A Day in the Life

4:10 am: Time to get up! Wait…it’s only 4:10? Ugh. I’m sort of hungry…

5:45 am: Time to get up! Ew, it’s going to be so cold tonight.

6:00 am: Crisis. Only one banana left. Do I have it in oats this morning, or as my snack this afternoon?

6:01 am: snack this afternoon.

DSC_4370

6:05 am: I really need to get back in my photo groove and start taking more aesthetically appealing food photographs…

-enter blogging and breakfast here.-

6:30 am: I have no idea what I am having for lunch. I don’t have anything made. Ugh.

6:31 am: Chickpea salad.

DSC_4374

– pack lunch.-

6:40 am: Get ready. Enter the Great Hair Dilemma. Keep singing “a day in the life” by the Beatles because you decided your blog topic of the night.DSC_4383

6:55 am: All done. I hate this sweatshirt. I really need to do laundry.

DSC_4397

7:00 am: WHERE ARE ALL OF MY SOCKS?

7:02 am: Whatever. This works too.

DSC_4403

7:03 am: Crawl on hands and knees looking for lens hood that just fell off your camera because you were taking a picture of your feet.

DSC_4404

7:10 am: Get ready to brave the outdoors. Warming up gertrude comes first

DSC_4407

This is warm compared to what it’s supposed to be tomorrow.

7:12 am: Feed Thing 1 and Thing 2.

DSC_4413

DSC_4418

7:17 am: Play with icicles.

DSC_4427

7:22 am: Say “see ya lata!” to the puppernaut and set sail for the wild blue yonder barn.

DSC_4402

DSC_4428

8:00 am: Thank God for the temperature dropping – I would have broke a sweat with that extreme heat from before.

DSC_4429

8:02 am: Wish you had a real winter coat for the barn. Start picking out the mares & teddie’s runs.

DSC_4436ed

8:08 am: Reach face freeze point. Can’t feel face. Mittened hands are cold ad making photography extremely difficult. Persevere.

DSC_4437ed

DSC_4438

Jewel is so unpleased by Teddie’s actions.

DSC_4439edDSC_4440ed

What a dashing young lad.

DSC_4444ed

DSC_4447edDSC_4449ed

8:24 am: Really can’t feel face. Leave for work.

8:48 am: Decide coffee is necessary, even though you’ve already had your cup.

DSC_4452

Mostly decaf, anyway. And a cup that size lasts me all morning into afternoon! Though the real reason I stopped was because I didn’t think I’ packed enough food.

DSC_4455

Was overjoyed to find a KIND bar at the gas station. Wonder if anyone else ever buys them, as the code isn’t even in the system.

8:58 am: Arrive at work. Furnace is broken. Oh yay.

10:00 am: I’m hungry.

DSC_4459DSC_4460

And want my “vitamins.”

Notice bar is really out-dated.

DSC_4461

Decide you want crackers and hummus anyways.

12:24 pm: Holy moly it’s lunch time. Hm. Maybe I’d rather make an open-faced pb & pear sandwich with my bread than just use it for dipping into my chickpea salad…

DSC_4463

2:00 pm: Am I hungry? I think I’m hungry. Oh, maybe I just want a ginger chew…

3:45 pm: Okay now I’m hungry. Bypass banana, save it for tomorrow. Try KIND bar. Ooooh – ver ver good!

4:01 pm: Why are all these customers asking me my name all of a sudden today? Am I being rude? Are they going to report me?

5:26 pm: Almost time to go. I’ll do busy work until then.

5:28 pm: Outta here.

DSC_4464

Always grab a piece of dried mango to tide (is that the correct spelling?) me over. So good, too. Except sometimes I feel like I’m ripping into flesh. How creepy am I?

5:40 pm: Train? You’ve got to be kidding. What am I going to have for dinner?!

DSC_4465DSC_4467

DSC_4468

5:45 pm: I’ve got to cook that eggplant. That’ll take a while though. But I’ve got to cook it. Crap. I need gas. It’s too cold to get gas! I don’t have enough good karma built up for my tank to not freeze tonight with only 1/8th of a tank, though.

6:01 pm: This gas pump doesn’t have an auto shut-off! It’s cold out! I’m hungry!

6:02 pm: Oh forget it. My tank is full enough and I can’t feel my face. The church bells weren’t making me any happier. I’m hungry.

6:11 pm: I’ve got it! I’ll put the eggplant in the toaster oven to bake and take a shower while it bakes!

6:15 pm: Crap. Cop. Oh no. Oh no. Oh phew, it’s not. Wait, I’m not even speeding.

6:30 pm: Foodzie! Yay! Okay, eggplant. Oh, I should use up these mushrooms, too. Okay.

DSC_4470

6:42 pm: I don’t think I shower long enough to give that time to bake. And I’m hungry.

6:50 pm: Crap. This still needs another 30+ minutes. I’m starving. I don’t care what, but I’m eating.

DSC_4472

6:52 pm: This is randomly delicious. I knew I left all those burgers in the freezer for a reason.

8:26 pm: Why did I start out writing this post saying “your,” and now I’m saying “I”?

