It’s Tasty!

So, a while ago, Tasty Bite sent me some awesome products to try out. Remember?!

DSC_3419

I’d been sort of…bad…in terms of actually using them, though. I really don’t very often think to make something that’s already made for lunch. But yesterday, I was craving some Indian cuisine!

DSC_3416

The Bombay Potatoes won me over, and 90 seconds later, I was happily enjoying my heat-and-eat Indian. And without wondering what on earth went in to the creation, either! It’s really quite simple:

Water, Potatoes, Chickpeas, Tomatoes, Onions, Sunflower Oil, Salt, Ginger, Garlic, Corn Starch, Coriander, Chilies, Cumin, Spices.

DSC_3420

But for being so simple, was it even any good? My answer is yes!! It was spicy and flavorful. My only complaint is that I didn’t have any naan to soak up the sauce! And speaking of sauce – I’d prefer it was a little more gravy-like rather than soup-like – meaning, I’d rather it be thicker. But what do I know about Indian? Soupy is probably the point.

DSC_3424

And while I was going through the packages trying to choose one for lunch, I came up with the idea to take one of my meal inspirations and make chickpea cutlets!

DSC_3425

I chose the Chunky Chickpeas, and was pretty excited. It’d surely be a no-brainer, right? The chickpeas are already seasoned – I’d just need to add some breadcrumbs, gluten, and bake!

DSC_3426

Er, wellll…first I had to get past the looks. Okay, nothing like the picture on the package…but I’m sort of pro at moving past the looks of something and seeing stuff for what it really is.

I’m talking about food, but I think this mindset comes in handy in all paths of life.

DSC_3427

Anyways. Mash up the chickiepeas…

DSC_3429

…add in some gluten and quick oats…

DSC_3430

…form into patties, and bake!

I would have preferred fresh breadcrumbs, but we can’t always get what we want now, can we?!

DSC_3474

I loved not having to worry if I was adding too much of this spice, or too little of that spice. It was quick. It was easy. I didn’t have to think very hard, and instead – was presented with some lovely chickpea cutlets with a new flavor – Indian!

I wanted to think up a sauce for them, but school work was beckoning. Instead, I served it over some eggplant & marinara. And kale chips, because they’re my crack lately.

TastyBite Chunky Chickpea Cutlets

Mash the chickpeas so no whole pieces remain. (that means, mash them better than I did. Do as I say, not as I do.) Add in the quick oats, gluten and water and stir/knead until combined. Form into patties and bake in a 375* oven for twenty minutes. Flip and bake another twenty minutes.

And you just made yourself some super quick and easy chickpea cutlets!

Tasty Bite sent me these products at no cost to me – however, these opinions are my own and exactly how I feel about the product. I love you guys too much to lie.

Any plans for Halloween?

What’s your favorite Indian dish?

19 Comments

Filed under dinner, indian, lunch, review, tasty bite

19 responses to “It’s Tasty!

  1. I loved how you said you don’t think very often to use something that’s alreayd made to eat for lunch – I totally agree. Although the majority of the country would bed to differ. Most people don’t enjoy cooking like us! I would much rather cook something from scratch like you.

    The ingredient list on those are pretty clean though – I’d totally trust that company!

  2. Stefanie

    The couple products I tried from them were good. I’ll have to try your chickpea cutlets the next time I decide to splurge. 🙂

  3. I really dislike most premade meals because why should I pay extra for someone to do the fun part for me?

    “Excuse me sir, could you watch this movie and enjoy it for me while I go read the synopsis and summary so I know what it’s about and how it goes? Thanks!”

    I haven’t made any sort of cutlet or patty with vital wheat gluten, in spite of the fact that I always have some on me for bread at home. Is it worth it? I’m assuming it adds chewiness, I’ll definitely give it a shot when I’m home for Thanksgiving.

    I have no plans for Halloween other than maybe… erm, no, actually that’s about it. Maybe laugh at peoples’ costumes when I get done with work, but that’s all. Or roast squash. I bought 12 pounds of it because it was on sale for 38 cents / lb and I don’t realize how big they are or how much I have hidden in my dorm still. Oops.

