Back to the Future

I’m having a little bit of a “geek moment” right now, as I blog from my newly-downloaded Windows Live Writer 2011. We won’t talk about the fact that I’m yet to have my own Mac, and instead talk about the fact that I’d been blind to the fact that there was an easier way to put up blog posts – as in, not through WordPress, as I’d been doing.

Let’s thank Kristie for bringing me back to 2010!

Installing that ended up being a week-long excursion, however, and a project I thought for sure I’d never get done. Apparently I was in some dire need of updating my computer, and I think I updated about 100 things just so I could get Live Writer.

DSC_4268s

On another note, look at how freaking cute my pony is when someone who knows what they’re doing gets his booty in gear.

screenshot001

I had A ride him yesterday. Not because he’d been being naughty with me, but because I wanted to see what he could do when someone really makes him work. We both have this hunch that he knows more than he lets on, and since he’s sort of a stinker in that he’ll try and get away with murder if he thinks it’s possible (and it’s definitely possible, because I’m such a softie) I wanted to see her on him.

screen002

I might have her do some more rides on him in the very near future. I think it would definitely benefit us both!

screen003

…that’ll be me getting that big bold trot soon enough! It didn’t come right away, he was a brat at first – but I was glad to hear that she thinks it’s more of a “what do you want from me?” that he’s asking, not a “screw you.”

As I said – all good things are not without struggle!

DSC_3342

As for eats? Well, random is a good way to describe them! My appetite has been sort of weird, I guess. I’m not hungry until like, dinner time – and then it’s like I’m all of a sudden ravenous and ready to eat my arm.

I’ve get in this “mode” sometimes, and I know I need to eat good, filling snacks and lunches whether I’m hungry or not – but it’s just so easy to forget. And I forgot. But, two days of relearning my lesson is enough to ensure I won’t be doing it tomorrow!

DSC_3344

This was a tomato sandwich with homemade ranch and marinated artichoke hearts. Apparently I have a thing for broccoli and yellow mustard lately. Not sure what’s up with that, but I’m working with it.

Oh, yeah – maybe because I’ve got about 5 heads of broccoli in the fridge. My mom’s way of hinting that I roast some is just buying me a bunch. She loves it when I roast a bunch up, but she’ll never do it herself, and then I all of a sudden realize I have about 5 pounds of broccoli to eat in the course of a day or two.

DSC_3349

Sometimes, I have this thing when I go grocery shopping that I just have to try what I have already determined I don’t like.

Case in point: hummus with olives and coleslaw.

I’ve never had artichoke kalamata hummus – and like artichokes, but dislike olives.

I really want to like olives, though. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if I buy some soon, and just start forcing myself to like them. That’s how I got myself to like pumpkin, you know! I always hated it until this time last year, when I just started forcing myself to add pumpkin to stuff because it just seemed so “cozy” and seasonal or something.

Anyways – these two new “I just want to like it!” purchases were neither a hit nor a miss. I think I’ll like them both by the time they’re done. For the coleslaw dressing, I actually mixed some of the hummus with plain greek yogurt and dijon mustard, dill, salt, and pepper.

DSC_3348

And I’m pretty sure this is a first! Cereal for breakfast?! Who am I?!

I love cereal – but rarely have it at the meal it was meant for.

Except this morning. I slept laaate – 8:45! My excuse is that I stayed up really late watching Pit Boss and Pit Bulls and Parolees.

Take that, dirty martinis and Colt 45s. I like Pit Bulls better than you on a Saturday night.

Needless to say, when I woke up I was feeling rather lethargic. And just wanted some breakfast! I was hungry when I quasi-woke up at 7 am, so by 8:45 I was rally hangry. Some Kashi Vive, plain greek yogurt (sweetened with maple cream) a plum, cashew butter and almond milk was perfect refreshment.

DSC_3350

And last but far from least – more bread! I made the recipe right on the King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour bag for WWW Walnut Bread. I changed it slightly, and am very happy with the results. It is perfect PB & J bread – but I think it will be just fine for savory ‘wiches, too.

DSC_3351

Don’t let the “flat top” fool you – I think if you’re careful and don’t live in the arctic, you’ll be fine. I took it out of the warm oven where it was rising, to preheat the oven. I watched it go from having a nice, rounded top – to falling to be level with the pan with exposure to the cold air. Next time I’d just let it stay in the oven while it pre-heats!

