On Buhguhs and Bruins

Fact #1: There’s more recipes for veggie burgers circulating the world right now than there are people to eat said veggie burgers.

Fact #2: It’s impossible for me to ever decide what recipes I want to make. I bookmark ad bookmark, but when it comes time to choose something to make – I just get way too overwhelmed by how many recipes are online that I just click that little red X and resort to my cookbooks.

Fact #3: It’s really hard for me to concentrate right now because I’m watching a Bruins game, but I’ll try to stay with you guys. I’ll try ot to get too worked up, too.

DSC_4546DSC_4547

DSC_4548

So how does everyone else pick out what they’re going to make? Organizing my bookmarked recipes is definitely going to be a winter project. That will probably get postponed until ten winters from now. So, for now – I refer to books.

It doesn’t help that my laptop battery now only lasts about ten minutes if it’s not plugged in, and I’m always too lazy to haul the power cord with me to the kitchen.

DSC_4549DSC_4550

Sometimes it’s a bit more reassuring to make something from a book – ugh c’mon B’s, it’s not even ten minutes into the game and you’re down two-nothing?! – uhhh, because it seems a little more fail-proof. Like “hey, this is published…it’s gotta be good, right?

…not always. You’d be surprised what can make it in cookbooks nowadays. Not saying this is a fail. This is actually an adaptation of a veggie burger recipe from the book Veggie Burgers Every Which Way. 

It’s a neat little book – with a handful each of recipes for veggie and grain burgers, veggie burgers, sides, dressings and even rolls.

DSC_4552 DSC_4553

DSC_4554DSC_4555

DSC_4556

The recipe for Cashew-Leek Burgers with Bulgur and Lentils caught my eye first.

Mainly because I like cashews, and secondly because it was the only recipe that used ingredients in my cupboard, save for leeks.

Which was sort of irrelevant anyways, since I ended up changing more than a couple things about the recipe.

DSC_4557DSC_4558

DSC_4560

This was my first veggie burger that uses nuts. I really liked the idea, just hadn’t gotten around to trying it yet! I wouldn’t say the flavor is remarkably noticeable, but a fun cashew sauce might make it stand out even more. I have way too much hummus in my fridge to have made a sauce, though…I’m just putting hummus on everything.

It’s unfortunate that I’m quickly running out of things to put the hummus on, though. Saying I need to go grocery shopping is an understatement. If my fridge could define me, it would say I like hummus and other condiments. And mushrooms. And not much else.

Anyways. I’ve droned on long enough.

Cashew-Broccoli Mushroom Bean Buhguhs.

yields 4-6 patties

  • 1/3 c. bulgur (dry measure)
  • olive oil for sauteeing
  • 1 head broccoli, chopped finely
  • 1 c. diced mushrooms
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 T. tomato paste
  • 2 T. milled flaxseed
  • 1/3 c. white beans
  • 1/3 c. toasted cashews
  • 1/4 c. whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 2 T. vital wheat gluten
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • oil, optional, for frying prior to baking

In a medium sized saucepan, bring the bulgur and 2/3 c. water to a boil. Season with a pinch of salt and reduce to a simmer, cooking until water is absorbed.

In a medium sized pan over medium heat, warm the olive oil and add the mushrooms and broccoli. Cook until tender and mushrooms have released all their juice – approx. ten minutes. Mix in the garlic and then the tomato paste. Transfer to a large mixing bowl.

In a small bowl, combine 2 T. flax with 4 T. warm water. Set aside and allow to thicken.

In a blender or processor, add half the bulgur, the flax “egg”, half the white beans, half the mushroom and broccoli mixture and the cashews. Process until almost smooth, and then transfer to the same large bowl with the remaining mushroom and broccoli mixture.

Add in the bulgur and the rest of the beans, stirring to combine. Stir in the wheat gluten and bread crumbs.

Heat oil in a non-stick skillet over medium heat and form the mixture into patties. Saute about five minutes on each side, or until golden, and then transfer to a sprayed baking sheet. Bake about 15 minutes in a preheated 375* oven.

