Surbeys

I love surveys. In my past years of myspace-filled school breaks and late nights pretending I was too cool for my boots, I got my entertainment by filling out myspace surveys from random people. And pretending I was too cool for my boots.

Well, Jess at the Process of Healing has passed a survey on to me. I love surveys…so lets do ‘dis,

Questions:

  1. I have to ask… last meal, what would it be?
    1. Oh heavens, that’s a toughie. I’m torn between something really unhealthy just for spite and irony, and something more “me.” And then I realized I’d probably die a lot happier if it was something more “me.” Except, the problem with these questions is, I can only ever think of how good the last thing I ate was (in this case, banana almond cornmeal pancakes) and that’s all I think I want. For the sake of not being really lame, I won’t say pancakes, and instead I’ll sayyyy…crap, I don’t know. I’ll think about it while I’m out and about today. …I’m back, I’ve thought about it, I’m still clueless.
  2. What is a blog that I should be reading and why?
    1. I don’t think I can think of only one!! I’d feel like a favoritist, anyways. So I’ll just rattle off a couple: Clean Eating Chelsea, One Step Closer, Tatianna Lives, The NonDairy Queen, A Fresh Dille, Teenage Health Freak, Almost Vegan, Une Vie Saine, Brit Chick Runs, Mo’s Kitchen, One Healthy Munchkin, Running to Slow Things Down, (and even though it seems like I’m answering Jess’s question, I’ve gotta throw in her bloggie, too!)
  3. Ever had a disaster in the kitchen? What happened?
    1. uhh, welll, there was that time I forgot to add the sugar…
  4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
    1. I’d like to live in Burlington. Or somewhere in Canada. I love Boston, but I think I’d get sick of the city. Burlington, VT is the perfect mix of both.
  5. If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?
    1. It’s taking everything in my power to not say kale chips right now because I am totally hooked on them at the moment. Instead, I’ll say peanut butter and jelly (er, jam) sandwiches on really good freshly baked bread. Such a simple, delicious sandwich is all too often overlooked.
  6. If you could trade lives with anyone on the earth for one day, who would it be and why?
    1. Oooh, tough. Part of me wants to say “no-one, I’d rather live my own life.” But at the same time, it’d be interesting to live the life of a professional photographer. Or even a groom for a big fancy dressage rider.
  7. Veggies… love them or hate them? Be honest..
    1. I honestly love veggies. The ones I hate (cough,zucchini,cough) I just don’t eat. There’s too many I enjoy to waste my tastebuds on the others.
  8. Favorite quote?
    1. I love quotes – but I can never remember the good ones/my favorites when I need to. All I can think of right now is “be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a great battle,” but that’s pretty popular.  Others I enjoy:

Are you a “quote person”? What’s your favorite? And since part of the award is passing on a new survey, I encourage anyone to answer these new survey questions on their blogs (or my comments if you don’t have one/want to Smile with tongue out )

  1. Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
  2. Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
  3. Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
  4. Look to your left. What’s there?
  5. If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
  6. If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
  7. What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
  8. What kind of vehicle do you drive?

Alright…now….back to the Breeder’s Cup. Lets gooooo, Zenyatta!!

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Surbeys

  1. Hehe.. I have the same problem with picking my favourite meal. My most recent always seems the most appealing 😛 Tahini’s always in it somehow though, so I guess that’s my answer right there!

  2. Because I don’t get around to posting on my own blog too often, I’m going to declare your comments section as my second blog home. Just so you know.

    1.Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
    Greece, ’nuff said.
    2.Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    Handle a job while going to college.
    3.Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    Get to know someone as more than just a friend. (I know, so junior-high, right?)
    4.Look to your left. What’s there?
    My calendar
    5.If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    Some kind of BBQ hummus, because that’s all he knows how to do is BBQ things, right?
    6.If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    A cat. Lame? Yes, but true.
    7.What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    Have a good breakfast (or a huge slab of roasted squash).
    8.What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    A blue mountain bike.

    Thanks for saying my blog is something worth reading too. I should probably start finding time to make that statement true. 😉

  3. One of my favs: “Life moves fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it” -Ferris Bueller.

  4. 1.Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?

    London, Paris, and Rome – most beautiful trip ever!

    2.Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?

    Wake up at 5 AM on a Saturday. 🙂

    3.Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?

    Quit my job & teach overseas

    4.Look to your left. What’s there?

    A basket of blankets

    5.If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?

    I’d have him surprise me!

    6.If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?

