What I Learned

Even though everyone else has probably been done with school for days, I am still wrapping up. I have until Monday night to have everything completed – but of course I’m planning on finishing everything this weekend. I didn’t even want to think about it all week. I did some little things, but I’m not kidding when I say my work weeks have bee get home – eat dinner – shower – blog – blog read/school work for half an hour – bed.

I did my nutrition final this afternoon. I didn’t do as well on it as I could and should have, but I sort of just wanted it to be over with. I should have waited and done it when I wasn’t thinking of other things, but alas…I still did learn some valuable things in that class:

  • I’m not going to die if I don’t have a carb – fat – protein at each meal even if it is most ideal. Chances are good that I’m still meeting all my requirements.
  • I eat a lot of food.
  • Coconut oil probably won’t give me wings.
  • Even if I don’t eat meat, I’m probably getting enough protein without even trying very hard.
  • I am borderline overdosing on manganese with all the whole grains I eat.
  • Sugar is sugar is sugar. It doesn’t matter if it’s from a “natural source” like maple syrup or molasses or what-have-you. Sugar is natural, anyways. It’s all still sugar and metabolized the same.
  • Nutrition is a little too science-heavy for me to want to pursue a career in it – I prefer to think of it as a passion.

Okay so I learned more – that’s moreso what had an effect o me psychologically, I guess. While you would think a class such as nutrition would encourage me to be more…I don’t know, “Strict”? with myself – it’s actually made me a little more lax. Not having protein at dinner? NBD. Using sugar instead of maple syrup? NBD.

DSC_4682

DSC_4687DSC_4688

Anyways. Today. Some fun extracts made their way ito my basket at the co-op yesterday. Usually they’re too high-priced for something I’ll get a kick out of once, but they were on sale and I couldn’t resist. Coffee extract  was one, and you’ll soon see the other.

I added it to my pancakes, but truth be told – the cashew butter and date syrup I drizzled on top stole the show and I completely forgot I put the extract in the batter!

DSC_4695

I spent my morning planning my attack before heading off to see Teddie, who was a superstar! And finally got a Christmas tree on the way home. It felt wrong, though – getting a tree without my mom and/or sister. That and there were only two trees left. It wasn’t like it was a big decision like it should be. We just haven’t had time to go this year!

My Bruins are trying so hard right now, man.  YES! Score.

DSC_4689DSC_4692

DSC_4694

Does anyone else like hockey? I’m not a big football watcher and pretty much just watch the Bruins games – but I’ve become really entranced with it lately.

Anyways. English muffins! I’ve had a craving since my mom’s been buying them like crazy lately and I had one last weekend. These Vermont Bread Company Spelt english muffins were so good – chewy, thick ad flavorful. I love spelt, though. I had it toasted and smothered with hummus, tomato, pickles and tempeh bacon.

DSC_4696

After my mom wrapped up her baking extravaganza in the kitch, it was all me. I started with Eat, Drink and Be Vegan’s Maple Pecan Sticky Blondies. 

Okay, this game has me way too distracted right now so I’m going to wrap this up quick. I hope this momentum stays this time!

Okay, I lied. I’m going to wrap this up now. But there’s a little teaser as to what’s coming – along with a recipe that you’ll only want to use if you want people to fall in love with you and think you’re the best thing since sliced bread.

Hopefully this post is a little bit coherent? I don’t feel like re-reading Winking smile

I had a good question, too – and now I don’t remember what it was…so istead I’ll ask you what you make if you want to impress?

18 Comments

Filed under baking, breakfast, lunch, pancakes

18 responses to “What I Learned

  1. Can’t wait to see the recipe that will impress !!!! I too love the Vermont Baking Company – i especially like the sprouted whole wheat bread!!!! Good luck on the rest of your schoolwork – just think Monday is almost here and then Christmas break !!!!! xo aimee

  2. I’m wondering who you are impressing. 🙂

    When I want to impress, I like to make something I KNOW I can make good!

  3. Diana

    Yes, someone else who likes hockey!!!

    I’m Canadian, so a love of hockey is basically something that you’re born with. As far as NHL goes, I’m not the biggest fan – more of a junior hockey kind of girl (I feel that the younger players put more passion into the game than the big league) and naturally, I am loud and proud when it comes time for World Juniors and the Olympics.

    In terms of NHL, I tend to follow a few players rather than teams, but I don’t mind cheering for Boston because they’ve got Lucic. He’s from where I live, so you gotta support the local boys 🙂 And he played on the local junior team… Doesn’t get better than that!

  4. kat

    I’m a huge hockey fan. I live in LA though so I’m all about the kings 🙂 I have never seen coffee extract in my life but it totally sounds like the best invention ever. I love coffee so much, the flavor and the smell!!

