Orange Date Cookies + GIVEAWAY!!!

I’ve been hiding a deep, dark secret.

That deep, dark secret is also ooey, gooey and deliciously sweet.

I’ve briefly mentioned my adoration for date syrup – but this type of relationship doesn’t deserve a brief mention.

It deserves an award and a plaque. I don’t love just anything, you know – and for something to compete with maple syrup, you know you’ve got a serious situation on your hands.

When Colleen at Organics are for Everyone contacted me to see if I was interested in trying their date syrup – my first response was the same as it would be had someone asked me a relatively inappropriate question pertaining to what kind of business a bear does in the woods.

…and then of course, my honesty got the best of me, and I instead let her know what I’ve actually tried their date syrup before, as the kind Tatianna had sent me some. I have nowhere to buy it in stores around here! Of course, I did make sure to mention that I would more than willingly welcome more samples if she so chose ๐Ÿ˜‰

The possibilities with date syrup are endless. I liken it to maple syrup because it is a natural sweetener – but the taste is not alike at all, as I’m sure you can imagine. It is far less sweet, being derived wholly from the amazing date.

And that makes it wonderful to drizzle on pancakes!

Back when civilization began, there was date syrup. Stone tablets containing the earliest documented recipes in existence portray this flowing fruit of the date palm as an essential sweetener in the ancient world. It was, and still is, a delectable, complex fruit syrup with a variety of uses and nutritional benefits.

Its uses are many. The syrupโ€™s rich flavor makes for an ideal substitution to processed sugar in your favorite baking and cooking recipes. Use it also as a topping with anything that would normally go with honey or syrup. The benefits are also numerous. A mineral content including potassium, magnesium and iron, make this a great alternative to sweeten up recipes without adding sugar.

Did you know dates have more potassium ounce for ounce then a banana? Forget about stuffing your cheeks like a monkey to get rid of those post-workout cramps! Instead enjoy some delightful date syrup in a protein shake, smoothie, or on its own, and enjoy every sweet bit as it absorbs into your system like sweet nourishment. Dates are also a great source of iron and magnesium as well as an excellent source of energy without adding a speck of anything to them. Use date syrup instead of high-sugar sports bars and drinks to replenish and recharge fatigued muscles.

And then, of course, there’s all the baking you can do with it! Its’ unique flavor lends itself well to cookies and bars, and naturally, I have been putting this theory to use!

When I made these date bars, I replaced the maple syrup the recipe called for with date syrup. It’s only fitting, right?! The substitute was a winner – while I haven’t yet tried them with maple syrup, this extra-datey version was a winner with everyone in my household – a rare occurence!

But my personal favorite recipe I’ve made with date syrup?

I suppose it could be considered a cross between SuperCharge Me cookies as well as the previously mentioned date bars: Orange-Date Cookies!

If you want to use half the dough to eat raw and the other half as a luxurious body scrub because it smells so wonderful, I won’t tell anyone. It can be our secret.

When I tasted one of these cookies hot out of the oven, I wasn’t sold on my final product. I thought they just needed a bit more zazz – maybe a touch mroe date syrup, a touch more orange juice.

But after letting them sit a couple hours, or even better, a day or two? I am in love. They are very subtly sweet – but the orange really shines through and plays well with the texture of the soft, chewy dates baked into their insides. The cashew butter is a wonderul compliment, too – it does not compete with the flavors, but rather, nicely complements them. In fact, my favorite way to enjoy these cookies? Smothered with a bit more cashew butter and had alongside a hot cup of coffee, tea or hot cocoa.

Orange-Date Cookies

yields 15-20 cookies

adapted from Vive le Vegan’s SuperCharge Me cookies

  • 1 c. quick oats
  • 2/3 c. white whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 t. sea salt
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/8-1/4 t. ground cloves
  • 1/8 t. ground nutmeg
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1/3 c. chopped medjool dates
  • 1/4 c. dried cranberries (or extra dates)
  • zest of one medium orange
  • juice of one medium orange
  • 1/3 c. milled flaxseed
  • 1/4 c. date syrup
  • 2-3 T. almond milk
  • 3 T. cashew butter
  • 2 T. coconut oil, softened

Preheat the oven to 350*.

