It’s the Thought that Counts

The other day, my mom went shopping at the “used food store.”

The second I walked in the door after a long day at work, she leapt to her feet.

Look what I found you at P discount! I thought you’d like it, they had all kinds but I just got you the one, just in case!

Little did she know that I happen to adore Sahale Snacks, but don’t have them often due to a. price, and b. the fact that they’re so hard to find.

But this doesn’t have anything to do with the actual almonds that my mom gifted to me.

This has to do with the thought behind it. Her excitement was so contagious…and yet, she was giving me something, not the other way around.

I mean, it’s just some expired almonds! How dare she, right?!

Not quite. The fact is, it really is the thought that matters most.

It’s funny to think back to when we’re kids. Holidays are all about getting, right?! And it’s funny how much I’m all about the giving now. I think I enjoy finding little ways to show people just how much I appreciate them more than anything.

But just remember this: money doesn’t have anything to do with it. You don’t need to buy people cars to show you care, or give them wads of cash.

In fact, I think it’s the little things that speak louder than any sort of monetary gift.

Lately, I’m all about showing people I care. I feel I just can’t think of enough ways to show how grateful I am…of my mom, of the place I work, of A, who takes care of my horse night and day. It’s like an inferiority complex pops up in that little head of mine.

And then I remember back to the night with the almonds. I just found it too gosh darn sweet that she thought of me – all monetary gifts aside.

While I was baking these banana-date scones for A as a little house-warming gift and small thank you for blanketing Teddie in the monsoon we had the other day – I began doubting myself.

“Who bakes people scones? They’re probably not good enough. Why didn’t you just bake something normal?!”

And then I shushed that voice in my head.

Because it’s the thought that counts. I mean, really…no one’s going to see someone at their door step greeting them with scones and think, “why scones?” They’re going to see the thoughtfulness in the small gift…not the actual gift.

Go try it. See how it feels. You’ll probably become addicted to the gift of giving, even.

What’s the nicest thing somebody’s done for you lately, and the nicest thing you’ve done for somebody?

[note: I baked Banana-Date Scones from Veganomicon. If you still haven’t bought the book even after all of my persistance, you can find the recipe here. They are quite good, and made a wonderful car air-freshener as I transported them still-warm to the barn. I do, however, consider them “muffins dressed up as scones,” rather than scones.]

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “It’s the Thought that Counts

  1. Jess! I love, love, LOVE this so much… and I just have to thank you because it this post couldn’t have come at a better time for me. I do little things like that for people all the time (I’m so not bragging right now, btw) because it makes me feel so good inside… but these past few days I’ve been kind of ‘dead’ in that area. I’ve had a lot on my plate the last few days, so it’s understandable that I might not be as thoughtful right now… but it’s still nice to be reminded that there IS something I can do to make myself feel better that will also make OTHER people feel better too!

    I bet A will love the scones. Who cares if they’re scones? They sound delicious! Plus.. the smell of banana is absolutely infectious and they probably won’t even make it to the counter 😛
    ❤ Tat

  2. I love this! 🙂 it is so nice to appreciate the little things in life and the little things people do for you, even if its just giving you a hug or a card or a loving smile…
    The nicest thing someones done for me lately was hmm..well dad who i usually don’t see much or realize the nice things he does for me, came by to drop off my brother and had 2 huge container of Fage Greek yogurt from Costco for me, he knows that i eat that and love that yo… + it’s such a great deal there! ..i should thank him… ;P lol

    ~ banana date scones from Veganomicon, i always have wanted to bake those! I should! i am positive A will love them! 🙂

    xx
    eliza

  3. The nicest thing someone did for me was the package you sent me! Also, I got a boat load of eats from my mother in law just recently! Me, I don’t know what I have done.

    I think scones are a great gift! They look delicious. I am sure A loved them!

  4. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    How ironic she got you these right around the time I was making balsamic cashews 😉

    My boyfriend, who doesn’t often do the surprise-gift thing, showed up at my place on Friday with a bottle of Burberry perfume. I’ve been unbelievably stressed out the past week or two (might have something to do with the fact that, hmm, I just quit my job to go to raw culinary school and I’m right in between those two things and everything I know is in upheaval and my entire life post-Christmas is a 100% mystery to me and I’m a little bit terrified…), so he thought to get me something comforting (and that perfume reminds me of, well, us). Anyway, that was really sweet of him.

  5. I didn’t think about that, but somewhere along the line, I turned into a giver, too. I think we all do eventually- well, most of us do. There will always be those stingy “gimme gimme” people.

    Scones are a perfect gift! I’d be stoked if someone baked me scones..especially ones those delicious looking!

