Cranberry Almond Coconut Balls

I’m pretty beat.

I’m ready for Christmas so that I can just relax, and work will stop being a whirlwind of people scrambling to get massive projects done at the last minute. I work in n industry where people being “last minute lucys” turns into our problem if we can’t make a 2-day job happen in 1-hour.

Of course, the 2-day job in 1 hour could potentially happen if everybody wasn’t working on the same deadline.

Such is life. There is a calm after the storm just like there is one before it.

And at least I had time to make these this weekend.

DSC_4866

After making my Mounds Balls, I quickly realized 20 balls for 5 hungry people (some going to families) was not going to cut it – especially at the rate that those balls are demanded. I made some again the next morning.

DSC_4804DSC_4806

But, you may know me enough by now that I couldn’t just do the same ol’ Mounds Balls as I made the night before. When my eye caught the dried cranberries I’d picked up, I decided to work them in there, too.

DSC_4808DSC_4811

DSC_4810

Part of me also really wanted to work in some almond butter, but I resisted on the basis that even I am not completely sold on eating almond butter straight up, and so didn’t think I could convince anyone else of it, either.

DSC_4812

Then I wanted to make another batch with peanut butter – but aren’t there already peanut butter balls made with sugar and graham crackers and rolled in chocolate? Buckeyes or something? So I passed.

I like to remain relatively original. Hence why I don’t bake things like chocolate chip cookies. It breeds for comparison, and I’m really not that good of a baker. I dare you to find someone who doesn’t have a “favorite” chocolate chip cookie. Now think of how many people you know that have a favorite lemon poppyseed cookie. I rest my case. I will never be able to compete against people’s favorite chocolate chip cookies, no matter how good mine are.

DSC_4813

I used (and recommend) marcona almonds for this recipe – but I’m sure any almonds would be fine. I just enjoy the salty, smooth marcona almonds to contrast the sweetness of the coconut, and cranberry.

And FWIW, my disclaimers about this recipe are the same as they were for the Mounds Balls. I am in no way, shape or form declaring these to be healthified. They are, however, an enjoyable treat that gets you out of ay kind of trouble. Though maybe not quiiiiite as easily as the Mounds Balls do Winking smile 

DSC_4850

DSC_4851

Cranberry-Almond Coconut Balls

for 21 balls:

  • scant 3/4 c. confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 c. date syrup
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil, softened but not liquid
  • 1 c. finely shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 c. dried cranberries (I think mine were fruit juice-sweetened, though only because I have a terrible time finding unsweetened!)
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped marcona almonds
  • 1/2 bag dark chocolate chips
  • 1” square parafin wax, finely chopped
  • 1 square baker’s chocolate, finely chopped

Cream together the date syrup, sugar and coconut oil. When smooth, add in the coconut, cranberries and almonds. Mix to combine, then chill for approx. 30 minutes.

When chilled, line a small baking sheet with waxed paper. Roll the coconut mixture into about tablespoon-sized balls, and place on the paper. Try and make sure they’re not touching. Freeze for at least an hour, or overnight.

When balls are frozen, set up a double boiler on the stove with the chocolate chips, wax and baker’s chocolate. Heat until smooth and thoroughly melted. When ready, remove from heat and drop the balls in a few at a time, using the spoon and your fingers to thoroughly coat. Place back on the waxed paper baking sheets when done, and chill/freeze when set.

I toasted some coconut and marcona almonds to sprinkle on top, too – which is entirely optional but an added touch. You’ll need to sprinkle it on a couple of seconds after you place the balls on the sheets, though, as the wax casues it to set pretty quick.

DSC_4861

DSC_4864

DSC_4871

I preferred these over the Mounds Balls, but most likely because I like “different” things.

What about you – do you like to break the mold, or do you tend to go with the flow?

16 Comments

Filed under baking, christmas, coconut, holiday, recipe

16 responses to “Cranberry Almond Coconut Balls

  1. It’s awesome that you break the mold and try to bake new things. It’s true, that’s how you become remembered or “single yourself” from the batch. Anybody can make a chocolate chip cookie, it takes real talent to make something new and make it taste amazing as well. Props- these look amazing!

  2. I want to put my mouth around your balls.

    I’m done.

  3. teenagehealthfreak

    definatly a mold breaker. with food , clothes, hair..you name it. i’m different. i know, i’m ready for Christmas to be here too!!!

  4. These look so great! I bet they’d make great gifts!

  5. I can only imagine how insane a photography place must be around this time of year. It would be like the mall… but worse!

    Do I like the break the mold or go with the flow? I’m not sure. I mean, dessert-wise I would much prefer a regular chocolate chip cookie than a crazy flavour, but my favourite thing to eat in the world is tahini mixed with date syrup which couldn’t be more against the grain. Haha!

  6. I love how unique your recipes always are! I grew up with my mom making pretty standard treats – chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cake, etc – but now that I’ve become interested in baking myself, I like to branch out a bit more.

    Customers can be so hard to deal with around the holiday season! Everyone gets so impatient and thinks their needs are the most important. :P I hope you survive these last few days of work!

  7. Colleen

    Those look SO delicious!

  8. I am also ready for Christmas day. The flurry of the holiday season doesn’t mean that work stops! I’ve been swamped with writing projects, and I still have xmas shopping to do. Ahh! But seeing these delightful treats made me realize that I need to take the time to do what I love today…I need to get into the kitchen and make some delicious culinary creation. I hope you have a peaceful afternoon. Stay warm and safe!

  9. Meg

    Those are adorable and look so good! I love cranberries — tart, flavorful and with a great texture.

  10. Wow that is so yummy, the photos explained it all!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  11. I love coconut — this recipe looks delicious.

  12. Well, is wax safe for consumption? I thought they were chiefly used for making candles. I maybe underexposed. Is it?
    Love the recipe though :)

    • Hello!
      While I don’t think I’d go around munching on a bar of wax- the small amount of parafin wax is safe in these candies. If you’re uncomfortable with that or don’t want to purchase a large box of wax just for these – I am sure you could easily leave out the wax. They’ll just take a little bit longer for the chocolate to harden/set up :)

Leave a Reply