  5. I like how when things are on sale they have a tendency to hop into our carts much easier and faster. 😛 The things that you learned in your nutrition class I learned as well, I feel so smart now, haha. I’m not a hockey fan but according to my parents my middle name is named after a hockey player…

    I don’t think I’ve ever really had the chance to make something to impress anyone now that you bring up that question. Hmm, I think maybe I’ll try to impress with my Christmas dinner and let you know how it goes from there. 😉

  6. I feel like my nutrition class has made me a lot less strict too! We got a similar lecture about the whole “sugar is sugar is sugar” idea and now I don’t even care that much about avoiding HFCS, since it’s all the same as sugar when it gets absorbed.

    Are you making everything you have written down there? That’s a whole lotta baking!!!

  7. I hope you are almost wrapping up your work for this semester. My sister is studying to be a nurse and she has given me many helpful pieces of advice and knowledge about nutrition. It always interests me, but like you, I would much prefer it as a passion instead of a profession! When I want to impress people, I always make a delicious pear and walnut bundt cake. Everyone loves it (and I’m pretty fond of it too) Thank you for sharing with me. I hope you have a relaxing Sunday.

  8. i usually make some kind of layered bars… with lots of color and different textures and tastes!! woah! i love that coffee extract- how cool!

  9. Congrats on getting the exam done, even if you felt a bit disappointed – I am the same way, but now it’s over and like you’re saying, you learned things from it. I wouldn’t study nutrtion either but it’s interesting – like I’m doing that SCD and then some, and some people say honey is ok, sugar and ANY other sweetener – incl syrups, molasses, etc – is not. I just find it hard to believe that there could be a difference? But then again, being a celiac kind of stretches your credulity as well – something as yummy, scrummy and healthy as whole grains is NOT good for me. That’s just…wrong. Well 🙂

    If I wanted to impress, before, I would make a super delish dessert, like something really decadent. It just seems most complicated/show piece recipes involve meat, and I’m not fond of that, and cooking veggies for hours always seems like a bit of a waste to me because I like them better raw…but I’m definitely getting some of those veggie recipe books you’re using! Someday…:-)

    Still snowing here! This is the first wholly white december that I can remember – no kidding! Hope you’re having good times. And the horsies 🙂

  10. I’m very intrigued by the coffee extract and how I could work it into breakfast dishes. I’ve never seen it before but I’m on the hunt for it now that I know it exists.

  11. I’m sorry the exam didn’t go as well as you hoped, but at least it’s all done now 🙂 I would love love love to do nutrition as a career, but I think like you, it’d just be too science-y 😦 I like what you said about suagr – I totally agree! At the end of the day, it’s still sugar and it’ll probs still rot your teeth if you have too much. That’s the it!
    I make brownies or muffins or cake to impress 🙂

  12. I’ve found that over the past few months I have become a lot less strict with myself too. Obviously you know I struggle with the feelings of eating only healthy food and stuff, but I’m really starting to realize that sugar is just sugar and having the white refined stuff every now and then won’t make a single difference.

    By the way, I’ve been reading Teddie’s blog (which ALWAYS makes me smile!) and I wanted to congratulate you on the possible lessons! I didn’t know if I should comment there or here.. but whatever 😛 I’m really excited for you if you decide to go for it!

    What do I make if I want to impress? Salmon! I know you probably cringe hearing that being a vegetarian and all… but honestly people seem to be so scared of cooking salmon. It’s the easiest thing and it actually draws out some ‘ooohhs’ and ‘ahhhs’. Haha!

  13. Expensive items on sale often make their way into my basket as well. It seems I cannot resist if I’ve been eye-balling it for awhile. Even if the price is still hefty.

  14. If I want to impress I make a nice big ol’ batch of cupcakes, with scratch frosting and decorated with sprinkles 🙂

  15. What I make to impress depends on the time of year. Right now it would be rainbow cookies, even though I don’t like them, so many people love them!

  16. Cubby

    Truffles, easy and they can look fabulous. So I know what they say about sugar, but that is science right? (just humor for a sec) science says pesticides helps crops grow. True, but nature likes crops better the way they are. And we’ne found out that nature is right. At least with date syrup and honey, they have nutritional value and don’t change shape too much from their natural form. Everything in moderation of course, but I just don’t by every sugar is the same sugar business. Anyone agree or want to make me believe it anymore?

  17. Jen

    I love english muffins, my favorite is to spread avocado mash on one side, topped with an egg and cheese. Perfection! I think I’ll have that for breakfast this morning 🙂

    Jen

  18. i make hummus when i wanta impress..it seriously never fails..people are amazed by it..i’m like doi..it’s only been around forever!! ((well, i didn’t know that untill about a year or two ago myself..but ya know.)) 🙂

Leave a Reply