In a medium sized bowl, combine the flour, oats, spices and baking powder. Stir in the orange zest, dates and cranberries, making sure the dates are separated. In a separate, smaller bowl, combine the milled flaxseed, juice of the orange, cashew butterย and date syrup. Pour the wet into the dry and then add the coconut oil. You may need to add 2-3 T. almond milk, depending on how much juice your orange gave you. I think I had to add a tablespoon or two? You’ll want a stiff dough, but not crumbly.

Roll into balls and flatten slightly before placing on a sprayed cookie sheet.

Bake for ten minutes, cool for one minute on sheet, and then remove to cooling racks.

As I mentioned – I enjoyed these even more the next day, and especially smeared with more cashew butter!!

Now it’s your turn.

Do you want to win some date syrup? Of course you do. And you can!! Colleen graciously has offered me the opportunity to host an Organics are for Everyone giveaway.

Want to enter? I’ll give you a couple chances! And no, I’m not going to make you add me to your reader or follow me. Not to say that wouldn’t be lovely…

1. Follow OAFE on Twitter (@datesyruprocks) and tweet about the giveaway in some way, shape or form, linking back to this post.

2. Comment on this post with something relating to date syrup – how you would use it, if you have tried it, a joke involving date syrup, a fact, something to crack me up, you get the point.

3. Link back to this giveaway in your next blog post.

Additionally, it’d be awesome if you came up with and then posted a recipe involving date syrup (either on your own blog or in my comments if you don’t have one) but I realize you may be using this giveaway as your chance to get your hands on date syrup, rendering that potentially impossible, but it’s another option ๐Ÿ™‚

Make sure you post a separate comment for each entry! The winner, whom I will randomly choose next weekend using a random number generator, will recieve two (!!) jars of date syrup!

Unfortunately, this giveaway is for people in the contiguous 48 states only. Sorry!

36 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, recipe

36 responses to “Orange Date Cookies + GIVEAWAY!!!

  1. How cool! I’d love to try it because I want to give dates a second chance. I’ve only had one and it was NOT a good experience.

  2. You know I trust anything you stand behind! It sounds delicious! We are huge fans of dates here. I best that would be good in rice pudding with dates! Now I am craving dates!

  3. I would try it drizzed on my oatmeal. I absolutely love dates! When I lived in Israel, I’d buy a huge bag of locally grown dates and eat them really quickly.

  4. I would totally just use that in cookie recipes and oatmeal fo shoo!
    I don’t have a twitter tho! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I’d use a out-DATED oatmeal recipe! haha and add dates plus the syrup. lolol.
    and I just put it in my blog post!
    So yeah! I can share it on my facebook?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Amanda T.

    I follow OAFE on Twitter @adthomas and tweeted the giveaway. http://twitter.com/#!/adthomas/status/21727700561432577

  6. Amanda T.

    I would use it to try the Orange date Cookies recipe. They look absolutely delicious!

  7. I’d love to try date syrup!!! I’m working on natural granola bars and have been using honey or maple syrup so far..but it’d be fun to maybe develope a new flavor using date syrup. Thanks for the chance! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Pingback: It’s A Blizzard… | Snack Girl Goes Healthy

  9. Lexi

    First, I would buy a million jars of date syrup.
    Then, I’d poor them in HUGH JASS swimming pool.
    And then, I would proceed to swim in my HUGH JASS swimming pool filled with delicious date syrup.
    Who needs a swimming pool of money when ya have date syrup?
    OMNOMNOMNOM

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. OOHHH I could so see my self with this stuff. A lovely “breakfast date” with some pancakes & scrambled eggs in front of my fireplace! That just sounds heavenly to me:) I do love some pancakes!