White Whole Wheat Walnut Loaf

adapted from King Arthur Flour

yields one loaf

  • 2 t. active dry yeast
  • 1 1/3 c. warm water
  • 2 T. honey

Gently combine these in a small bowl, until yeast is mostly dissolved. Set aside and combine following ingredients:

  • 3 c. white whole wheat flour (may need up to 1/4 c. more, but add it only as you “knead” it. pun intended.)
  • 1 1/4 t. salt
  • scant 1 c. chopped walnuts
  • 1 T. olive oil

Gently pour in the yeast after it has formed bubbles on top, and either stir and knead until a smooth, elastic dough forms, or knead with a dough-hook on a stand mixer.

Once dough is formed, pour a small amount of olive oil in a large bowl, and place dough in bowl, turning once to coat top. Cover and set in a warm place to rise until doubled in size – 1 1/2 – 2 hours.

Once dough has risen, form into an 8” loaf pan that has been oiled lightly. Cover with plastic wrap loosely, and set back in warm place to rise until it is about an inch over the top. It won’t rise as it bakes, so what you see when you start baking is what you’ll get when it’s done baking.

Bake at 350* for 35 minutes. It should sound hollow when you gently knock on it. Turn out onto a cooling rack, and enjoy a slice or two warm Smile (thanks, Live Writer, for giving me a really dorky looking smiley face instead of an emoticon.)

And man…have I got a yummy recipe to share tomorrow, too…

DSC_3356

(p.s. I got a total kick out of reading everyone’s comments that they’d want to be reincarnated as a cat. That very night, I had to “share” my bed with my big mountain-lion sized cat. And by share, I don’t mean he was at my feet. I mean he was taking up the entire top portion of the bed, clawing and biting my arm if I even suggested he move aside just an inch so I didn’t have to lay with my head hanging off the mattress…yeah, I’d want to be a cat, too…)

Are there any foods you “taught” yourself to like, or that you want to like but just don’t?

32 Comments

Filed under bread, breakfast, dinner, lunch, pony, recipe, teddie

32 responses to “Back to the Future

  1. You always make me wish I had a waffle iron!

    Is Live Writer really easy to use? I currently use wordpress for all of my posts and I’m scared to “cross over” haha.

  2. Hahah, this reminds me of the day I forced myself to love cashews! I was chewing with my mouth opened trying not to let them touch my tongue so that I wouldn’t taste them… Now I’m a huge fan of them 🙂

  3. Hehe.. I remember downloading Live Writer this summer when I moved up to my cottage and had to go from my Mac (it’s a desktop so I couldn’t bring it with me) to a Windows laptop. I felt like such a newb! Now I am back to my Mac, and I love posting the hard way through WordPress again 😛

    Fun fact: I LOVE olives! Green ones on pizza? Yes please!

  4. I absolutely LOVE livewriter – honestly it makes posting so easy. I can’t live without it!

  5. Stefanie

    Nothing beats homemade bread. I never liked olives until I tried them about a year ago. It depends on the olives though. Some can be bitter and others have a nice “meaty” texture. The best ones come from an olive bar such as the ones at Whole Foods Markets. Have a great night. 🙂

  6. i really like reading about your horse, he is just so pretty and so sweet looking.
    i love tomato sandwiches, and marinated artichokes. they go so well together.

  7. I guess I live in the past, too, because I don’t use Live Writer. And I’m too lazy to learn how. 😉

    My “tried to like it” foods are marshmallows and hot chocolate — not necessarily together. It always seemed so “cozy,” like you said, to cuddle up with a mug of hot chocolate on a snowy day, but hot chocolate makes me gag. And marshmallows do too, which is why I never got the appeal of s’mores.

    ❤ ❤

  8. The homemade bread looks wonderful – im still “in the dark” about making my own – i really have to give it a try!!!! I love cereal for breakfast every so often – its a nice change especially when your on the go!!
    have a great Monday – and love the pictures of Teddie – ive missed him!!!

  9. Taking fresh olives from market bins in Greece can’t get any better – thus I love olives. Sadly, at our salad bar, all we have are the little canned black rings which fail in comparison to full, real olives. They’re worth learning to enjoy, in my opinion. 😉

    And that loaf looks spectacular! I’ve seen the same recipe but I never made it seeing as my mom can’t have nuts. 😦 I’ll have to make a loaf for myself one of these days.

