How to Become a Legend

My mom is a little bit of a legend. It is due solely to this one recipe lurking in her little black box.

DSC_4756

DSC_4758

My mom isn’t one of those women who is constantly baking. She’d rather be outside doing something, working around the house. She bakes a lot come Christmas time, and occasionally during the winter months. It is a rare sight to see her baking in the summer.

She’s made these Mounds Balls every Christmas for the past…lot of years.

No one – no one – lets her forget it.

My bosses don’t let me forget it, either. I hear about them all year…joking “you can do whatever you want if you bring coconut balls!”

“Sorry, that’s only at Christmas time!” is the constant reply.

Nothing really makes these inherently Christmas-y except for the aforementioned reason that she only bakes this time of year.

And it’d never occurred to me before this year that maybe I could try making them myself. I mean, I wouldn’t mind being a legend!

DSC_4768

I even had some tricks up my sleeve. If I were Bobbette Flay, this is where I’d ask her Are you ready for a Throwdown?”

We’re both winners, though.

DSC_4770DSC_4771

A few things before we get started:

  • Only make these if you want an “out” out of every wrong thing you do. An instant way to make people forgive you.
  • Only make these if you want to instantly convince people to give you your way.
  • Only make these if you want to become legendary.
  • Only make these if you’ve got room for freezing a lot of balls. (We’re making balls, here. There’s going to be balls jokes.)
  • One last thing: I’m usually posting “healthified” recipes. Let me get this out of the way: this has not been healthified. In the least. They’re basically balls of sugar. And that’s totally okay. Like I mentioned yesterday, I’m totally satisfied after (half of) one, yet recognize how good they are Winking smile

DSC_4772DSC_4773

DSC_4774

DSC_4777DSC_4779

DSC_4780

Even making the original recipe with my mom, I’d prefer them before coating in chocolate, and she’s the same. It’s now becoming clear where my “I don’t care for chocolate” tastebuds come from.

Still, I coated them because I realize the large majority of people would much rather have them covered in dark chocolate than a random little ball of sugar and coconut.

DSC_4760DSC_4766DSC_4764

Added bonus? They’re easy. A little time consuming since they can’t really be made in one sitting – but easy.

Mounds Balls

Slightly adapted from an old Taste of Home recipe for Mounds Balls

for 21 balls:

  • 1 c. confectioner’s sugar
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil
  • 1 c. finely shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 c. flaked, sweetened coconut
  • 1/8 c. sweetened condensed almond milk (recipe below)
  • 1/4 t. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. finely chopped roasted almonds
  • 1/2 bag dark chocolate chips
  • 2 squares (2 oz.) unsweetened baking chocolate
  • 1” square of parafin wax
  • optional: additional almonds and coconut, toasted, for topping after dipping in chocolate

1. Sift the confectioner’s sugar into a large mixing bowl and then add in the coconut oil. It’s okay to microwave it a few seconds to get it softened, but you don’t want it runny. Mix on high until “creamed.” Some notes: 1. You will need an electric blender for this. 2. It will take a while, but it will come together just before you admit defeat. 3. You’ll probably want to start slowly and work your way up to extra fast. Unless you want sugar in places it shouldn’t be.

Don’t ask me how I know any of that.

DSC_4770DSC_4771

2. Add in the coconut, condensed milk, vanilla and almonds. Blend just to combine. Chill the mixture in the fridge for about half an hour.

3. Once chilled, line a small baking sheet with wax paper. Roll the mixture into approx. tablespoon-sized balls and place on baking sheet. You won’t want them touching. Once all are done (I got 24, though I was a bit inconsistent with size) freeze for at least 30 minutes.

DSC_4783

4. Once your balls are frozen, set up a double boiler by placing a small-medium sized bowl over a saucepan with simmering water. Melt the chocolate chips, bakers chocolate and wax. You’ll want to make sure you shave the wax and bakers chocolate pretty finely, or else your chips will be melted but you’ll still have hunks of wax. Again – not that I would know anything about that.

