Mountain Bread & Directions

Here’s proof that I just get myself in trouble when I follow directions:

DSC_4223

Mountain Bread. Norwegian Seeded Mountain Bread.

I guess I’m not really sure what mountain bread is – but when I see “seeded” and “bread” in the same recipe title, I’m as excited as Teddie is when he sees me with a cookie in my hand.

Teddie gets really excited when he sees me anyway, but I’m pretty it’s just because I always have cookies.

I am the cookie monster.

DSC_4215

DSC_4216DSC_4218

But that’s neither here nor there. What I’m getting at is – regardless of the fact that I pretty much followed this recipe to a T and then went over it with a fine-toothed comb to see where I went wrong…

I still wound up with a dense, fallen loaf and I have no idea why. (I am guessing maybe something got lost in translation? Altitude?)

DSC_4220

Fortunately for me, when I say “dense, fallen loaf” the term delicious could just as easily describe it.

Because with those adjectives comes moist and chewy and bursting with flavor.

While it’s not the sandwich bread I thought I was making – it’s some of the best “toast” bread I’ve ever had.

Like this afternoon, for lunch: two thick slices smeared with peanut butter, topped with peach slices and broiled…

…or with dinner, a thick, chewy slice toasted just slightly, used to dip into my “tempeh sausage crumbles” and “punk rock chickpea gravy.”

DSC_4081

…because if you’re as serious about your toast as I am, you will love this chewy, dense, seedy loaf that is waiting to be made into a PB&J.

eve if they are mini PB&J’s.

Ever have something turn out “perfectly wrong”?

11 Comments

Filed under baking, bread, recipe

11 responses to “Mountain Bread & Directions

  1. Haha, that is the best way to describe most of what I do…perfectly wrong! I love a good dense bread too. I was craving some tonight so I made a quicky savory waffle to go with my soup.

  2. My chickpea noodle soup came out perfectly wrong a few weeks ago – although it was deicious!!!

  3. teenagehealthfreak

    hmmm. i don’t think that i have…i’d have to think..nothing really stands out in my head. but this bread looks devine! 🙂 still looks beautiful even if it’s fallen!…..less bread=”more” pnt butter. yay. 🙂

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Nutty…chewy…dense…whatever “mountain bread” is, I’m in.

  5. Hmmm, first let me say that reading your blog has turned into a nightmare of gluten cravings for me ;-). Your bread (and the photography!) looks so great I can almost taste it. I am baking today, so I am not complaining. Gotta love a happy kitchen accident – like cookies that crumble into granola/salad topping/trail mix-ish snackage 🙂

    Hope you are having a great week 🙂

  6. Oi! I don’t blame you. Every time I try to use yeast, I end up with a rock in my oven. It’s like yeast just hates me or something 😛 I’m joking… sort of.
    I’m glad you were able to salvage the recipe even if it wasn’t what you intended it to be. If it makes you feel any better, it looks just about as delicious as you make it sound in this post. I am a sucker for seedy bread too !

    Plus, any bread that is well-suited for nut butter is wonderful in my book. But you know that 😉

  7. Ashlei

    As long as it still tastes good it wasn’t a complete failure 😉
    I love seeded breads because they add in that little bit of extra crunch.

  8. Seedy bread is the best! I think I’m going to have to start making my own though because the bread department at my grocery store is seriously lacking.

    That’s so weird that your breads keep on falling! But at least it doesn’t affect the flavour. This one looks delicious! 😀

  9. I forgot to put baking powder in a cake once and it was completely dense. The best cake, by far, that I have ever made. Then it was like the icing was just completely absorbed into it, not a bad thing at all! Maybe your pb&j will do the same thing? We can only hope for these good things… 😉

  10. Hooray! I made banana bread from veganomicon, only I left out the baking powder. It turned into a kind of malt loaf and was delicious!

  11. I’d say it doesn’t look too bad! 🙂

    I have the WORST luck with making bread! I made a 100% Whole wheat no-knead bread the other day, followed the recipe EXACTLY and came out with a pitiful hunk of dough. Ugh. One day, one day I will master the art of bread baking!

    Love your blog, btw! I’ve been reading for a few weeks and I think this is the first time I’m commenting! 😉

Leave a Reply