  11. Michelle

    I have been wanting to try date syrup forever!!! I think that it would be great in homemade granola, granola bars, smoothies, homemade nut milk…pretty much anything!

  12. So exciting! I’m pretty sure I would make your date cookies with this syrup!!!

  13. Oh I’d LOVE to try this stuff. Dates are the bomb, so obviously…can you imagine how good a syrup-stuffed date would be? I die.

  14. I’d love to win a bottle of date syrup! I’ve never tried it before but I love dates. I’d use it in many ways like drizzled on oatmeal or pancakes, in cookies, or smoothies, or granola…the possibilities are endless!

  15. You know, I actually have seen date syrup … not this one (I’m not even sure if I can have this one!), I don’t think, but I wondered what on earth I was supposed to do with date syrup! Replacement for maple syrup? Duh.

    โค โค

  16. I’d never even heard of date syrup before you mentioned it!! I’d love to win some!

  17. Kristina

    I love dates! I’ve never tried date syrup so I’d love to win some. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’d be good mixed in with some peanut butter or almond butter and then drizzle it on some oatmeal or pancakes.

  18. Date syrup…send me some please! I have been CRAVING pancakes, and I can’t imagine anything better than a thick stack with some of this syrup dripping down the sides. What a treat this would be! Thank you also for all the nutrition facts about dates. I had no idea they have so much potassium! No wonder my body craves larabars after working out. I hope you had a lovely weekend. Please have a happy and joyous week!

  19. Katharina

    LOL!!! Oh my gosh. I seriously love the way you write. Also, at first when I read the thing about the stone age I was like whaaaat? I am the most gullible person ever. So I’m going to believe you ;p Those cookies sound amazing and that date syrup…

    THAT DATE SYRUP IS MY DREAM COME TRUE!!!!!

    XO I’ve missed you!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  20. I love wafffles! This would be the perfect topping to add some serious deliciousness to a plain jane whole grain waffle.

    Oh, I’d make the cookies too. Maybe waffles topped with date syrup and a side of date cookies? Sounds heavenly ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. I love dates but i’ve never heard of date syrup… I bet it would be good as a molasses substitute!

  22. laura

    I would honestly die for this date syrup. YUM. I love dates more than anything and would love to just drizzle this over some vanilla custard..mmmmm!

  23. Ashlei

    Following OAFE on twitter

  24. Ashlei

    I’d definitely make your date squares! Since my mom first introduced me to dates a couple years ago I’ve loved them – I used to always pick them out of her homemade granola but not eat any of the rest ๐Ÿ˜‰

  25. I would love date syrup! I’ve only tried dates one time, and it was marvelous, especially with OB. I would just only eat date syrup, and maybe swirl it on errrrthing.

  26. Colleen

    Those pancakes, bars, and cookies look amazing and so healthy! I’ll definitely have to try date syrup sometime

  27. would love to win, I love making my own date syrup but this would make life easier! I also love you but have not commented in a while boo :(<3<3

  28. Wow.. those date cookies look delish! Your such a good cook ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

  29. Oh I just bought a HUGE tub of dates at costco! Thanks for all the ideas (:
    I especially like the date bars.
    I wonder if you can somehow make youre own date syrup? I’ve never seen it in stores so I’m guessing it’s pretty hard to find

  30. Shelby

    Date syrup would be delicious drizzled over scones or pancakes. Great giveaway… and love your blog!

  31. Cheryl C

    Date syrup amazingly+ delicous= Bathroom love

  32. Stefanie

    I would use the date syrup to make a breakfast/snack cake. It sounds like an interesting product.

  33. Pingback: Oh Dear Sweet Tooth, Don’t Steer Me Wrong | Katharina’s Food Adventures

  34. Pingback: It’s Time Forrr…a Giveaway! | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