    A tiger

    7.What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?

    Eat oatmeal

    8.What kind of vehicle do you drive?

    Honda Civic

  5. love your answers 🙂
    I’d never heard a lot of the quotes you mentioned but they are really good! I love quotes, and I wish I could say that I love ones from inspiring authors or something but honestly, there are SO many quotes from the show grey’s anatomy that I love. Such as:
    ” Let’s just live. Whatever happens, happens.”
    Simple yet, I find it to be inspiring.

    I’m going to fill out those questions in a post on my blog.
    have a good night! 🙂

  6. I can relate to lie, 99% of your answers there 😛

    Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been? Washington DC! Or Chicago 🙂 Marathons and the HLS – doesn’t come more exciting in my world.

    Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?A marathon 😛 Or getting a top 10 placing at the elementary dressage regionals against fancy 10-figure warmbloods…

    Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it? get out of my routines.

    Look to your left. What’s there? A big old cabinet filled with posh plates that never get used :s

    If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather? Eh? Never heard of him! But if you replaced him with some chef I HAD heard of, I’d say a delicious raw meal 😀

    If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be? Chika 🙂

    What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete? Eating squash, or seeing Chika, or running.

    What kind of vehicle do you drive? An orange Kia Picanto, named Erica 😛

  7. I love surveys, too! They remind me of MySpace because that thing was FILLED with them. Ohhh, MySpace seems so ancient! Geez haha

  8. 1.Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
    Hmm…going anywhere new is exciting for me. But, I loved visiting Toronto and the Virgin Islands. (And Vermont because of the Ben and Jerry’s factory!)

    2.Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    Get to where I am now in school and life in general.

    3.Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    Get my driver’s license.

    4.Look to your left. What’s there?
    My extremely messy desk (I’m typing this on the floor…)

    5.If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    He would make me pretty happy, I know that much. 😉 (Although Tyler Florence is cuter, hehe)

    6.If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    An okapi!!

    7.What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    Pray and laugh

    8.What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    My feet.

  9. I love it when bloggers answer “surveys” – its great to get to learn more about each of us every day!!!
    I too could totally relate to so many of your answers!!
    Ooh – Bobby Flay as chef for a day would be quite interesting – he sure does have a way with the grill – maybe some kind of roasted veggie tamale – ive actually never had a tamale but i heard they are quite tasty!!!!

  10. How can you not like zucchini?? That’s okay, more for me … 😉

    1.Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been? Umm… I don’t know, any new place is exciting! I’ll go with Barbados, just because that’s where I finished my scuba diving certification, even if it’s more the activity than the place.
    2.Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it? Give a speech. Any speech.
    3.Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it? Um. Use oil?? I don’t know, I’m weird, I don’t fear conventional things.
    4.Look to your left. What’s there? A window. And two stuffed M&Ms on the sill.
    5.If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather? I would have no idea, since I actually hate having other people cook for me…
    6.If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be? A dolphin, but that wouldn’t be very humane of me!
    7.What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete? Work out.
    8.What kind of vehicle do you drive? When I do drive, it’s a red Nissan Murano. And, in case you were wondering, the 2010 model is far superior to the 2011. Just saying.

    ❤ ❤

  11. teenagehealthfreak

    surveys are fun, i think i’m gunna do this one..if i get a chance to post it. i’ve never heard that first quote you mentioned!!!! i love it. i’ve always liked the quote: “everything happens for a reason” simple and sooo true. and when something bad happens i think of all the good things that came out of it. and another one that’s something like…”don’t mess up today by worrying about yesterdays problems” this was a fun post to read!!! 🙂

  12. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Thanks for the shoutout! Ironically, I was going to post a survey like this tomorrow (and I too haven’t done one in a good year or two). I’ll add these questions to the one I already filled out 🙂

  13. I always love learning more about one of my favorite bloggers! You are just such a sweetheart, and each time I read more of your writing or your thoughts…I walk away with an even deeper conviction of how beautiful and fun your soul is! I wish I had a cat (our landlord allows no animals!) We saw a litter of abandoned/wild kittens this afternoon, and I wanted to take them home so badly!

  14. Woohoo Canada represent! I can definitely attest that it’s a pretty fabulous place to live. 😉

    I would be so stuck deciding on my last meal too! I think I would have to be greedy and have a bit of everything haha. Those pancakes sound like a good choice though!

  15. Ashlei

    Better to forget the sugar than add in salt instead? lol. I haven’t done it but have read about it.

