the future! πŸ˜€

  23. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Alright, I don’t even LIKE mushrooms that much, but stuffed with quinoa? I think I could get on board with that.

    The PB bars look TDF! “Too sweet”?! [Almost] no such thing!

  24. Those look so yummy! I haven’t had stuffed mushrooms in so long, I must make a trip to the store now. Thanks for the idea πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

