It’s Magical

uhhh, I think I’m about ready to start bouncing off of the walls. I feel like I’ve been glued to this chair doing school-work all day! I know that’s not entirely true, but I’ve at least been inside for far too long.

This is what rainy days do to me.

It was supposed to be a “training day” for Teddie – I was going to have A ride him – but I decided not to because it was raining buckets and he would have been soaked to his skin because he’d rather stand in the rain than go in his hut.

I guess it worked out, though – since I didn’t get a chance to do any school work on Tuesday, I made up for it today. Big time.

I did still get to spend some quality time with this spaghetti squash, though. It’s playing the role of a medicine ball lately. I figure it’s still got a pretty long ways to go until it’s ripe and ready to eat, so maybe by the time it’s ready I’ll have a real medicine ball.

With the strawberry coconut kefir I’ve found, my breakfasts have taken on a “new flavor,” if you will. Not everything goes with strawberries, you know! But you know what does? Bananas. I’ve been making these banana oat bran waffles for the past couple of days now (that are waffle days, anyway) and am seriously in love. It’s like gingerbread waffles are but a … I don’t know how the saying goes. But it’s as if they were never an obsession.

I sort of “forgot” about oat bran for a while there, but I really do love it, especially in baked goods. It’s alittle too mushy for my liking to eat alone, but in a muffin or a waffle? Oh, the texture is just fabulous! And not only that, but the health benefits are something to gloat about, too.

Proven Health Benefits for the whole Body:-

  • Smoothes blood glucose fluctuations.
  • Lowers cholesteral, especially “bad” (LDL) cholestral.
  • Aids dieting
  • Aids diabetics
  • Aids Renal patients
  • Provides slow release energy for endurance athletes and those who fast.

[source – Easy Vigour]

Between the generous amount of vanilla extract, oat bran and sliced banana inside these waffles, you have a wonderful, fragrant waffle to sop up the strawberry-peanut icing. Or strawberry-coconut, it’s amazing either way.

Banana Oat Bran Waffles

  • 1/4 c. oat bran
  • 1/8 c. WW flour
  • 3/4 c. puffed millet
  • 1 T. wheat bran
  • 1 T. wheat germ
  • baking powder

Combine these in a small bowl, and set aside.

  • 1 flax egg [1 T. milled flax + 3 T. warm water]
  • 1/4 c. plain greek yogurt
  • 1 1/2 t. vanilla
  • 1/4 t. almond milk

Add these wet ingredients to the dry.

Thinly slice in half of a large, ripe banana and gently incorporate into the batter.

Generously spray the top and bottom of a waffle iron. Spoon half the batter in at a time, and cook as your waffle maker tells you!

Meanwhile, combine:

When the waffles are done, pour over the “icing,” and voila!

And this morning, I used peanut flour in place of whole wheat flour, and nixed the vanilla. I couldn’t taste much of a difference, to be honest.

And the other morning, I made a strawberry-coconut kefir sauce – with coconut flour instead of peanut flour or chia seeds.

And by the way, what’s up with all the peanuts?!

Okay, okay – so it’s mostly because a while ago, I got it in my head that I was going to make my own peanut butter. This was waaay back when I had a less-than-powerful blender. Asking this blender/processor to make butter out of peanuts would have been like asking Teddie to make me breakfast.

It just wasn’t happening.

And I still have a lot of peanuts, which has recently made me feel like I need to finally use them. But, they’re still waiting for me to make peanut butter. I since have a better blender, and while I was thinking about this this afternoon, I decided to try it.

I’ve always held true to my belief that there should be a figgy peanut butter in the market. I mean, figs and peanut butter is the perfect marriage, so why not just make peanut butter with figs in it?

After a couple minutes of blend, blend, blending, I’d stopped only to realize I’d essentially made a really messy Larabar. I was starting to feel like a bit of a failure, but I added a bit of peanut oil and marched (er, blended) on.

And by golly, I made peanut butter. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t really proud of myself and ready to gloat all afternoon.

I made peanut butter.

I made figgy peanut butter.

I took peanuts. And made them into butter.

With figs.

