Fast and Fabulous

Ugh. I am so .. mad … right now. You know what makes me angry? People who steal photos to flaunt all over the web and don’t even give any credit to the photographer. And I’m not talking just some food snapshots I’ve taken…I mean senior portraits! A. it’s illegal, B. it’s rude, and C. they haven’t even paid me yet!

I’m not trying to be all vain (aha, thanks to Alex for spell-checking me on that. I sort of wanted to crawl into a whole. just kidding, I wanted to crawl into a hole) and what not asking for credit or feeling a little ripped off. But it’s making me a bit ticked, really! My website isn’t even one that allows a right-click to save option – if you try, you get a warning that says it is copywritten and not to be reproduced…so in order to do this they had to have gone through the trouble of taking a screenshot of the page, importing it to photo shop, cropping, saving, and then uploading. I guess thinking of them going through all this trouble makes it a leetle comical…but seriously.

All I’m asking is for a mention. I think if they’d have paid me on the spot like they were supposed to, I wouldn’t even be that upset.Β Is that really too much to ask?!

When I saw her comment of “I have so many others to put up!” I turned on the watermarking feature and now they’re all watermarked…I guess I’m back to watermarking, then. Sigh.

(oh, and for those thinking “well, they’re pictures of her, shouldn’t she be able to use them?” I agree with you, I’m not just trying to be a big B-word – but there’s plenty of ways to do it without stepping on any toes. Like, you know, asking politely.

Anyways. Sorry for that.

Is there anything near and dear to you that people take for granted that really sets you off to see? Are you the type to confront, or just watch from the sidelines? I do my best to avoid confrontation…but couldn’t help myself and just had to turn on the watermarks.

Moving on to happier times. I already feel less stressed! Thanks for being my punching bag πŸ˜›

And here’s a major plug for coconut milk kefir. I am not being paid to say it, but I’m in love! Now, if only I can get some that’s not strawberry?! I’m still enjoying it, but I know it’s gonna get old! I’ve been mixing it with either some peanut or coconut flour to thicken it a bit and add some variety.

I think I’m also in love with this Honey Ridge Farms Balsamic Honey Vinegar that was sent to me via Foodzie (which I happily just subscribed to!)

Yesterday I shot a senior portrait in the afternoon, so I got home with about 15 minutes to throw together a meal if I wanted to eat with my mom. I kind of enjoy that, so here’s proof that healthy eating can be fast, easy and delicious!

I just love making different veggie burgers (even though I haven’t made any lately!) and freezing them. They keep so well, are open to different ways of eating, and feel like homemade in a matter of minutes!

This was a black bean & plantain burger that I’d frozen. I had a side of bulgur and some kale chips. Everything was drizzled with the honey vinegar, and it really tied everything together so perfectly.

It’d been too long since I’d had kale chips! I forgot how delicious they are…now I need more kale!

Oh, and…in case you guys were wondering…one of the best parts of blogging is that when you go to take pictures of a lunch you pack, you won’t forget the bread for your sandwich. Uh, yeah, of course that was me today! There wasn’t even a splinter of a thought to remember bread for the sandwich innards I’d packed last night.

I guess it’s not such a bad thing…I rarely eat out, and even though I nag about the restaurants around here, there is one place that has my heart – the Back Home Again Cafe! Mainly because they have iced mates and delicious spelt bread. And ruhl good smoothies. And adorable decor. And friendly people. Still very few veg options, though…but my “Veggie Delight” wasn’t bad a-tall. I was tempted to just get the peanut butter, banana and honey πŸ˜› Next time I forget my bread I think I’ll have to…I liked the veg delight but after a little while the sauce they used (wasn’t a tofu-miso spread like it said) got a little weird to me. I couldn’t decide if I loved it or not.

What’s your favorite “fast and fabulous” meal?