    We had a meatless monday a few weeks back and they made a ton of Indian food and my favorite was a vegetable mix in a coconut cashew sauce. The only Indian dish I’ve ever made was Chana Masala and I prefer it with very few or no jalapeños because it gets too hot for me. Wait, I lie, I did make this crazy eggplant dish with cilantro from my 1000 Indian Recipes cookbook, but that was so-so, not my favorite.

    I think I write more in your comments than I do in my own blog. 😉

  4. I love Indian food. Or I just love to have a ton of spices in my food 🙂 . My favorite dish is dal. It is maybe the first thing I learned to cook and I never get tired of it.

  5. I adore Indian food. I make a very simple daal recipe that I serve with freshly made roti bread…it is heavenly! Thank you for sharing, and I’m sorry if I’ve been a bit absent here…we are going through such a trial. Thank you for all your kind words.

  6. Wow!!! Both those look wonderful.. which is probably because I have a huuuuge soft spot for anything soupy/spicy 😛

    .. my only complaint is that I can’t do it in MY home because you used specific packaged foods. I think what I love so much about your recipes is that I can always make them because everything you use is usually a whole food that I already have on hand. Don’t become a packaged food convert, for my sake, m’kay? 🙂 Haha

  7. Ashlei

    It’s more like what’s NOT my favorite Indian dish? 😉 I couldn’t pick a favorite. They’re all too good.
    I never to think to make a lunch/meal that’s already made either. Unless I really want some Indian food (or whatever the item happens to be). I usually throw some extra veggies into their products whenever I eat them because they’re a little soupy, and small portions….so I try to stretch them out a little. The cutlet is a great idea too!

  8. I’m the same way – I never think to eat pre-made food! I have some cans of soup that have been sitting around in my cupboard for ages! It’s because I mostly prefer to make my own food… but the pre-made stuff can be a lifesaver if I’m having a busy day.

    My Halloween plans involve studying for my two midterms – one ON Halloween and one the day after. Boo. 😦

  9. I’ve been reading and just love the pictures. Delightful! My fave Indian dish is Chat/Chaat. Delish dish. and I’m dressing up as the awkward prom date for Halloween. yay!

  10. teenagehealthfreak

    i’ve never tried any indian food, i too have some of those pre-pack things..a little different brand though…and today my friend and i are going to a maze, then a costume party! i should be fun.

  11. I love Indian food and I love chickpeas. This sounds like such a fun idea! 😀

  12. I love Indian food…I actually bought some of those pouches over the summer but my mom gobbled them all up before I had a chance!! My favorite dish is definitely baigan bhartha…love eggplant!

  13. Ohh you know how much I love my indian flavours 🙂 My favourite would have to be a simple red lentil dal and I just love roasting vegetables like lots of squash, red onion, carrot and red pepper in the oven and adding them to the dal when they’re done. It tastes absolutely yummy!!
    For pre-packaged meals they look really good! We don’t anything with such clean ingredients like that pre-packaged here..I’m jealous because my new hectic lifestyle could do with something like that once in a while, although I totally agree, I would MUCH rather cook my own from scratch thankyou very much!
    I’m not doing anything for Halloween 😦 I miss being a kid!
    xx

  14. Love those little garbanzo patties, they look super tasty and garbanzo-y, those little buggers are my favorite food ever, I swear it. I could eat ’em raw if I tried (but won’t) thanks for the crunchy kale inspiration, I haven’t had that in forever!

    & I have yet to try indian food. The closest I’ve gotten to it is buying some curry powder. I need motivation, man.

  15. I really like those Tasty Bite packages for when I want to eat NOW! I’ve actually reviewed a few of their products in my review round-ups, independently — wouldn’t have minded some free packages, though. Lucky you!

  16. That’s one clean ingredients list- something I do like to see! Haha actually homemade Bombay Potatoes aren’t uncommon in my household because my mum’s Indian! My favourite dish is Dal Palak, which is yellow lentils with spinach…so good! 😀

  17. That looks really good!
    Happy Halloween!
    I went out last night- it’s always fun to see everyone dressed up!

  18. I tried those potatoes recently and was quite impressed that something from a package could taste so good! My favorite Indian dish would have to be some sort of eggplant curry… or mango lassis 🙂

    Happy Halloween! I’m going trick or treating for Unicef.

  19. looks like one of the most delicious bowls of mush ive ever seen! well done love ❤

    HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

Leave a Reply