Capiche?

pea-nut bud-der (n): a spread that makes your mouth stick together and reminds us that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

Yep, this fits the definition.

Figgy Peanut Butter

  • 1 c. “peanut butter stock” peanuts
  • 1/4 c. honey roasted peanuts
  • 4-5 large dried Turkish figs, roughly chopped
  • 1-2 t. peanut oil

Add all to your processor, and blend for…a while. There will be a magical point in time where the consistency suddenly changes from Larabar-esque to peanut butter. You will feel like a proud new mother would when you see this happen – it is magical.

Next time, though – I’d very finely chop up a few more figs to stir in at the end, to give it a bit more figgy deliciousness and texture variation.

And then I tried making peanutty birdseed bars. Does this make your eyes do crazy things like it does mine? Anyways – I overbaked them. I might turn them into granola!

And you know what? I think peanuts are sort of overlooked in the blog world. All over, you see bloggers snacking on almonds, or cashews, or pistachios. Adding them to bars, on top of oats, on top of dinners. But why never handfuls of peanuts? Maybe it’s because they’re not expensive enough, and won’t actually break the bank. But really – peanuts are great! I remember learning about them in a plants and people class – and learnt that they’re not actually a nut but rather a legume like peas, lentils, and chickpeas. What fascinated me most was the fact that they grow as a normal plant, but since they get too heavy, they have to burrow underground which is where the peanut fully grows. They’re also:

  • a great source of monunsaturated fat  – the heart health fat!
  • they contain oleic acid, which is the same healthy fat as is in olive oil
  • they rival fresh fruit when it comes to antioxidant levels

I also made a pretty fabulous dinner, if I do say so myself. Admittedly, I sort of wanted to push those ideas aside and eat a peanut butter and banana sandwich, but it was already made and I was equally as excited for that dinner than I was of making my own peanut butter.

So, there’s some hints. You know I’m pulling a cliffhanger though, right?!

Have you discovered something you can make yourself that you’d sort of resigned yourself to simply not being able to?

26 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal, recipe

26 responses to “It’s Magical

  1. You’re so right- peanuts totally get the cold shoulder… what’s with that?

    I love throwing them in salads- they’re a good crunch and have a stronger flavor than other nuts like almonds. Take that, almonds! :p

  2. Those waffles look delicious – thanks for sharing!!
    Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us tomorrow!!!! Maybe something with that spaghetti squash???

  3. I love peanuts and I love figs, you make me want to try them together!
    Peanuts are really good thrown into a stir-fry, by the way :)

  4. For some reason peanuts just don’t get the same happiness spread throughout my body when I eat them like other nuts. Maybe I just need to eat more of them… I probably will soon if you say they’re cheap seeing as A. I’m down to almost no nuts and B. I’m a poor college student. (Good thing I actually like rice and beans. :P)

    I never really thought making English muffins was possible until I gave it a shot and made some. They weren’t identical to the store-bought ones with the magical “nooks and crannies” but it wasn’t a complete failure and my Dad ate them… though he’ll eat almost anything.

    I still haven’t tried oat bran and I feel I need to do so.

    And figgy peanut butter? Wow, that’s genius, true true genius. I’d have to convince myself to buy those figs in the first place, but it’s only nuts this week!

    Hmm, tortillas, and apple cider… Mexican curried enchiladas with a sweet apple filling. I’m way off, but that’s what I’m putting out there.

  5. I am loving making interesting nut butters, but sometimes I like buying them still because they are more drippy…easy to pour on oats.

    I can’t wait to see what you made for dinner!

  6. That is the most interesting looking spaghetti squash I have EVER seen!

    I was thisclose to buying kefir… but decided to hold off until I finished the massive tub of soy yogurt I just bought. Since, well, I don’t even know what I plan to DO with it. ;)
    <3 <3

  7. I love making homemade peanut butter. It doesn’t happen nearly enough but it is SO satisfying when it reaches that point in the food processor where it turns from chunky to smoooooth and creamy. I never would have thought to add figs though, that’s so cool! How does it taste?!

  8. It’s funny because peanut butter is my favorite nut butter, while they are NOT my favorite nut to eat for a snack. I always go to almonds or cashew for that!