23 Comments

Filed under breakfast, cooking, dinner, foodblog, health, health food, healthy living, lunch, oatmeal

23 responses to “Fast and Fabulous

  1. If I were you, I would be mad too – really mad! How dare she! If she would have paid you, it would be one thing!!

  2. It’s not me directly, but my Mom does a LOT around the house and my Dad is always on the phone and he’ll say things like “yea, we cleaned the shed today, or I took out the garbage” and it really irritates me (and my Mom) because he didn’t do anything at all.

    That and group members for projects who do nothing and still get the good grade because I care too much about my grade to be the one to say “oh, I’ll show them what happens when I put as much effort into it as they do.” I’m really sorry that happened to you, that’s quite sad.

    That’s some odd looking bulgur too, kind of looks like couscous… or maybe the one brand I’ve had was much different from others? Anyways, your veggie burger looks speckled with awesome. I need to have a plantain again sometime soon.

  3. That’s crappy about the photos. I always see a lot of professional ones go up on facebook and such without even mentioning who did them… which is really disrespectful!

  4. I totally agree with you about the photos! I had a family member take my reception photos and I still asked about reduplicating before I did! Good for you for standing up for yourself.

    I love a quick meal as well. Usually consists of some type of wrap (as in tonight’s dinner) or a lovely plate of roasted veggies with salad. I too like to freeze things for later use. My husband calls me the queen of freeze…lol!

  5. teenagehealthfreak

    people like that make me mad. it’s no respect!!!! i had an incadent yesterday with being picked on b/c i’m healthy. i got yelled at..in front of my whole class. yeah..like the crier i am..i cried the whole freakin day. but i had to. this guy goes..OMG you think your healthy?? look at yourself, your not healthy!! (oh that would explain my toned arms, pretty skin tone, clear face, and healthy hair.) my bad. i don’t know what healthy is! and a few other comments were made. i knew it was coming, i’m going to deal with this junk the rest of my life. so stupid. so yeah..i had a bad day yesterday too. onto the brightside…mmm kale chips!!! soo good, and my kale i planted is growig pretty good so far! πŸ™‚

  6. Wow girl.. I’d be mad too!!
    My favorite fast meal (besides frozen amy’s dinners) are probably oats, a pb and j, or a microwaved sweet potato and veggie burger.

  7. Yum, I totally agree that you can make fast & fabulous meals (with help from frozen leftovers!). I totally did it last night as well with baked beans, kale, and squash…delicious to boot too!

    What a pain about that person stealing the photos without permission. Who does that?

  8. Ughh, I’ve had that happen to me so many times I can’t even count them all. I’ve had people take photos I took and post them in their own facebook albums and such mixed in with all their own (might I add, less attractive) photos without asking me & without credit and then I see their friends commenting on MY photo in their album complimenting THEIR photography skills. Um, what?! No wonder you’re mad – I hate that too! I don’t think people (or non-photographers) realize how much work goes into getting an image. It is so SO much more than just having a big black camera that some people think makes everything you point it at look fantastic straight out of the camera. I hate watermarking my photos because I feel like it’s a bit obnoxious of me and it detracts from the picture but I watermarked a lot of my photos for a while because of all that crap going on.

    I hope you get the proper credit you totally deserve & that the watermarking will prevent it from happening again! Geez, I find it hilarious that they went through all the trouble of screenprinting all the photos from your site hahahah.

    My fast & fab meal is probably a pb&j&banana sandwich? Or green smoothies but then you have to wash all the produce which makes it less fast…

  9. I’m sorry for the photos. I know what it’s like to put tons of effort into something and then watch someone else take the credits for it. It sucks…

    I was the nerd at school and always helped other people with homeworks, tests, assignments. Most of them never said “Thank you”. And it’s not like it’s very hard to open their mouths and say two simple words. Some of them didn’t even think a “Hello” was necessary when they met me in the street. At some point I decided that I won’t help anybody for free again.

    Fast and fabulous? Well, usually sandwiches. But steamed broccoli with melted cheese is a also a really fast meal and definitely fabulous πŸ™‚ .