26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dinner, lunch, oatmeal, teddie

26 responses to “A Day in the Life

  1. Great post. 😛 I’ve always wanted to do one like that but I’d have to remember that I’m doing it and I’d have to take some pictures so it wasn’t a total lame-fest.

    Frozen veggie burgers (and other frozen homemade goodies) are always lifesavers!! And that chickpea salad looks pretty good but I find that unless I have something leafy or light yet bulky (if that makes sense) my meal lacks crunch and I don’t feel as good after eating it.

    By the way, I know you’re doing a review on that book soon, but can you give a little heads up or not whether it’s worth putting on my Christmas list? (Would someone anal about health like me want it?) 😉

  2. I must say you had a jam packed day !!!!!!! Great pictures of the horses!!!
    Im sure you are quite tired now and will most definately sleep well tonight!!
    Those veggie burgers look delicious – can you share the recipe??
    Have a good night and stay warm!!!!

  3. Rarely do I ever end up with matching socks.

    Even if I did just do laundry.

    I call my style “quirky”.

  4. Phew! I’m not the only one, I’m not the only one! It’s exactly 05:13 a.m. here at the moment and I’ve already had breakfast, watched some TV and done some housework. Luckily, my days aren’t so packed with things to do. Well, you may be busy but at least you stay positive 🙂 .

  5. ooo!! such a fun post!!! love reading these. i wake up at the same time!! and leave at about the same time!! awesome..well we are in different time zones.

  6. Haha you are seriously hilarious Jess, thank you for making me smile! Forreal.

  7. I love reading/looking at? “a day in the life”s! This was super amusing. You wake up so early! & Frozen leftovers seriously saves my life allll the time. Which reminds me that I need to “restock” my frozen food collection soon.. I so don’t look forward to going grocery shopping when it gets even colder!

  8. ahahhahha i literally wish I be a fly on the wall during your day!

  9. Hahaha, love it how Jewel is giving Teddie The Look for playing with that thingy, your ponies are precious 🙂 liked your day in the life theme. It’s funny, knowing and not knowing people on the other side of the globe 🙂

    have a great week.

  10. I love love love posts like this!! They make me tres happy 🙂 Such an early start though…it’s mad! I like how your day starts 2hrs before mine, but mine ends 2hrs after yours..it’s fun 🙂 where does uni fit in girl!?

  11. Haha.. you have no idea how much I loved this post! You are a superstar for braving the barn wind in weather like this. I remember how awful that used to be! I guess Teddie’s worth it though 😉

    Sorry about your rushed dinner. If it makes a difference, that combo looks pretty darn good! I find everything tastes stellar when I’m starving.

  12. Matching socks are overrated! Sounds like you had quite the day! I would have frozen to death. I have no idea how you go out there in the cold!

  13. Ha, another blog did this the other day. I find interesting to view other peoples little routines and habits.
    You have such a wonderful way of writing 🙂
    xxx

  14. I’ve learned better than to buy healthy foods from convenience stores or any other similarly unhealthy establishment. Earlier this fall I bought a jar of Barney Butter with a summer ’09 expiration date. And I’d thrown away the receipt. Damn.

    17 degrees makes me happy that it’s in the high 20s here today!!

  15. I love this! You are such a creative writer!
    My thought process is eerily similar to this, especially in regards to the temperature! Ugh.

    P.S. One of my friends calls her car Gertrude, too!

  16. Heyyy, the furnace in my office is broken too!! Makes for fun days, doesn’t it…

    ❤ ❤

  17. Don’t forget to breathe! I’m in love with the horse pictures and jealous of your life with them 🙂

  18. You are a busy girl, Jess! And you think a lot;-) I love your horses by the way. I hope they’re not too cold. I always feel sorry for animals during the winter. I know they have a bit of extra protection, but I also know they are still cold as heck just like we are. I like the way you guys put those coats on them. Very nice!
    p.s. I’m going to make a bowl of instant oats. Bought some last night, as the organic ones were on sale. Thought of you (smile)…

  19. Ayla

    Hahahaha.. I loved this! I’ve wanted to do one but I don’t understand how people remember what happens. Do you write it down or something? My brain short circuits just thinking about it.

  20. Haha…I love this post. I think we have very similair thought processes. :mrgreen:

    The pictures of Teddy are adorable! And I can’t believe you have snow on the ground. It will be here before I know it. 😀

  21. Colleen

    funny post :)_GORGEOUS horses, dog, and food photos! and those cookies in the previous post look perfect and I’m sure tasted amazing too!

  22. Haha this made me laugh! I’m glad I’m not the only one who mentally freaks out every time I pass a cop, even when I’m driving the speed limit! 😛

    It’s absolutely freezing here too! I can’t stand to think that it’s probably only going to get worse… when is it summer again!?

  23. Ashlei

    That was awesome! I kind of loved this post. Nice socks by the way. No one sees them at least. 😉 Lol

  24. Ashlei

    P.S. What kind of flat iron do you use?

  25. Your animals are so cute. I think your dog is hibernating for the winter.

  26. Tinka

    best post to date!! ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