  9. I so have to try those waffles! I made walnut butter a couple of weeks ago….super cool. I guess the one thing I didn’t think I would ever be able to make but did would be yeast breads. The thought of baking breads/rolls use to frighten me. Now I look forward to days that I actually have the time at home to do it.

  10. teenagehealthfreak

    you go girl! you make that pnt butter..if i had a better/bigger blender i would too!!! it seems so simple..and you can make all your own flavas!!! yes..fig+pnt butter is amazing..i just got some dried figs…uh..thanks to you..so thanks!!! sry for the rainy day..thats never fun. :( but i hope have a nice weekend! :)

  11. I looove peanuts in stir fries… so good!
    And girl.. peanut fig butter?! You should bottle that and sell it! I know I’d KILL for some.. my love affair with figs is indescribable.
    And I am SERIOUSLY trying that waffle recipe… second times a charm right?

  12. Actually, I use mostly peanuts because 1) I love them and 2) with my budget as a student it isn’t a good idea to spend half the money I have on nuts.

    Making your own PB sounds cool. I didn’t think I would be able to make my own oatmeal cookies but when I tried, I realized it was much easier than I had expected. Well, cooking in general is much more fun than I thought and now I just can’t stop experimenting in the kitchen :) .

  13. I feel like the blog world embraces almond butter and coconut butter and neglect peanut butter. So thank you for brining them back! Now all you need to do is make your own jelly!

  14. Peanuts and figs do go so well together…I’m glad that you were able to pull the recipe off. Now, I just need to get a blender powerful enough to do this at home. I’ve been glued to my computer today too…trying to catch up from this crazy and emotional week. I hope that we both can have weekends full of rest and rejuvenation. Thanks for sharing…and I have to say that I was pretty proud to conquer the croissant!

  15. PIZZA?! Or maybe something mexican? I’m a terrible guesser.

  16. Yum! Figs in the pb? I would have never thought of that ;) … Come to think of it, I SHOULD be making my own tahini with the amount I go through. I don’t know if the bullet could do it though. :/

    That there looks to me like a pizza crust? I can’t wait!

  17. Jen

    Love peanuts, and since I’m poor, that’s the nut of choice around here ;)

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  18. This post almost makes me wish I could eat peanuts! :P It’s sucks having to miss out on such a tasty source of healthy fats. Congrats on making your own peanut butter! Especially one with figs. I bet it’s amazing! :D

    I was actually really proud when I made my own granola bars. I was so surprised how easy it was!

  19. – your spaghetti squash is green. Eh? I’ve only ever seen yellow/cream ones!
    – I enlarged one of your photos by mistake (crazy clicking fingers I have), and ohmydays! SO beautiful close up :)
    – well done on the homemade peanut butter!! I’ve been meaning to make some for an age too (I bought a sack of 2 of peanuts a few months back :p) but I’m too scared – I have a VitaMix, but I’m scared it’ll blow the motor :s!! And the screaming, whirring noise..I’m very fearful. Even though I have wonderful PB images going on in my head :/
    – hehe, it took Chika about 3yrs to learn that a shelter DOES shield from the rain! Those horses are dim sometimes..I’m sure Teddie’ll get it soon :p

  20. Peanut flour is amazing in waffles! Tastes like a big peanut butter cookie! I used to shy away from making my own peanut butter now I love it!

  21. Peanuts are one of my favorite nuts, actually!! I agree- unless they’re in buttered form, they’re seriously underappreciated in the blogworld. Glad you’re giving them some recognition!!

    Hope you’re having a great start to your weekend!

  22. That definition should be submitted to Webster. I’m sure whatever’s in their now doesnt do it justice. :P

    Figgy peanut butter sounds amazing. It’s making me want to sing We Wish You a Merry Christmas but replace the “figgy pudding” part with “Now bring us some figgy PB, now bring us some figgy PB” :) haha, yeah?

  23. Peanut butter = Love
    It will never break your heart. Only make it stronger :)

  24. Pingback: Really Yummy Pot Pie « Healthy Exposures

  25. Pingback: Habits « Healthy Exposures

  26. Pingback: So Long, October « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

