Always Room for Something New

There’s always room and opportunity to try new things – usually, it’s just a matter of whether we want to venture out from our usual routine and just go for it.

I’ll be the first to admit it – I’m one to get stuck in food ruts. It doesn’t help that by now, I tend to know what kinds of foods I like ad what I dislike.

But busting out of ruts? Quite fun! I mean – it doesn’t mean your diet needs a complete makeover. Just twists to your favorites; thinking outside of the box!

DSC_4634

Cranberry-Orange oatmeal? First thought – no thanks. I like bananas in my oatmeal, not citrus fruits. Upon completion? Oh my God, I must have this again tomorrow.

DSC_4633DSC_4635

  • 1/3 c. quick oats
  • 1/8 c. oat bran
  • 2 t. chia seeds
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 2 T. homemade cranberry sauce
  • zest of half an orange
  • juice of one orange

Microwaved, and topped with:

  • a drizzle of maple syrup
  • orange zest
  • cranberry-orange nut sauce
  • walnuts
  • almond butter

and then, there’s mixing up lunch.

DSC_4638

I realize this doesn’t look appealing – but rather than being all about sandwiches lately, I’m all about using the bread as a side to some sort of comfort dish. Like Italian Sweet Potato Gratin.

I’m not sure if this has more to do with the passing of a sandwich craze, or the fact that my bread isn’t big enough to create any sort of reasonable sandwich.

DSC_4649

And sometimes, instead of bread – some sort of cracker for dipping into hummus. Or pretzels. because Gabriela said it best – pretzels trump crackers when it comes to hummus dipping. My favorite is Snyder’s.

DSC_4612 

I’m loving hot apple cider lately as a warm-me-up beverage. I can’t have more than one cup of coffee lately, and though I love tea – sometimes something sweet is nice!

DSC_4613DSC_4617

I’ve raved before about Sahale Snacks, but these cashews are a new flavor to me…and definite winners.

I had the thought the other day to try and make a nut butter from one of their nuts – but I don’t think a bag could last that long!

I’m always bringing snacks like this to keep at work in case I get a minor case of the munchies – but lately they’re coming in more handy than usual. I dream of having the luxury to sit down and calmly eat a banana and peanut butter these days – there’s just no time before another customer walks in the door! Today I about shoved a half a banana + peanut butter in my mouth all at the same time because customers suddenly flooded us.

Of course, I realized after that that was a really bad idea because then I just had a mouth full of banana and peanut butter. Attractive.

DSC_4647

New fruit? Check. I’ll eat anything that is buy-a-5lb.-bag, get one free.

Please don’t offer me a five pound bag of avocados. Blech.

DSC_4642DSC_4644

And you know you’re really a little wacky when you spend your evening debating salad blends. A good wacky, though. This fresh herb salad caught my eye, and sounded interesting. Why not try? I really enjoy it…just one problem:

DSC_4645

The dill is too overpowering! I guess that’s sort of the point, though. It is, after all – an herb salad.

DSC_4653

DSC_4651DSC_4658

Yes, my mushroom obsession is still in full-swing. Not only to they taste pretty good in a salad – does anything smell better than mushrooms and onions sauteeing in a bit of olive oil?

Okay – maybe if there were garlic in that equation it would smell better, but for some reason I just wasn’t feelin’ that tonight.

DSC_4661

And for a brand-spankin’ new dessert courtesy of Foodzie?

DSC_4662

An Effie’s oatcake. I wasn’t sure what to expect because I don’t know that I’ve ever had a oatcake – but these are far superior to any sort of cracker/packaged cookie I’ve had previously. I was going to spread jam on it per suggestion, but I’m glad I tried it plain first. Even though I am a self-proclaimed “dipper” doing such with these oatcakes would just hide their delicate flavor and texture given to them by real butter. The oatmeal adds a lovely nutty flavor, too. If these oatcakes are this good – I can only imagine what their nutcakes taste like!

What about you – what’s something new you’ve tried/done/made lately?