DSC_4575

Score! And not just these burgers – the B’s did, too.

What I love so much about veggie burgers is how versatile they are. You can have them as a salad topper one night, a sandwich the next, top it with hummus one day and some other dressing the following.

DSC_4577

How do you like your veggie burgers?

How do you find your recipes?

13 Comments

Filed under dinner, lunch, recipe, vegan

13 responses to “On Buhguhs and Bruins

  1. See, I prefer recipes that I see on blogs because they’ve been ‘tested’ for me 😛 I love when I can see the finished product made in someone’s home. Just sayin’. I’m glad you enjoy being the guinea pig though 😉

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a veggie burger to be honest! I like real burgers though.. with ground turkey.

  2. These veggie burgers sound great!!!! My favorite are homemade black bean burgers – i have two versions – one spicy with roasted peppers garlic and spinach and the other i have made with sweet potatoes. Nothing beats a good veggie burger in the summer!!!! xoxo aimee

  3. I’ve never really gotten too far with my veggie burger cooking because I was always trying to scale recipes for 6 down to a single patty, which makes things like flax / normal eggs and binders hard to mess around with. That and I’m always trying to cram way more veggies into it than grains and beans so it tends to crumble. I like them to hold together and I like them to have a strong, dominant flavor that isn’t salt. Topped with a [ton] of hummus, avocado and tomato and it hits the spot!

    I find almost all of my recipes through blogs or links to other sources (Serious Eats and TheKtchn have provided so many sources) and then NY Times.com has a bunch of good ones as well. I’m the same way you are in that I have a TON of recipes bookmarked and I always feel like I can’t choose one to make so I go to one of my books.

  4. Those look so good 🙂 I only like homemade veggie burgers (excepts for some frozen brands like Amy’s, but I’m very picky about store bought ones) and I like when they’re crispy rather then soggy. Oh and I can’t even remember the last time I followed a recipe lol I envy you for that 😛

  5. These look and sound delicious. I’ve never tried making veggie burgers with nuts either, but I imagine they make a difference! I am a HUGE fan of cashews so this recipe would have caught my eye too. I’m always on the hunt for new varieties of the classic vegetarian patty. This looks like a winner! Thank you for sharing with me, week after week. Sending love and good thoughts your way!

  6. i LOVE every single recipe you post on your blog- seriously! they are always so unique and TASTY !

  7. My always “go to” recipe for bean burgers is one that I made up on the fly one day while cooking something meaty for the boys. Tony actually tried it and loved it. I will never change that recipe. It has 5 ingredients that I throw together and they are perfect everytime. I try to keep a stash of them in the freezer, but for some reason I can’t stop eating them once I make them! However, I do love my lentil quinoa burgers with mushrooms, but they take way more time to make. These sounds delicious and I have bulgar that I need to use up!

  8. I’m the same way with recipes! I’ll find like 6 different variations of a recipe I want to make, and then have the hardest time choosing which one to make. I hate that there’s no way of knowing which one is the best! 😛

    This veggie burger looks great though!

  9. These veggie burgers look awesome! I haven’t made any in way too long.

    Usually I find my recipes online or in one of my cookbooks. I hardly ever have all of the ingredients on hand though, so there’s usually some tweaking involved. 😀

  10. I’m the same way… I save so many recipes that I never actually have the time to try most of them!! Usually because, since I scale everything down (I hate leftovers), I end up having to finish the ingredients some other way. Which leads me on a search for MORE recipes. Gah!!

    ❤ ❤

  11. I’ve never tried a veggie burger before. I need to get on that boat because it’s sailing without me. Also, when it comes to recipes I also have a ton bookmarked and lists made up of what I want to try, then I sadly get overwhelmed and make my own regulars that I enjoy. Oh well, I could eat the same meal everyday and not complain 🙂

  12. I have never made a veggie burger, but yours look absolutely delicious!

  13. Oooh that is one interesting sounding recipe! I would normally say I’m totally bookmarking it and will bake them this week…but i know i won’t! I’m exactly the same as you in that respect :p alas!

Leave a Reply

