Lists

Apparently, I’m ready to start my own dirty-girl competition.

DSC_4666

Yeah. Needless to say, I needed to go shopping.

Other confession? I’m awful with lists. Sure, I’m great at making them. I’m just terrible at not losing them. Or not remembering to bring them. And without some sort of reminder, I have a hard enough time remembering what happened yesterday, let alone whether I’m out of “salad lettuce” or not.

You know where I’m going with this. I forgot my list when I went to the store after work. It’s okay, though – it’s sort of become a game to me. The “Lets see what I can remember!” game.

It also meant I had to go up and down every aisle in the packed-to-bursting Hannaford’s to trigger memories of what I needed. I totally forgot I needed brown sugar until I saw it in the produce aisle. Don’t ask me what it was doing there, I’m just glad it was.

As a side note: if you go shopping between now and Christmas you might be clinically insane. It’s a madhouse out there, and I’m lucky I’m still alive. In fact, when I pulled in, there were a bunch of firetrucks throughout the plaza with their lights flashing. No one stopped me from going in and no one else seemed too concerned…so you know, just doing my grocery shopping while firefighters and trucks are running around, NBD.

I had to save the squashes and mushrooms and lettuces from the potentially-burning building, you know.

DSC_4670DSC_4673

DSC_4674

I went to the co-op before going to the big store, though. I’ve found I much prefer the Rhapsody tempeh over Lightlife, and also needed some bread. Obviously, I wound up walking out of there with more like $37 worth of groceries and not just tempeh and bread, but that’s a story for another day.

This weekend is my mom and I’s holiday baking extravaganza, so I knew I wouldn’t get a chance to bake bread. I intended to get a fresh loaf from a local bakery, but when I saw these was way more intrigued. See, I’ve been on more of a “bread as a side” kick, so thought these Ozery Bakery pita-type wraps would be good to stuff.

DSC_4677

I’m sure the idea is to mimic the Arnold sandwich thins, but with less preservatives and…well, way better taste. I like that they’re not too thin – after buying them I started regretting my decision, thinking it wouldn’t be “enough bread.”

DSC_4678DSC_4679

Luckily, that was not the case at all. I had one lightly toasted, smothered with hummus and then packed with tempeh bacon, herb salad, roasted reds and tomato slices.

DSC_4676

And now I’m sipping tea while pondering whether I really want to tackle that homework I intended to do tonight. I actually intended to get out of work early so I could hit the store and get home sooner than usual – but by the time I could leave work and battle the crowds, I didn’t get home until I usually would be, anyway!

What kind of bread is your favorite – thick and hearty, wraps, pitas, bagels, english muffins?

17 Comments

Filed under bread, dinner, lunch, review

17 responses to “Lists

  1. Sounds like quite the grocery shopping trip 😛
    My favourite type of bread really depends on what it’s for but on a daily basis I like wraps because they let the filling steal the show or sourdough bread because it’s just so good 🙂 I also like english muffins! Hmm, I guess I like them all!

  2. I’m really good at completing tasks I put on my lists..but I’m super bad at actually making lists :p
    English muffins are my favorite.. have been since I was a kid, no particular reason why!

  3. im definitely gonna start eating a lot more balanced meals like this one! theyre like pita hot dog buns sort of huh!! it looks really healthy and i love the extra greens to squeeze in vitamins ❤

    im always expanding my tea stash, and i think i'll get me some ginger spice- tomorrow is grocery day anyways!! ❤

  4. I love ALL breads, but I just discovered some amazing corn tortillas that are actually more like a mix of flour and corn–they’re by La Tortilla Factory. They’re my latest food obsession; great for wraps. 🙂
    http://www.latortillafactory.com/new-products.aspx

  5. I haven’t had one in forever, (and of course, they’re on my to-do list for holiday cookery) but I’m going to go with bagels. Round, soft, chewy and the perfect vehicle for cream cheese. And I love to make lists. I’ll make lists about things when I’m bored that have no particular reason to be listed. 😛

  6. I always forget my lists at home! It’s so annoying.

    My favorite breads are wraps of thick chewy slices!

  7. Dee

    I can never ever find the holiday teas around me! 😦

    I love lists!

  8. My all-time favorite bread is Ezekiel’s cinnamon raisin. I like it toasted with peanut butter and jelly for breakfast. Yum. 🙂

  9. I think I like the theory of having a list, but I always stray or I forget it at home. Or more likely, I end up spitting my gum in the list. I’m OCD in so many other ways in my life but not in the organization and list making.
    As far as bread is concerned, as long as its carb-o-licious, its loved by me 🙂

  10. i love doughy breads!! anything with some substance! but tortillas are good at times!..

  11. Ok, lists – you know what i do? I write my shopping lists as an sms and save it in drafts on the phone. Voila! I always have my grocery shopping list with me. Except for the times when i forget my phone too, but that’s luckily something like once in a century. Plus, when I’m somewhere far from my kitchen and remember something I have to buy, I don’t have to remember it until I get home to my list – I just flip out the phone, write it down, and forget about it. Yes, my mind works like that 🙂

  12. My favourite bread is pumpernickel, but you already knew that 😉 I could just eat it on its own because it has so much flavour… if I’m pairing it with something though, or making some type of sandwich I just like something hearty and seedy, toasted. I love the Ezekiel Sesame bread that is in the freezer section of my grocery store… it’s wonderful 🙂

    … and I am totally with you on the lists. I’ve actually started to make lists on my cellphone instead just to ensure that I don’t forget them. It works!

  13. I’ve given up on making lists since I never stick to them anyways! 😛 But they’re still fun to write.

    I will take bread in any form! But thick, grainy, seedy breads are my absolute favourite.

  14. I like thick, chewy wraps, pitas, rolls and bagels. Anything super doughy is right up my alley!

    I always make lists, then forget them at home and spend half an hour wandering the store. I love grocery stores though, so it’s not really an inconvenience 🙂

  15. Have fun baking this weekend! I’m sort of glad I’m done with it all… lol
    And I HATE when I forget my list! I spend so much time trying to get myself together and write everything down. And then I forget the stupid list. Ugh…

  16. I really like thick and hearty bread. I’m jealous that I don’t have access to that bread. I have a really hard time finding decent bread that doesn’t have a ton of ingredients.

  17. I’m an English muffin girl, or bagels (I never eat bagels and I don’t know why cos I LOVE them), but bread is very…meh to me. It doens’t do anything!

Leave a Reply