DSC_4852DSC_4854

DSC_4858

Make sure you’re careful not to let the water come up the sides and ruin your chocolate, too. One drop and you’ve gotta start over!

Once it’s smooth and ready, remove from heat (but keep on top of the hot water so it stays warm) and drop in a couple coconut balls at once. Spoon the chocolate over so it’s entirely coated, and then remove, setting back on the wax-lined sheets. Nothing fancy, folks – just use your spoon and the fingers!

If the chocolate starts to thicken, just put it back over heat. Once all are done, freeze or chill until set. Optional: I toasted some coconut and almonds that I sprinkled over top. This needs to be done almost immediately after dipping the balls, though, or else it won’t stick.

DSC_4859DSC_4861

DSC_4876

DSC_4878

Only thing better than these mounds balls? The rendition I came up with when feeling like breaking the mold:

DSC_4864

You’ll see that tomorrow Winking smile

Now…go make yourself a legend!

EDITED to add the Sweetened Condensed Non-Dairy Milk recipe that I forgot!

Simply simmer 1/4 c. brown sugar (lightly packed) with 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk, 1 T. earth balance and 1 t. vanilla extract until thickened. Stir/whisk often.

18 Comments

Filed under baking, christmas, coconut, holiday, recipe

18 responses to “How to Become a Legend

  1. These look and sound delicious. Great photography. Thanks for sharing…

  2. kat

    Oh my lanta these look way too delicious!! I don’t think I would be able to stop eating them haha these would be so perfect for my bestie too. She is a coconut fanatic!!

  3. Yes, I think you would be a legend for making these – holy crap they look so good!

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    yum. i love coconut. its sooo good. can’t wait to see your variation. dude, you are already a legend. you have placed your pancake/waffle recipes in my hands..(well..you know) and i’m not ever giving those up. you see, when i make them at home..i’m like these are jess pancakes. so..yup. your the waffle/pancake legend person. and i’m not changing the recipes. 🙂

  5. Your mom has some pretty nice looking balls, too! :p Just had to…
    I’m actually going to pass this one on to my mom. Almond Joys are her favorite!

  6. Those balls sound AMAZING!! I always make fudge to give as Christmas gifts, which is pretty much sugar, butter and chocolate but it’s freaking amazing. And my grandmother used to always make peanut butter fudge too…. there are no words. NO words.
    And just to let you know, I am dropping a package in the mail for you in the morning (and praying it gets there before Christmas) and the card is actually attached to the front.
    Love ya girl!

  7. i dont quite have words for these. they are gorgeous and freaking amazing!

  8. I’m not surprised you and your mum are legends cos these look awesome!! 😀

  9. Those look amazing! From the recipe I’m guessing they taste kind of like a chocolate dipped macroon? (In canada, we call little mountains of sugary coconut macroons.. not those french cookie things :P) Very nice! Im not a coconut fan, but cover it in chocolate and I’ll probably love it.

  10. Jen

    Balls of sugar= winner in my book!!!

    Jen

  11. These look unbelievable! I can imagine how you can get out of major trouble with these!

  12. Ooh yum these look amazing! Is it just me or does everything taste better in ball form?

  13. I know about fifty thousand people who would rip my hands off to get these. Bookmarked. THANK YOU!

  14. Aaah I love family-traditional recipes like that 🙂 my mum has one for self saucing chocolate pudding, which she NEVER does (hasn’t done it for years) but the few times she did do it, my sister and I went crazzzy 🙂

  15. Pingback: Cranberry Almond Coconut Balls | Healthy Exposures

  16. Kim Burak

    Sweetened Condensed Almond Milk recipe???? Unable to find, please send me your recipe…I am very interested and this would be life changing for me & baking… Also have you tried to melt some coconut oil int your chocolate instead of wax, it’s hard @ room temp. and works. This is what real ICY Squares are made from.

  17. sweetie

    hello, love the mounds. yes, would you send the condensed milk recipe to me as well? thank you!

  18. Heidi

    I’m really curious about the sweetened condensed almond milk recipe too 😀 Did you post it somewhere else?

Leave a Reply