    If Bobby Flay were my very own personal chef for the day I think I’d ask him to make me some kind of barbeque chicken or turkey burger, sweet potato fries, some kind of zesty jalapeno corn soup, and butternut squash cupcakes.

  16. Ok, I LOVE your answers! Those are great! Thank you for the shout out too! I think you are pretty great yourself!

    1. Paris! I know it sounds cliche, but it is so true. There is such a romance and the architecture is just amazing. The Louvre and the day I spent there with Tony will never be out of my memories…

    2. Getting past having a tumor and then having most of my abdominal muscle removed. I didn’t think I would ever be “me” again, but now I think I am a better version of me!

    3. Write a cookbook. I have started it, but it is a slow process right now.

    4. Um, my coffee cup and it needs to be refilled!

    5. Um, well, I would say whatever he wanted to, but I would prefer it to be vegetarian. I hate asking chefs to change things since there is a romance to a way a chef cooks and presents things. It’s like asking an artist to change his style, then it is not his work.

    6. Tiger, but I think my cat Luke is pretty close to that. A big cuddly cat!

    7. Hug all the men in my life!

    8. A Jeep Commander (I would like to apologize to the environment for that). I would prefer something a little more earth friendly, but I am just not in that place right now.

  17. Yay, thank you for answering!! And I love your answers 🙂

    Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
    Ireland!

    Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    Waitressing. I always thought I would hate it but I love it.. most of the time.

    Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    Go to school to get my R.D. license. The sciences scare me!

    Look to your left. What’s there?
    My cat, taking his 1 of 34939 naps of the day.

    If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    Anything!

    If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    A cat.. I love them. Even though I already have them.

    What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    Have dessert

    What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    Jeep Grand Cherokee

  18. 1. Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
    – Anacapa Island.

    2. Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    – Work full-time and live on my own at 18.

    3. Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    – Reach out to estranged family members.

    4. Look to your left. What’s there?
    – My poor sick sleeping fiancé.

    5. If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    – Since he specializes in Southwest Cuisine, I would have to ask for vegetarian tacos and homemade tomatillo sauce.

    6. If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    – I would just want my sweet kitty Pookie with me, instead of him living with my parents in Portland Oregon.

    7. What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    – Cuddle with my love. Boy, I am sappy.

    8. What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    – Honda Civic Station-wagon. Perfect car to fit the long-boards.

  19. Thanks so much for the shout out lady! You are always one of my must-reads!

    I am holding on to some of those quotes!

    Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been?
    -Hmm, most exciting or favorite…favorite place is Amsterdam so let’s have that be the most exciting too!

    Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    -Switching my career route from journalism to styling/wardrobe…still not quite there…

    Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    -Style my own commercial/movie/tv show…but would love to!

    Look to your left. What’s there?
    -V, playing a computer army game

    If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    -I’d have him grill up some veggies of course and make some delicious grain dish with a tasty sauce…maybe some baked beans to go with it (veg style of course)

    If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    -puppy…it’s true. I just couldn’t take care of one unfortunately, with our crazy schedules

    What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    -these days, get outside to celebrate the beautiful weather…hiking, yoga on the porch, etc.

    What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    -light blue 1990 bmw, V has two (his other is from 1976), but we may get a prius next (less gas, better for the environment, AND you get to drive in the carpool lane in LA rush hour traffic…amazing.

  20. haha that totally reminded me of middle school. We used to email those things back and forth like no one’s business. So fun!

  21. Thanks for the shoutout!

    Where’s the most exciting place you’ve been? Probably Tunisia- it was only for a day while on a Mediterranean cruise though!

    Think about something you didn’t think you could do, but could. What was it?
    Learn to like mushrooms. They’re still not really appetizing to me, but I’m starting to be able to eat them without gagging.

    Now think about something you want to do, but are afraid to. What is it?
    Go to culinary school.

    Look to your left. What’s there?
    An airplane aisle.

    If Bobby Flay was your personal chef for a day, what would he make you? Well, what would you politely ask him to make you, rather?
    Chocolate cake with layers of chocolate mousse, chocolate ganache and Nutella, topped with chocolate buttercream frosting.

    If you could have any animal in the world as a pet, what would it be?
    A dog- I’m dying for a new one!

    What’s something that, if you don’t do, your day feels incomplete?
    Would it be expected to say eat?

    What kind of vehicle do you drive?
    A Saab convertible. Driving with the top down makes me want to explode with happiness.

Leave a Reply