  10. Sorry to hear that…venting is good – I hope you get it solved with her and it doesn’t happen again πŸ™‚

  11. ooh I don’t blame you for being miffed – I’d be furious! I’ve taken pics off of Google before without saying who the photographer was..I’m sure going to think again now!
    Quick and fabulous meal – oatmeal! I’ve been on an oatmeal kick recently, for dinner – oats and roasted squash, all thick and hot. It’s amazing!
    Ps – i’ve missed your blog πŸ™‚

  12. Sorry you had to deal with the naughty photo-stealers. I don’t blame you one bit for watermarking, so don’t you dare feel bad about it πŸ™‚ I am the same way though… I kind of hate confrontation and would much rather just grit my teeth.

    I used to do that with the professional photography websites that took pictures at my horse-show. I used to screenshot all mine and save them on my computer before the site took them down. Whoops! It was harmless, but I guess I never really thought about how that might make them feel.

    My favourite fast and fabulous meal is tahini on rye πŸ™‚ It’s lacking in the veggie category of course… but it makes up for that in taste!

  13. I still can’t believe that someone would do such a thing!!! You totally have a right to be upset – you can vent to us anytime!!!
    Your quick to go dinner looks fabulous!!!
    My favorite to go meals – hummus with grilled veggies on toasted pitas, or omelettes, veggie burgers are also a good choice!!!

  14. Ugh…girl, I’d be pissed too. If she’s supposed to pay you, she should, especially before she goes taking the photos! You have every right to vent.

    Go-to meals include cereal, PB sammies and soup. All quick and easy!

  15. You have every right to be mad! You put a lot of work into those photos and it’s so not fair for her to steal them, especially when she hasn’t even paid you yet!

    What really sets me off is when a close friend tells others something I told her in confidence. I had a little bit of an issue with that this summer. πŸ˜›

  16. i’d be p’d-off too. it is rude. i can’t believe she would go through so much trouble to get the pictures, which is kind of funny but yeah, rude. hopefully she didn’t get a chance to get all of them before you turned on the watermark πŸ˜€
    i love veggie burgers, but i have such a hard time with recipes. either they don’t stay together or they don’t cook right. i just have bad luck.

  17. 😦 That’s not right – I hope you can get that all figured out!

  18. Alex

    Dude I love you but it is spelled ‘vain’

  19. Urghh I would be totally bummed if I were you too!! Some people just don’t appreciate that hard work and talent has gone into those photos and that needs paying for..
    You have seriously got me wanting plantain now but there isn’t any around here grr!
    My favourite quickie meals are sweet potato and beans or cottage cheese on toasted rye bread or just a biggg bowl of cereal πŸ™‚
    OH and I have officially finished all of the bars you sent me by the way!! They have been perfect for uni life and I also have felt stronger to eat them too! They were all absolutely delicious. I think my favourite was the banana walnut gnu bar though! Just like banana bread it was simply YUM. Thankyou thankyou thankyou again πŸ™‚
    xxx

  20. Um, no, the pictures may have been of her, but they were your pictures and you need to be paid for them at the least! I am a huge a** when it comes to people using artwork! I am a pushover for some things, but not when it comes to my kids are my husband (especially with work)! Sorry you have to deal with that! Sucks to be good at what you do, huh?

    Veggie burgers in the freezer are definitely my go to easy meal!

  21. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    Balsamic honey vinegar? Wow, yum.

    Sorry to hear about the “stealers” in your life 😦 Sucks you have to watermark now, but I guess you gotta protect what’s yours.

  22. Wow… that sounds horrible! I’d be really mad too.. at least it shows ur photos are really good tho (not that thats much consolation).
    Those black bean and plantain burgers look so yummy, I love how inventive your eats are πŸ™‚
    xoxo

  23. Pingback: Habits « Healthy Exposures

Leave a Reply

