BLOC Pancakes!

I finally got my wish!

DSC_4623

Okay, well maybe not my full wish…the snow isn’t up to my waist, after all…but I woke up to beautiful, fresh snow rather than rain!

DSC_4628

Since it fell overnight, though, I was bummed that I didn’t get to watch it storm. I love sipping hot cocoa/cider/tea inside while the outside is a winter wonderland.

Oh, well – beggar’s can’t be choosers, right?

DSC_4629

Of course, Vermont could maybe think about using more than salt shakers to salt and/or sand the road. I’m pretty sure I could have counted the grains of sand if I wanted to. We also don’t plow very well.

I left home the same time I always do – 7:20 am, and usually get to the barn around 8. Today, I wouldn’t have gotten there until 8:30, so had to drive right by so I could get to work on time. Yeesh!

DSC_4607

But all’s well that – starts well? Yeah, that sounds right Winking smile And this morning started well! Microwaved quick oats with some oat bran and almond milk, chia seeds, cinnamon, dried figs and banana…topped with fig jam, cashew butter, date syrup and cashews. I was in heaven.

DSC_4608

Though I’m not certain it was quite as good as the pancakes I had this past weekend.

I think I’d be okay with eating these blueberry-lemon cornmeal-oat bran pancakes for B, L, D if I had no other options. Unfortunately, I’m busy working for the man this week and it’ll probably be a while before I see them again.

I’m getting teary-eyed just thinking about that…

DSC_4512

DSC_4510DSC_4511

This was also the first time I’d smeared my pancakes with cashew butter. The marriage between it, the fresh blueberries and the mealy-yet-hearty texture of the pancakes was something to write home about. Which is a little weird, since I’m already home, but whatever.

These were so enjoyable, it had to be repeated, though the next day I made it with lime zest in place of lemon.

DSC_4524

DSC_4521DSC_4522

Don’t worry – those were promptly sent back to the kitchen to be drizzled with date syrup, the element that tied everything together.

If anyone comes up with a name for these that is shorter than “Blueberry-Lemon Cornmeal-Oat Bran Pancakes,” I’ll send you some in the mail. Maybe. Probably not.

I could call them BLOC Pancakes – but then the long name will have to be blueberry-lemon oat bran-cornmeal.”

  • 2 T. cornmeal
  • 2 T. graham flour
  • 2 T. oat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • 1/2 T. poppyseeds
  • 1 T. chia seeds + 2 1/2 T. water
  • 1/4-1/2 t. baking powder (I’ve honestly never measured. I just shake it in)
  • 5 T. almond milk (a.k.a. 1/4 c. + 1 T)
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • zest of one lemon (or lime or orange)
  • juice of one lemon (or lime or orange)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 c. frozen blueberries
  • optional: 1/2 – 1 t. sugar , 1/2 T. (?) earth balance or butter(see Note)

In a small bowl, mix together the chia seeds and water. Set aside and allow to “gel” while mixing your cornmeal, flour, oat bran, poppyseeds, wheat germ and baking soda together.

Begin heating a nonstick skillet over low heat.

Add the milk, vanilla, lemon zest and lemon juice to the chia seeds. Mix and add to the dry. Stir just to combine. If it’s too thick, add a little bit more milk, just a tablespoon at a time. Fold in the blueberries.

Melt the earth balance on the skillet, and then spoon on the batter – I made two pancakes. Cook until it looks like it is beginning to set around the edges, and flip. Cook until golden on both sides.

Topping suggestion (although it’s more of a demand than a suggestion Winking smile ) smear cashew butter on pancakes and top with more blueberries. Drizzle with date molasses.

Note: I added just a pinch of sugar so the lemon wasn’t too sour – they weren’t too sweet, nor too sour. However – I knew I’d be topping them with sweet things. If you’re planning on just eating them plain, I’d probably add a bit of sugar. Also – I love the taste of “frying” these in Earth Balance – you can just as easily use non-stick spray. I usually just melt the spread, spoon on the batter, and spray the tops with non-stick spray before flipping just as an extra precaution.