15 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch, oatmeal, review

15 responses to “Always Room for Something New

  1. I love DILL!!! Although, I agree, it’s totally overpowering sometimes! Something new I’ve tried? Hmm… that’s a good question. I’m such a creature of habit!

  2. I made gingerbread granola and I’m so in love. I know it’s not that far off from what I usually eat, but it is so good!

  3. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Ooh, I’ve got a combo for you: PB + curry powder + pretzels. YUM.

    I so want to try those Sahale nuts, but I can’t bring myself to pay what they cost!

  4. ahah I would be a little skeptical on the citrus oats,, but now that they’ve gotten your approval I must try!

  5. Orange juice in oats? Now that IS something different!

    I think the most recent new thing I’ve tried was my home-made pizza.. and it was so much fun! Other than that I haven’t been branching out too much. I should though 😉

  6. Haha, thanks for the shoutout!! So true…pretzels > crackers for hummus. Something about the salt just makes it awesome!

    Funny, I feel like you’re one of the LEAST rut-ish bloggers. Your food always looks so awesome and exotic to me! Something I’ve been trying out lately is…shoot. Nothing really. Need to work on that now that I’m home 🙂

  7. I don’t know what you’re talking about – your meals are always so creative! You always make me want to get out of my food ruts. 😉

    That salad mix sounds interesting! I actually love dill, so I don’t think I’d mind it! I think it would taste especially good with some lemony dressing and feta (and loads of other veggies, of course).

    Something new I made was my mom’s minestrone soup. She’s been making it since I was a kid, but I’ve never tried making it on my own until now!

  8. Okay, question: when you add chia seeds to your oats, when do you put them in? Because I’m kind of at a loss re: what to do with my bag of chia seeds!!

    Those apple cider cups are SO cute!! I wish I could find them here; I hate it when you have to buy something in bulk if you buy it online. I mean, that’s okay if you know you like it, but, uh, I’ve never tried apple cider before in my life. 😉

    ❤ ❤

  9. Ashlei

    I don’t think I’ve been trying anything new lately. Lol. With being out of town and all. So you’re not an avocado fan?
    I can’t believe I haven’t tried the cranberry-orange flavor on oats before. I love it on sweet potatoes 🙂

  10. Ayla

    I’m a huge fan of those herb salad blends! They never seem to be quite the same so it’s fun to eat them. My first one had WAY too much cilantro in it but the second was absolutely perfect.

    My new thing today was.. breakfast. I slathered peanut butter on a tortilla, put on some sliced banana, folded it, and cooked it in a frying pan for a bit. Courtesy of ED&BV.. except I think she asked for something else that I forgot to put in. I guess I should look at the recipe instead of trying to go by what I remember in my head.

  11. Haha, you are a pretzel snob just like Tony! He used to be a Rold Gold guy and now he can’t have them…he won’t eat the gluten free was cause he said they aren’t as good! Too funny. I put oranges in my oats and loved it! I hope you are doing well and staying warm today! Have a great day Jessica!

  12. Citrus oats? hmm..that would take a lorra persuasion to get me to give up my banana/squash oats :s I never ever eat citrus fruits.Especially in winter, they seem wrong in winter – too cold and wet!?
    I haven’t eaten or cooked anything new recently 😦 I’m being somewhat boring wiht my meals atm…though the roast aubergine pumpkin mush I made the other day was fab!

  13. Girl, you read my mind! I made Cranberry Orange Nut Bread yesterday, and thought “this might be a good oatmeal combo”!

    I have yet to try it, though!

  14. I totally get you with the whole “tea is nice but something sweet….” 🙂 Hence, I’ve been boiling apple cider and spreading the love lately. One new food I’m excited about are these TJ’s Fruityflakes. Totally replace fruit snacks. I might even add them to oatmeal….

  15. i hate breaking out of my food routines…it’s difficult..but i started making your cornmeal pancakes about once a week..and it’s made me really happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