    Hmm..the nicest thing someone’s done for me recently. That’d probably be Michael giving me his hat and hiding a shirt in my bag when I last visited him a few weeks ago. I didn’t see them until I was on the plane and it made me tear up. Ya know, long distance mushy stuff like that. 😛 And the most recent nice thing I did for somebody was let them go ahead of me in a lonnnng line at the grocery store. Nothing big, but maybe it helped them, who knows. 🙂

  6. ❤ ❤ <3'ed this post! I totally agree – it is the thought that counts. Today my MIL brought me dish towels. I ❤ them (well, I really do love dish towels, so I'm a weirdo).

  7. My dad sent me a “thinking of you” card recently, and it almost made me cry. You’re right- as much as I love all the wonderful things my dad has given me, just knowing he loves me and is thinking of me means so much more 🙂

    Nicest thing I did for someone recently…hmm. Made a friend of mine who’s going through a breakup some puppy chow. It’s his favorite!!

  8. Love this post! 🙂 I always preferred the little things, because while it’s nice to get a huge gift, I kind of feel like I’m being “bought off” that way… Oh, I can’t be bothered to think about you too much, here’s something very very very expensive, now go away and leave me alone.

    Actually, no matter whether it’s a big or small gesture, I prefer to be on the giving end. Receiving has always felt so awkward to me!

    ❤ ❤

  9. I completely agree. It seems like when you get older you realize how amazing it is to GIVE. The joy and appreciation on someone’s face when I give them something or bake them something and they enjoy it is just priceless.. something that cannot be assigned a monetary value.

  10. Michelle

    Awww this is sooo cute! I read the 5 love languages and I know that I love to give and receive actions as my love language 🙂

  11. i saw those in starbucks but didnt know what they were until i looked them up online and realized they were different nut mixes which looked pretty cool! not as cool as ur baking tho, definitely NO WHERE NEAR ❤
    btw seriously, what could be a lovelier housewarming gift than these banana date scones !!! 😀

  12. Thank you for the reminder to show love to those around us. Over the weekend, my sister and I sent a huge care package to my older sister and her husband out in Florida. We filled it with brownies, candy, books, cards, and as much love as we could stuff into that box. And people have been so loving and caring through sending my family messages, emails, letters and words of encouragement and prayer (you being one of them). It has meant so much to us.

  13. This post filled my heart with warmth. It reminded me of how much better giving is than getting. When I do something for other people without expecting anything in return, I feel amazing. The feeling gives me wings! No matter how small a gesture is, it is important.

  14. I love giving small things to people, making them happy with the thought.
    My mom was so happy few days ago, when she bought me a chocolate egg. It’s a kid’s treat, and i’ve said that the next time she buys it for our little cousin, she could do the same for me. And she did. Although the chocolate was blah, I was really happy, and I bet my mom was really pleased with her little token 🙂

  15. It’s good to be reminded of this…:-)

  16. Aww this post made me smile! It’s so true that there is no better feeling than giving to someone else! You’ve inspired me to bake some treats for my friend for her birthday. 😀

  17. teenagehealthfreak

    awwwww. it’s like when my mom brought me a box of about 10 lbs of rotten bananas!!! lol. i do little things quite often for my mom and dad..i always make b-fast, and help out with dinner. and surprise my mom with a lunch packed..she likes pitas! i also make my friends purses..cause well i can. 🙂

  18. I love baking for my friends. It’s sort of selfish- because it’s my excuse to do something I truly enjoy… but hey- I’ve still got them in mind, right? 😉

  19. time for happiness

    Wow this is absolutely amazing! I couldnt agree more, and honestly if I were to have recieved those scones from you, your right.. the gift wouldnt matter. The fact that you thought of her, and did something for her,thaaatt is what counts. I’m definately going to be doing your little challenge, because your right, it is contagious 🙂
    ❤ kimi

  20. Aw I really like this post. I’ve been really trying to appreciate the simple things in life (a la my blog, obviously) and the smallest acts of kindness really mean the most. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  21. Aww that’s sweet of your mom! and those almonds look yummy!

  22. This was such a sweet post!! You are totally right. It is the thought that counts, and the fact that you can totally make somebody’s day with a tiny little gesture is an amazing thing.
    The thought of somebody thinking about you for no other reason than that they love you is so heart-warming ❤

  23. I love when my mom buys me treats, she recently brought me a 5 pound bag of quinoa!

    I doubt myself sometimes about making “weird” things for other people, but most people love them and I’m sure they LOVED your scones!

  24. Aww what a great post!! I loove those almonds… actually the pomegranate vanilla cashews are my fave! And I for one know I’d appreciate your scones 🙂

  25. i loved this post, and your mom sounds absolutely adorable. thanks for reminding us of the important things in life!

    oh and ps – i’m thinking of coming up to visit kelli in january. she lives in long island… is that really far from you?

Leave a Reply