Enjoy!

22 Comments

Filed under blueberries, breakfast, pancakes, recipe, snow

22 responses to “BLOC Pancakes!

  1. Dee

    Lovely snow pictures! 🙂 Your oats looks SO delicious!

  2. I couldn’t get past the fig jam on the oats…my knees are weak! YUM! The snow is beautiful!

  3. Beautiful pictures of the snow for this time of year – it puts me in the holiday spirit!!!! BLOC pancakes look heavenly – i have to give them a try -especially topped with blueberries – my favorite!!! Stay warm!!!! xo aimee

  4. teenagehealthfreak

    oh what a beautiful snow..i’ve never been in snow like that before!!! oh yumms for those pancakes!!!!!!!!! and oatmeal. i love figs..you introduced us…..:) drive safe out there!!!

  5. Love your style- stuffing about as much as you can into a simple little pancake. I dig it!

  6. I need your pancakes/oatmeal bowls in my life!
    They look SO amazing 🙂

  7. What a beautiful plate of pancakes. I seriously need to start experimenting in the pancake department. Each time I see you latest concoction, I drool! I imagine that the combination of blueberries and citrus in a whole grains base is just delicious. I’m also glad that you got your snow! I am still adjusting to no snow here in Texas. I’m eager to go home to visit family in CO next week! Thank you for sharing with me. I hope you have a Wednesday of wonder!

  8. HOLY YUM those BLOC pancakes look soo good!!!.. ALSO FIG JAM!! I am beyond jealous

  9. You know.. BLOC pancakes does have a certain ring to it 😛 They look so yummy and dense, which is just the way anything with cornmeal should be!

    Strangely enough, your microwave oats look way better to me. Perhaps it’s the date syrup swirled all over them ? (I’m assuming that’s what it is..) It gets me every time 😉

    Congrats on the snowfall! It’s about as common around here as sand is in a desert, but I realize that not everyone experiences the Winter like us Canadians do. Enjoy!

  10. That first picture of the snowy road is gorgeous! We got a load of snow here too! But it doesn’t look nearly as pretty as where you are.

    Those pancakes look good, but I’m more of an oatmeal girl, so I’m drooling over your bowl of oatmeal. I think you’ve convinced me to buy the pricey jar of fig jam I keep eyeing at the grocery store!

  11. Oh my gosh that snow is GORGEOUS!! Always kind of jealous of the people who see snow most of the winter…we just get cold. If it snowed below 50 degrees instead of 32, I’d love it 😉

  12. Your pancakes are among the best pancakes I’ve seen and I wish I could make them myself. They look perfect and now that I’ve finally found date syrup and know how amazing it tastes, I want them even more 🙂 .

  13. Not sure what to name your pancakes – but they look wonderful. 🙂
    And I can’t wait until we get out first snowfall. It’s so pretty and fun to play in.

  14. I can’t wait to get some snow again, for the holidays.
    And I can’t wait to try those pancakes, they sound awesome!

  15. The snow is stunning! I’m jealous, I never get snow here!
    Cashews and blueberries are just amazing together, so those pancakes must have been over the top! I’m thinking I’ll sub whole wheat flour for the graham flour, think it will work?

  16. Love that snow!!! Maybe you’ll have a white Christmas, too!

  17. I want snow like that! so jealous.
    That second picture is so beautiful !

  18. Aaah the snow – we’ve lost all ours here (which I can’t say I’m sorry about – I miss running when it snows!), we just have wind and rain now. Yay.
    I gotta say, that bowl of oatmeal looks/sounds like one of the best bowls I have ever seen!! Date syrup is to dieeee for 🙂

  19. Pingback: #64 – On “BLOC” Pancakes « 101 Uses For Date Syrup

  20. Pingback: Orange Date Cookies + GIVEAWAY!!! | Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