  10. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    That’s the second time this week I’ve heard talk of LiveWriter…it’s really probably something I need to look into. It sounds like a huge pain, though! =/

  11. What a gorgeous pony! Your eats looks yummy. I’ve been looking for a good whole wheat bread recipe, I may just try yours! I can’t wait to see tomorrow’s recipe. I love mushrooms.

  12. After ten years I finally taught myself to like soy sauce, white rice, and mayo. I’m still working on trying to like papayas. They don’t taste like anything to me. The flavor always falls flat. Also, when I was little I would pretend to like plain avocados because everyone in my family would rave about them.

  13. I just started following you and I love your writing, your recipes, and your horse! I’m sort of the same way about olives; I like them now, but I used to hate them. Avocados and shrimp are a couple of others I’ve taught myself to like… but you won’t find me anywhere near tapioca pudding!!

  14. I actually don’t really like olives either but they are definitely something I want to like! I’ve had an olive loaf of bread before that I enjoyed though…so thats a start!

    I taught myself to appreciate potatoes more after claiming to hate them for so long.

    I need to try windows live writer…for my mac!

  15. I’m not the biggest fan of olives either. I don’t like it a dominant flavor, but in the background for a subtle, salty undertone, it’s perfect. you should try olive bread! 🙂

  16. Doesn’t your bread maker have a program for kneading or rising only? I think my mom’s machine has such a program. If yours can do this too you can just leave the dough there until the oven is ready.

    I’ve tried a million times to like melons but every time I take a bite I reconfirm the fact that I hate them. But I learned to love dates and roasted cabbage and I am very proud of myself 😛 .

  17. I thought I hated Brussels Sprouts, but after a few successful meals, I fell in love. Now we eat them weekly. Thank you for sharing your lovely words and food with us. Your walnut bread looks great. I’ve been wanting to try out that recipe (I always see it on the bag) Your sweet pony looked great (as always) and I’m sure that having a different rider on him must offer you some neat perspective. Have a wonderful Monday, love!

  18. I love walnuts! I’ll have to try this, I’m always looking for new loaf recipes 🙂

  19. I can’t decide which one looks best in this post: the pony or the bread.

    Hope you’re off to a nice week 🙂

  20. Haha, SNAP! I’ve just been trying to install Windows Live Update and I’m currently downloading “service pack 2” or something like that. Is it much better than on wordpress? What’s different about it?

    And on the weird eating thing, I too find I have very little appetite until dinner, when I find myself absolutely starving. I just find that I need to eat during the day but only really calorie dense foods lol… bring on the granola!!

    Keep up the amazing recipes. I’m going to try baking the bread with my cousins today 🙂
    xxx

  21. I like olives, but I’m not so sure about olive hummus… I think the olives would be so overpowering!

    I actually didn’t originally like olives though. I definitely forced myself to like them. Same thing with asparagus and red wine haha.

  22. I always hated mushrooms growing up. I think it was a mind over matter thing haha a fungus…come on what kid would willingly eat that?!? I have grown to love them in all varieties. Can’t wait to see that recipe!

  23. Sounds like Teddie is just like my boys! They know who they can get away with things with! Rotten for sure. The bread looks amazing! YUM! I LOVE cantaloup now and hated it as a kid. I wish I loved avocados, but I just can’t stand them. Have a great week Jessica.

  24. I keep trying to teach myself to like mushrooms, but it’s been a few years and I can still only eat them smothered in sauce. I don’t think we’re meant to be.

    My cats used to do the same thing, so I eventually kicked them out of my room. I like my sleep too much!!

  25. You and Teddie look great!
    I wish I liked squash and pumpkin, but no can do
    😦

  26. Little Bookworm

    Love the photos of Teddie. 🙂 Things I ‘taught’ myself to like – hummus and almond butter.

  27. I really WANT to like coconut because I love the way it smells, but I just don’t like the way it tastes! Sigh.

    I would love to use Windows Live Writer, but I have a Mac (which I wouldn’t trade for the world!). Unfortunately I hear Ecto’s no good.

  28. Teddie looks ace! It’s so helpful for other people to ride your horse sometimes, to see how they’re coming along. I wish my mum would ride Chika more…bah well.
    You don’t like olives!!? Gotta say, I’m shocked!
    I forced myself to like peanut butter (and praise be, I don’t know where I’d be if I didn’t!), and pretty much all veg..when I was little, I hated veggies!
    I really wish I liked green beans/sugar snaps/that type of greenery, but I just hate them 😦

  29. Every time I see your waffles it reminds me to get a waffle maker ASAP. 🙂

  30. Pingback: Habits « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

